Features

SUPERCHARGED WORK AND PLAY WITH NEXT-GEN AC Wi-Fi ROUTER

Designed as a dual-purpose home office and entertainment Wi-Fi router, the MAX-STREAM AC5400 MU-MIMO Gigabit Wi-Fi Router (EA9500) delivers Wi-Fi to multiple users on multiple devices at the same time and same speed.

Featuring MU-MIMO (Multi-User, Multiple-Input, Multiple-Output) technology, this Next-Gen AC Router treats your devices--PCs, Smart TVs, streaming devices, smartphones--as if each has its own dedicated router. Working in your home office, you'll enjoy lag-free videoconferencing and fast file transfer, even while the rest of the family is streaming 4K or HD media in the living room.

Linksys MAX-STREAM AC5400 MU-MIMO Gigabit Wi-Fi Router (EA9500)
Tolly-Logo

57% FASTER THAN THE COMPETITION

The Linksys EA9500 MAX-STREAM™ AC5400 MU-MIMO Gigabit Router (EA9500) was tested for performance against 3 competitors by the Tolly Group. The EA9500 MU-MIMO Router downloads media at speeds up to 57% faster than other routers, making it the best performing router. Linksys’ success is attributed to Next-Gen AC Wi-Fi, Multi-User MIMO technology, which decreases the time each device has to wait for a Wi-Fi signal, and increases the Wi-Fi speed on every device.

Linksys Max-Stream routers offer Seamless Roaming

ROOM-TO-ROOM Wi-Fi WITH SEAMLESS ROAMING

The MAX-STREAM AC5400 MU-MIMO Gigabit Wi-Fi Router (EA9500) offers Seamless Roaming as you move around your home when linked with a MAX-STREAM Range Extender. With Seamless Roaming, your enabled wireless devices will automatically switch to the strongest Wi-Fi signal, so you won't have to manually connect to the router or range extender when you move from one room to another--or even to your garden.** This means that you can move freely throughout your home while video chatting or streaming videos without experiencing dropped calls or buffering.

Pair a MAX-STREAM range extender such as the RE7000 with the AC5400 for more efficient home Wi-Fi that delivers stronger, more powerful Wi-Fi signal to all your devices.

AC5400 Home Office Productivity

BACKED BY 3-YEAR WARRANTY AND TECH SUPPORT

With its ability to perform double duty as a home office and entertainment router, the AC5400 merits a premium level of support. For this reason, it's backed not only by a three-year warranty, but also by a three-year tech support guarantee.

POWERFUL PROCESSOR FOR SUPERCHARGED Wi-Fi

If you're working in your home office, you can quickly download large files thanks to the MAX-STREAM's 1.4 GHz dual-core processor, which delivers the performance necessary for seamless videoconferencing and fast file transfer. The AC5400 is capable of handling multiple high-speed data streams at once--delivering faster Wi-Fi speeds to more devices.

AC5400 Tri-Band Technology

ADVANCED SECURITY FEATURES FOR A SECURE CONNECTION

With the MAX-STREAM AC5400 MU-MIMO Gigabit Wi-Fi Router (EA9500), your work files, data, and home network information are safely connected with WPA/WPA2 encryption and an SPI firewall.

SMOOTH 4K VIDEO STREAMING WITH BLAZING-FAST Wi-Fi SPEEDS

The MAX-STREAM AC5400 offers three independent Wi-Fi bands that deliver extremely fast combined speeds of up to 5.3 Gbps.* Tri-Band technology delivers up to double the Wireless-AC performance of a dual-band router. High-bandwidth applications like videoconferencing and movie streaming are ideal for the two high-speed 5 GHz bands, while lower-bandwidth devices like older wireless-N and -G computers can utilize the 2.4 GHz band.

HIGH-PERFORMANCE ANTENNAS FOR MAXIMUM COVERAGE

The router features eight adjustable external antennas, which can be positioned for optimal performance. They provide powerful streams of data to your devices, ensuring complete Wi-Fi coverage throughout your home. Unlike the two or three data streams found on other routers, the AC5400 delivers four simultaneous streams per band for stronger, faster performance.

IMPROVED MOBILE SPEED AND RANGE WITH BEAMFORMING

Play video games, listen to music, check email, shop, stream movies, and more--without having to worry about signal drop-off. Beamforming technology directs Wi-Fi signals to each of your mobile devices. This focused direction provides increased signal strength and coverage.


Linksys EA9500 Gigabit Ethernet Ports

CONNECT WIRED DEVICES WITH USB AND GIGABIT ETHERNET PORTS

Eight Gigabit Ethernet ports let you connect an array of wired devices for enhanced file transfer speeds and stability--up to 10x faster than Fast Ethernet. Two USB connections--including one fast USB 3.0 port--are ideal for connecting shared storage devices or printers.

LINKSYS SMART Wi-Fi


CUSTOMIZE AND MANAGE YOUR HOME Wi-Fi ANYTIME, ANYWHERE

With the Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App, you can closely monitor and manage your home Wi-Fi remotely using a smartphone or tablet.

  • Guest Access: Create a separate, password-protected Wi-Fi network for up to 50 guests and easily share the password.
  • Parental Controls: Ensure a safe Internet experience for your kids -- even when you're away from home. Restrict access to inappropriate or distracting content, control usage, and block specific devices from accessing the Internet.
  • Device Prioritization: You can prioritize devices that need the most speed.

QUICK AND EASY SETUP

Managing your home Wi-Fi with Linksys Smart Wi-Fi is fast and easy:

Step 1 Set up your wireless home network

Set up your home Wi-Fi using a Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Router.

Step 2 Sign up for a Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Account

Download the free Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App.

Linksys Smart Wi-Fi on iOS Get Linksys Smart Wi-Fi on Google Play
Step 3 Customize your network with the Linksys Smart Wi-Fi apps

Use Your Mobile Device to Manage Your Home Wi-Fi.

Videos

Meet the Linksys Max-Stream AC5400 Router with MU-MIMO Technology

  • Meet the Linksys Max-Stream AC5400 Router with MU-MIMO Technology

  • The Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App has a Whole New Look & Feel

  • Max-Stream™ Routers & Range Extenders with Seamless Wi-Fi Roaming

Show all videos
Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    AC5400 MU-MIMO Tri-band Gigabit, 1000+2166+2166 Mbps
  • Key Features:
    • Tri-Band (5 GHz + 5GHz + 2.4 GHz)
    • 4x4 AC, MU-MIMO
    • USB 3.0 Port
    • Dual-Core CPU
    • Beamforming Technology
    • 8 Adjustable Antennas
    • Smart Wi-Fi
  • Network Standards:
    • 802.11b
    • 802.11a/g
    • 802.11n
    • 802.11ac
  • Wi-Fi Speed:
    AC5400 (N1000 + AC2166 + AC2166)
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    2.4 and 5 GHz(2x) (simultaneous tri-band)
  • Wi-Fi Range:
    Very Large Household
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    • 1x Gigabit WAN port
    • 8x Gigabit LAN ports
  • Other Ports:
    • One(1) USB 3.0 port
    • One(1) USB 2.0 port
    • Power
  • Antennas:
    8x external adjustable antennas
  • Processor:
    1.4 GHz dual-core
  • LEDs:
    Status Indicator, MU-MIMO Indicators, illuminated Linksys logo, Wi-Fi, Wi-Fi Protected Setup, Power, Internet, LAN 1–8, USB 3.0, USB 2.0
  • Wireless Encryption:
    64/128-bit WEP, WPA2 Personal, WPA2 Enterprise
  • Operation Modes:
    • Wireless Router
    • Access Point (Bridge)
  • Storage File System Support:
    • FAT
    • NTFS
    • HSF+
  • Easy Setup:
    • Browser-based Setup
    • Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Setup
  • Certified Operating Systems:
    Windows 7, Windows 8.1
  • Minimum System Requirements:
    • Internet Explorer® 8
    • Safari® 5 (for Mac®)
    • Firefox® 8
    • Google Chrome™
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    264.52 x 318.15 x 66.66 mm (10.41 x 12.53 x 2.62 in.) without antennas
  • Weight:
    1727.7 g (60.94 oz)
  • Security Features:
    • WPA/WPA2
    • 128 bit AES link encryption
    • WEP
  • Regulatory Compliance:
    FCC class B
  • Power Supply:
    Input: 100-240V ~ 50-60Hz; Output: 12V, 5A
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys AC5400 Tri-Band Wi-Fi Router, EA9500
  • Quick Start Guide
  • 8 Antennas
  • Ethernet Cable
  • Power Adapter
  • CD-ROM with Documentation
Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Router For My Need. I struggled trying to find the right Router strong enough to fulfill my need and demand, but not anymore. The AC5400 is strong enough for my Netflix 4K account to be running in the background while my all old PC is downloading movies and I'm doing school work in my Mac computer all of this without slowing the games I'm playing at the same time in my 2 iPhones. It's also strong enough to reach every corner of my 3 bedroom apartment without the need for me to set it up on the middle of the apartments. I still do recommend to set up your router in the middle of your home but if that not possible for you, just know that this router is strong enough to handle huge places.
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is alright It is a good router. I haven't any different from Linksys EA9200 in term of speed/coverage maybe my house is small and my internet speed is not a Fios network. Before I bought this product, I have EA9200 which work very decent. When I upgraded to EA9500, I was hoping for more upgrade (due to its high price tag). But so far I haven't noticed much different. I only recommend this product if you are a most advance user. Otherwise, you can go with EA9200. I also love 8 Internet Ports. It allows me to wired connect my 4K TV, Xbox, Smart Home Controller Vera, Ooma, Roku, DVD Player without using additional 8 ports switch.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Router Not to bash other companies but after trying a Nighthawk x8 ac5300 and having semi strong 5g and 2.4 ... tried the rt-87u and noticed i had the 5g drop out issues that plagued many others online in reviews... i decided to go back to good old linksys. This router reminds me of old Linksys many years ago in their wrt54g reliable router days, but with a much better quality. This router feels solid! It works and is extremely fast wireless and wired. I see no need for any custom firmware at the moment as everything works as it is supposed to with this router.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Power and easy setup! I bought this router with a Linksys cable modem CM3024 to use on our Time Warner Cable. I'm replacing a Netgear Cable Modem / Router combination that never worked properly from the start. The setup was quick and easy. I have added all of the peripheral wireless devices without issue. The EA9500 is very powerful and has provided coverage throughout my 2000 sq ft home. The 5Ghz coverage is far superior to the router we previously had. The speed of the USB connected hard disk drive is extremely fast. The cost of this router is hard to accept but at this point I'm not at all sorry that I spent the extra.
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Linksys EA9500 High end router is Garbage!!!! I really tried to give this router a chance but after two months of intermittent routing issues between between wireless channels I decided to return it. For a high end router at this price point, it has no real capabilities beyond providing wireless coverage and of course 8 LAN ports. No openvpn support, no jumbo frame support (which killed my NAS backups), no way to configure netbios name, etc. there was just nothing special about it. I will admit that the wireless coverage it provided was outstanding but that's about the only good thing I can say about it.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fast but under powered This router is fast but under powered, For a high end router it has low memory of only 256 MB whereas other routers have 512 MB, This affects the use of USB hard drives for media, I noticed it buffered a lot and paused as memory flushed out old data. The other routers that I have tested with 512 MB of memory don't buffer or pause on playback. Mapping the USB drives can be a pain, My EA9500 is not seen under network in windows file explorer. You have to manually map the drives, The other Linksys routers I have tested would automatic see the network drives under the router's name. If you going to use the drives for file access or backup, then you should be fine. The speed of this router is excellent and distance is very good. I have 20 devices linked to it wireless and cable, and doesn't slow down a bit.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New King of Wireless Routers The Linksys EA9500 MAX-STREAM AC5400 MU-MIMO Gigabit Wi-Fi Router is a home use, entertainment ready, and commercial grade build-quality device that is designed to serve you for years to come. I have never experienced such all-around speed in a router until now. Speed in setup, speed in connecting, speed in throughput and speed in handling multiple streams. I threw a barrage of giant streaming video files, huge data transfers and 20 devices connected concurrently and I simply could not slow the King of Wireless Routers down. The router uses 3 bands that allow up to 5.3 Gbps. Using MU-MIMO, each device is treated as if it has its own dedicated router. Combine that with a 1.4 GHz dual core processor, you'll be seamlessly video conferencing, streaming HD Video, listening to music, gaming and file transfers, all at the same time, with ease. Forget about network lag. There isn't any that is noticeable. It's just that FAST! There are 8 adjustable antennas that provide 4 simultaneous streams. Beamforming directs Wi-Fi signals to each of your devices, even mobile. As you move, the beam follows, reducing the intermittent "slow" spots. Need to hardwire some devices No problem. The router has 8 Gigabit Ethernet ports. No need for an additional network switch expense and clutter compared to lesser routers. Got external storage that houses movies, photos or music. Just plug it in to the USB 3.0 or 2.0 port. One of my favorite features is the dedicated on and off toggle switch. No more crawling on the floor to power down your router. The Smart Wi-Fi setup and mobile applications make setting up and controlling your router a breeze. It takes minutes from opening box to successfully operating the router. Routers were notoriously difficult to setup in the past. Linksys has literally made its router one of the easiest devices to setup. Need to setup a guest user, change device priority, or check signal strength? No problem with Smart Wi-Fi. Finally, Linksys backs up the EA9500 with a 3-year warranty and technical support to match what is sure to be a long-term investment against obsolescence.
Date published: 2016-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely amazing!! Wow, what an amazing product. I can't believe how much different out internet experience has improved 10 FOLD since installing the marvel. It only took about 3 minutes to get this beast up and running. The software used to manage this 9500 was easy to us. If there is only ONE thing I could say they could improve on is make it possible to assign static routes for Ethernet connected devices instead of DHCP reservations. I could not find this option anywhere in the advanced set up process. I would like to end saying that you will NOT be disappointed with the performance of this router. Actually, we should call this the Heart, cause that pretty much what it is in today's modern home.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Beast - Excellent Our home network handles upwards of twenty devices. A mixture of 5GHz, 2.4GHz, and wired gigabit devices ranging from phones, tablets, PC’s, streaming, game consoles, printers, NAS and so on. To say the least, it is an extremely active environment, with heavy loading of movies streaming from the Internet and streaming services in the evening. Have continued to look for technical solutions to provide more smooth bandwidth to our home and garage devices in the Wi-Fi jungle, that continues to grow. When I speak of the Wi-Fi Jungle I am not so much speaking of our home but all the neighboring usage, it is truly a jungle out there and it throttles back the bandwidth. There is only so much pie to go around. Over the last two years have used two WRT 1900ac(s) routers that perform extremely well, but was not a complete solution for our needs. When I first read about the EA9500 advancements I knew I had found what I was looking for, dual 5GHz bands along with a strong 2.4GHz band. Tri-Band Quad Stream Wi-Fi with speeds up to 5.3 Gbps, Beamforming technology providing focused directed Wi-Fi to your mobile devices. This Beast Packs a Tremendous amount of Punch. The EA9500 provides for further Wi-Fi performance with the MU-MIMO technology, I cannot take advantage of this yet (my devices do not have the tech) as this will be rolling out in newer device products coming to market. I will of course have my eye on adding the MU-MIMO tech to my network mix, always room for improvement, plus my kid loves seeing the Wi-Fi Scanner showing the strength of our Wi-Fi in the neighborhood/Jungle. Setup: If you are familiar with Linksys’s Smart Wi-Fi interface you will feel very much at home and the setup should be a breeze. Personally I manually setup my routers but they do have the Smart Setup Wizard which will walk you quickly through the setup. The plan for switching from my network WRT 1900ACS router to the EA9500 was simply Snipping screen shots of all the setup screens and creating a short document to use in setup. Simple and fast. My thoughts on the EA9500 can be summed up in one word, Wow! Never has our network worked so smoothly (especially at night when we have dueling movie streaming). The signals are very strong and covers my entire home, and the router placement is in a corner room office. The banding of the two 5GHz streams is fantastic, though you can separate them and manage two separate streams if you need. Important point for me was the expanding of the Ethernet Ports to Eight, I now (at the moment) no longer need an additional switch for wired connections at the router, though there are two Linksys switches at the entertainment center and at the kid’s desk. There is a separate Internet connection port making the Ethernet port total nine all running at gigabit. Looks great and professional on the office desk, on the corner of course as this is no small router, it has a significant footprint. Additionally, we have a detached garage that sits 88’ (actually measured with tape) from the router in the house to the workbench in the garage. The signal must travel through two house walls, deck structure, garage walls and obstacles in the garage, benches, stacked storage boxes, etc. There is a decent signal in the garage from the EA9500 which I have picked up with a Linksys Range Extender (I am presently testing a RE6700 and RE700 extenders in the garage and both are slamming out five bars)! Great for streaming music to my Bluetooth speaker, keeping the phone connected to Wi-Fi or laptop connection. Have not gone into all the technical info, it is there to read and it is exciting stuff. Can tell you I spent decades in IT managing systems supporting up to six thousand users, given all the equipment I have worked with this box has me excited. It is good stuff and fills my home with Five Bars of Wi-Fi. User Manual: is rather simple, where I would enjoy more detailed documentation. The Help System within the router does provide more detail than you will find in the User’s Manual. Have been running the router several days and it is rock solid managing our network. Plus, it looks cool. Highly recommended if you have the need to run a large network environment, or just enjoy being the fastest kid on the block.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Features. Had some issues at first Set up was fairly easy. Was up and running in less than 15 mins. Problems soon followed. Blocked one of the desktop connections, blocked NAT game console connections. After a couple of hours of troubleshooting, just needed a simple reset. Shouldn't need a reset out of the box, but issue resolved and no problems since. Speed is great. 4K streaming flows wonderful. Tri-Band coverage is excellent. Smart Wifi app works well. PROS: A preconfigured wireless network makes set up easy. CONS: Huge piece of hardward, and weighs 4.5lbs.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!!! I received this new router to evaluate from Linksys Friends and Family and I must say it is very impressive. I had a bit of trouble when I first set it up but from past experiences I found that a factory reset usually solves any little bugs that may occur. Afterwards, it was nothing but fun putting this thing through every test I could imagine. I have about 11 devices connected and I ran Netflix, Hulu, movie downloads, etc on all of them at the same time and it never lagged. This is a tri-band router and it has a Smart feature that connects the (2) 5ghz bands together for an extraordinarily smooth connection. I highly recommend this router for the most extreme demands you could ever imagine.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Router Is the Real Deal!!! I currently have a Nighthawk X6 AC3200, I have to say besides the space it takes due to the size of the router, range it covers is not what it promise to cover and the worst part customer service is horrible. Then I got the EA9500, router was placed at same location as my Nighthawk size hum same size that's the bad side but speed and range BIG difference! Customer service wow huge difference on helping open ports for my xbox one and connecting other smart devices. I Love electronics and have over 20+ items the require Internet, I have to admit so far this router is meeting my expectations!!
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice hardware. The wifi performance of this device is very good. It has solved my throughput and distance issues in our large ranch home. The band steering appears to work and we don't experience any disconnects. This is not our primary router so I currently run the device in bridge mode. This disables all the 'smart' features which I really dislike. I do wish the firmware would either: A. Allow the default route to be added to the LAN network when the router is configured in router mode and the WAN network is left disconnected (Cascading LAN to LAN). or B. Don't disable all of the smart features when in bridge mode. We shouldn't lose access to *all* smart features, only those which require a router.
Date published: 2016-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast, reliable....INCREDIBLE! I review products for Linksys, and the Linksys EA9500 Max-Stream™ AC5400 Tri-Band Wi-Fi Router is the best that can be had. Ease of setup, range, speed ( it's not fast, it's SUDDEN ) are the top perks of this product. Can't say much for the gaming aspect of it, as I am not a gamer, but streaming ( HD and 4K ) are fantastic. My son ( who IS a gamer ) is trying to get this from me. THAT ain't happenin', as they say. Wouldn't give this up for no one. A bit bulky, but will make room for this router! BEST YET, LINKSYS!!!
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Technical Support - hands down! Here is the reason I keep going back to Linksys routers - amazing technical support. With the EA9500 router, the customer automatically receives level 2 customer support. These folks know how to link Verizon's FIOS Quantum gateway router with the EA9500 -- working the first time. Do a web search and you will see the problems people are having trying to bridge a Verizon FIOS router and you will see why the tech support is so important. Also, the range and speed are top notch - but, I expect that from Linksys. BTW, I ordered the router on Amazon "Prime Day", cutting the price by $120!
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Build Quality This is a really well made router, it has a surprising amount of heft to it, which is a good thing, because it is obvious that it has plenty of quality electronics packed inside. I decided to weigh it on a digital scale to see how much it weighs, it is 62.46 ounces, which is 3.9 pounds. This Linksys router has quality buttons and a nice rocker switch for turning it on/off. This Linksys router has perfectly straight fitting labels, which is always a plus, as products with sloppily placed or misfitting labels, have a tendency to have a cheaper feel to the product. There is nothing about this Linksys router that is cheap, the entire product is very well made, it even has nice rubber pads for the feet. I am comparing this Linksys router to a competitor's router, which is similar in appearance, functionality, and price, I will not say the brand name of the competitor. This Linksys router is being released after its competitor, and it appears as if it was purposely designed to have upgraded Ethernet connectivity, this router has a total of 8 Ethernet ports, the competitor router has only 4 Ethernet ports. This Linksys router has a 1.4 GHz dual-core processor, which is the same processor speed of the competitor router that I compared this router to. The browser based administration tool for this router is easy to setup and use. To access the browser based administration tool for this Linksys router, connect to one of the default wireless signals, open an internet browser, type in 192.168.1.1, for the login there is no username and the default password is admin. This is a MIMO router, which means it is designed to handle multiple in and multiple out wireless transmissions at the same time. The fact that this Linksys router is priced similar to a major competitor, with equivalent build quality and more Ethernet ports, makes this a good choice for a router that is capable of handling multiple wireless connections at the same time.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice new Router Since this is a new model I haven't been using it for long, but here are some items I've noticed: **Intermittent disconnects of Apple mobile devices on the 5GHz networks **Limited number of devices possible when using MAC Filtering **Router was supposed to come with AC600 MU-MIMO USB adapter, but it was not in the box Other than these items I have been very happy with the router's performance.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great router so far... Just recieved this router today! Its a BEAST, takes up some realastate! My download speed is 135 mbps, and I get it now throughout my home. Where as with my Asus RT-N66R, I lost speed mear the back of my home 80' away from the Asus. While the price is heft at 399.99, it will make up for it if you Stream alot of conten and have multiple devices like I do on your network!
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't know how they do it!! I have had this installed for about a week and was immediately impressed as to the quality and performance of this device. Kudos to all who dream in this technological universe. The BEST just got Better. While we have radio internet with all its limitations, the MAX-STREAM AC 5400 delivers faster speed and better TV quality picture than its predecessor AC1900. The setup was easy and while my speed is limited by the internet, I consider the improvement delivered in pic quality and speed increase worth the investment in this device. All aside LINKSYS has done it again and better!
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great Speed bad connectivity Great speeds on download and upload with multiple devices connected. Range is nice but not as good as I've had in the past from other routers. Software isn't bad took me a little bit to get use to the navigation of it but I can control everything I need without issue. I was worried about the 2.4 ghz having consisent connection but it is having no problems at all I'm loving it but my 5.0 ghz connection is in constant disconnect reconnect regardless of changing channels or device so I'm very disappointed in that aspect. Overall it's a nice router and works well but for $399.99 I can't give it more then 2 stars with the 5.0 ghz bands having a huge connections issue when a router like this biggest thing is having a good tiger band option so I'm highly disappointed.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but Pros: 8 port gig switch 2 bands of 5 GHz Mu-Mimo Cons: Large Beamforming seems to be a gimmick seamless roaming is also a gimmick Cost This router claims to be good at: bandwidth, range, and multiple access point usage. I have no complaints with the bandwidth, it's good enough for everything I've thrown at it. The beamforming seems to be a joke, I'm not seeing any stronger 5 GHz signals before or after using this router; PS only the 5 GHz is able to use beamforming sorry 2.4 GHz users. Finally the seamless roaming isn't really a feature but more of a common functionality that every access point has: set the SSID and password to be the same for both devices, ensure that the channels are not the same and boom seamless roaming.
Date published: 2016-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Linksys EA9500 Max-Stream Just received this router and it was very easy setup, I have a great deal of devices in use at one time over 8. From laptops to macs to appleTV, I have no problem with them slowing down. I was amazed on the setup and the paring with my RE7000 range extender (WPS), and the two 5ghz bands is a welcome added feature, as most of my devices are new and only have two older iPhone/iPad combo. For the range my house is 1600 sqft Tri/level and all the rooms have connection. In my study I put the RE7000 range extender and no issues at all with bars!! Only thing is the form factor for my living room, it just barely fits one the shelf (looks a little big). I was sent this product to evaluate from Linksys Friends and Family.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Likes and dislikes I have just revived this in the mail and love the quicker download time I am experencing. I also love the Tri-band it has boosted the amount of devices I am able to connect without lag. I can also let my friends get on my Wi-Fi without slowing my stuff down by having a separate guest account with its own password. The only things I don't like are not being able to name each frequency differently. I also do t like that I can't rename the devices that are connected in the app.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mixed feelings... My previous routers only offered the 2.4 Ghz band. I was excited to get a router that also offers the 5 Ghz band that also provides higher speeds. I guess I should have realized that when you use a higher frequency band, range drops. On my older routers I had greater range because they only offered the 2.4 Ghz band and I now find myself frequently switching from the 5 Ghz band back to the 2.4 Ghz band. This isn't a Linksys problem/fault, it's just physics. My EA9500 is located in my basement adjacent to my cable modem. Therefore, I'm solving this problem by ordering the Linksys RE7000 range extender and "installing" it on the main floor, ground level. I just wish I didn't have to incur the additional expense.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Size Does Matter I bought this router for Dirt Cheap through a promo code. Works great so far and looks beefy and powerful. Only issue I had was at one point I was only getting 30 out of my 60mb connection speeds but I believe it was due to the Data allocation setting. Once I turned it off it gave me my full speed. I recommend this product to anyone willing on spending some extra cash for a quality router. And due to its size you may have to build a shelf for it. It doesn't have wall mounting holes on the bottom. Probably due to its weight and size. That was honestly the hard part of setting it up. It took me an hour to figure out where I could place it without having wires all over the place. Even on the shelf of my desk my antennas had to be tilted to the side.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Two defective units in a row - what's going on wit This is my second AC5400 and was a replacement for the first unit. First unit was determined defective after 2+ hours on the phone with Linksys tech support. It would not establish an internet connection. When my unit arrived, its original Linksys shrink wrap was missing but all required components were included..box was date stamped November 22,2016. It was obviously a returned item. Linksys did check to see that everything was in its box; however, they did not bother to test the unit. When plugged in and switched on, it was dead on arrival. Power supply testing showed that it was putting out the required 12V DC. Its switch is likely the culprit. I have been using Linksys products for more than twenty years but am fast losing confidence in their ability to control and sort out problems with their Chinese supplier.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome router - exceptional range and performance I have been using the router for a couple of days now, and I have been amazed at the range and the consistency of this router. Set-up literally took 10 minutes, and we have had nothing but great performance out of it from the beginning. The 4x4 AC streaming really makes a difference for our heavy-use household - there are always multiple people streaming video or music services, and this router handles it all perfectly. I would highly recommend this router to anyone.
Date published: 2016-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A router that produces. I spent 15 minutes. Yes, I unplugged the older one from the wall and plugged this one in. Took 5 minutes to input the password for my tablet, my sons PS3 and TV. My daughters and then the TV in the living room. We can now do our own thing without bothering each other constantly. It's all done with Wi-Fi so no miserable wires. This thing is sweet. All of us at one time and it doesn't skip a beat. I've been testing it for 3 straight days without anybody crying to me about internet problems. So what more can you ask from a router I say? Finally, some peace around here!
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good coverage This is a free sample procduct received from Linksys Family and Friends program and is really awesome looking, it performs well and gives good signal coverage throughout my three room apartment. I was dissapointed to find it has no WPS button anywhere, and it dosen't recognize my wireless printer, it's probably something simple and I haven't contacted tech yet, I'm sure it will work fine when I can do that, You can't go wrong with Linksys. You will be impessed by it's looks and the coverage you get from it, If you invest in one I'm sure you won' be disappointed.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happiness is only a router away! There is a paper in the box that says "Remember happiness is only a router away!" I think they nailed it. I honestly waited a full week before even opening this because I figured it can't be much better that the EA7500 I already have, and LOVE, right? I was way off. I've been playing with it all night and this thing is an absolute powerhouse. I want to see just how far I can push. So far I have been very very impressed. I really never thought I would have a router this impressive, capable and attractive.... Linksys just made my entire family lifelong customers.
Date published: 2016-05-22
  • y_2017, m_3, d_26, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_302
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-EA9500, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 297ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*The standard transmission rates–1000 Mbps or 2166 Mbps (for 5 GHz), 1000 Mbps (for 2.4 GHz), 54 Mbps, and 11 Mbps–are the physical data rates. Actual data throughput will be lower and may depend on the mix of wireless products used and external factors.
**Seamless Roaming is designed for devices that support the 802.11k standard including but not limited to iPhone (4s and later), iPad Pro, iPad Air and later, iPad mini and later, iPad (3rd generation and later), iPod touch (5th generation and later), Samsung S4 (Android 4.2.2 /4.4.2), Samsung S5 (Android 4.4.2), and Samsung S6 (Android 5.0.2). For more information on supported Windows® and other devices, please check with your device manufacturer. Seamless Roaming may require the latest Max-Stream firmware. Please check the support page of your Max-Stream router for more details.
† As reported by Ixia ixChariot v7.10 SP3. Test conducted by Tolly comparing EA9500/AC5400 router to 3 similar single Multi-MIMO competitor routers. 57% claim is based on the greatest difference in throughput to an individual client in a line-of-site trial achieved in such testing. Compared to competitive solutions, “The Linksys EA9500 AC5400 MU-MIMO Gigabit Router provides: (1) Up to 40% greater aggregate throughput in line-of-sight tests, (2) Up to 57% greater individual client throughput in line-of-sight tests, (3) Up to 36% faster per client average client throughput in mixed distance/floor tests.”
Notes: Tri-band devices provide a single 2.4GHz radio and two 5GHz radios. All testing used 5GHz band. Average of three runs.
Source: Tolly, July 2016
Testing done in the United States with a MU-MIMO router produced for use in the United States.
Review the full Tolly Report PDF for more detailed information.