text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Removing WiFi profiles or preferred networks

If you have connected to various WiFi before, your computer may have problems connecting wirelessly especially when the WiFi name (SSID) is the same with the previous ones you have connected to.  Removing WiFi profiles on your computer may resolve connectivity issues to your current WiFi.

This article will guide you on how to remove WiFi profiles on your computer.  Select your computer’s operating system below for specific instructions:

Windows® 10
Windows 8 / Windows 8.1
Windows 7
Mac® OS X®

NOTE:  Removing WiFi profiles or preferred networks cannot be undone.  Make sure you know the credentials of your WiFi to be able to reconnect to it.

Windows® 10

Step 1:
Click on the Windows logo > Settings icon.

 

User-added image


Step 2: 
Click on Network & Internet.

 

User-added image


Step 3: 
Click Wi-Fi.

 

User-added image

 
NOTE:  You can also click on the network icon on the lower right-hand side and click on Network & Internet settings.

 

User-added image


Step 4:
Click Manage known networks.

 

User-added image


Step 5:
Select the WiFi profile you want to remove and click on Forget.

 

User-added image


Windows 8 / Windows 8.1 

Windows 8 and 8.1 do not have the list of preferred networks that lets you add or remove a profile.  However, you can choose to forget the network through the Networks section or delete a profile using the Command Prompt.  Follow the steps below to know how.

Through Networks
Through the Command Prompt

 

Through Networks 

QUICK TIP:  The computer must be within range of the WiFi before proceeding with the steps below.

 

Step 1:
Select  from the Charms Bar.

QUICK TIP:  To open the Charms Bar, move the mouse cursor to the upper right corner of the screen.  


Step 2:
Click on the Network icon.

 

User-added image


Step 3:
Select the network you want to remove and try to connect.  When you get an error message that says Can’t connect to this network, click Forget network.

 

User-added image
 

If your computer connects to the network, just right-click the name and then click Forget this network.
 

User-added image
 

Through the Command Prompt 

The Command Prompt in Windows 8 and 8.1 lets you delete a profile or show all WiFi profiles saved on your computer using a specific command.  To open the command prompt, go to Search > enter "Command Prompt" in the search box, then click Command Prompt.

 

  • To delete a profile, enter netsh wlan delete profile name="ProfileName" on the command line.


User-added image
 

  • To show all WiFi profiles saved on the computer, enter netsh wlan show profiles.


User-added image
 

Windows 7

Computers running on Windows 7 may show the following error message: 

The settings saved on this computer for the network do not match the requirements of the network

Removing the previous WiFi profiles or preferred networks resolves this issue.  For instructions, follow the steps below:

 

Step 1:
Click the Pearl User-added image button and click on Control Panel.

 

User-added image


Step 2:
In the Control Panel window, select Network and Sharing Center.



 

Step 3:
Click on Manage wireless networks.

 

User-added image


Step 4:
Select the network profile you wish to remove, make sure it is highlighted then click Remove.

 

User-added image
 

Step 5:
A window will prompt you to confirm the removal of the network profile you selected to remove.  Click Yes to continue.

 

User-added image 
 

You have successfully removed the network profile.
 

Mac® OS X®


NOTE:  Mac OS X Version 10.7.3 (Lion) is used here as example.
 

Step 1:
Click on the Apple® menu and select System Preferences.


User-added image
 

Step 2:
Click Network.

 

User-added image


Step 3:
Click on the Advanced button.

 

User-added image 


Step 4:
Select the WiFi profile you wish to remove under the Preferred Networks box, make sure it is highlighted then click the minus (-) button.

 

User-added image
 

You have successfully removed the network profile.

QUICK TIP:  You can now try to reconnect to the WiFi to save it to your computer or device.

Was this support article useful?

Additional Support Questions?

Search Again

CONTACT SUPPORT