Removing WiFi profiles or preferred networks

If you have connected to various WiFi before, your computer may have problems connecting wirelessly especially when the WiFi name (SSID) is the same as the previous ones you have connected to. Removing WiFi profiles on your computer may resolve connectivity issues with your current WiFi. This article will guide you on how to remove WiFi profiles on your computer.

Select your computer’s operating system below for specific instructions:


Windows® 11
Windows 10
macOS® Monterey

Removing WiFi profiles or preferred networks cannot be undone. Make sure you know the credentials of your WiFi to be able to reconnect to it.
 



Windows® 11

 

1. Click on the Windows sf143276-001_en_v3.png logo and select Settings.

sf143276-002_en_v3.png
 

You can also right-click on the WiFi icon or network icon and click Network and Internet settings.

 

sf143276-003_en_v3a.png
 

2. Click Network & internet


sf143276-004_en_v3.png
 

3. Select Wi-Fi.

sf143276-005_en_v3.png


4. Click Manage known networks.

 

sf143276-006_en_v3.png
 

5. Select the WiFi profile you want to remove and click on Forget.


sf143276-007_en_v3.png


 

Windows 10


1. Click on the Windows logo > Settings icon.
 

sf143276-008_en_v3.png


2. Click on Network & Internet.
 

sf143276-009_en_v3.png


3. Click Wi-Fi.
 

sf143276-010_en_v3.png

 
You can also click on the network icon on the lower right-hand side and click on Network & Internet settings.

 

sf143276-011_en_v3.png


4. Click Manage known networks.
 

sf143276-012_en_v3.png


5. Select the WiFi profile you want to remove and click on Forget.
 

sf143276-013_en_v3.png


 

macOS® Monterey


1. Click on the Apple® icon and select System Preferences.


sf143276-014_en_v3.png
 

2. Click Network.
 

sf143276-015_en_v3.png


3. Click on the Advanced button.
 

sf143276-016_en_v3.png 


4. Select the WiFi profile you wish to remove under the Preferred Networks box, make sure it is highlighted then click the minus (-) button.
 

sf143276-017_en_v3.png
 

You have successfully removed the network profile.

You can now try to reconnect to the WiFi to save it to your computer or device.

Was this support article useful?

Additional Support Questions?
Search Again