text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Getting to know the wireless standards of routers

There are five wireless standards for routers namely 802.11b802.11g802.11a, 802.11n, and 802.11ac.  Each wireless standard has its own features.  See the table below for the comparison.

802.11b20 MHz2.4 GHzUp to 11 Mbps
802.11g20 MHz2.4 GHzUp to 54 Mbps
802.11a20 MHz5 GHzUp to 54 Mbps
802.11n20 or 40 MHz2.4 GHz and / or 5 GHzUp to 1000 Mbps (802.11n speed with 4x4 spatial streams & 1024 QAM support)
802.11ac20, 40, 80 or 160 MHz5 GHzUp to 2600 Mbps (802.11ac speed with 3x3 spatial streams & 160 MHz support)

NOTE:  The speed and range may be reduced significantly if there are interferences between the router and the computer connecting to it.

Related Articles:

How to resolve poor or no signal from a wireless router
How to maximize range, speed & router location placement

Was this support article useful?

Additional Support Questions?

Search Again