text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Manage Users and Share Folders on NAS200 Network Storage System

This screen allows you to manage users which exist on the Network Storage System and also create share folder to users. To do so, follow the below instructions:

Step 1:
Login to network storage's web-based utility, click here to learn how to access the network storage's web-based setup.

NOTE: To access the network storage's web-based setup page using Mac, click here.

Step 2:
When the network storage's setup page appears, click on the Administration tab.
 

To Manage Users

Only the Network Storage System's administrator can create, edit and delete user.

Step 1:
Click Users and click New.
 

Click the Delete to delete the selected user. When deleting a user, you have the option of deleting the shared folder with the same name as the user (if they exist).

NOTE : The Guest and Admin users are pre-defined, and cannot be deleted.

Step 2:
To create new user, you will need to fill in the fields for Name, Password, and Verify Password and click Save.
 

Image

NOTE: Punctuation and other special characters (e.g. */<\>) cannot be used in the name.

Allow Download Manage Access - If checked, then the user can use Download Manage function.

Restrict Disk Quota - Enable the checkbox if you want to set the disk usage for the user, then enter the maximum amount of disk space this user is allowed to use.


To Manage Share Folders

Only the Network Storage System's administrator can create shared folders. However, within a shared folder, users who have access to that shared folder can create other folders (directories) as well as files.

A shared folder can be accessed by many Users, and a User can access many shared folders. If a folder within a shared folder is also a shared folder, then all users with access to the outer share will ALWAYS have the same access to the inner shared folder.

Step 1:
Click Shared Folders and click Edit to manage share folder.

User Name - This list shows all existing users on the Network Storage System.

No Access - If it is selected, then the corresponding user has no access right to the selected Shared Folder.

Read Only - If it is selected, then the corresponding user has Read Only access right to the selected Shared Folder.

Read/Write - If it is selected, then the corresponding user has Read/Write access right to the selected Shared Folder.

Step 2:
Fill in the location where you wand to share and key-in the Display Name and click Save.

Image

Location - The Location associated with the Shared Folder. You can click Browse to select the directory. Note that once a Shared Folder is created, its location can not be changed. Note that punctuation and other special characters (e.g. " : ; | = , + * ? < > ' `) cannot be used in it.

Display Name - Shared Folder Name. Note that punctuation and other special characters (e.g. " / \ [ ] : ; | = , + * ? < > ' ` $ % @ #) cannot be used in it.

Description - Enter a description if you wish. Note that special characters (e.g. " \ : , | ' ) cannot be used in it.

Step 3:
Click Save after you had create or edit the shared folders.

Was this support article useful?

Additional Support Questions?

Search Again

CONTACT SUPPORT