text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features

A large group of family and friends enjoys Wi-Fi throughout the home and garden.

Wi-Fi THAT SETS YOU FREE

Linksys Velop is a high-performing modular Wi-Fi mesh system of nodes built to provide exceptional Wi-Fi coverage throughout your home. It sets up in minutes and delivers a flawless, ultra-fast, full-strength signal.

The Wi-Fi coverage from three Velop nodes gives users 100% coverage in and around the home.

TRI-BAND MESH Wi-Fi SOLUTION FOR EXCEPTIONAL SPEEDS

Featuring Dynamic Tri-band technology, Velop outperforms the competition by providing faster speeds through its combination of three Wi-Fi radios, each tuned for optimal Wi-Fi load balancing to ensure peak Wi-Fi performance throughout the home. Whether you're streaming 4K content, gaming, or video chatting, Velop delivers exceptionally fast Wi-Fi to ensure optimal performance even when multiple Wi-Fi devices are connected.

GIF showing how a mesh system maintains 100% of Wi-Fi power across the distances between the nodes, while a router and range extender solution can go from 100% to 50% speed.
Three nodes can cover up to 6,000 square feet.

MODULAR Wi-Fi SOLUTION THAT CONFIGURES TO YOUR NEEDS

Velop's modular design performs well within every home type, situation, and footprint. Each Velop node is a powerful Tri-Band connection point offering up to 2,000 square feet of coverage.**

Townhouse? Ranch style? Brick or steel? Simply add additional nodes to work around walls, problem areas, or multiple stories.


Multiple nodes work as one Wi-Fi mesh system, while other Wi-Fi requires manual switching between your router and range extenders

A SINGLE, SEAMLESS Wi-Fi EXPERIENCE

The Velop mesh system operates as a singular network that works to ensure a 100% seamless connection as you move throughout your home.*

3-Year Limited Warranty

BACKED BY 3-YEAR LIMITED WARRANTY AND TECH SUPPORT

Velop carries a premium level of support and is backed not only by a three-year warranty, but also by a three-year tech support guarantee with a dedicated phone support line.

A Velop unit elegantly blending with other items on a shelf.

SLEEK, COMPACT DESIGN

Velop is designed for high-performance Wi-Fi. Each Velop features a beautiful, sleek design that can be placed in open spaces, and away from obstructions to provide the best in-home Wi-Fi experience.

Compact in size, Velop is easy to place throughout the home and features an 88% smaller footprint than that of a traditional router. Its tower design supports vertical antenna placement, which enhances Wi-Fi dispersion throughout your home. Additionally, Velop features a cable management system designed to hide connected cables and keep your home clutter-free.

A Velop unit working with Alexa

VELOP WORKS WITH AMAZON ALEXA

When paired with Amazon Alexa, Velop gives you access to a variety of convenient voice commands. For example, you can verbally turn Guest Wi-Fi on or off by stating, "Alexa, ask Linksys to turn on my guest Wi-Fi."

LINKSYS APP

Video Screencap
Linksys App

CUSTOMIZE AND MANAGE YOUR HOME Wi-Fi ANYTIME, ANYWHERE

With the Linksys App, you can closely monitor and manage your home Wi-Fi remotely using a smartphone or tablet.

  • Parental Controls: Ensure a safe Internet experience for your kids--even when you're away from home. Reduce online distractions during homework, family or dinnertime. Restrict access to inappropriate or distracting content, control usage, and block specific devices from accessing the Internet.
  • Guest Access: Generate a separate, password-protected Wi-Fi network for up to 50 guests and easily share the password via text.
  • Device Prioritization: Prioritize devices that need the most speed.
  • Auto-Fix: Automatically select the best channel for your device and eliminate congestion with the push of a button.
  • Speed Test: Easily test and monitor your Internet connection's speed to make sure you're getting full speed from your provider.

QUICK AND EASY SETUP

Managing your home Wi-Fi with the Linksys App is fast and easy:

Step 1 The Linksys App for Velop on a smartphone

Download the Linksys App

Linksys App on iOS Get Linksys App on Google Play
Step 2 User connecting Velop unit to her modem

Connect to your modem

Step 3 Smartphone with App open showing the Name your Wi-Fi step

Name your Wi-Fi & create password

Step 4 User places node on a bookshelf

Place nodes throughout your home

Videos

Linksys Velop: The Only Whole-Home Mesh Wi-Fi Solution

  • Linksys Velop: The Only Whole-Home Mesh Wi-Fi Solution

  • Linksys Velop: True Whole Home Wi-Fi

  • Velop Easy Setup

Show all videos
Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    Tri-Band AC2200 (867 + 867 + 400 Mbps)‡ with MU-MIMO and 256 QAM
  • Key Features:
    • Simultaneous Tri-Band Wi-Fi Mesh System
    • Seamless Wi-Fi
    • Easy App Controls
    • 3-Year Warranty and Support
    • AutoFix & Instant Alerts
    • Works with Alexa
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    Simultaneous Tri-Band (2.4Ghz + 5GHz + 5GHz)
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    2x WAN/LAN auto-sensing Gigabit Ethernet ports
  • Antennas:
    6x internal antennas and high powered amplifiers
  • Processor:
    716 MHz Quad Core
  • Memory:
    4 GB Flash and 512 MB RAM
  • Wireless Encryption:
    WPA2 personal
  • Easy Setup:
    • Simple and secured App based set-up
    • Required for set-up: (1) Internet connection with Modem. (2) Mobile device with Android 4.4 or iOS 8 and higher, Bluetooth preferred.
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    3.1" x 3.1" x 7.3" per Node
  • Security Features:
    WPA2 personal
  • Additional Information:
    Bluetooth 4.0/LE for secure and easy App based set-up
  • Beamforming:
    for 2.4 GHz and 5GHz bands
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys Velop (x3)
  • Ethernet cable (x1)
  • Power adapter (x3)
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Printed Documentation
Reviews

Press

Rated 2 out of 5 by from A Lot of Room for Improvement I've been playing with the Velop for the past 3 days.  I'm comparing it to Google WiFi which I used for a week before getting the Velop.  I really want to like the Velop more - mainly because it has a dedicated 5 Ghz backhaul channel.  But as of right now, the Velop needs a lot of work and seems to have been released prematurely. Note that you must manage Velop and Google WiFi via an iOS/Android app. No web page management is available. Key features that are missing from Velop app that the Google Wifi app has: 1. Ability to reboot the nodes or the entire network via the app. Not sure how they left out such a key feature, but as of right now, you'd have to physically unplug all of the nodes to reboot your network. I haven't had a router that couldn't be rebooted via an app/web browser in 10 years. 2. Ability to determine which node and frequency a device is connected to.  I have no way of knowing if the devices are handing off from node to node or if this handoff is seamless.  With the Google app, you can see which node a device is connected to. With Google WiFi, I moved around the house while connected to VoIP calls, Facetime calls, VPN connection to my employer, etc. and I saw that the devices were seamlessly moving between nodes - I never lost connectivity.  The Velop system may work just as well in this regard, but the app doesn't allow me to know that since I can't see which node I'm connected to! 3. Ability to test connectivity between the nodes.  Linksys performs this check during the initial installation but there is no way to test the connectivity again afterwards.  Moving one of the child nodes 5-10 feet closer to the parent (main) node might make a big difference in speed, but you have no way of knowing how the connectivity is after initial setup.  Google WiFi allows you to test the mesh connection between each node at any time and shows you a sliding scale from Poor to Fair to Good.  It's a sliding scale, so your connection strength could be somewhere between Fair and Good for example which is an indication that you might want to try relocation the node a little and test the connection again. 4. Smooth, fast, accurate view of connected devices.  My wife has been gone from the house for 4 hours, yet her Apple Watch (which she is most definitely wearing) is still showing as connected in the Linksys app.  Furthermore, it says the watch is connected via ethernet which is impossible.  Overall, the Google WiFi app is MUCH smoother and quicker and feels MUCH more polished than the Linksys app. Other impressions on Velop vs. Google WiFi: 1. I can obtain faster speeds when connected to the child node with Velop than with Google WiFi.  This is due to the dedicated 5 Ghz backhaul channel and this is the reason I purchased the Velop. 2. However, the Velop speeds are more inconsistent than Google WiFi.  On the Velop, I can achieve the full 240 Mbps speeds that my ISP provides - even when connected to a child node!  However, at times the speeds drop to 60-70 Mbps when running a speed test.  One time, the speeds even dropped to ~5-10 Mbps and I was able to repeat this with a couple of back-to-back speed tests using different sites and servers (DSL Reports speed test + Speedtest.net).  A few minutes later, the speeds were back to 200+ Mbps. 3. Google WiFi speeds are a little slower (as expected) since there is no dedicated backhaul channel.  I lose about 20% of my 240 Mbps speed when connected to the child node and I get speed test results of ~180-200 Mbps as a result.  However - the Google WiFi speeds have been more consistent and always seem to be in this range.  I haven't seen any huge speed drop-offs like what I saw with the Velop.  Personally, consistency is more important to me. Again, I really want to like the Velop.  I have 90 days to return either the Velop or Google WiFi system and I will be alternating between the two during that time to see what improvements each system makes over the next 3 months.  I'm hoping that Linksys steps up their game a bit, as it seems that they still have a lot of work to do. As of right now (January 16, 2017), Google WiFi is the better WiFi system. I'll update this review as necessary if/when Linksys makes improvements.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Dime! I just bought the 3 tower Velop system to solve a problem I was having with spotty wifi in a large house (4,000 sq ft). I had a great router but it was located in the back of my house which gave me very poor wifi in the front because it was too far away. I added an extender but now it created a secondary wifi network xxxx-5G-EXT that you would have to make sure you logged in to when in the front portion. It was a pain. This new Velop system gives me uninterrupted service through all 4,000 square feet under the same network name with no loss in signal strength. I thought it was a bit expensive but it was worth every dime. If you have a big house, BUY IT!
Date published: 2017-06-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Releeased too early? After quite a bit of on-line research, I chose the Velop system. The initial unit install was flawless. Unit number two was placed at the far end of the house and also performed quite well. It was the third unit they gave me problems. After close to twos on the phone with Linksys support (which was very professional) we ended up reloading the firmware on the third unit. We finally had the entire system operational!! Loved it......that is unit my cable modem fell off of the air. I rebooted my Arris Docsis 3.0 modem and was unable to sync the Velop router. At this point not wanting to spend any more time on it, I boxed up the Velop system and plugged in my Asus MIMO. Sorry Linksys. Great idea but not ready for prime time.
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unreliable, and slower than AmpLiFi HD I've tested Velop, Google WiFi, Orbi, and AMPLIFI HD. Velop can hit high speeds, but not reliably. Out of all the devices I tested, Velop is the only one that frequently dropped connections to my Dropcams for long periods at a time, several times a day. It also doesn't do well with walls, despite saying I placed the nodes perfectly. It gives very little feedback on where to put the devices. Just says it's good... doesn't give you a signal strength meter. It also doesn't let you change your subnet. It also requires a connection to the cloud. And it's the most expensive. AmpLiFi HD is the most reliable one I've tested and it does everything locally without "phoning home" to the cloud, which I appreciate. I've since returned the Velop.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product C R A P Support I was so happy with the first one i bought for my community pool, I bought another for my house. EZ to setup, it automatically creates settings and finds other units. A seamless experience. Our Club has a long narrow building with cinderblock walls - so a single access point can't get signal from one end to the other. I set up a Velop 3 pack and now have uniformly high speeds in all parts of the building and all around our pool 75 foot long building and 1.5 acre pool area. Fantastic signal everywhere. But... I called support. Oye. On hold for 15 minutes and no end in sight. I guess it had better work as support is awful. Just doesn't even respond
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In-freaking-believabke Went from a poor quality modem router providing 6mbps download speed when I pay for 75mbps. Now...we'll, see the photo. I got an amazing discount on the 3-pack, paid $300. But it's an amazing system. The first picture is in my living room 15 feet from Node A. The second, in the corner of my second story about 30 linear feet from Node A. I suppose I will install one of the other nodes, for the heck of it, and hope I'll someday have a home large enough to use all 3! The application is also awesome. Had trouble connecting my harmony hub. Went to the app, found the hub and the IP address, and poof, wahla, abra cadabra-connected. I just installed this thing 5 minutes ago, so not much more to speak on yet.
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible! Horrible! Horrible! Purchased this system from Best Buy 3-27-17 and took attempted to set it up in my home. No luck! constant "node off map" error message. Called customer service and went through the entire firmware updates and trouble shooting process. 1 hour and 19 minutes later still no communication between nodes and was told to return it to Best Buy for a new system. 3-29-17 new system picked up from Best Buy and guess what...still same error message with an entire new system. Guess I will be returning this one as well and purchasing the competitor.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully Designed And Excellent Speeds The Velop Whole-home Wifi 3-Pack came in a beautiful designed box, the unboxing experience was pure joy, simple and elegant. As you open the box you have 3 gorgeous routers staring you in the face. These are designed with class you will not want to hide them in a closet or behind things, you can leave these in the open and barley notice them. They did a wonderful job designing these. The setup process was very easy, you can tell they did a lot of engineering to make this go as smooth as it can. The setup is done via an App, both android and iOS is supported. So please make sure you have a tablet or phone ready. Setting up the first node is simple, just following the instructions on the app, once that is setup you have options to setup more nodes, again very easy if you just follow the app. I had zero issues setting mine up. Each node has 2 ethernet ports, your first node will have to be used as WAN/LAN but the other nodes will provide 2 LAN ports. My first node I have a switch connected to the LAN port with zero issues. I believe you can also set these nodes up using ethernet cables vs wireless, but to me I don't see why you need to because the wireless connection to each node is solid. Coming from my old router I see huge speed improvements in certain parts of my house. For example one room in my house was almost impossible to get wifi to, when I did a speed test it came in at 41/20 and could only be on the 2.4ghz range, never could I get anything to connect using 5ghz range. Once I placed a node in this room I was able to get 150/25, a huge improvement. The speeds are like that throughout my house, I have 1 node in my basement and two nodes upstairs. I can walk anywhere in the house and alway have full bars and a fast connection. I'm also seeing a huge improvements on my connection outside of the house, so its nice to be in the yard and still have wifi. Streaming netflix, youtube and playing video games (xbox) I had zero buffering issues, I haven't tried streaming 4k. I have 25 devices connected to my nodes and haven't noticed any issues yet. I do have a con for the Velop system, the parental controls need improved, I believe they can do that in the next update or two. I have no way to setup times I want my kids to access the internet, the app says to use the web gui but when you go to the web gui there is nothing there to setup the parental controls. The only thing the app lets you do is block websites or that user. Also the geek inside me wants more control, I would like to see support where i can change the LAN IP and access to a web gui. Also IPv6 support. I am very impressed with this system, the speed and the range can not be beat, well done Linksys, well done.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great way to cover your entire home with wifi. Technology is ever changing. When Linksys announced the Velop Mesh System, I wondered what could it be? A router and extender combined in a single unit? Was I right, a totally new design for home users. Setup was easy, but a requirement is that you need the Linksys App and Bluetooth. Followed the steps on the app and the setup was fast. You don't need to be a techie for the installation. The app will guide you step by step all the way. Connect the first node to the modem with the supplied eathnet cable, the system will indicate if it successful or not. Proceed to the next step for the second node. As suggested, do not place it too far away from the first node. The nodes are designed to blend in to your surrounding decor. After setup, that you can put the nodes in areas that have low wifi signal. At the end, it will ask you to give a unique name to your mesh system. Once done, your connected. That simple. I placed one in the family room, the other in the upstairs landing. Tested speeds was fast through the house. The improvement I got was in the garage and backyard. I had connectivity issues with my previous system, but with this, no problems. I highly recommend this system if you got the cash to spare. A bit pricy but it blends into your home decor. It comes in one, two or three nodes. For a one room apartment, you can get the one node setup. My house is about 2000 sq ft. and two nodes worked perfectly.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not impressed Bought this 8/1 for a 2,400 sq. ft. house. The main unit (connected to router) is on the second floor. The second unit is on 1st floor within 18 ft from main unit. The third unit is on the 1st floor within 20 ft from second unit (one wall separating). The one connect to the router is fine but the satellites are not dependable. They work most of the time but drop all the time. I have moved these to different rooms and places throughout the room. Can not get dependability. Very disappointed in a system at this price. There is also no way of testing the connections except lengthy trial and error. Very poor.
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Its ok I bought this a few weeks ago and not impress with the performance. I have read the mix reviews but still gave it a try. Bought 3 in a package. House is 3000sqft. I basically put each node in 1 room of each side of the house and main modem router is in the center. In the house it does say full par but does lag. It needs to switch off each node more smoothly. I have a node in my room and when I use my wifi in my backyard and thats beside my room, wifi seems pretty weak. They should make an update for nodes to switch more smoothly and connects the device to the nearest node. For the price its not worth it.
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes my wifi trouble free and enjoyable Finally I can stop trying to tweak my wireless router and extenders because I'm never satisfied with the dead spots I have in my home. My wifi is now fast and reliable everywhere in my home. The best wifi is one that you don't need to think about.
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features! Not very powerful. I've had the Velop wifi system for about 2 weeks. I am trying to replace a very powerful Linksys EA9500 router. I like the ease of setup and the apps. The first node took a while to connect to my router. I finally had to unplug it and try a different one and it connected right away (still not sure why) I don't like the fact that the first node you setup only has 2 wired ports. Wish it had more for a printer, etc. I have a 1,900 sqft (on the main level) ranch house so i setup 1 in the basement and 2 upstairs. Their power / range beyond 20 ft. isn't great. Wish they had more power. I might have to purchase 1 more node for better coverage in the basement. I really wish I could hook these in with my EA9500 to get the best of both worlds.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solves all blind spots problems It is really awesome. VERY easy to install. The app guides you perfectly well. This is the only negative comment: The only thing the app does is that.. installation. In the rest of its features is totally unreliable (for example it shows devices which are connected when they are not and vice-versa). But the VELOP is totally awesome.
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wi-Fi All Over My Home Velop was just what I needed to help improve the wi-fi coverage in my home. My Linksys EA9500 router was getting the job done, but the Velop mesh system takes things to a whole new level in a great way. Beautiful packaging, easy to follow set up and everything you need to get up and going is in the box. The Linksys app is very intuitive and steps you through everything in a very organized way. The set up of the additional two nodes was really easy. You just follow the guide on the app and it does the rest. I love it. The performance overall is really good. Using just one node, the coverage was excellent all by itself. I am amazed with how something so small can work so well. My home is 4000 sq. feet. After installing Velop, I walked around the house with my wi-fi analyzer there are no dead spots anywhere in my home. It took me almost two hours to get the first node set up. I would get to the point when the node was trying to set itself up (it creates its own Wi-Fi access point) and would hang up there. I eventually figured out my alternate Wi-Fi point was interfering with the set up. Once I got that shut down..the first node set itself up like magic. It was my fault. I should have disabled the other Wi-Fi access point. The instructions and in app guide felt almost too simple for me. This was the easiest set up process I have ever seen. The only issue was (maybe not an issue) is that the app doesn't explain what the process is going to be before you start. You only find out as you go along. It would have saved me some time if I was told how to prepared my existing network prior to installation. Setting up the other two nodes was easy and trouble free. I thought the power supplies for the nodes are too big. They take up a lot of real estate on a power strip and if they needed to be that big, a vertical approach might have been better. They do work just fine on a standard wall outlet. Summary: Some minor set-up issues aside (it's on me), the system is great and is performing very well and totally solves my home's Wi-Fi coverage issues. My wife knew nothing about what I was doing and commented that the Wi-Fi in the house worked better than normal. There's your testimonial..
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing difference Amazing difference. I had a AC 1900 plus an extender for my house. The internet connection was fine but I had some random drops when multiple devices will connect plus when I go from one part of the house where the extender was located the signal will sometimes disconnect and reconnect. After I purchased the VELOP I have not had a drop in connection when multiple devices are connected at the same time, also going from on part of the house to the other where the other VELOP is connected I have no drops in connection. The wifi signal strength is a great improvement compared from my old router.
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good coverage? These were more expensive than their competition but got decent reviews and so I purchased them to cover a single story 2,500 sq ft home. Not being terribly computer literate, I hired the Geek Squad to install the system for me. When the installer left my home all 3 nodes had blue lights indicating that they were all working properly. A few days later I noticed that the node farthest from the base has a yellow light. That situation has continued intermittently ever since so I re-called the Geek Squad again and they will be returning to troubleshoot the situation. All indications are from Linksys that this system is easy to install and works fine for a normal sized one story home-but apparently not.
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not quite ready for prime time Brought he 3 pack. When your ISP goes up and down these VELOPs get confused, the remotes lose their connection, you have to power cycle them to get back on the network, there is a LACK of some commonsense RF signal level tools for placement and to make this thing work. Maybe in another year. When it's working it's really good. (about 80% of the time) when it's not is a PITA to get back running again. By the fourth or fifth time of reinitializing the base VELOP unit attached to my BB cable modem, I simply gave up and took them back to Best buy for a pair of WRT3600 Linksys - these work great and have accurate reporting information on what and who is on your home network (and you can use one SSID as well with them)
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I had been running on the Cable/Modem combo which my ISP gives out and I thought it was more than what I needed. That was not true at all, coverage was actually fair but the speed was terrible. I upgraded to the Velop system and spread all three units around the house and what a difference it made. I must admit, setting up was a little frustating as one of the steps was establishing communication with my modem and it took several restarts until it got it but after that it was all smooth sailing. Adding the other two modes was a breeze as the app walks you through it and well worth it at the end. I would recommend giving it a shot and what's the worst it could happen? You don't like it and return it (doubtful)
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Speeds, Not what they say I have the 3 pack for about a month and a half now, and I was hoping to get the 100% speeds throughout my house like they advertise. I do not get even close to the speeds from my ISP. I get 367-370 MPS from my ISP, and when I do a speed test from my phone (galaxy S7) on the 5ghz channel, I get 253 MPS (at best) and when I am on the 2.4GHZ channel, it is in the 90's. I spent a lot of money on this and switched from the Google Wifi (which was MUCH cheaper) because of the tri band functionality and thought that would make a difference. NOT I am VERY disappointed!!!
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs a little work with the app Used iPhone to install the system. (This is a long review) First, I must say once everything is up and running the system works well. All my devices are running well and if this was the end of my review it would be 5 stars. First problem encountered was the install procedure stalled and there is no way to do anything at that point. The app is absolutely horrid when it gets stuck (loss of a star at this point). I figured ok and installed the app on my iPad and started again from the beginning. All seemed to work just fine. I gave it a new SSID (same name as my old SSID so I would not have to update all my devices) and same password as my old network. I should have known something was wrong when some devices made me fill out the password to connect and some did not. So started watching a movie on my firestick and it was working just fine; about 20 min into movie it freezes, no internet !! Alright, no problem. Checked app and now only 2 velops are showing. The 2nd one added which was where the firestick was connected had disappeared although the light was solid blue. The 3rd one installed was actually red but was showing as good to go on the app. OK, no problem, just reset the 3rd one and reinstall. Now the app froze on the iPad. No problem, reinstalled app on phone and started again. App froze again so now both devices are just stuck. (By the way app does not run on a computer.) Got the third one up and running again, but now the network was not secure anymore. The app showed WPA2 and the password was there, but network still unsecure. At this point I figured it was just time to completely start over. I was thinking maybe the two devices messed something up. Started over and everything went flawless. Network is up and running and not a single issue. I may come back and update later if necessary. Now the bad stuff !! The app does not work on the computer and that may be because they want you to be close to device while setting up and honestly not everyone has a laptop. Not defending the company, but that may be the reason the app does not work on the computer. Also, when the app hangs there is nothing you can do. I just uninstalled and reinstalled to get going again, that’s a no go. Additionally, the app still needs some tweaking because it shows some devices are connected via Ethernet when clearly for some devices it is not even possible; my truck connects to the net and it is reported as an Ethernet connection, not possible. I have 4 devices that are reported as Ethernet but they are all wireless. Fix the app !! Not all people have a modem with LAN inputs so they use a router. If you had more than one lan cable attached to your router then you would not have the option to connect all your devices to the velop because it only has an input for one device. (guess you can use an ethernet switch which will require additional space). For me, OK with my modem with 4 lan hookups, for many others, NO GO !! So you can see the app, no computer support, and one LAN hookup are some issues with the Velop. I will not ding the initial setup, but the install did hang which caused me to switch devices. So that is how Velop only earns 3 STARs from me.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mesh / node switchover not so good I bought this to roam around the house (3000 sq-ft). It was great as long as I didn't go from one side of the house to the other. If on the phone (Droid or Apple) using Wifi calling, it was painful to try and continue a conversation during the switch.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Inconsistent Performance While I like the better coverage across the house, performance is very inconsistent. My WIRED connection CONSISTENTLY provides 350+ Mbps download speed and 23 Mbps upload speed, but my wireLESS connection does not provide consistent speeds at all. Sometimes it provides 150 Mbps download speed, which would be fantastic if it were consistent. But many times I get 7-8 Mbps download speed at the same place with the same device. (BTW, don't trust the speed test within the online app. It just gives you the wired download speed, so it always looks like it is fast. Use a third party online speed test.) At least with my previous WAP, I got consistent speeds. These devices cost WAY to much to provide such inconsistent performance.
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnificent Mesh! Although I've received three review requests from Linksys, I always wait a full three weeks before I review a tech product, so if there are Gremlins lurking they've raised their heads by now. No Gremlins I'm happy to report! We have a 3,000+ sq ft house, two stories, and we spend a good deal of our days in the back yard. Our Velop system gives us great coverage all over the house as well as a decent signal along the back fence of our back yard, a good 80 feet from the house. Easy installation, app is clear and concise with instructions. We're very pleased!!
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pleased with this first try at Mesh WiFi I have a large home which has always been a challenge to cover adequately with WiFi. I did a bit of research and decided to go with the VELOP whole home mesh WiFi system. In all to cover all the areas of a large home I have 5 units to insure full coverage. I find the system works well and I am hoping in time with firmware upgrades it will get even better. I do have occasional issues with a hub dropping offline (although it says all is fine in the app). However all in all - the coverage is good, the speed seems good and the setup could not be easier.
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Velop Whole Home W-Fi 2 Pack I received this as a promotional Unit to try out and review it. I did not purchase it or am I being paid to write this review. The Velop I got was the 2 package unit. It is suppose to cover 4000 sq.ft. I have another Linksys router, the 1900 series and even though it is fast I was still having deapspot in my house, especially in the basement. This house is 3 levels so I put one unit in the Living Room and the other in the Basement. To my suprise I have no deadspots on any level including the outside front porch area. I get full bars on all my devices with Wi-Fi. The streaming of movies is also no cliches or problems when playing them. Setting this up was very easy. All I had to do was plug in the units and install it with the Linksys Smart app. I use android phones so that is how I did it. I already had the app installed on my phone as that is how I setup and accessed my othe Linksys router. To install the Velop series I had to logout of my current account and then it picked up the Velop in the living room first and all I had to do was create a new account with another email address and login. It is very simple as you just have to plug the first unit in and connect in via the supplied ethernet cable to your cable router. It found that unit and asked me to name it and create a password for it. Next it found the one in the basement and it asked me to name it and that was it. I even tried out the ethernet on the one in the basement by hooking up a laptop to it via ethernet cable and it hooked up with no problem finding the internet. I would high recommend this for anyone that has problems with deadspots in their home as this Velop system is great and the speeds are fantastic.
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great System I've had this Velop (3 Pack) for about 3 weeks now and I must say this WI-Fi System is great. I only live in a about a 2200 sq ft ranch house and have put each of the nodes in different rooms, allowing for coverage of not only the entire house, but outside and even in the detached garage. I have coverage everywhere now. The biggest issue I had before the Velop, was my son would play games on his Xbox and computer (Wi-Fi) over the internet and the connections was slow and he would always gripe on how slow it was. Now since I have installed the Velop and installed one of the nodes in his room and connected his Xbox and computer with Cat6 cable to the node, he has not complained at all and said everything is working so much better.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best system I have had to date The set up was easy right out of the box, everything went smooth with no problems. Running in a 4000 sqft 2-story home. Runs faster and better than my Asus or other newer Linkysys system. My only real complain is that if you have an area with a concentration of wired devices, be careful as it only has max of 2 ethernet ports per node and only 1 on your main node once you connect your modem. Also I don't care for the fact it is "ONLY" setup and administrated via the Linkysys app on a phone or tablet with very minimal settings or configurations.
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I was in need of an upgrade to my home Wi-FI I am currently a Cox communications internet provider user, I was using there modem router combo which by the way got the job done but just barely. I would experience Alot of lag and connection failure. So I decided to upgrade to this home mesh. And purchase a cable modem to go along with. It. And boy am I happy even when I had this router hooked up to the Cox box it still had great performance. But when I hooked it up to a mottorolla sb183. Now NY whole house every device gets full signal and bars
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall Great Unit! I bought this about a month ago and hooked it up right away. The whole process to set up was about 10-15 minutes. It was very easy setup and user friendly through the app. I did lose power after the setup. Everything came back up and is working fine except the app does not seem to recognize that and keeps wanting to walk me through some troubleshooting. I cant get the app back to monitoring my network. This has been frustrating. Overall very easy setup, my network has been running great throughout my house and seems to be a great product.
Date published: 2017-02-21
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_195
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-WHW0303, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 156ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*Based on the maximum speed that data (Phy rate) can move across a wireless link while alternating between the two 5GHz radios in each node. Each node has three Wi-Fi radios – one 2.4Ghz Wi-Fi radio and two 5 GHz Wi-Fi radios. Each 5 Ghz radio has throughput of 867 Mbps. Nodes will alternate between the two 5 GHz radios for each separate connection, providing 100% seamless Wi-Fi to your network. Specifications are subject to change without notice. An active, customer purchased Internet Service Provider broadband account is required for connection of this product and other connected devices to the Internet. Some devices may require additional wireless adapters or an Ethernet cable to connect.
**Each node in the wireless system provides a range of up to 2,000 square feet. Range can vary with the number and placement of nodes in the system. Range specifications are based on performance test results under normal use case conditions. Actual ranges will vary depending on wireless obstructions, operating environments and building material. Wireless coverage claims are used only as reference and are not guaranteed, as each wireless network is unique.
†For full warranty and support information, please visit the product support page.
‡Maximum Performance derived from IEEE Standard 802.11 specifications. Actual performance may vary, including lower wireless network capacity, data throughput rate, speed, range and coverage. Performance depends upon many factors, conditions and variables, including building materials and construction, volume of network traffic, mix of wireless products used, interference and other adverse conditions. In order to achieve the best performance, this product must be used with compatible AC2200 wireless devices. The standard transmission rates for each node—867 Mbps (for each 5 GHz radio), 400 Mbps (for 2.4 GHz)—are the physical data rates. Actual data throughput will be lower and may depend on the mix of wireless products used and external factors.
PCMag Editor's Choice awarded to Linksys Velop on January 3, 2017. A trademark of Ziff Davis, Inc. Used under license. Reprinted from www.pcmag.com with permission. © 2017 Ziff Davis, Inc. All Rights Reserved.