text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features
Linksys High Speed Cable Modem, DOCSIS 3.0 8x4

HIGH-SPEED INTERNET CONNECTIVITY FOR INTERNET PLANS UP TO 250 MBPS

Maximize Internet speeds to your WiFi router with the Linksys 16x4 Cable Modem (CM3016). It delivers stable high-speed connectivity for existing Internet service plans of up to 250 Mbps. Your whole family can enjoy simultaneous media streaming, online gaming, and web browsing.

Cable customers with Internet speeds above 250 Mbps should use the Linksys CM3024 Cable Modem. If your Internet service plan is 100 Mbps or less, then the Linksys CM3008 Cable Modem is recommended.

WORKS WITH ALL MAJOR CABLE PROVIDERS

Owning your own modem allows you to eliminate rental fees from your service provider. The Linksys CM3016 Cable Modem is certified to work with Internet service plans from major cable providers, including Comcast Xfinity, Time Warner, Cox, and Charter--providing savings of up to $120 a year on modem rental fees.

How the CM3016 Cable Modem Works

GET THE MOST OUT OF YOUR EXISTING CABLE CONNECTION

Maximize the data transfer speeds of your current Internet service plan with 16 download and 4 upload bonded channels provided by the CM3016 modem. These multiple bonded channels enable you to optimize media streaming and file transfers by simultaneously transferring large amounts of data over many channels. The result is more effective and efficient usage of your existing cable broadband connection.

DOCSIS 3.0 Speed Chart

HIGH-BANDWIDTH DATA TRANSFER

Certified for the current DOCSIS 3.0 cable Internet standard, this powerful modem can handle high-bandwidth transfer rates. It delivers over existing cable lines with DOCSIS 3.0 speeds of up to 686 Mbps.*

Intel Inside

HIGH-SPEED PERFORMANCE POWERED BY INTEL PUMA 6 CHIPSET

To achieve high-speed downstream and upstream performance, the Linksys CM3016 Cable Modem features an Intel Puma 6 chipset. Designed to be a flexible and high-performing solution, the Puma 6 chipset will facilitate cutting-edge data service offerings as broadband speeds continue to advance.


EASY PLUG-AND-PLAY SETUP

To use the Linksys CM3016 Cable Modem, simply follow this three-step process:

Step 1 Plug modem into a power source

Plug modem into a power source

Step 2 Connect modem to wall jack

Use the coaxial cable to plug modem into wall jack

Step 3 Connect Ethernet cable

Connect Ethernet cable from modem to WiFi router


Technical Specs
  • Cable (DOCSIS) Standards:
    • DOCSIS 1.1 Certified
    • DOCSIS 2.0 Certified
    • DOCSIS 3.0 Certified
  • Network Standards:
    • IEEE802.3
    • IEEE802.3u
    • IEEE802.3u
    • IPv6 support (Internet Protocol Version 6)
  • Ports:
    1 x Gigabit Ethernet
  • Maximum Line Rate:
    Up to 686Mbps Download, Up to 120 Mbps Upload
  • LEDs:
    Power, DS (Downstream), US (Upstream), Status, Link
  • Buttons:
    Reset
  • Power:
    12V 2A
  • Interfaces:
    Cable: F-type female 75 ohm
  • Warranty and Support:
    1-year limited warranty and support
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys 16x4 Cable Modem, CM3016
  • Ethernet Cable
  • Power Adapter
  • Quick Start Guide
Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replaced my cable company router. Like many, I decided to replace my cable company modem and save money. Glad I did. My Linksys CM3016 was a good choice in moderate priced units and serving me well. Called my IP to switch over following their instructions and installation went seamlessly. This is a new model and wasn't in my IP's list of compatible modems but it works just fine. I did have to update my wireless router to recognize the modem but that was easy to do. Speed seems to be just fine for my use and no downgrade from the IP's modem. Good choice.
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install Had to contact my internet provider after completing the install, as they have to update their system to recognize the new modem. Initial install requires a direct modem to computer hard wire be to do the setup, then you can go wireless.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Setup In September 2016 a Linksys CM-3016 Cable Modem was obtained to replace an aging Motorola SurfBoard Modem. This modem had been in use about three years and was hooked to Time Warner (now Spectrum) cable service. After unpacking the new modem and reading the installation instructions I developed some concern over going from a working setup to one that might have problems. So I decided to activate the new modem using a laptop hooked directly to it and take the setup in smaller steps rather than just substituting it for my currently working modem. These concerns were completely unfounded. The setup with Time Warner went extremely smoothly and easily. After entering my account number on the setup screen the remainder of the setup worked effortlessly. In just a few moments the internet connection was re-established. I spent a short amount of time checking the connection speed and when I was satisfied that all was well I powered down and reconfigured the modem into my full network system. The final configuration of my system is the CM-3016 hooked to a Linksys EA-9200 wireless router. That router is in turn hooked to four devices using ethernet and to more devices using WiFi. After the modem and router booted up I was once again on the internet with no problems at all. I then started to run upload/download speed tests to see what improvement had been obtained. The speed tests have been run at different times of day and to different test locations. While there hasn’t been a drastic speed improvement, the tests consistently show a faster download connection speed than I had before the upgrade. This new modem has now been in operation for several months with no problems at all. It has recovered well when the main power to the home failed and then returned some time later. There have been no problems that required the modem or router to be re-booted. In use, things just seem to be a bit faster than before. I am particularly impressed with the ease of setup of the modem with the ISP account. For those that have struggled with this interface before, you can appreciate having a device that is easy to setup. The consistently solid performance of this modem is truly valued and I can easily recommend this product.
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent modem I replaced my Motorolla cable modem with the new Linksys cm3016 cable modem. my internet speed increased slightly and performance was awesome. I'm very happy with device!
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 10 Minutes and I was up and running! The Linksys CM 3016 comes nicely packaged with a quick-start guide that is very understandable and easy to follow. I did need to give the product information to my service provider, but the entire process only took about 10 minutes and everything is working great! I don't know why I waited so long to get my own modem and eliminate the monthly equipment charge.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to setup I was looking for a modem that wasn't difficult to setup and access because I like trying things myself. This was simple and I was tired of renting so I will be saving money. Works well with Magicjack phone service, crystal clear TV and fast smooth Internet on smart TV and Roku player.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Setup in 15 minutes Great price and had it completely setup and browsing in 15 minutes. WOW! internet rest the H-MAC address and that was it. Plus I get to save 12 dollars a month by not renting their obsolete router. Download speeds increased by about 50%.
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally got rid of rental fees Finally purchased the modem when I saw it was discounted for a good price, and I'm glad I did. Installation was a breeze. The longest part of the process was working with my isp support, and this took less than 15 minutes.
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised Easy hook up with quick start directions. Then a quick call o my cable company to give them the serial number and MAC number off the modem and I was off and surfing. Now I'm getting the 50 mbps that I'm paying for.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cable modem This modem does not accommodate for a telephone. Since I bundle my phone, internet & cable I cannot use this modem, or I'd be without my telephone. Very disappointed because I believe this to be a great product.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value. Good value. Compatible with time warner. Easy set up. No difference between time Warner modem, they charge $11.00 a month rental. I don't have ultra high speed but I hated paying rental fee. Very satisfied.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My short time review My son landed in the hospital and I have not got to fully test it. I would like to see more cat 5 connection on it. It looks good. Will give you new review at a later time Thank You
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wifi speed I brought this to improve wifi speed. I have time warner as wifi provider with 100 mbps. I tested speed before and after. Bsfore 32 mbps after installed speed increased to 72 mbps.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failed within first 30 days Setup was easy but modem failed within the first 30 days. Trouble shooting and visits from isp techs took hours of time over two weeks.
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy install works & Preforms Great Put online 3 weeks ago works better than a SB6141, runs much cooler. Numbers download/upload are better too, excellent modem.
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review for Linksys CM3016 Spent 30 minutes phone with Comcast to set it up. Can go up to 280 Mbps (300 Mbps plan). Other than that, works great!
Date published: 2017-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Modem I bought this modem to upgrade my ARIS that could only handle/manage 100Mbps and I am currently receiving 200Mbps.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Linksys CM3016 DOCSIS 3.0 16x4 Cable Modem I have Microsoft Windows 10 and this modem works great. My speed has increased 2x faster than my previous modem.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works It works. Good speed. It's a straightforward product with no customization. It's literally plug and play.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A really great Modem Very simple to set up and combined with a Linksys wireless router I have an effective internet connection
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Setup Setup was a snap. I have Cox and had to call them to change modems. Now no more delay downloading.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely Happy This combined with my EA9500 has made our internet / network problems back on our IP>
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Modem Had to take the first one back, didn't work right, but the replacement is working
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just amazing modum I got this two weeks ago and am very happy with it. Works great with everything.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it. It's working wonderfully!! I'm so glad a technician recommended it to me.
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DOCSIS 3.0 Could use another Ethernet port. My router is to slow to test the speed
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cable Modem Have not had any internet issues since installing modem. Works great
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cable Modem I purchased the modem last month and very happy with the performance
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from new customer need to know the product well be4 purchase am from east africa
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great modem It's been about 4 weeks no problems no muss no stuff €:-)
Date published: 2016-12-03
  • y_2019, m_5, d_22, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-CM3016, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 328ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*686 Mbps based on DOCSIS 3.0 throughput. Maximum speed varies depending on the service provided by the cable operator. IPv6 availability is dependent upon your ISP or service provider providing IPv6 capability.
†100/250 Mbps represent the advertised throughput you can achieve with the Internet plan provided by your cable service provider. Actual throughput may be lower than 100/250 Mbps, as this throughput is dependent on your contract with your cable service provider.
Speed references are provided, marketed, and sold by your broadband service provider and not Linksys. Actual performance may vary, including lower network speed and data throughput rate. Performance depends upon many factors, conditions, and variables, including products used, number of users accessing the Internet, type of traffic generated by each user (interactive browsing versus video streaming), interference, and other adverse conditions. Actual data throughput will be lower than indicated and may depend on the mix of products used and external factors.