text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features
Linksys High Speed Cable Modem, DOCSIS 3.0 8x4

HIGH-SPEED INTERNET CONNECTIVITY FOR INTERNET PLANS UP TO 300 Mbps

Maximize Internet speeds to your WiFi router with the Linksys 24x8 Cable Modem (CM3024). It delivers stable high-speed connectivity for existing Internet service plans of up to 300 Mbps*, so you can enjoy simultaneous media streaming, online gaming, and web browsing.

Note: Cable customers with Internet speeds of up to 100 Mbps should use the Linksys CM3008 Cable Modem.

WORKS WITH ALL MAJOR CABLE PROVIDERS

Owning your own modem allows you to eliminate rental fees from your service provider. The Linksys CM3024 Cable Modem is certified to work with Internet service plans from major cable providers, including Comcast Xfinity, Time Warner, Cox, and Charter--providing savings up to $120 a year on modem rental fees.

How the CM3024 Cable Modem Works

GET THE MOST OUT OF YOUR EXISTING CABLE CONNECTION

Maximize the data transfer speeds of your current Internet service plan with 24 download and 8 upload bonded channels on the CM3024 modem. These multiple bonded channels enable you to optimize media streaming and file transfers using the CM3024 by simultaneously transferring large amounts of data over many channels. The result is more effective and efficient usage of your existing cable broadband connection.

DOCSIS 3.0 Speed Chart

HIGH-BANDWIDTH DATA TRANSFER WITH DOCSIS 3.0

Certified for DOCSIS 3.0 cable Internet standard, this powerful modem can handle high-bandwidth transfer rates over existing cable lines with speeds of up to 960 Mbps.*

Intel Inside

HIGH-SPEED PERFORMANCE POWERED BY INTEL PUMA 6 CHIPSET

To achieve high-speed downstream and upstream performance, the Linksys CM3024 Cable Modem features an Intel Puma 6 chipset. Designed to be a flexible and high-performing solution, the Puma 6 chipset will facilitate cutting-edge data service offerings as technology continues to advance.


EASY PLUG-AND-PLAY SETUP

To use the Linksys CM3024 Cable Modem, simply follow this three-step process:

Step 1 Plug modem into a power source

Plug modem into a power source

Step 2 Connect modem to wall jack

Use the coaxial cable to plug modem into wall jack

Step 3 Connect Ethernet cable

Connect Ethernet cable from modem to WiFi router

Technical Specs
  • Cable (DOCSIS) Standards:
    • DOCSIS 1.1 Certified
    • DOCSIS 2.0 Certified
    • DOCSIS 3.0 Certified
  • Network Standards:
    • IEEE802.3
    • IEEE802.3u
    • IEEE802.3ab
    • IPv6 support (Internet Protocol Version 6)
  • Ports:
    1x Gigabit Ethernet
  • Maximum Line Rate:
    Up to 960Mbps Download, Up to 240 Mbps Upload
  • LEDs:
    Power, DS (Downstream), US (Upstream), Status, Link
  • Buttons:
    Reset
  • Power:
    12V 2A
  • Interfaces:
    Cable: F-type female 75 ohm
  • Warranty and Support:
    • 1-year limited warranty
    • 90-day complimentary assisted technical support
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys 24x8 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem, CM3024
  • Quick Start Guide
  • CD-ROM with Documentation
  • Ethernet Cable
  • Phone Cables
  • Power Adapter
Reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so simple I received my new Modem (Recommended by my Server Co) and followed the instructions to a "T". This is not my first modem and I have been installing my own computer item for over 25 years. After "many" unsuccessful attempts (translates to hours) to make it work I finally gave in and called my server help line. It took almost one hour to finally make it work...Why? It would not communicate with my "New Linksys" router (also recommended by my Server Co). Once again I chuckle at the words "simple to install" ! Oh, it does seem to work just fine although I see no noticeable improvement.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How much difference does a good modem makes??? The answer is A LOT... First what I consider the pres... 1) The first this is the actual setup or should I say What setup??? I just connected the modem and once it got power it start doing all the internal setup (this is when all the lights start blinking and the modem restarts itself). Now this process might take a couple of minutes so be patient. Once all the light where on and solid I turn on my computer, open the browser and enter my cable credentials ( I have Xfinity) and the computer did the rest. This was extremely easy. 2) My old modem only support 8 x 4 channels so I was having problems where the internet suddenly stop working in some devices randomly for long period of time or they were just too slow. In my home network I have 5 computers, 3 tablets, 2 phone, 3 streaming device,1 range extender, 2 Skype cameras, and 1 cable box. I really could not figure out why was this happening. Well now I know, with this modem I don't have this issue anymore. Having the ability of using 24 downloads and 8 uploads channels actually fix this issue for me. In fact my sister is having the same issue I was having and now I'm going to suggest to her to change her modem.. I was so naive to think that all the modem where the same!! Now this is what I consider been the cons... The actual modem size, for my preference is little to big (compare to the one I had it before), my old modem was hided from the kids and now this one will be more visible. And the other thing I did not like is that the actual base is already attach and is not removal. It would be nice if that base could be remove and have the option of putting the modem sideways.. But this is all cosmetics stuff so the cons are more thing that I would personally like to see and not necessary bad things... Now as information once I start verifying my IP addresses I notice that IPv6 is now been use in my network. Not sure if this is good or bad but with my old modem don't remember seen IPv6 so just an FYI..
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So simple! A must buy! I recently changed my Internet service going from a DSL connection to a cable Internet service and needed a cable modem, so I bought this one. The visual step-by-step instructions on the back of the box makes setup a no-brainer. In less than 10 minutes (you'll have to give it time for all the lights to be "stable" and not flashing after connecting) I was connected and my service was up and running. It's been over a month and everything is working as smoothly as it did on Day 1. I highly recommend this cable modem; it's worth every penny!
Date published: 2018-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Contains Problem Chipset I purchased this modem in order to take advantage of channel bonding that my ISP uses. This modem however makes use of the Puma6 chipset and has the same problems associated with it that every other modem using this same chipset exhibits. I like everything else about the modem and will be happy to update my review if this problem can be overcome. I have had to purchase another make and model of modem now which uses a Broadcom chipset in order to have my internet connection work correctly.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Speed Cable Modem has features for the future I used this modem to replace an aging Motorola cable modem. It was an easy swap, just a little aggravating to spend 15 mins on the phone with Time Warner while they activated the mac address to my account. I ran a speedtest before and after the swap and got virtually the same results, which is what I expected since I have the 15Mbps plan. I like the fact that this modem has a much increased performance and bandwidth capability over my old modem and will support a higher data plan from Time Warner if/when I should decide to drop cable and just do streaming for TV & Movies.
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy Setup and Solid Performance I got this modem to replace the flakey one provided by my ISP (Charter). First impression when opening the box is that it is BIG. Upon closer inspection, is seems to have a lot of unused space inside the case (see picture - light shining through the top half of the case) and thus could have been quite a bit smaller (one star off for size). I installed it per the enclosed instructions without any issues. It took about 3 minutes. It came up and started working right off the bat and has been performing solidly ever since (3 weeks as of this review). My ISP advertised speed is 60 Mbps and my actual speed is according to SpeedTest.net over 66 Mbps. I had hoped that I would have been able to lower my monthly Internet service bill by returning the modem form Charter but apparently the rental of their modem is included in their base fee and no credit is given if the user purchases their own - bummer. Summary Things I like: - Ease of setup - Solid Performance Things I don't like: - Overall size
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great Literally a plug and play device It literally is a plug and play device. I signed up as a new customer with COMCAST and I bought this as one of their compatible modems. I did a self install with COMCAST and using this modem made it a breeze. The only thing different about this modem is there's no accessible configurations which actually is a good thing because it made it a plug and play device. I use a Linksys router after this modem which I do program with port forwarding of several devices and they all continued working even though I changed my modem and internet provider I was quite impressed. Previous modems I used required some major tinkering to get devices to port forward correctly. This one without its own configurations made it a plug and play.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy installation and setup I was sent this product as a tester and within 3-5 minutes of opening the box, the modem was installed and running. Connection to my internet provider (Cox) was established very fast. Upload and download speeds are great.
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great specifications Sleek physical design. Simple installation and activation; clear and complete instructions. Replaced Time Warner Cable provided modem. Performance measured as marginally better than RCA cable modem leased from TWC (about 0.2% better download on average of 20 speed measurements - 17.266 Mbps on 15 Mbps assured service plan; same upload speed 1.21 Mbps on 1 Mbps service plan). Appreciate up to 300 Mbps download capability when/if I choose to upgrade to more costly service plan. Plan to seek trial of TWC's maximum 50 Mbps download plan to further evaluate the CM3024. Reliability not rated due to limited use experience (few days); anticipate long term trouble free service based on a decade use of multiple LINKSYS home office class routers. Retired engineer (data communications) 1988 co-founder of IEEE 802.11 Standards Working Group (a.k.a. Wi-Fi)
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Replacement Cable Modem I purchased the Linksys CM3024 cable modem three months ago. I have have had absolutely no problems with this product. Setup was a breeze. In fact, after I provided the necessary info (MAC address) my cable company (Grande Communications) had connected to and activated it before I could return to the phone to continue the setup conversation. Done in less than two minutes. The CM3024 certainly provides adequate support for higher bandwidths (200 Mbps) in my case. I certainly recommend the CM3024 for those considering replacing their cable modems.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast! I received this modem as a test. I was able to call into the local cable company and get it provisioned with no issues at all, just gave them the serial number and MAC address. I tested the speed of this modem from 3 different speed test sites; one local to me, one 400 miles away (chicago) and one 800 miles Away (texas). The modem was provisioned for a 300/30 connection 300Mbps down, 30 Mbps up. The speeds from the local speed test site were actually higher than the rated speeds on the device- average of approx 330 x 32 Mbps in 10 separate speed tests. Speed tests on the site that were from the next most distant site (400 miles) were slower (as expected) with numbers at least 50 Mbps slower. Numbers from 800 miles away were another 20 Mbps lower. All in all, the numbers were excellent. The modem was very stable, and gave a great connection.
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So dar so good Bought it from costco at a very great deal. I had been paying for a 200mbps plan for a couple of months with time warner but did not know that i have to upgrade my modem and the rep who talked me into upgrading my plan did not bother to inform me. i was wondering why i can only go up to 105 when doing a speed test. I was finally informed that i have to upgrade my modem when I tried to downgrade my subscription to a regular speed and cancel the phone and cable tv. So far so good . I cant give it a five star yet since ive only had it for 6weeks
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am impressed Prior to having cable internet, I was using DSL and had no experience in using cable. However, what a difference. I chose the Linksys modem because I have had very good luck using other Linksys products. Because my cable internet service was much faster than my DSL, it was necessary to replace my Linksys router which was about 4 years old. In the interest of not mixing products, I purchased a Linksys EA7500 to complement my cable modem. While I don't have many devices using the WiFi, I am very pleased with my set up. I can stream Amazon Prime movies and use my computer and talk on the phone with no issues as far as slowing done the service. I would recommend Linksys products to others who ask my opinion of the products I have and am using.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Plesant Surprise I received the cable modem CM3024 yesterday. In the box was the modem itself, a power supply, a length of network cable, a "Quick Start Guide" and a booklet called Details and Disclosures. Set up was easy, you simply attach the cable, the net work cable and the power. I then needed too contact the cable company by phone and gibe them the model number and the mac address, both of which are printed on the box as well as on the modem itself. I didn't know how to review the modem, figuring it either worked or it didn't, but one test I thought to do was a download speed test. First I tested with my old modem and got a download speed of 88.8 mbps. This is as fast as I have seen on my computer. After installing and activating the new modem I ran the speed test 3 more times. The worst result I got was 92.68 mbps and the other two were both over 93 mbps. I was pleasantly surprised by this result. That was over a wired connection. I didn't think it would have much impact over a WIFI connection but thought I would test it on a tablet. My best speed over WIFI with the old modem was 67.8 mbps. With the CM3024 from the same location where I ran the previous test, I got 78.6 mbps. WOW! Given the faster download speed coupled with no more rental charges for the modem, getting the CM3024 makes a lot of sense. It also meets the docsis 3.0 standard. This means that if you upgrade your internet service up to as fast as 300 mbps, your modem can handle it.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Linksys CM3024 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem (24x8 Bonded Purchased the CM3024 to replace an existing modem. Setup required contacting Internet Service Provider. Tech support made the process fairly easy after receiveing serial number and MAC address. Linksys states that this modem will, “Maximize Internet speeds to your Wi-Fi router with the Linksys 24x8 Cable Modem (CM3024). It delivers stable high-speed connectivity for existing Internet service plans of up to 300 Mbps*, so you can enjoy simultaneous media streaming, online gaming, and web browsing.” I wish I could verify this statement as I am unable to access the CM3024 status/diagnostic page. The status page can be accessed on reset or startup of the CM3024, but as the unit is enabled by the ISP the Status page freezes and access is no longer available. Verification of Power Level, Signal to Noise Ratio, Channel Bonding, cannot be verified.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 minutes to save $120 a year The days of cable providers making you jump through hoops to BYO modem are over. The 5 minute process via my cable provider's website was simple. Modem has been fast and reliable. If you're looking for a simple modem (not a router/modem combo), this is a great choice.
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to install I bought this to replace the rented one that was supplied by my cable company to save $10/mo. I figured this on would be paid for in 8 months. It was a snap to install. The only question that I had was about the two blue status lights (receive/send). I thought they were supposed to be green like the others but later, after getting online and checking the operators manual, that if working properly they s/b blue. An actual printed operating manual would of been a nice touch to be included with the unit.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Cabel Modem Received this Cable modem and replaced my current device. Had no issues with the installation. Called my cable provider and gave them my information and the switch was done. My current cable modem was from Time Warner and it was their best modem yet. This modem performed just as well as my previous with only one limitation. My previews modem had a phone port which was used to install a wireless home phone, while most people do not use this feature, it was important to me since I do not have a hardwired phone anymore and the same signal is coming from my cable provider. Needless to say, I had to change it back due to this lack of feature but other than that. It was a great modem which was providing download links from 23MBps - 42Mbps on my wireless links and 200Mbps for my wired systems.
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My first cable modem purchase Purchased this on November 18th, got it connected on the 19th, it actually gave me about 10Mbs over what I'm actually paying for. (60Mbs, getting 71Mbs) I'm very happy I don't have to pay a rental fee! I've hooked this up to a Linksys AC1900 wifi router, they play very nice together. I plan on upgrading my service to 300Mbs in the future, which this modem would be able to handle with no sweat. I like the look and design of the case, very light weight and the color matches my other furniture.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very strong performance. This is a perfect upgrade for my old Arris, i got tired of up/down speed from my modem-router, I tried everything to improve speed with no success until I got the new linksys CM3024. Set up? I didn't even had to call TWC to activate it. Super easy, I have 50mbps plan, the most I used to get was 35-40mbps, with new modem 67-69mbps in real speed so I gave a try to my old linksys E2500, work like a charm, now thinking to get a newer router, maybe EA6100 or EA6200 I'll update this review. Thanks.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Linksys CM3024 When I received the Linksys CM3024 cable modem, It came with the modem, power cable, Ethernet cable and Quick Start Guide. No User manual. The modem is about twice the size of my original modem. The Quick Start Guide said to plug in the cables and you can get online either wireless or wired connection to activate . I tried for about 3 hours that night to get on line. You can’t. I reinstalled my old modem and went on line to Linksys web site and found the user manual. It said you may have to call your internet service provider to activate your modem to get it to work. The next day I called my internet service provider and got it activated. It was extremely slow. I used it all next day to give a fair trial. It never did speed up. I called my ISP the next day and got my old modem reinstated. I was hoping with all the hype about DOCSIS 3.0 and 24 download and 8 upload channels That it would be faster than the one that I have. It was not. I cannot recommend this modem. It cost over 2 times the price of my original modem. It should have done better in my opinion.
Date published: 2016-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fast modem use in the office its good because it lets everyone use internet at the same time without speed reduction
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Say Goodbye to Renting your modem! This little box will save me $20 the first year and $120 from here on out. It was very easy to install and get activated (on-line through my cable Account)-15 minutes.The instructions were very clear. Works better than the modem I was renting, which I've spent $720 in fees in since 2010. Now if Linksys could figure out a way for me to stop renting the cable boxes I gladly buy several of those as well. Cable is expensive enough without having to rent the equipment.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Speed I've Seen Overall the performance of the model is great. It was easy to connect and set up and the speeds hard wired are the best I have seen yet in my house. The design is nice but could be slimmed down a bit. I know that most modems are still about this size but it would be good to see the overall size go down. it could use a phone jack port to make it more versatile as a hook up for your digital home phone as well. All in all it is another 5 start product for Cisco.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast High Speed Modem This modem was bought a month ago and the setup was very quick (Power Cord, coaxial cable and Ethernet Cord). I called my ISP provider to have it registered by giving them its MAC address. This modem technology is definitely ahead and it supports 24 Download Channels and 8 Upload Channels. Speed and reliability have improved drastically over the existing modem that was installed by the ISP provider. I am very happy and satisfied with this new modem.
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product!!!! Well packaged. Easy to get out and hook up. Speed and reliability increased when I replaced my old DOCSIS 3.0 modem with this one. Modem is a little larger than most, but not overly large. Lights for link and activity are different colors, which helps. Also, lights aren't' too bright so as to be distracting. It is built for good airflow, which is important due to the speed this will go. I would highly recommend this cable modem over any other.
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best modem I have ever owned My previous modem supplied by my ISP was horrible. Would randomly stop working. Had to constantly reboot it. I could never pull anything more than 150Mbps down when I'm paying for 300Mbps service. I took it back and bought this modem which was on sale for $99 at Best Buy at the time, and now I can easily hit over 300Mbps. I've never had to reboot it in the 6 months I've owned it. Best $100 I've ever spent. Paired with a ASUS AC wireless router.
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been a great 24 hours Took the time yesterday to finally install the new modem. It was a little difficult but not due to the modem but to the ISP online activation. Once activated it took a few minutes to get fully up to speed. I'm consistently getting 80+ Mbps even while others in my household are streaming video to multiple devices. I currently pay for 75 Mbps. Very pleased so far. Now if I can convince my wife to let me increase our speed with our ISP.
Date published: 2016-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money saving and works great Well, our cable company, WOW, made this as difficult as possible. When I first called they started telling me that it would work, but that I would want to keep there's at a cost of $8 per month. No one could give me a good reason. Finally I got a great lady who told me that it would work fine. I just needed them to send the MAC address to the new modem. The set up for this device was simple. I did get them to send the info needed for it to work and it works great. The speed is the same and it reliable. I've had no issues except that the company doesn't like that I'm not giving them that extra money every month. I am thrilled with how easy this was after getting the right person at the cable company. Our house isn't that large and the device is centrally located so range is not a problem. I highly recommend changing from the paid device and going to this one.
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unbelievably Easy To Install Amazing product. I have never had a computer related product install so easily. Took no more than 60 seconds from turn on to activate, via Comcast. Anybody should be able to handle the installation. Instruction manual brief and easy to follow. Great value for what you get.
Date published: 2016-07-18
  • y_2019, m_3, d_21, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_129
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-CM3024, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 203ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*960 Mbps based on DOCSIS 3.0 throughput. Maximum speed varies depending on the service provided by the cable operator. IPv6 availability is dependent upon your ISP or service provider providing IPv6 capability.
†100/300 Mbps represent the maximum throughput you can achieve with your Internet plan provided by your cable service provider. Actual throughput will be lower than 100/300 Mbps, as this throughput is dependent on your contract with your cable service provider.