text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features
 
Technical Specs
  • Model Name:
    Linksys E1200
  • Network Standards:
    • IEEE 802.3
    • IEEE 802.3u
    • IEEE 802.11b
    • IEEE 802.11a
    • IEEE 802.11g
    • IEEE 802.11n
  • Radio Frequency Bands:
    2.4GHz
  • Ports:
    1x 10/100 WAN, 4x 10/100 LAN
  • LEDs:
    Power, WLAN, Ethernet, Internet
  • Buttons:
    Reset Button, Wireless Protected Setup
  • Operating Temperature:
    32 to 104°F (0 to 40°C)
  • Storage Temperature:
    -4 to 158°F (-20 to 70°C)
  • Operating Humidity:
    10 to 80% Noncondensing
  • Max. Link Rate:
    300 Mbps
  • Platform Compatibility:
    • Windows XP
    • Windows Vista 32/64
    • Windows 7 32/64
    • Windows 8 32/64
    • Windows 8.1 32/64
    • Mac OS X 10.5.8 Leopard
    • Mac OS X 10.6.1 Snow Leopard
    • Mac OS X 10.7 Lion
    • Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion
    • Mac OS X 10.9 Mavericks
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys N300 Wi-Fi Router, E1200
  • Quick start guide
  • CD-ROM with setup software and resources
  • Ethernet cable
  • Power adapter
Reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hope it was just a bad unit Bought this last week. Setup started bad when the enclosed CD didn't recognize my operating system. (Asked for MacOS > 10.x while I'm running the current version of 10.13.4) Went to the website and downloaded the right install software. Unfortunately the setup was getting hung up. I worked with the support staff on the chat line (which was miserable from a mobile device). After almost an hour on the support line, we agreed that the unit was defective. I got an RMA and hope that the experience with the next unit will be positive. The wired connection worked just fine.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Power offs I bought this because I was happy with my old one which was out dated. Several times I called the internet service about poor connections. Several times they even came out and said nothing wrong with the connection. Next I called Dell and they said send the computer and they will check it. Nothing wrong with computer so they sent it back to me. I used it on other people's internet with no problem. So I decided to power off the WIFI and see if it reconnects. And it does. About every other day I have to do this because it reads limited connection. I won't be buying another of your products. My neighbor has a Netgear and it works great. I will look into their products next time I can afford a new one.
Date published: 2015-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Linksys E1200 Review I had been using the Linksys E1200 Wireless Router for about month and was experiencing connection problem due to the router not being properly set-up to assign individual ISP numbers to different computers. I called Cisco's tech support dept. and was talked thru how to reset the router and how to change the computer settings to get the router to start working properly. The tech was professional, pleasant and patient in solving my system problems. this is my first experience using a cisco systems product and between the outstanding customer support and great product performance I would highly recommend it to family and friends. I am very pleased with the product!
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CISCO I had a old NETGEAR router that was slow connection and had a poor wireless connection. The old router finally died and we search for a cisco router that was reliable and we picked the E1200. I have been very pleased with it. Set-up was a breeze thanks to the included CD. Our internet browsing and download speed has increased by 25%. The signal is GREAT, I have the router down stairs and on the right side of the house and I'm on the left side of the house and upstairs, which could be a problem because the signal tends to travel downwards but I got 3 bars and I can watch youtube videos and download stuff just fine.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my new Linksys E1200 Wireless N Router I have had trouble in the past with setting up a router. Not so with the Linksys E1200. It's funny because I bought it and delayed setting it up because I was so sure that I would have trouble with it as I had in the past. I found every excuse possible to delay the inevitable. Then I delayed it even more because I planned a trip to visit my daughter. She was after me to set it up so we could use face book again, but I came up with multiple excuses. However, I really wanted to be wireless again, so I reluctantly took it out of the box and began to go through the set up steps. I was so surprised that it turned out to be so easy. I would highly recommend my Linksys E1200 to anyone.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small home, inexpensive wi-fi solution. This unit has everything I want for much less than the more expensive units in a small home. I am the only user and I can detect NO difference between hard wired LAN to the computer and the Linksys E1200 N300 class router. It's blazing fast and I have satellite internet. It has the capacity to both provide PHONE service (Microcell) and internet. (We're talking fast data xmission) My 10 yr old Linksys wasn't cutting it, but N300 does. The set up CD didn't work on my mid 2010 Macbook Pro 17", but didn't need it anyway. Made a fast call to excellent support that cleared one question I had. My rep was great!
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good purchase I have a mid level entry home and the router is connected to a downstairs computer. There is a netbook, laptop, and wireless fax/print/copy machine that we have linked to it and we are able to communicate from anywhere in the house without an antennae card with no loss of connection. It has not decreased any connection or loading speed of our web browsers. The parental controls for usage from the kids computers has worked great and is easy to modify for those remote users needing some limitations. I have been quite pleased with it and know anyone else purchasing this would be too.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product. I have recently opened a new office and had purchased a DLINK router. For a month it was one problem after another with constant frustrations on internet speed, connectivity etc. I had my service provider out several times and could not really get to the bottom of where the real issue was. The last serviceman that came in said that it is probably a router problem and that I should consider getting a Cisco product. I immediately did so and have had zero issues since then. I can now operate my business without having to worry about network and internet issues. Thank you Cisco! You make amazing products!
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb Router! I bought the router near 9 months ago. I use wifi over 16 hours a day, but more I'm using and it's performance is going more awesome. I really love this router. With rich feature it comes with a great UI.But, the first time I faced problem to setup my internet connection using Linksys Connect CD. But, after accessing with 192.168.1.1 it was easy to setup it. it's range is also great, I've placed it in the middle of my house's ground floor, but I get minimum 19 mbps signal strength from the roof (3-storied) or from and room.But, and antenna would increase it's signal strength more.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. This wireless router was very easy to configure. It was operational in minutes. The included CD made it possible to install and configure the unit in 3 easy steps so that a person with a minimum of technical experience could achieve a successful install. It is fast and can be used for video streaming as well as system updates. It also allows the user to have complete control of his/her home wireless network so that the user can perform network maintenance tasks such as change passwords, add and remove devices etc. I am very satisfied with the functionality of this product.
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WiFi signal not so good Easy to set up and I'm getting a usable WiFi signal...not a great signal. Don't know if it's because the N300 is single band, or the internal antenna is weak, or I just have too much blocking the signal (included Ethernet cable is only 2 ft long, so the router is kinda wedged among my PC tower and speakers), but I can only get a full signal within 10 feet from the N300 (half-assed signal up to 20 ft and poor from there on). The N300 also doesn't have a notch in the back so I can't hang it up on the wall, away from interference...it can only be placed horizontally on a desk.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I actually set up the router right before I was supposed to head to the stadium for the University of Michigan game and I thought for sure it would take me an hour and I would be late for kickoff. But luckily I got everything unpacked, read and running within 15 minutes. The directions were easy to follow and all the materials were packaged neatly. My internet since has had great speed and I've never had issue with it going out (only once when I didn't realize my roommate unplugged it to plug in her speakers). Great product and great wireless range even out on my balcony.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Good Choice For a Wireless Router I am a college student and I purchased this router for my apartment. I knew in advance that I wanted a wireless router, and because my family has been pleased with past Linksys purchases I chose the Linksys E1200 Wireless-N Router. I have had the product installed and in use for almost three months and I have been very satisfied. The setup was easy and not time consuming, and the product performs well. For the price and performance, I have been pleased with this product and would recommend it to other college students or consumers looking to purchase a similar product.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Price Works Well This Linksys 1200 / N300 is the second same router I have purchased. The first one I purchased was five or sux years ago. I set it up myself with online help, it was no problem setting up my SSID name after originally getting into the control panel through 192.186.1.1 then type on "admin" before you go ahead to change your router name, wireless name / password for yourself and guest access too if you like. I recommend the Linksys 1200/N300 for anyone on a budget seeking a router that allows streaming and at least 5 devices e-mailing, browsing the web at any given time.
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow!-The Invisible workhorse. How do you review an item that you don't thinlk about.....ever? My router is the computer workhorse that allows me to watch Netflix movies in another part of the house without unsightly cabling and allows my family and friends access to the internet over a wide invisible wi-fi system that bubbles around my home. Really, since I hooked it up back in July I can honestly say I haven't given it a thought until now, when I was asked to review it.......How thoughtless, right Ha! Ha!. I love it and won"t hesitate to recommend it to anyone, Thanks. Jim.G ,Vancouver,Canada.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sounds good in the write up Was having trouble with my other router, it was eating up all the speed from my source, so that made this one sound good. It doesn't do that with this one, however, the range isn't there, and when I am in range, with my tablet, one move in any direction, and it loses signal, and if I move any closer, I might as well be at my PC, which isn't what I was after, rather disappointed to say the least, I realize it has to move the signal almost 50 ft, but that really shouldn't be a problem, I have a range extender between, and that helps some, but not what I expected. drtrcr
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great home router with all the basics This router is great for a home user over all others. Primarily because the Cisco/Linksys routers have such stable software and setup. I've used many other router brands and each one has it's quirks. This router was so easy I couldn't believe it. I'm used to having to manually setup everything and this one even my grandma could setup! It's range is normal and it runs very smoothly for my internet connections. I have 6 devices connected to it (3 PC's, Wii, and 2 Streaming devices) and it works great. If you want to add a USB port for an external shared drive or something consider an upgraded version. After having bad experiences with Netgear, Belkin, etc...I'll always get Cisco's routers...It's like a Toyota of Routers!
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to install; performs as specified I purchased the Linksys E1200 to provide a wireless hot spot in my home and to provide wireless access to a network printer for my laptop. The E1200 was very easy to install and was working within minutes of arriving in my home. It meets my needs and it provides all the services as advertised. I would have appreciated a little bit more range; sometimes I cannot receive a signal on my front porch, but I can live with that. It is a great value for the money.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worked well for a year I purchased this router in Jan 2016 to upgrade the N150 router we had for some time. I have since purchase a booster to improve signal strength throughout the house. After little more than a year I started having problems with this router too, past the warranty date. Now the Internet light comes on intermittently, and I have to unplug and plug it in several times to get it to work. Even the old router works better sometimes. I finally had to get a router from the cable tech to confirm the problem was with mine. Not sure what direction I will go from here.
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easiest installation ever ! I had a Cisco M20 router which broke down, so i was looking for a similar router. I talked to the cisco tech support and they tried to sell me the high-end version [20 users, up to 100 devices]. I needed something small [2 users, upto 10 devices] and i think E1200 is the best choice. The installation is easy. The CD walks you step-by-step through the installation process and its takes less than 15 mins ! The price i paid and based on the needs i have, this is perfect router ! If you are a single household and are not so much "internet-addicted" then buy this !
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Router For Our Purpose Bought this router for our summer home in Florida, as a replacement for a competing brand. The choice was made for price, size and features. It has exceeded expectations in all regards.Although this residence is one level, there are ample metal interference possibilities. This model has no external antennas, yet the signal strength in all our normal locations, including outside is full strength at all times. Speed is constant using several computers plus two tablets. Setup took minutes, including custom settings that I prefer. We had minimal shelf space available and this flat design worked perfectly. All around for the price paid, performance and features I have no hesitation giving it a high 5 all around. (¯`·._.·ns¢ävË·._.·´¯)®
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent We would like to congradulate you on the outstanding product that you manufacture. This is the second router that we have purchased. The first one was a Netgear and this Linksys is a much better product to have and to use. The easiness in the installation process was fantastic and now when we go to connect to the internet (we have five computers and a gaming system) we have no trouble. I do not have to reset the modem and the router every time we go to use it . Turn it on and we are off. It is also very easy to use when connecting to the Nook. Thank you
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I expected in 2016! I'm thinking with all the new technology and upgraded wireless routers, I'd have no regrets with a new Linksys router. Well, obviously, I was wrong! This router has no better signal than the cheapest at Wally World. The signal is subpar 25 feet away and you can forget having the unit on main floor and expecting a strong signal in the basement. 2 bars on a high note. The parental controls do NOT block the websites I list.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good Device Overall I'm satisfied with the router. I wish its ranges was a bit longer. It has crashed on me, although not frequently. It required resetting by disconnection, then all was well again. I am not pleased with the difficulty I am having with the advanced settings....not really user friendly for an average consumer with limited IT knowledge. Attempting to configure to specific devices is, so far, beyond my technical abilities, so I am unable to fully utilize the router's features. It really needs a "set-up for dummies" option in the user's guide.
Date published: 2013-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit of a let down I have been using Linksys routers for a long time now. i bought this router to give my kids controlled access to the internet. I had an older router that i could restrict websites and even Key words. This Router does allow websties to be restricted but they have taken the Key word restriction away. Didn't find that out until i had it connected and configured so i couldn't take it back to the store. Talking with tech support they tell me the option is available in the AT series routers. I should have done my homework better and i could have avoided this. Why would you take features like this out of a system? The Router as purchased is a good router. I have one i use for work and is easily reconfigured for the multiple networks i need to access.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product, terrific service I was upset when my old Linksys wore out -oh bother!! I went online and spoke with a tech who walked me through making sure my old Linksys needed replaced. It did, and the tech assisted me through the process of purchasing my new router, as well as making sure I had internet access while waiting the arrival by mail, the E1200 Router -Easy instructions came with the router, but I was assured that techs were available if I needed further assistance. I appreciate this kind of service, a good product, and being able to talk to an actual person!
Date published: 2013-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Linksys is the way to GO!! This wireless-N Router was a snap to hook up. What I "love" about it mostly was the instant security feature done automatically. The last Router I bought "Linksys" 8 years ago took me an entire day to figure out how to "secure" it so no one else could use it. At that time I wasn't the least bit computer aware but did find it challenging when I finally succeeded with securing it. This Router has been working top knotch and I'm pleased to say....its 100%! Thanks for making this newer router so much easier to install. I'm a happy camper!!! :o)
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value and performance. Before our purchase of the E1200 Wireless-N Router, our home was in constant turnoil. I like to watch movies on my laptop, and my wife uses hers to help her in her knitting business. Since my laptop was in the dining rooom, closer to the old modem, I had no problems, but her computer's reception of the wifi signal was erratic, sometimes disappearing altogether. Now that we have the E1200 my wife is a much happier camper and our reception of the wifi signal, mo matter where we are using our computers (as well as a new IPad) is excellent.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for small/med houses, budget and noob users I bought this E1200 for my sister and wanted to see how it perform. So I tested at my house first and It seem to be smooth and fast but when I go to rooms that are far away from the wireless the signal seem to get weaker by 1-2 bars back & forth. The basement 1-3bars. The E1200 was setup on the 2nd floor.Setting up at my sister's 1950 sq ft home. everywhere I go to the front yard, backyard, basment, every rooms I get full bars on her laptop and tablet. its smooth and fastCon: No LED LAN [1-4], WPS, Wireless, Internet, Power. low range
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some problems surfacing I previously owned the exact same model so when that got busted (electrical) i did not hesitate to buy the exact same thing because oit was working great. However, this particular piece has had some connectivity issues and I have had to reboot a few times already (this problem has nothing to do with my modem or my ISP) However, the last CSR assured me that if the problem continued, the company would look into replacing this particular piece for another one. Let's see how things move over the next couple of weeks. Thanks Arjan
Date published: 2017-06-25
  • y_2018, m_7, d_19, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_23, tr_873
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-E1200, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 141ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*Maximum performance derived from IEEE Standard 802.11 specifcations. Actual performance can vary, including lower wireless network capacity, data throughput rate, range and coverage. Performance depends on many factors, conditions and variables, including distance from the access point, volume of network traffic, building materials and construction, operating system used, mix of wireless products used, interference and other adverse conditions.