text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features
Linksys N900 Dual Band Smart Wi-Fi Router

MADE FOR MEDIA

Thanks to QoS traffic prioritization technology, your router delivers your time-sensitive Internet traffic efficiently across the bands so you can enjoy fast downloads, smooth video and music streaming, and gaming and VoIP.

Plus the built-in DLNA Certified© Media Server enables media streaming to your TV, Xbox 360, PS3, or other DLNA compatible devices.


LINKSYS SMART Wi-Fi


CUSTOMIZE AND MANAGE YOUR HOME Wi-Fi ANYTIME, ANYWHERE

With the Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App, you can closely monitor and manage your home Wi-Fi remotely using a smartphone or tablet.

  • Guest Access: Create a separate, password-protected Wi-Fi network for up to 50 guests and easily share the password.
  • Parental Controls: Ensure a safe Internet experience for your kids -- even when you're away from home. Restrict access to inappropriate or distracting content, control usage, and block specific devices from accessing the Internet.
  • Device Prioritization: You can prioritize devices that need the most speed.

QUICK AND EASY SETUP

Managing your home Wi-Fi with Linksys Smart Wi-Fi is fast and easy:

Step 1 Set up your wireless home network

Set up your home Wi-Fi using a Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Router.

Step 2 Sign up for a Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Account

Download the free Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App.

Linksys Smart Wi-Fi on iOS Get Linksys Smart Wi-Fi on Google Play
Step 3 Customize your network with the Linksys Smart Wi-Fi apps

Use Your Mobile Device to Manage Your Home Wi-Fi.

Videos

The Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App has a Whole New Look & Feel

  • The Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App has a Whole New Look & Feel

Technical Specs
  • Model Name:
    Linksys EA4500
  • Network Standards:
    • IEEE 802.11b
    • IEEE 802.11a
    • IEEE 802.11g
    • IEEE 802.11n
  • Radio Frequency Bands:
    2.4 & 5GHz
  • Ports:
    1x Gigabit WAN, 4x Gigabit LAN, USB 2.0, Power
  • LEDs:
    Power, Internet, Ethernet (1-4)
  • Buttons:
    Reset, Wi-Fi Protected Setup
  • Operating Temperature:
    32 to 104°F (0 to 40°C)
  • Storage Temperature:
    -4 to 158°F (-20 to 70°C)
  • Operating Humidity:
    10 to 80% Noncondensing
  • Max. Link Rate:
    450 Mbps
  • Platform Compatibility:
    • Windows XP
    • Windows Vista 32/64
    • Windows 7 32/64
    • Windows 8 32/64
    • Mac OS X 10.5.8 Leopard
    • Mac OS X 10.6.1 Snow Leopard
    • Mac OS X 10.7 Lion
    • Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion
    • Mac OS X 10.9 Yosemite
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys EA4500 Dual-Band N900 Router with Gigabit and USB
  • CD-ROM with Setup Software and Resources
  • Ethernet Cable
  • Power Adapter
Reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 by from yellow & green lights This has been by far the best wireless router I have ever had with all the bells and whistles that you get with it. I gave it 4 stars only because of the surge that I had a few days ago and ever since wasn't able to connect no matter the sequence that I done. I did notice that there are green and yellow lights by each port on the back, but haven't been able to find out what they are for? I wasn't able to get online for a couple of days to check things out since I couldn't find anything on the provided cd. In need of help or I will have to replace!
Date published: 2013-05-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Huge Disappointment I saw the hardware specs and it looked like the best router you could get. However: you can only have 4 QoS entries, there is no way to track how much bandwidth connected devices use, and there is no 3rd party firmware support so you can't upgrade to OpenWRT, DD-WRT, nor Tomato. With such a high price tag I expected a lot more, and got better results using the linksys advanced modem provided by my ISP.
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk I bought this a few years ago, it worked fine for a few years, then strange WIFI problems popped up. I got Linksys support on a chat because wireless connections were not getting internet. After a few chat exchanges they wanted to charge me for any assistance. I had to end the chat, then I downloaded two of the latest firmwares from the linksys support site for this router, both crashed and I had to do a factory reset to get back into the router. Neither of the two worked! After I replaced the Linksys all my wireless devices have worked great!
Date published: 2019-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Remarkable Coverage I purchased this router in 2013 for my home network. I had just switched from an all NetGear network. The setup was very easy and the range coverage is excellent. This router is still operation in my network even today. I have cascaded this router with my WRT ACS1900 as my primary router. This unit is currently in an attic and provides great signal around the property with no heat issues. It has been operating in the attic since its implementation into my network. Personally one of my favorite routers and first Linksys branded unit.
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Router stopped working in less than 30 Days I bought your Linksys router on November 3 and it stopped working on November 28. During the time prior to my router dying, I had problems installing it (the auto install feature did not work for me and I had to manually install it). I also had to restart the router because it would stop working. Finally, it just stopped working altogether even though I couldn't tell by looking at it. I was really disappointed in this router as I had previously owned a Linksys router (made by Cisco) that lasted 4 years. I finally returned my new router (made by Belkin) to where I purchased it and got a refund. I then purchased a router from one of your competitors and am very happy with it. It was easy-to-install and I can tell what is going on by looking at the lights on its front panel. I will never again purchase a Linksys.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the job done! I have a 2000 sq.ft. house and I run 7 WiFi devices including Roku and Apple TV. My Blueray is WiFi, cellphone, iPad, Laptop, and a kitchen HP touchscreen accessing the internet via WiFi. I watch internet HDTV channels and gobble lots of data through my devices. I run multiple devices simultaneously, and my Epson printer is WiFi! Forgot. The router I picked to network all my devices is the Linksys EA4500 and to-date, I have not encountered a single network issue to complain about. The EA4500 is getting the job done. Thank you!
Date published: 2013-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as easy as expected All of the literature leads one to believe the setup and connection to your home network is going to be "plug and play". Well, it is not that simple. I'm not a network expert, but I do have experience. It took me five days (not full time) to get everything connected and working as expected. It seems to me that all of the HELP info is written as if one is an expert in the field. Not intended for those of us that do not qualify as experts. Now, that everything is connected, it is working as expected and I'm pleased.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Router Best Ever One of the Best routers the Cisco have made. I bought mine from Walmart for 179.00. I replace my older Cisco router with the Linksys Wireless N router model EA4500 model thought I was going crazy when i found it at Walmart and couldn't find it on the Cisco Sit. But, loved the guest network helps alot when friends come over, loge the gig port on the back. With then 3 mimo My signal strength have tripled and my network speed, no joke has double in speed. Thanks Cisco once again yo have out done your self. Great product.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BETTER THAN MOST The Smart Wi-Fi website is a nice concept but I expected some kind of monitoring and/or reporting to tell me when my Comcast connection is down. I also REALLY wish Linksys would make a DOCSIS 3.0 device! Other than that, Linksys makes everything easy and does it's job very well. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2016-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SLEEK ROUTER Recently upgraded my existing Linksys 2.4GHz Wireless-G(had this for over approx.7 yrs. always on) w/the EA4500 Smart Wi-Fi Router. Very satisfied with ease of setup and as always with Cisco products the security options. However to explain my 4 star rating: 1. no off/on switch 2. if accidentally UN plugged(even for 1 sec.) or switched off via extension, it gets almost impossible to get back on line quickly. To say the least! It loses not only the IP address but also layer 1 abilities for total power up. You have to wait well over the 2 minutes(like 15 min.) and power up after you re boot modem/PC etc. If done out of order things really get interesting for the rookie, all strange imaginations come into play. With that I'm satisfied with everything else. mbcjr/CCNA 4 WAN grad.
Date published: 2012-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy, capable, secure This set up well and I was able to hook up both my smart tvs, Ipad, laptop, and pc, no problem-o. Everything runs pretty well & I am happy with the security on both linkys routers I have used over the years. That said, because my router is located next to PC in my downstairs den, my upstairs living room TV does not get consistently good stream, esp. when I have something else online (could be the infamous Samsung smarthub at fault), but will probably invest in a range extender. Overall, pleased.
Date published: 2013-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Signal Reliability and Coverage! I have had this router for 4 years without any issues. I converted it into an access point 2 years ago and it has provided great signal strength considering it has internal antennas. The first 2 years when this router was used as my primary router, it provided great range which encouraged me to turn it into an access point in the future when my network capabilities need to be expanded. highly recommend if you need a router that has great signal strength and a stealth look with internal antennas.
Date published: 2016-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't just listen to sales people - buy what works! We live in rural Canada; 6 months ago we went to a national retailer looking for advice to purchase a good router for our situation - small town, poor service, lots of devices. They recommeded a competitor, but our service did not improve, our devices would not all connect and we wasted our money. We were frustrated. We then purchased a new TV, with wifi, and now received advice to contact Cisco - we did and purchased Cisco Linksys EA4500 Smart App Enabled Wireless-N Dual-Band Wi-Fi N900 Router with 4-Port Gigabit Switch - USB - Media Server. Within an hour, we had the entire house set up and connected. All of our devices on line and working...not only would we recommend this product, we are considering purchasing as a house warming gift for friend building their first home. Fabulous product!
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Range disappoints - Smart features good I replaced a low end Linksys E1200 wireless N in an effort to achieve the longer range that others here said they got. I have not experienced ANY increase in range and in fact had to buy a range extender to boost the signal. Per the signal strength indicator on my devices the signal strength is the same for the E1200 and the EA4500 at a modest distance. The good news is that the features of a "smart wi-fi" are really handy. The ability to give devices priority has been a pleasant surprise.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My 1 Month Review The setup was easy, just follow the instructions. I kept a simple setup except for giving a priority to an ipad and kindle. So far I have no issues or complaints. I like the Linksys Smart Wifi web page. Don't forget to register your items for warranty. The router suits my needs because I can't see paying more money for a speedier router when I can only get so much in download and upload speeds from cable internet. Time will give a better review of this router, 4 stars at the moment.
Date published: 2016-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mostly Good Linksys makes a durable product, just one that is not the most user friendly. Would not install on Windows XP, took several times to install it with iMac, and only two times with Windows 7. Setup with several ipads was easy. Always a nice product, and always a pain to install on some products. Also understand that linksys does not want you to use your Network Magic, now they want you to buy Network pro. Might as well get you for as much as they can all at one time.
Date published: 2013-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice update I replaced a D-link router that was having a hard time keeping up with two smart tv's, two smart phones, three computers and two tablets. We haven't had to reboot the router in a month. That was something we had to do weekly with the older equipment. We stream movies and tv through Netflix, Amazon, and Google, music through Amazon, Google, and Pandora. We experience very little buffering. Very pleased with the setup, price, and the guest access is a bonus.
Date published: 2013-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A truly excellent product The EA4500 is probably the best router on the market. It is also probably the most sophisticated router on the market. Two areas to focus on for the best results are assigning the best "channel" and dealing with any existing "MAC" settings. For this you may need aide available via chat. If you are linking older equipment lacking security you may find that you will be restricted to the "visitor" port. Not a problem except perhaps with your expectations.
Date published: 2012-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I replaced a 4year old 2.4ghz wireless router with the Linksys EA4500 dual band wi-fi router. Installation: a snap! Improved wi-fi reception throughout the house: great even with router behind two-three walls. Wi-fi connection and speed to pcs., tablets, smartphones,tvs, dvrs, video payers, game consoles: improved greatly! A great little product! I suspect this router has additional goodies I have not had time to try out yet. Looking forward to do so!
Date published: 2013-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome range and features I purchased the Linksys EA4500 wireless router as an upgrade from the Linksys E900 wireless router because I wanted dual band capabilities for my media collection. It works great and I am able to connect my 2TB external hard drive directly to the router's usb port and stream movies to all my devices. The wireless connections are secure and I experience no loss of connectivity or buffering when streaming movies to other devices. I love this system.
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Linksys I been using Linksys for years in fact this make my third one I have purchase. I got this one for my parents. They need new wifi I suggest getting Linksys they are a lot better most wifi router. My parents was impresses with it internet set was a lot quicker load up pages quicker, Netflix load hold lot fast with this dual band. I highly recommend this Linksys to anybody who need dual band wifi wireless router.
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Now this is fast! This is my first more than 300 MBps device. I also learned how to use the 5 ghz radio. I also have 450 MBps dongles. I have a bit of a problem keeping my default settings. My 2.4 equipment runs well, except my printer. Being 2.4 wireless, my printer does not see the machines set up on the 5 side. This router and the matching dongles make older equipment sooo fast, you would swear you doubled your ram!
Date published: 2013-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding I live in Toronto. My service provider promised speeds up to 25mb. Never reached more than 5. we have many devices. I bought this product yesterday and the speeds are amazing. I now average over 22 to 28mb on our second floor, over 30mb on our main floor and in the basement were the router is it's almost 40mb. Amazing. the range is amazing too. In the backyards we get speeds of over 18mb average.
Date published: 2013-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for our environment This device was purchased and used by a former Company President for his personal use, but after he left the company, I re-issued it for use in our Conference room for Guest Access, and it is perfect for this usage. The Dual Band availability makes it easy to connect to with either a newer device or even an older one. It is very reliable and never drops a connection.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONLY buy a Linksys!! AWESOME parental controls. Super easy setup. I spent half a day trying to configure a Netgear router's parental controls thinking there had to be something I was missing to make them more robust. Nope. Just plain pitiful. I took it back and got a new Linksys. Everytime I have strayed to another brand, I regretted it and came back to Cisco. 6 stars
Date published: 2013-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent device! This router was very easy to set up with the provided CD, and even easier to manage with the web based UI and the app. I've set up many routers in the past and this is by far one of the easiest. I love the DLNA support as well! I run a Western Digital 500gb external drive as media storage on it, and I can simultaneously access if from all my devices
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy setup This was very easy to install. It did recognize all the devices hooked up to the network without difficulties and the WIFI works very well. In the future some improvements could be made, like, more ports and the ability to not broadcast SSID. This was connected in combination with a range extender over power line and the system works very well.
Date published: 2013-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great modem, fast and reliable It's a reliable modem, secure and fast. The only problem its difficult to install, it comes with a installation cd but most laptops don have and more CD, I had to look for the installation files at the web pages. And it was very hard to find. It should come with an USB with the installation files. Once you get those files the process is faster.
Date published: 2015-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Linksys EA4500 N900 Dual-Band Was having trouble at times with my previous Wi-Fi Wireless Router. Older home with plaster walls and stucco on the outside. Bought the Linksys EA4500 N900 Dual-Band Smart Wi-Fi Wireless Router and problem solved. Now can access the internet from my yard and down in the basement. Speeds are good. Will continue depending on Linksys products.
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So much better than my other router Our network coverage many recently gave us a new router that was slow and kept crashing. Then, I could this router for just $5, wired it up, and it works incredibly well! It has a huge range, and also has high speeds.Setip was super simple, the router pretty much set up everything automatically, with the exception of the name and password.
Date published: 2016-02-02
  • y_2019, m_3, d_21, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_151
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-EA4500, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 406ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*Maximum performance derived from IEEE Standard 802.11 specifications. Actual performance can vary, including lower wireless network capacity, data throughput rate, range and coverage. Performance depends on many factors, conditions and variables, including distance from the access point, volume of network traffic, building materials and construction, operating system used, mix of wireless products used, interference and other adverse conditions.