text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features
Linksys AC1900 Dual Band SMART WiFi Router

SMOOTH VIDEO STREAMING AND SHARING WITH FAST CONNECTION SPEEDS

The AC1900 wireless router features dual wireless bands (2.4 GHz and 5 GHz) with data speeds up to N600 Mbps + AC1300 Mbps*, great for media-intense applications such as video streaming and online gaming.

Four Gigabit Ethernet ports make it easy to share data quickly across your network, and to external devices - at speeds 10x faster than Fast Ethernet. You can use the high-performance USB 3.0 port** to attach a storage device and quickly transfer large files or share devices across your WiFi network. Plus, the USB 2.0 port is perfect for smaller file transfers or a dedicated printer.

BEAMFORMING TECHNOLOGY HELPS ELIMINATE DEAD SPOTS

Beamforming focuses the WiFi signal directly to your smartphones, tablets, and laptops instead of sending out a general transmission. The result is a more efficient network with a wider range.

When your device doesn't have to work as hard to receive data, it means not only greater efficiency for you, but also a longer battery life for your connected devices.


LINKSYS SMART WiFi


Linksys Smart WiFi

CUSTOMIZE AND MANAGE YOUR HOME WiFi ANYTIME, ANYWHERE

With the Linksys Smart WiFi App, you can closely monitor and manage your home WiFi remotely using a smartphone or tablet.

  • Guest Access: Create a separate, password-protected WiFi network for up to 50 guests and easily share the password.
  • Parental Controls: Ensure a safe Internet experience for your kids -- even when you're away from home. Restrict access to inappropriate or distracting content, control usage, and block specific devices from accessing the Internet.
  • Device Prioritization: You can prioritize devices that need the most speed.

QUICK AND EASY SETUP

Managing your home WiFi with Linksys Smart WiFi is fast and easy:

Step 1 Set up your wireless home network

Set up your home WiFi using a Linksys Smart WiFi Router.

Step 2 Sign up for a Linksys Smart WiFi Account

Download the free Linksys Smart WiFi App.

Linksys Smart WiFi on iOS Get Linksys Smart WiFi on Google Play
Step 3 Customize your network with the Linksys Smart WiFi apps

Use Your Mobile Device to Manage Your Home WiFi.

Videos

Learn about the Linksys EA6900 Smart Wi-Fi Router

  • Learn about the Linksys EA6900 Smart Wi-Fi Router

  • The Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App has a Whole New Look & Feel

Show all videos
Technical Specs
  • Model Name:
    EA6900
  • Network Standards:
    • IEEE 802.3
    • IEEE 802.3u
    • IEEE 802.11b
    • IEEE 802.11a
    • IEEE 802.11g
    • IEEE 802.11n
    • IEEE 802.11ac
  • Radio Frequency Bands:
    2.4 & 5GHz
  • Ports:
    1x Gigabit WAN (10/100/1000), 4x Gigabit LAN (10/100/1000), 1x USB 2.0 + 1x USB 3.0
  • LEDs:
    Power, Internet, WLAN, Ethernet (1-4), Wi-Fi Protected Setup
  • Buttons:
    Wi-Fi Protected Setup, Reset, Power
  • Operating Temperature:
    32 to 104 °F (0 to 40 °C)
  • Storage Temperature:
    -4 to 140 °F (-20 to 60 °C)
  • Operating Humidity:
    10 to 80% Noncondensing
  • Warranty and Support:
    1 year hardware limited warranty
  • Max. Link Rate:
    1300 Mbps
  • Platform Compatibility:
    • Windows XP
    • Windows Vista 32/64
    • Windows 7 32/64
    • Windows 8 32/64
    • Mac OS X 10.5.8 Leopard
    • Mac OS X 10.6.1 Snow Leopard
    • Mac OS X 10.7 Lion
    • Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion
    • Mac OS X 10.9 Mavericks
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Router AC1900, EA6900
  • Quick Start Guide
  • 3 Antennas
  • CD-ROM with Documentation
  • Ethernet Cable
  • Power Adapter
Reviews

Press

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Usable with FIOS I purchased this router to replace my Verizon FIOS wireless router to gain more range only to find out it cannot be used with FIOS. Apparently FIOS has there own routers and no one else makes a replacement. I ended up using this router as a wireless access point off my FIOS router. In doing so I was unable to access most of the features of this router. For regular cable (Comcast-Cox) this router is great, for FIOS not so good. Range appears to be great and the design looks great on top of my home theater. Just wish it could replace the FIOS router. Tech support was fantastic, but I think they should make a disclosure right up front about FIOS
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect upgrade I have been stalling on upgrading my wireless router at home, and I happen to start looking around and found this on the sale of a lifetime. I talked to Linksys tech support about the range questions I had and they were absolutely great and answered my questions. I purchased the router that second to replace my older Cisco router and boy am I impressed. I cannot praise the range and power of this router. VERY EASY to set-up with my moderate networking knowledge. I am sure there are features I am not getting as I did not go with the more expensive upgraded newer router, but I dont need them at this time and this is perfect! A+
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EA6900 excelence router I used EA6900 in a large 2 level split house, approx 2500 sqft total. Signal is very strong even though i place the router at one end of the house in the basement. 2.4 Ghz signal is very strong thru out the house even at the upper level. All laptops indicated 99% signal strength entire house, upper or low level. 5 Ghz is good at lower level, but reduce to 60% strength at the upper level. I found out that the 5 Ghz is not for long distance and thru wall etc. Also i can make higher prioritize signal to three devices. Other devices are at normal priority. I have 14 devices total and they all connect well, no drop or slow or conflict etc. Overall very happy after two months using it.
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Definite Upgrade! Three things that I'm impressed with and that work well: 1) Option of two network bands of 2.4 ghz and 5 ghz. 2) The ability to observe network via app on phone and/or computer. 3) The easy, intuitive setup process Three things that I'm not impressed with: 1) The range - hardly a noticeable difference from the older replaced N router. 2) Two weeks in and had to unplug/plug router in order to get back online 3) Privacy - not sure if I just missed it but there doesn't seem to be a way to make this router less visible. My previous router could be hidden and one would have to actually type in the network name in order to find it.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pass this on by! I've had this 3 years and it's given my fits! Monthly and weekly reboots. Tech support suggested pushing the reset button for a factory reset every so often. What a joke. It drops internet every so often. Does not agree what is connected between the "device list", "Connectivity/DHCP Reservations", and the "Troubleshooting" tabs. Refresh and reboots don't help. Try to reserve DHCP for items like printers, etc. is hit and miss. I've tried Range extenders RE1000 & RE2000 with troublesome connections. Pulled them and I'm trying a RE7000 Range Extender. It connects great and works well as long as the EA6900 is stable. 3 days and it's a reboot to reconnect.
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection I just installed my AC 1900 this morning and it was exactly what I expected from Linksys. Perfection. I have 15 connected devices in my home and all but 2 are wireless. I set the router up via ethernet cable and then did my wireless set up. The setup was flawless and the new style web interface makes it that much easier. Not only did my speed increase but the wireless range is at least 2 times better than my old router. I would recommend the AC1900 to anyone looking to upgrade or set up a new network. Thanks Linksys for continuing your tradition of excellent products.
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent AC Router Period! This router is EXTREMELY EASY to set up. It took me under 30 minutes to have ALL my devices connected. My iPod Touch 4th Gen could never be used outside my home (in my yard) with my old DLINK router (DGL-4500). Now with the extended range of this one, I can be at my neighbors yard and still have access to my router. Speed increase is very noticeable. I am on Docsis 3.0 (50Mbps down & 10Mbps up) so there is plenty of bandwith for all my equipment. The guest option is a big plus! When the baby sitter is over, she can now access the internet without me worrying about the security of my own computer and files. It is also a great looking router (to me it matters) and compliments my gaming rig!
Date published: 2013-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SURPRISINGLY BETTER BOUGHT A ASUS 4-Port Gigabit Wireless AC Router (RT-AC68U) AND THIS Linksys EA6900 AC1900. Based on numerous review and citations i thought the Asus would smoke the Linksys. The opposite became true. The lLinksys has far stronger signal strength and range throughout my 2 story small house and yard. This actiually shocked me... I had read the CNET reviews of both, which basically gave the highest praise and results to the Asus, and in the Linksys review (both 2013) CNET pretty mucH dismembered this Lnksys. Obviously something is wrong in the reveiw process and fairness department's there. I;m totally pleasaed witrh this Linksys.Gave away the Asus as a Christmas Gift...Jim...Fife. WA
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best wireless router i have ever owned I just moved into a large house, and had problems getting proper wifi coverage inside and in the backyard. Tried various routers with repeaters, but nothing was good or stable. I then installed the EA6900, and i now have very good coverage inside my whole house (two story house, 8600 sqft) and also in the backyard. I do not need to use any repeaters. I have it set up with a USB HD to share media files, and this works very well also. The router was easy to set up, and i now manage if from my Iphone with the app. I higly recommend this router to anyone.
Date published: 2013-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as advertised Bought as an open box item. Previous user must have set a new address or something. While the router worked immediately with the modem and the 2 levels were available, I couldn't access the menu. The setup procedure didn't nothing helpful in telling me what was wrong. The website the same, as well as the PDF manual. All of them seemed to run in circles in what to do--not helpful. Finally, I did a reset to factory and all went well. Wish the documentation was a bit better. But it works fine after the reset and does what I want it to do. Product--excellent. Documentation--fair to poor.
Date published: 2015-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completely Satisfied After replacing an earlier Linksys wi-fi router with the EA6900 I've enjoyed ease of set up, and a much more stable and faster home network. My 802.11AC devices download files and display web pages much faster compared to 802.11N connectivity. And, with AC connectivity, wireless range is greatly extended throughout the house and onto the backyard deck. The only problem I experienced was setting up an old HP laser printer using the router's USB port. That was, however, solved after discovering, downloading and installing the Belkin USB controller App on all PCs on my network.
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Range goes through concrete wall in Jamaica Purchased for house in Kingston Jamaica. Jamaica houses are made of pure concrete about 1 foot thick. Inner walls are of same construction. Needed a strong router to penetrate concrete walls for Netflix video streaming. Expect a six feet range on opposite side of block walls. This was good enough for sister-n-law to get netflix video streaming in her bedroom wifi tv. She is happy. Download speed is fast. Thanks Linksys support for helping me set it up. Linksys support also gets 5 plus stars.
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Wireless Performance with Easy Setup The setup on the EA6900 Router is a major breakthrough. You can do it from the configured wireless network it is shipped with. I configured mine via ethernet cable since I had specific wireless names and passwords I wanted to retain. The setup was quick and accurate. I tested the wireless throughput and it was over 4 times that of my previous Linksys (E4200) which easily carried HD. Coverage was extended to the point that I no longer needed a range extender in my entire house. This router rocks!
Date published: 2013-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleased with results From day 1 of CenturyLink internet installation I had considerable trouble maintaining wireless connection to my laptop, wireless printer and television connections (both the Direct TV connection and the TV connection (Panasonic Veira).Finally brought a computer technician over to troubleshoot he recommended an additional router to provide the wireless account for those devises. I chose the EA6900. Since installation of this router I have experienced flawless performance from the wireless network.
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Set-up Couldn't Be Easier I'm using the EA6900 in a small business, and the coverage & signal strength is outstanding. The set-up process couldn't be easier! Just a couple suggestions that are mentioned in the instructions: Initial connection should be done using an Ethernet cable and not wireless; When setting up the online account, make sure it is on the same computer that is connected to the router, and not another device (i.e. another computer, phone, etc.). It is better to not go wireless until set-up is complete.
Date published: 2013-09-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Promising but not always reliable I've had this router about a month. Was easy to setup. However, at least once a week it drops all connections and I have to reboot it. This was replacing an older router from another vendor that was 5 years old and had no issues. I was just looking for a technology upgrade. This Linksys unit was rated higher than other vendor's latest router and I'm disappointed by that rating. i like the web admin panel that I can access anywhere, but it's difficult to find online help for some parts of the interface. The iphone app is a bit counterintuitive at times, but seems to mimic most of the web admin panel. Range is very good as I have many other wifi routers in my neighborhood. Also nice to have guest wifi. I'm hoping I'll see a firmware update that will resolve the reliability issues soon.
Date published: 2014-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Setup I bought my router about a month ago. I used to own a net gear router which was difficult to set up. The Linksys was very easy to set up. I run a desktop computer, iPhone, ps4 and an Android tablet off it. I have no problems streaming videos or gaming online. It's as if my devices were plugged directly into my cable high speed internet. I have no loss of signal even when all of the devices are being used.
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will not buy again. My warranty ran out, and wouldn't you know it, I had trouble with the router 7 weeks after the warranty ran out. Did I get any help, NO.... The woman said for $29.95 she would help me one time. I will never buy a Linksys again.
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Support Top customer support! Really appreciated. The products Wi-Fi range is impressive and the setup is for small kids....
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I had Great Expectations ... Setup was HORRIBLE. I bought this router once I read reviews and thought it was going to be easy to setup and provide a good signal with good coverage. Unfortunately setup was a disaster. I followed the prompts to the letter but I could not connect to the router. Finally I had to call customer service, which was excellent once I reached someone. I had to finally cable my laptop to the router via ethernet and enter the router address to make a connection. I still cannot connect via linksysmartwifi. But using the router address works for me and is ok. The strength and range has been good so far.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Works just fine... when you are in range I purchased this router about 6 months ago when I switched my ISP. My previous Wi-Fi router was supplied from my provider, and the signal covered the entire house, even on the front porch and back deck. After I purchased this router and set it up in the same place my old one was in, my signal range seemed to be cut in half. The signal would not even cover my living room in front of the house. I had to move the router to cover the front of the house, which is where we spend most our evenings, but now that it is summer time, there is very limited signal or no signal strength to reach our back deck when we are grilling out or spending time outside with friends. Overall happy with the product, just wish the coverage was better.
Date published: 2016-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This device works flawlessly!! I bought this device last year and it literally takes a few minutes for it to acquire your broadband connection and set everything up almost automatically. I live in a 3-bedroom home and it gives a good strong signal from my basement to the entire house. Not only will it match your broadband connection, it will usually boost the signal 10% more than the speed from your provider. I have over a dozen devices that use wifi and it powers them all at the same time without any noticeable lag or buffering problems. It truly is a great product!
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worked great for 1st year This router worked very well the first year. Unfortunately it is now slow as molasses and needs to be replaced way before its time. I just got a new modem from the cable company and we’ve isolated the problem to this router. Tried resetting and all the recommended help center recommendations without success. Bummer...
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No way to see system time; weekly drops internet I bought this looking at the positive reviews BUT I should have looked at the negative ones because that is what i am experiencing. I loved the easy parental controls ... but since there in the user interface there is no where to see the actual system time, I don't know if the set times are aligned except by looking at the logs. The router also randomly drops the connection to the internet and the only way to correct is to power reset the router. Worst router I have owned.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed Very poor signal strength and reach. Just spent 3 hours with support techs trying to improve the chronically weak and intermittent signal. I do not recommend this product and regret the purchase.
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EA6900 / AC1900 bought this in last few weeks. Was easy to setup and get started, with Linksys support online. Love the added speed and additional access on various equipment at the house. This replaced an older Linksys E1000 I've had since it initially came out. But with the new, larger house, more smart TVs, media room, and smart phones, and various PCs, printers, etc. in the house, I needed a much more powerful Wi-Fi Router. This works great so far. I really like being able to access the unit remotely and even manage it from my smartphone. I also like the management screens and setup. Easy to see what is online or not, and to help review and manage the unit, and even connect equipment wirelessly while standing at the equipment and not the router.
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back in business! When our router went dead last month, it was time for an upgrade. After talking to the customer service techs and learning that I would receive a "loyalty discount" for being a prior Linksys purchaser, I bought the EA6900 AC1900 for a very competitive price. The customer service techs helped me with the setup and everything has worked great since. Very pleased with the router's performance and the Linksys customer service.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from dont buy this pls I have bought this product 6 months back and after firmware updates its not working at all. i called customer care and even they couldnt help me... Dont waste your money please..
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got what I purchased and it's good!!!! I bought this about 3 weeks ago to replace my old WRT54G. Too many wireless electronics in the household and it was time for an upgrade, I looked around and although some on the reviews had some cons on this model I decided for it, I combined it with a N600 range extender and now I have coverage thru out my whole home and outside without loss of signal. Having duel frequencies helps, and the guest feature is an added bonus. Once you install the app on your phone you can control who has access and restrict websites with the parental control.
Date published: 2015-12-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Great Misleader! I have a family of 6, of which have multiple WiFi devices. The router under-performs and disconnects users randomly. It can not handle the load. I use the Parental Controls and they just do not work! It even blocks users when Parental controls are turned off. It consistently confused IP's and MAC's, screwing up filters. Bottomline - Not good for families or large number of devices, software is buggy, The only plus is that it can handle streaming very well with QoS. I am IT Exec with many years of Networking Experience and Qualifications.
Date published: 2016-01-30
  • y_2019, m_5, d_22, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_300
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-EA6900, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 312ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*The standard transmission rates—450 Mbps or 1300 Mbps (for 5 GHz), 300 Mbps (for 2.4 GHz), 54 Mbps, and 11 Mbps—are the physical data rates. Actual data throughput will be lower and may depend on the mix of wireless products used.
**Maximum Performance derived from IEEE Standard 802.11 specifications (draft specifications for 802.11ac). Actual performance can vary, including lower wireless network capacity, data throughput rate, range and coverage. Performance depends upon many factors, conditions and variables, including products used, interference and other adverse conditions. 802.11ac 1300 Mbps in the 5GHz Band is approximately 3 x faster than 802.11n 450 Mbps in the 2.4GHz Band. An 802.11ac adapter will be needed to achieve 11ac data rates and up to 1300 Mbps wireless speeds may be achieved when connecting to other 802.11ac 1300 Mbps devices.
†PCMag Logo a trademark of Ziff Davis, Inc. Used under license. Reprinted with permission. © 2013 Ziff Davis, Inc. All Rights Reserved
PCMag quotation reprinted from www.pcmag.com with permission. © 2013 Ziff Davis, Inc. All Rights Reserved.