text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features

SUPERCHARGED WORK AND PLAY WITH NEXT-GEN AC Wi-Fi ROUTER

Designed as a dual-purpose home office and entertainment Wi-Fi router, the MAX-STREAM AC5400 MU-MIMO Gigabit Wi-Fi Router (EA9500) delivers Wi-Fi to multiple users on multiple devices at the same time and same speed.

Featuring MU-MIMO (Multi-User, Multiple-Input, Multiple-Output) technology, this Next-Gen AC Router treats your devices--PCs, Smart TVs, streaming devices, smartphones--as if each has its own dedicated router. Working in your home office, you'll enjoy lag-free videoconferencing and fast file transfer, even while the rest of the family is streaming 4K or HD media in the living room.

Linksys MAX-STREAM AC5400 MU-MIMO Gigabit Wi-Fi Router (EA9500)
 
Linksys Max-Stream routers offer Seamless Roaming

ROOM-TO-ROOM Wi-Fi WITH SEAMLESS ROAMING

The MAX-STREAM AC5400 MU-MIMO Gigabit Wi-Fi Router (EA9500) offers Seamless Roaming as you move around your home when linked with a MAX-STREAM Range Extender. With Seamless Roaming, your enabled wireless devices will automatically switch to the strongest Wi-Fi signal, so you won't have to manually connect to the router or range extender when you move from one room to another--or even to your garden.** This means that you can move freely throughout your home while video chatting or streaming videos without experiencing dropped calls or buffering.

Pair a MAX-STREAM range extender such as the RE7000 with the AC5400 for more efficient home Wi-Fi that delivers stronger, more powerful Wi-Fi signal to all your devices.

AC5400 Home Office Productivity

BACKED BY 3-YEAR WARRANTY AND TECH SUPPORT

With its ability to perform double duty as a home office and entertainment router, the AC5400 merits a premium level of support. For this reason, it's backed not only by a three-year warranty, but also by a three-year tech support guarantee.

POWERFUL PROCESSOR FOR SUPERCHARGED Wi-Fi

If you're working in your home office, you can quickly download large files thanks to the MAX-STREAM's 1.4 GHz dual-core processor, which delivers the performance necessary for seamless videoconferencing and fast file transfer. The AC5400 is capable of handling multiple high-speed data streams at once--delivering faster Wi-Fi speeds to more devices.

AC5400 Tri-Band Technology

ADVANCED SECURITY FEATURES FOR A SECURE CONNECTION

With the MAX-STREAM AC5400 MU-MIMO Gigabit Wi-Fi Router (EA9500), your work files, data, and home network information are safely connected with WPA/WPA2 encryption and an SPI firewall.

SMOOTH 4K VIDEO STREAMING WITH BLAZING-FAST Wi-Fi SPEEDS

The MAX-STREAM AC5400 offers three independent Wi-Fi bands that deliver extremely fast combined speeds of up to 5.3 Gbps.* Tri-Band technology delivers up to double the Wireless-AC performance of a dual-band router. High-bandwidth applications like videoconferencing and movie streaming are ideal for the two high-speed 5 GHz bands, while lower-bandwidth devices like older wireless-N and -G computers can utilize the 2.4 GHz band.

HIGH-PERFORMANCE ANTENNAS FOR MAXIMUM COVERAGE

The router features eight adjustable external antennas, which can be positioned for optimal performance. They provide powerful streams of data to your devices, ensuring complete Wi-Fi coverage throughout your home. Unlike the two or three data streams found on other routers, the AC5400 delivers four simultaneous streams per band for stronger, faster performance.

IMPROVED MOBILE SPEED AND RANGE WITH BEAMFORMING

Play video games, listen to music, check email, shop, stream movies, and more--without having to worry about signal drop-off. Beamforming technology directs Wi-Fi signals to each of your mobile devices. This focused direction provides increased signal strength and coverage.


Linksys EA9500 Gigabit Ethernet Ports

CONNECT WIRED DEVICES WITH USB AND GIGABIT ETHERNET PORTS

Eight Gigabit Ethernet ports let you connect an array of wired devices for enhanced file transfer speeds and stability--up to 10x faster than Fast Ethernet. Two USB connections--including one fast USB 3.0 port--are ideal for connecting shared storage devices or printers.

LINKSYS SMART Wi-Fi


Linksys Smart Wi-Fi

CUSTOMIZE AND MANAGE YOUR HOME Wi-Fi ANYTIME, ANYWHERE

With the Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App, you can closely monitor and manage your home Wi-Fi remotely using a smartphone or tablet.

  • Guest Access: Create a separate, password-protected Wi-Fi network for up to 50 guests and easily share the password.
  • Parental Controls: Ensure a safe Internet experience for your kids -- even when you're away from home. Restrict access to inappropriate or distracting content, control usage, and block specific devices from accessing the Internet.
  • Device Prioritization: You can prioritize devices that need the most speed.

QUICK AND EASY SETUP

Managing your home Wi-Fi with Linksys Smart Wi-Fi is fast and easy:

Step 1 Set up your wireless home network

Set up your home Wi-Fi using a Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Router.

Step 2 Sign up for a Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Account

Download the free Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App.

Linksys Smart Wi-Fi on iOS Get Linksys Smart Wi-Fi on Google Play
Step 3 Customize your network with the Linksys Smart Wi-Fi apps

Use Your Mobile Device to Manage Your Home Wi-Fi.

Videos

Meet the Linksys Max-Stream AC5400 Router with MU-MIMO Technology

  • Meet the Linksys Max-Stream AC5400 Router with MU-MIMO Technology

  • The Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App has a Whole New Look & Feel

  • Max-Stream™ Routers & Range Extenders with Seamless Wi-Fi Roaming

Show all videos
Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    AC5400 MU-MIMO Tri-band Gigabit, 1000+2166+2166 Mbps
  • Key Features:
    • Tri-Band (5 GHz + 5GHz + 2.4 GHz)
    • 4x4 AC, MU-MIMO
    • USB 3.0 Port
    • Dual-Core CPU
    • Beamforming Technology
    • 8 Adjustable Antennas
    • Smart Wi-Fi
  • Network Standards:
    • 802.11b
    • 802.11a/g
    • 802.11n
    • 802.11ac
  • Wi-Fi Speed:
    AC5400 (N1000 + AC2166 + AC2166)
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    2.4 and 5 GHz(2x) (simultaneous tri-band)
  • Wi-Fi Range:
    Very Large Household
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    • 1x Gigabit WAN port
    • 8x Gigabit LAN ports
  • Other Ports:
    • One(1) USB 3.0 port
    • One(1) USB 2.0 port
    • Power
  • Antennas:
    8x external adjustable antennas
  • Processor:
    1.4 GHz dual-core
  • LEDs:
    Status Indicator, MU-MIMO Indicators, illuminated Linksys logo, Wi-Fi, Wi-Fi Protected Setup, Power, Internet, LAN 1–8, USB 3.0, USB 2.0
  • Wireless Encryption:
    64/128-bit WEP, WPA2 Personal, WPA2 Enterprise
  • Operation Modes:
    • Wireless Router
    • Access Point (Bridge)
  • Storage File System Support:
    • FAT
    • NTFS
    • HSF+
  • Easy Setup:
    • Browser-based Setup
    • Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Setup
  • Certified Operating Systems:
    Windows 7, Windows 8.1
  • Minimum System Requirements:
    • Internet Explorer® 8
    • Safari® 5 (for Mac®)
    • Firefox® 8
    • Google Chrome™
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    264.52 x 318.15 x 66.66 mm (10.41 x 12.53 x 2.62 in.) without antennas
  • Weight:
    1727.7 g (60.94 oz)
  • Security Features:
    • WPA/WPA2
    • 128 bit AES link encryption
    • WEP
  • Regulatory Compliance:
    FCC class B
  • Power Supply:
    Input: 100-240V ~ 50-60Hz; Output: 12V, 5A
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys AC5400 Tri-Band Wi-Fi Router, EA9500
  • Quick Start Guide
  • 8 Antennas
  • Ethernet Cable
  • Power Adapter
  • CD-ROM with Documentation
Reviews

Press

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Biggest Piece of Junk EVER!!! This router is absolutely terrible... the max speed I get over my wifi is about 5MB/s on the 2.4GHZ and 10 - 20MB/s on the 5GHZ, if smart switch is enabled it switches my devices ever couple seconds making them disconnect, so I have to disable one of the 2, 5GHZ bands. I will be taking this Piece of junk back and going back to my Asus AC5300 which was able of sending the full 300MB/s I'm paying for over my WIFI!!! Without any problems... I can't Stay connected to the WIFI with the Linksys router for more then 5 min at a time with any of my devices... Just through writing this Review it reconnected on my laptop Twice...
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features, Simple to Set Up and amazing dista I did have one issue, when I received the first unit and hooked it up the unit would not lock on to my Internet feed, no way no how. After several hours of attempting rebooting and resetting processes I returned the unit and reordered. The second unit took me less than 45 minutes to completely set up and check the WiFi reach, it was amazing and has operated flawlessly for almost a month. I am getting a solid max signal at the farthest reaches of my two story home and now have a solid signal in all areas of our yard, from the pool to the mail box and beyond. I am now streaming videos for the first time from one end of my home to the other.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Power and easy setup! I bought this router with a Linksys cable modem CM3024 to use on our Time Warner Cable. I'm replacing a Netgear Cable Modem / Router combination that never worked properly from the start. The setup was quick and easy. I have added all of the peripheral wireless devices without issue. The EA9500 is very powerful and has provided coverage throughout my 2000 sq ft home. The 5Ghz coverage is far superior to the router we previously had. The speed of the USB connected hard disk drive is extremely fast. The cost of this router is hard to accept but at this point I'm not at all sorry that I spent the extra.
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely amazing!! Wow, what an amazing product. I can't believe how much different out internet experience has improved 10 FOLD since installing the marvel. It only took about 3 minutes to get this beast up and running. The software used to manage this 9500 was easy to us. If there is only ONE thing I could say they could improve on is make it possible to assign static routes for Ethernet connected devices instead of DHCP reservations. I could not find this option anywhere in the advanced set up process. I would like to end saying that you will NOT be disappointed with the performance of this router. Actually, we should call this the Heart, cause that pretty much what it is in today's modern home.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Router - Faster AND Better Coverage I purchased the EA9500/AC5400 router as an upgrade to my EA8500. I have a large, two-story home and while the EA8500 was OK, the EA9500 offers a whole new level of excellent coverage and speed. With the EA9500, I have no more dead or low coverage areas in my home - the 8 antennas see to that! Also, depending on the device, I've seen anywhere between a 25% - 30% increase in wireless download speeds regardless of where I'm at in my house. The router also effortlessly handles all of my family's - and guests' - devices with no noticeable degradation in speed. The EA9500 is and expensive router, although I received a great deal from Linksys, but in my opinion it's well worth it.
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy setup with current features Setup from iPhone was a hassle. As soon as I changed the SSID, the safari app could do no more. And the Linksys app only works from scratch. Reset the router and configured from a laptop. It only took a couple minutes and it was setup how I wanted. I upgraded from a 10+ year old Linksys that could keep up with one device, but I think I overwhelmed it with all our devices on at the same time. Now all drops seemed to go away. Love the connectivity, lack of drops, all the Ethernet ports, and the effortless running since install. I feel that I may be able to get another 10+ years off this device.
Date published: 2017-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Router Not to bash other companies but after trying a Nighthawk x8 ac5300 and having semi strong 5g and 2.4 ... tried the rt-87u and noticed i had the 5g drop out issues that plagued many others online in reviews... i decided to go back to good old linksys. This router reminds me of old Linksys many years ago in their wrt54g reliable router days, but with a much better quality. This router feels solid! It works and is extremely fast wireless and wired. I see no need for any custom firmware at the moment as everything works as it is supposed to with this router.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!!! I received this new router to evaluate from Linksys Friends and Family and I must say it is very impressive. I had a bit of trouble when I first set it up but from past experiences I found that a factory reset usually solves any little bugs that may occur. Afterwards, it was nothing but fun putting this thing through every test I could imagine. I have about 11 devices connected and I ran Netflix, Hulu, movie downloads, etc on all of them at the same time and it never lagged. This is a tri-band router and it has a Smart feature that connects the (2) 5ghz bands together for an extraordinarily smooth connection. I highly recommend this router for the most extreme demands you could ever imagine.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Almost there... I want to start by saying that this device has the beginnings of what could be a very good device. It has a lot of ethernet ports (twice as many as most other home routers), a lot of antennas due to the 3 bands, and a fair amount of features, though less than I would have expected from a router of this price/caliber. To start with, the device is literally huge. I've never come across a home router as large as this one. To give an example, the body itself without the antennas is nearly as large as 6 soda cans laid out in 2 rows of 3. This is fully twice as large as my previous Asus RT-AC66U both in area and height. This presents a problem for me. First, I had my previously mentioned device wall mounted. In order to keep my network connections where they are all at currently, I had to put a shelf on the wall for this device as it is not capable of being wall mounted. I understand that such a large device would present challenges for wall mounting, however I feel that the inclusion of a simple snap-on wall bracket with some drywall anchors could have more than handled it. The price of this device should more than be able to accomodate such a consideration, not to mention it would allow for such a bulky device to not take up so much valuable flat-surface real-estate. In terms of other physical features, the antennas are large and jut out from 3 of the 4 sides of this device. I understand and appreciate the need for many antennas for the multiple bands this router services, but they are almost comically large in their implementation. Being that this device cannot be wall mounted, I feel they could have saved some horizontal space by placing some of the antennas in the center of the device itself rather than all the way around the outside. However this leads me to my next point. The center of the device has a large display-like area with LEDs. It appears to be a screen but is not, and serves to just show the logo and I guess that the device is powered on, though little more than that. Again, some real-estate could be saved by having skipped this piece or gone with a more space conscientious design. But enough about size, let's talk features. Unfortunately, despite the size, here is where the device begins to fall flat. I found no specific feature of this device that made it stand out from the crowd aside from the 8 Ethernet ports. I have a very large number of physical device connected in my house, with multiple full switches in my network, having the addition of an additional 4 ports over the original 4 of my old router was very welcome. The tri-band capability of the device also cannot be overlooked as it is going to allow for more devices with less congestion on the network than otherwise may be available to a single- or dual-band device. Currently my EA9500 shows 23 devices connected to itself, so any amount of congestion alleviation is definitely worth note. Outside of that, the features are fairly run-of-the-mill, and even some tend to be annoying. First, the device insists you use a Linksys Smart WiFi account, though it is capable of being managed locally. Second, and most annoyingly, there is an ad that shows in the upper right-hand of the interface if you login with a Linksys Smart WiFi account that attempts to sell you other Linksys products. I feel this is unnecessary and somewhat ludicrous considering the cost of this device. Third, the network map is mediocre at best. It shows very little useful information and in most cases is not able to ascertain the make (from the mac address) or hostname. My previous device was able to give me at least the make of the NIC if not the entire device by using a MAC address database even if it could not find more information about that device using other methods. In addition, the network map doesn't gain anything by situating all of the devices in a circle around the router, it doesn't help with an at-a-glance recognition of whether something is wired or wireless, and while you might expect the little wireless symbol to help with that, it is small and green, and there is a small and green dot on the wired ethernet port symbol as well, so at-a-glance it's less than useful. Had they situated them separate from one another such as lines drawn to wired devices and wireless devices situated out separately, or in separate portions of the same page, or wired and wireless devices on separate pages, it would have been far more useful. Next, there are none of the more advanced features of this type of device that I've come to expect and appreciate from other vendors, especially if you consider the more high-end devices, all of which include the vast majority of these features. Some of these include: -There is no VPN endpoint. This is quite disappointing as from what I understand the hardware in this router is rather significantly beefy and could more than handle VPN processing. -There are no basic LAN tools such as Wake-On-LAN. WOL was a functionality I've enjoyed in all of my previous routers that this one is missing. -There is no Dynamic DNS registration capability (this is the first router I've ever owned that does not have this, surprisingly) -Wireless bridge capability (while I know this device is expensive and this wouldn't be something you'd likely use this for, years down the road it may become one of the only uses this device has as it ages into obsolescence, so I feel leaving out features such as this is only a detriment) -Access Point mode - See my comment about wireless bridge -RADIUS authentication - While this is a much more advanced feature, if they are including RIP and VLAN tagging, it seems like this is a missing piece of the puzzle. -No Traffic manager/display/statistics - I feel like this is a huge miss and a somewhat comical one as even Linksys's own RE7000 range extender has a rudimentary traffic status display where this device has none While this device does support VLAN tagging and static/dynamic(RIP) routing, these are not features that most people ever use in a home environment. Finally, the wireless range of this device just isn't that great. With the size of the device, the size and number of antennas, the number of bands, etc... I expected my wireless range to improve. It's about the same or slightly worse than my previous device which is somewhat disappointing. I've chosen to set this up in conjunction with a Linksys RE7000 to take advantage of the seamless roaming, which is not as great as it sounds. Unfortunately, with this device I've not ended up in a better place than where I was prior to it. Some issues I've experienced: First, this device basically REQUIRES you have a WAN connection before setting it up. It causes it to prevent you from moving forward with the automatic setup AT ALL without it, which causes a problem in itself. If you get stuck in the setup portion it forces you to hard reset the router with the reset button in order to return to the portion of the setup that lets you select manual configuration. This can be a problem if you're trying to pre-configure this router to replace an existing one as I was. Second, even the manual configuration gives a bit of a hassle if you don't have the WAN connected as it tries to connect you to the device through the Linksys Smart WiFi account. It is possible to get around this with the default password, but it seems like an extraneous step just to get a basic config on the device. Third, strangely the first night I owned this device after configuring it, it appears to have lost its mind. When I woke up in the morning I still had access from my machines to the internet, but none of the special config that I had set up was working and I could not get to the administration page either locally or through Linksys Smart WiFi. No external connections I had configured through the port-forwarding were working and it was preventing other basic functionality from the device as well. I had to power cycle the device to restore full functionality. Really the bottom line is that I'm just not thrilled with this device and am debating returning to my previous one. I'm hoping future firmware updates will include not only stability improvements but feature improvements as well, so I'm holding out hope.
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Features. Had some issues at first Set up was fairly easy. Was up and running in less than 15 mins. Problems soon followed. Blocked one of the desktop connections, blocked NAT game console connections. After a couple of hours of troubleshooting, just needed a simple reset. Shouldn't need a reset out of the box, but issue resolved and no problems since. Speed is great. 4K streaming flows wonderful. Tri-Band coverage is excellent. Smart Wifi app works well. PROS: A preconfigured wireless network makes set up easy. CONS: Huge piece of hardward, and weighs 4.5lbs.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is alright It is a good router. I haven't any different from Linksys EA9200 in term of speed/coverage maybe my house is small and my internet speed is not a Fios network. Before I bought this product, I have EA9200 which work very decent. When I upgraded to EA9500, I was hoping for more upgrade (due to its high price tag). But so far I haven't noticed much different. I only recommend this product if you are a most advance user. Otherwise, you can go with EA9200. I also love 8 Internet Ports. It allows me to wired connect my 4K TV, Xbox, Smart Home Controller Vera, Ooma, Roku, DVD Player without using additional 8 ports switch.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Speed This router is super fast, and capable of handling anything you do. It's great for my home office and there is no lag if I am streaming and working at the same time. With the 8 Ethernet ports allows me also to direct connect my desk top and the TV in the office with the ability to hook plenty more up if needed. This router allows you to utilize all of cable internet for its speed even during the high volume times of day, without any slowing. I would highly recommend this router to anyone using smart tvs, home office, or any online gaming! It has plenty of range with its 8 antennas and can handle anything you wanted to do with out any problems. A very plus is the ease of setting up the router, it super quick and very easy to do right out of the box.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New King of Wireless Routers The Linksys EA9500 MAX-STREAM AC5400 MU-MIMO Gigabit Wi-Fi Router is a home use, entertainment ready, and commercial grade build-quality device that is designed to serve you for years to come. I have never experienced such all-around speed in a router until now. Speed in setup, speed in connecting, speed in throughput and speed in handling multiple streams. I threw a barrage of giant streaming video files, huge data transfers and 20 devices connected concurrently and I simply could not slow the King of Wireless Routers down. The router uses 3 bands that allow up to 5.3 Gbps. Using MU-MIMO, each device is treated as if it has its own dedicated router. Combine that with a 1.4 GHz dual core processor, you'll be seamlessly video conferencing, streaming HD Video, listening to music, gaming and file transfers, all at the same time, with ease. Forget about network lag. There isn't any that is noticeable. It's just that FAST! There are 8 adjustable antennas that provide 4 simultaneous streams. Beamforming directs Wi-Fi signals to each of your devices, even mobile. As you move, the beam follows, reducing the intermittent "slow" spots. Need to hardwire some devices No problem. The router has 8 Gigabit Ethernet ports. No need for an additional network switch expense and clutter compared to lesser routers. Got external storage that houses movies, photos or music. Just plug it in to the USB 3.0 or 2.0 port. One of my favorite features is the dedicated on and off toggle switch. No more crawling on the floor to power down your router. The Smart Wi-Fi setup and mobile applications make setting up and controlling your router a breeze. It takes minutes from opening box to successfully operating the router. Routers were notoriously difficult to setup in the past. Linksys has literally made its router one of the easiest devices to setup. Need to setup a guest user, change device priority, or check signal strength? No problem with Smart Wi-Fi. Finally, Linksys backs up the EA9500 with a 3-year warranty and technical support to match what is sure to be a long-term investment against obsolescence.
Date published: 2016-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy set up even for non-geeks I bought this about 6 weeks ago and use it daily. It seems to work fine and I like having the ability to prioritize the devices. Especailly since we have 11 devices using the network in our house. The range seems good as we have devices on 3 stories of the house and about 5500 square feet of living space to cover. If I could more centrally located the router it would likely have a bit better coverage more evenly distributed but it seems to work well even at the the extreme range of 200+ feed where the signal is down to 1 bar. I would buy this unit again.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Beast - Excellent Our home network handles upwards of twenty devices. A mixture of 5GHz, 2.4GHz, and wired gigabit devices ranging from phones, tablets, PC’s, streaming, game consoles, printers, NAS and so on. To say the least, it is an extremely active environment, with heavy loading of movies streaming from the Internet and streaming services in the evening. Have continued to look for technical solutions to provide more smooth bandwidth to our home and garage devices in the Wi-Fi jungle, that continues to grow. When I speak of the Wi-Fi Jungle I am not so much speaking of our home but all the neighboring usage, it is truly a jungle out there and it throttles back the bandwidth. There is only so much pie to go around. Over the last two years have used two WRT 1900ac(s) routers that perform extremely well, but was not a complete solution for our needs. When I first read about the EA9500 advancements I knew I had found what I was looking for, dual 5GHz bands along with a strong 2.4GHz band. Tri-Band Quad Stream Wi-Fi with speeds up to 5.3 Gbps, Beamforming technology providing focused directed Wi-Fi to your mobile devices. This Beast Packs a Tremendous amount of Punch. The EA9500 provides for further Wi-Fi performance with the MU-MIMO technology, I cannot take advantage of this yet (my devices do not have the tech) as this will be rolling out in newer device products coming to market. I will of course have my eye on adding the MU-MIMO tech to my network mix, always room for improvement, plus my kid loves seeing the Wi-Fi Scanner showing the strength of our Wi-Fi in the neighborhood/Jungle. Setup: If you are familiar with Linksys’s Smart Wi-Fi interface you will feel very much at home and the setup should be a breeze. Personally I manually setup my routers but they do have the Smart Setup Wizard which will walk you quickly through the setup. The plan for switching from my network WRT 1900ACS router to the EA9500 was simply Snipping screen shots of all the setup screens and creating a short document to use in setup. Simple and fast. My thoughts on the EA9500 can be summed up in one word, Wow! Never has our network worked so smoothly (especially at night when we have dueling movie streaming). The signals are very strong and covers my entire home, and the router placement is in a corner room office. The banding of the two 5GHz streams is fantastic, though you can separate them and manage two separate streams if you need. Important point for me was the expanding of the Ethernet Ports to Eight, I now (at the moment) no longer need an additional switch for wired connections at the router, though there are two Linksys switches at the entertainment center and at the kid’s desk. There is a separate Internet connection port making the Ethernet port total nine all running at gigabit. Looks great and professional on the office desk, on the corner of course as this is no small router, it has a significant footprint. Additionally, we have a detached garage that sits 88’ (actually measured with tape) from the router in the house to the workbench in the garage. The signal must travel through two house walls, deck structure, garage walls and obstacles in the garage, benches, stacked storage boxes, etc. There is a decent signal in the garage from the EA9500 which I have picked up with a Linksys Range Extender (I am presently testing a RE6700 and RE700 extenders in the garage and both are slamming out five bars)! Great for streaming music to my Bluetooth speaker, keeping the phone connected to Wi-Fi or laptop connection. Have not gone into all the technical info, it is there to read and it is exciting stuff. Can tell you I spent decades in IT managing systems supporting up to six thousand users, given all the equipment I have worked with this box has me excited. It is good stuff and fills my home with Five Bars of Wi-Fi. User Manual: is rather simple, where I would enjoy more detailed documentation. The Help System within the router does provide more detail than you will find in the User’s Manual. Have been running the router several days and it is rock solid managing our network. Plus, it looks cool. Highly recommended if you have the need to run a large network environment, or just enjoy being the fastest kid on the block.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I don't know how they do it!! I have had this installed for about a week and was immediately impressed as to the quality and performance of this device. Kudos to all who dream in this technological universe. The BEST just got Better. While we have radio internet with all its limitations, the MAX-STREAM AC 5400 delivers faster speed and better TV quality picture than its predecessor AC1900. The setup was easy and while my speed is limited by the internet, I consider the improvement delivered in pic quality and speed increase worth the investment in this device. All aside LINKSYS has done it again and better!
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Build Quality This is a really well made router, it has a surprising amount of heft to it, which is a good thing, because it is obvious that it has plenty of quality electronics packed inside. I decided to weigh it on a digital scale to see how much it weighs, it is 62.46 ounces, which is 3.9 pounds. This Linksys router has quality buttons and a nice rocker switch for turning it on/off. This Linksys router has perfectly straight fitting labels, which is always a plus, as products with sloppily placed or misfitting labels, have a tendency to have a cheaper feel to the product. There is nothing about this Linksys router that is cheap, the entire product is very well made, it even has nice rubber pads for the feet. I am comparing this Linksys router to a competitor's router, which is similar in appearance, functionality, and price, I will not say the brand name of the competitor. This Linksys router is being released after its competitor, and it appears as if it was purposely designed to have upgraded Ethernet connectivity, this router has a total of 8 Ethernet ports, the competitor router has only 4 Ethernet ports. This Linksys router has a 1.4 GHz dual-core processor, which is the same processor speed of the competitor router that I compared this router to. The browser based administration tool for this router is easy to setup and use. To access the browser based administration tool for this Linksys router, connect to one of the default wireless signals, open an internet browser, type in 192.168.1.1, for the login there is no username and the default password is admin. This is a MIMO router, which means it is designed to handle multiple in and multiple out wireless transmissions at the same time. The fact that this Linksys router is priced similar to a major competitor, with equivalent build quality and more Ethernet ports, makes this a good choice for a router that is capable of handling multiple wireless connections at the same time.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bossest-Hog Router I bought this router because I was just starting to max-out my cheap 2-in-1 modem/router. (Wireless N) I figured this would last me a while. One word: OVERKILL. This thing is a BEAST! (Like literally; the thing has 8 antennae that might as well be the legs of Shelob and probably weighs the same!) Got most of my devices on that sweet, sweet 5GHz band-switching goodness. So fast, so reliable. The 2.4GHz band I use for my phone and it seems to have nearly tripled my range from the previous paperweight I had. Eleventy stars!
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Router Is the Real Deal!!! I currently have a Nighthawk X6 AC3200, I have to say besides the space it takes due to the size of the router, range it covers is not what it promise to cover and the worst part customer service is horrible. Then I got the EA9500, router was placed at same location as my Nighthawk size hum same size that's the bad side but speed and range BIG difference! Customer service wow huge difference on helping open ports for my xbox one and connecting other smart devices. I Love electronics and have over 20+ items the require Internet, I have to admit so far this router is meeting my expectations!!
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice hardware. The wifi performance of this device is very good. It has solved my throughput and distance issues in our large ranch home. The band steering appears to work and we don't experience any disconnects. This is not our primary router so I currently run the device in bridge mode. This disables all the 'smart' features which I really dislike. I do wish the firmware would either: A. Allow the default route to be added to the LAN network when the router is configured in router mode and the WAN network is left disconnected (Cascading LAN to LAN). or B. Don't disable all of the smart features when in bridge mode. We shouldn't lose access to *all* smart features, only those which require a router.
Date published: 2016-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast, reliable....INCREDIBLE! I review products for Linksys, and the Linksys EA9500 Max-Stream™ AC5400 Tri-Band Wi-Fi Router is the best that can be had. Ease of setup, range, speed ( it's not fast, it's SUDDEN ) are the top perks of this product. Can't say much for the gaming aspect of it, as I am not a gamer, but streaming ( HD and 4K ) are fantastic. My son ( who IS a gamer ) is trying to get this from me. THAT ain't happenin', as they say. Wouldn't give this up for no one. A bit bulky, but will make room for this router! BEST YET, LINKSYS!!!
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features I purchased this router last week, arrived on time. Setup was very easy within minutes I was back online and have all my devices connected to the network. The router itself has a lager base foot print than the other router, so if your upgrading allow for some room around this router. Love the fact that it has 8 network ports and 2 USB ports this way you don't need another router or some other device to connect to.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Technical Support - hands down! Here is the reason I keep going back to Linksys routers - amazing technical support. With the EA9500 router, the customer automatically receives level 2 customer support. These folks know how to link Verizon's FIOS Quantum gateway router with the EA9500 -- working the first time. Do a web search and you will see the problems people are having trying to bridge a Verizon FIOS router and you will see why the tech support is so important. Also, the range and speed are top notch - but, I expect that from Linksys. BTW, I ordered the router on Amazon "Prime Day", cutting the price by $120!
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Linksys EA9500 - King of all Routers! Fast and Reliable. Easy to Set-up. The design is amazing it blends to my gaming room. It helps me to have a stable internet connection especially if I'm playing games - LAN or Wifi. PRO: Everything you're looking for a router. CON: None
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice new Router Since this is a new model I haven't been using it for long, but here are some items I've noticed: **Intermittent disconnects of Apple mobile devices on the 5GHz networks **Limited number of devices possible when using MAC Filtering **Router was supposed to come with AC600 MU-MIMO USB adapter, but it was not in the box Other than these items I have been very happy with the router's performance.
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happiness is only a router away! There is a paper in the box that says "Remember happiness is only a router away!" I think they nailed it. I honestly waited a full week before even opening this because I figured it can't be much better that the EA7500 I already have, and LOVE, right? I was way off. I've been playing with it all night and this thing is an absolute powerhouse. I want to see just how far I can push. So far I have been very very impressed. I really never thought I would have a router this impressive, capable and attractive.... Linksys just made my entire family lifelong customers.
Date published: 2016-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great router so far... Just recieved this router today! Its a BEAST, takes up some realastate! My download speed is 135 mbps, and I get it now throughout my home. Where as with my Asus RT-N66R, I lost speed mear the back of my home 80' away from the Asus. While the price is heft at 399.99, it will make up for it if you Stream alot of conten and have multiple devices like I do on your network!
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great Speed bad connectivity Great speeds on download and upload with multiple devices connected. Range is nice but not as good as I've had in the past from other routers. Software isn't bad took me a little bit to get use to the navigation of it but I can control everything I need without issue. I was worried about the 2.4 ghz having consisent connection but it is having no problems at all I'm loving it but my 5.0 ghz connection is in constant disconnect reconnect regardless of changing channels or device so I'm very disappointed in that aspect. Overall it's a nice router and works well but for $399.99 I can't give it more then 2 stars with the 5.0 ghz bands having a huge connections issue when a router like this biggest thing is having a good tiger band option so I'm highly disappointed.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good but not worth the money It is a good product but not fantastic as told by Linksys Store Sales on line. There are 6 cons, first is it is huge and you cannot mount it on the wall. Second it is supposed to be for better coverage and range and it works no better than my old E3000. Third if you use MAC filtering there is a limit to the number of devices. I did not have such a small limit on my E3000. Forth is I cannot connect their range extender and they just sent me a second one. The last one is the big price tag. No more cisco connect, now you use either the web or your browser only with passwords.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but Pros: 8 port gig switch 2 bands of 5 GHz Mu-Mimo Cons: Large Beamforming seems to be a gimmick seamless roaming is also a gimmick Cost This router claims to be good at: bandwidth, range, and multiple access point usage. I have no complaints with the bandwidth, it's good enough for everything I've thrown at it. The beamforming seems to be a joke, I'm not seeing any stronger 5 GHz signals before or after using this router; PS only the 5 GHz is able to use beamforming sorry 2.4 GHz users. Finally the seamless roaming isn't really a feature but more of a common functionality that every access point has: set the SSID and password to be the same for both devices, ensure that the channels are not the same and boom seamless roaming.
Date published: 2016-06-12
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_349
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-EA9500, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 78ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*The standard transmission rates–1000 Mbps or 2166 Mbps (for 5 GHz), 1000 Mbps (for 2.4 GHz), 54 Mbps, and 11 Mbps–are the physical data rates. Actual data throughput will be lower and may depend on the mix of wireless products used and external factors.
**Seamless Roaming is designed for devices that support the 802.11k standard including but not limited to iPhone (4s and later), iPad Pro, iPad Air and later, iPad mini and later, iPad (3rd generation and later), iPod touch (5th generation and later), Samsung S4 (Android 4.2.2 /4.4.2), Samsung S5 (Android 4.4.2), and Samsung S6 (Android 5.0.2). For more information on supported Windows® and other devices, please check with your device manufacturer. Seamless Roaming may require the latest Max-Stream firmware. Please check the support page of your Max-Stream router for more details.
† As reported by Ixia ixChariot v7.10 SP3. Test conducted by Tolly comparing EA9500/AC5400 router to 3 similar single Multi-MIMO competitor routers. 57% claim is based on the greatest difference in throughput to an individual client in a line-of-site trial achieved in such testing. Compared to competitive solutions, “The Linksys EA9500 AC5400 MU-MIMO Gigabit Router provides: (1) Up to 40% greater aggregate throughput in line-of-sight tests, (2) Up to 57% greater individual client throughput in line-of-sight tests, (3) Up to 36% faster per client average client throughput in mixed distance/floor tests.”
Notes: Tri-band devices provide a single 2.4GHz radio and two 5GHz radios. All testing used 5GHz band. Average of three runs.
Source: Tolly, July 2016
Testing done in the United States with a MU-MIMO router produced for use in the United States.
Review the full Tolly Report PDF for more detailed information.