text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features

Wemo Insight Product Shot

MONITOR YOUR ENERGY COSTS FROM ANYWHERE

With the Wemo Insight WiFi Smart Plug, you can monitor energy consumption right from your phone or tablet. This Smart Plug provides real-time reports on how much energy your devices are consuming. Use the Smart Plug to monitor how much a space heater is costing you, or how much energy a particular room consumes.

CONTROL YOUR HOME REMOTELY

The Wemo Insight Smart Plug uses the existing WiFi router of your home network to provide wireless control of lamps, heaters, fans, and more – with no subscription or hub required. Simply plug the Wemo Insight Smart Plug into an electrical outlet, plug a device into the Smart Plug, and control your device using the free Wemo app. You’ll never have to worry that you accidentally left the space heater or iron on again. Home automation at its best.

Wemo Insight with Iron
Wemo Insight with Fan

SCHEDULE YOUR LIGHTS AND APPLIANCES

Wemo Insight lets you easily set automatic schedules for any device that’s plugged in – from lamps to fans to space heaters. Using the free Wemo app, you can keep your home comfortable by scheduling a fan to turn on at noon, or synchronize a lamp with the sunset so you never come home to a dark house.

PROTECT YOUR HOME WITH RANDOMIZED LIGHTS

With the ability to randomize your lights, Wemo Insight protects your smart home better than a mechanical timer. When you use the Wemo App to activate “Away Mode,” the smart plug will turn plugged-in lights on and off randomly to make it appear like you’re home – even when you’re not.

Wemo Insight with Wemo App

SAY IT: HANDS-FREE CONTROL WITH AMAZON ALEXA AND GOOGLE HOME

Wemo Insight works seamlessly with Google Home and Amazon Alexa to give you hands-free voice control over your devices. Pair Wemo Insight with Google Home or Amazon Alexa to turn your lights, your appliances, or an entire room on or off with just the power of your voice.

Works with IFTTT

WORKS WITH IFTTT FOR AUTOMATED RECIPES

"If This, Then That" is a free web-based service that opens up an amazing array of possibilities for your Wemo Insight. Visit IFTTT.com to find "recipes" for making Wemo Insight turn lights on and off based on real-world events, send you push notifications about device activity, and much more.

Wemo

Download Our Free Wemo App

app on itunes store Android app on Google Play Android app on Amazon

Product Support

Need more help? Visit the full support page

Package Contents

  • Wemo Insight Wi-Fi Smart Plug
  • Quick Start Guide
Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    2.4GHz 802.11n
  • Minimum System Requirements:
    • Wi-Fi router
    • iOS 9 or higher
    • Android 4.4 or higher
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    2.9” L x 2.9” H x 2.3” D
  • Weight:
    2.84 ounces
  • Additional Information:
    Electrical Ration: 120V/15A/60Hz/1800W
Support
Reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Quality, Lacks Connectability The build quality of the Wemo switch is very good. It feels sturdy. It also is visually acceptable and I have no problem with having it on outlets that visitors will see. The setup was easy and after the first switch it remembers your wifi settings so it makes future switches even easier to set up. One complaint I have is that it lacks integration into some home automation systems. I have a Harmony remote and there is no ability to control the Wemo switch. I was hoping to use this remote to control the switch but there doesn't seem to be a way. I would expect to have better integration.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product I bought this a week ago and this was the best choice I could have made. I am very happy with its performance. I simply created a rule that turns the light that is connected to it on and off at certain times. I saw where a lot of reviews made initial setup sound complicated, but it was extremely easy (connect to the switches own wifi network and then follow the step by step instructions to connect to your wifi network with your password). I highly recommend this product. I haven't had a chance to get into playing with IFTTT, but I think that will have a lot of benefits.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great device when working but not reliable The concept behind this device is fantastic and for many months it has been working. I have been able to remotely turn my lamp on and off - great to check on the place and show someone is there. However, this is the second time it will not connect any longer. The first time took forever to get support but they did help me to get it working again. The problem is it is happening again for no apparent reason - nothing has changed - and I don't have a lot of time to spend on the phone at that remote location to trouble shoot. I will try again and I love their camera but this device is not reliable.
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Updates ruined it I originally really liked this product. However, after an update last year, it has not worked. I've tried to start over again with it - it just doesn't work. I wouldn't recommend this product to people who want a product that works.
Date published: 2017-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely Useful I own 3 Insights and find them extremely useful because they are the only product that lets me know for sure that my powered device is actually on. I use 2 to control roof deicing cables and 1 for a fan heater in my garage. When I am away for 3 months in the winter I can remotely confirm, by seeing the power usage, that these devices are not just power enabled, but actually running.
Date published: 2018-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THIS - for all the wrong reasons. My boyfriend never has his phone on him. Last night I was trying to get a hold of him so I used the Wemo App to flicker on and off the living room lights which is connected to the Wemo Smart Plug. Although he though the house was haunted at first he then realized it was me so he found his phone and called me back. How great is that?!?! On a side note, I'm using the smart plug for the Christmas Lights and love that I can turn them on and off from my phone. Thanks Wemo!
Date published: 2018-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Handy! I bought two Insight Smart Plugs a week ago and was so excited when I received them in the mail. They’re bigger than I expected but the fact that they function without a hub is nice. I got two of them and had issues setting one of them up. I was able to reset it and get it working but it really brought to my attention that the reset button is awkwardly positioned. It’s difficult to hold down while plugging in. The app is intuitive and getting my plugs labeled so I know which light I’m turning on/off was easy.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love my wemos but the software fails them I absolutely love my wemos and having remote access but the software has still got problems. I have been using wemos for around 5 years and i still have the same issues as when i started, even with all the software and firmware updates/upgrades - wemos drop off, loose connection and cant add multiple sites. I use a simple third party software to control wemos. The combination of the wemos and the third party software for me is brilliant and reliable! Wemos and orginal wemo app software not so good.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible if you have multiple locations These plugs would be fantastic but no one tells you they only work on 1 wifi network so if you have two homes you want to control these are useless! Terribly disappointed.
Date published: 2019-06-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Barely connects, but when it does it is okay. This thing BARELY works, never connects when you move outlets and it is just such a pain in the rear to reset and re-connect to the network. EVERY OTHER DEVICE (3 laptops, 4 tablets, smart watch, 3 phones) connects flawlessly. This thing... just sucks. WHEN it works, it's fantastic. Probably won't buy any more of them.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intelligent moneysaver! Bought the Wemo Insight to control light switches from my phone but soon found another use. It is currently controlling my heat pump via schedules and saves a lot of money every day. If I get home early I can turn it on from my phone or tablet - so easy. And power consumption is recorded as well.
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful use and features. I ordered my insight switch in September of 2014 and I have loved it without any issues, ever. It works with Alexa and I currently run my large air filter on it and love to see what it draws and costs/month average...very neat. Just ordered two more to monitor my Christmas lights.
Date published: 2018-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great to use but software needs work still. I have three of these and two wall switches. I use the Wemo App on routers with both 2.4ghz and 5ghz. I still can't get them to display the status of the lights right. They'll display either on or off, or opposite of what it actually is. When I click the button to activate though, it will then refresh with correct status and react accordingly. Essentially in the app I have to double click. Other than that, they work great. I just need to find time to build my own windows app so I can integrate with Cortana with windows 10. I don't want to have to pull out my phone all the time because loading app on phone takes a while when I'm already on my computer. I'd love to be able to have cortana turn my fan off or on and what not.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from worked for a week. I have two of the insight switches and they worked as I wanted them to. Yesterday I disabled the rules for both of the switches and moved one to a different outlet (the picture). It won't turn on manually or via the app. It is as dead as it comes. I thought at least it would last a few more weeks. I don't want to buy it again as well as deal with your expensive customer services for this unit. I didn't find any information on what could be wrong. I tried the reset, but neither the wifi icon or anything works. I could use some guidance on this puppy.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useless - remote access not working No remote access if not in the same network. I reset the device 5 times. Works 1 - 3 days well (as it should to according description), but then suddenly fell back: no history-data (time-on/ time-off/etc), no remote access. Device is useless. Set-up is very time-consumpting. --- After this experience I rememered earlier experience with Belkin-Devices some years ago: same, devices are not reliable. Will avoed this brand for the next years
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Gave up. After a couple of years of on and off working, I finally gave up and bought different smart plugs that work. I got tired of the plugs not being discovered, then having to reset them.
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely useful. I want more of them. So easy and useful once you get the knack. Right now I am controlling my back deck lights and my Christmas tree with two versions of these. I turn them on and off twice a day, sometimes with sunrise/sunset an d other times with the clock. We live in Ontario, yet I can randomly control the lights from our home in Florida. And, I have two security cameras that can watch or it will save motion incidents I can go back to.
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing keeps loosing signal.I really don't have anything else to say, I did buy this soon after it came out, hopefully you have fixed this problem.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great!! I bought two of this recently with other switches and wemo plugs and works great! Easy install with clear instructions and youtube video help. Best part is it works with google assistant. Only thing I dont like the click sound and frequent firmware update and resetup after wifi reset. Other than this is one of the best smart products in the market.
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from power outage, kiss your wemo goodbye Been using these for a while and they have their issues. Every time the power flicks on and off the wemo is still connected to the router/switch but no longer can be found by the app. Have to reset to factory setting and start over from the beginning. A royal pain and takes about 3 hours for three of them. Not worth the aggravation.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple to set up Set this up a week ago to use for our bearded dragon’s tank lights and heater. It was simple and I was able to download the app and set up within minutes. I do however wish that it had outlets for 2 appliances, so I could use the same timer for both the aquarium light and heater. That’s the only reason I took away a star.
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exceeds my expectations I'd love to be one of the consumers to test/evaluate your products, I see, understand and value the potential for this line of devices. I got this device on a whim, i saw it at a good price and figured i'd give one a try. I debated getting 2 or more at the price it was advertised at, but decided not to because i wasn't sure how it would work. Just don't plan on plugging 2 of these into your 2 outlet wall jack, it only fits in the top position to avoid obstructing the other outlet. Now that i have one WeMo Insight device in house, i wish i would have bought more! It was simple to install and i got very insightful information back immediately. No pun intended, it was literally insightful! I cannot believe the energy that is being pulled by some devices, even when they are off. I know that in the first month of using this device i will likely save $7 on my electricity bill. That was achieved by simply using the app to shut the power off to connected devices, which prevents all the phantom energy from being used. I also now have a better understanding how power thirsty some devices are when they are operating, so i can be smarter about how i consume energy. Besides the very simple application i've explored so far, i have many other things i want to try once i have additional devices. I want to explore more of the rules and monitoring aspects, but i am very happy with this purchase. Anytime i purchase something that helps me save money over the long run, i am pretty happy. This was a real eye opener and i am very pleased.
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Awesome! For some time I have been trying to figure out how to more efficiently get hot water throughout my entire house in order to save money on my gas, water, and electric bill. The Problem: I have a hot water recirculating pump that I can set manually (major pain in the rear) but my work schedule was not conducive to using this for showering unless I left it on all the time (which equates to a high gas and electric bill.) When not using the pump it takes 4-5 minutes to get hot water up to my master bathroom from the water heater which is located on the other side of the house (equating to a much higher water bill and time wasted by letting it run till it got hot.) My solution: Enter the Wemo Insight! After programming the switch and making a rule to automatically turn off after 5 minutes of use and linking it to a recently purchased Amazon Echo my problem was solved. I now have my recirculating pump plugged into my Wemo Insight and have the pump set to "on" all the time. Except now it only turns on when I say "Alexa, Hot Water On" and then for only 5 minutes. I now can quickly get hot water to every faucet in my house in only a matter of a few seconds with a simple voice command to "Alexa" and only when one of my family members or I need. It works great for everything from showering and hand washing to laundry and the dishwasher. Plus, because of the auto off function rule I made I don't have to worry about someone forgetting to turn the pump off after using it. I'm estimating my first month of utilities savings alone will more than pay for the Wemo Insight and possibly even the Echo. This device is Awesome and can help make your smart home imaginations possible.
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Teach an Old Lamp New Tricks We have a faux Tiffany Lamp we bought when we were first married which has stained glass dragon flies. The switch has become balky so I bought the Wemo Smart Plug to bypass the balky switch which is now in the "on" position and can remain there. "Alexa, turn on the dragon fly lamp." Voila!
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love LOVE this thing! Purchased the Belkin Wemo Insight February 11th 2016. So far it's been rock solid. I have it paired with my amazon echo and can yell at it from across the house to turn the lamp on. I've had numerous other brands of remote ip switches, but none of them have been as stable and reliable as this one has been. I've been through 2 firmware updates which completed without a hitch. Software on iOS feels polished and updated. I love the ability to schedule on and off times. Currently looking at purchasing two more.
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only one site allowed. I really like my Wemos. I tried to add a Wemo to a different house and their app does not allow it, says you need a second smart phone for a second location. I want to control any number of Wemo's across multiple locations from the app on my phone, not multiple phones.
Date published: 2019-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great so far Works as expected. The iOS app had few glitches when setting up, but it all worked fine. No apple homekit support and there won't be, but hoping belkin to release a hub that supports homekit. No google home native support but it works great thru ifttt.
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does not work with Google Home This WeMo Insight Switch works fine with my Andriod phone, but does not work with Google Home. There are technical articles out there stating that it does, but it currently does not.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great smart plug I needed a way to control some lights at our vacation home. Th is plug works great. I can turn the lights on using the app and I can set rules so that they come on and go off at specific times and days when I'm not there.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Link very poorly This is the most finicky device I've ever used. Worked for a while, then I needed to reset it again, that worked for another day, same issue. Now it rarely finds the wifi server. I've tried moving it... same thing.
Date published: 2016-05-14
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_126
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-F7C071, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 250ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT