text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features
Linksys Max-Stream AC3000 MU-MIMO WiFi Tri-Band Router

Linksys Max-Stream AC3000 MU-MIMO WiFi Tri-Band Router (MR9000)

Upgrade your home WiFi and get extremely fast wireless speeds with the Linksys Max-Stream AC3000 MU-MIMO WiFi Tri-Band Router (MR9000). Perfect for households that thrive on entertainment, this Tri-Band router delivers superior speeds of up to 3 Gbps with coverage up to 3,000 square feet. The MR9000 delivers a dedicated signal to each connected device using MU-MIMO technology, so the entire family can enjoy seamless streaming of HD movies, online gaming, and more. It's also future-proof thanks to built-in Mesh WiFi technology: simply add a Velop Mesh WiFi node to expand coverage in any area of your home.

Diagram showing Tri-Band WiFi covering 3,000 sq.ft. and supporting 25+ devices in a household

Superfast WiFi For All Of Your Connected Devices

Using Tri-Band and MU-MIMO (Multi-User Multiple-Input Multiple-Output) technology, the MR9000 delivers high-speed WiFi to multiple devices simultaneously. You'll be able to stream 4K media, browse the Internet, and play games online as if each of your devices had its own dedicated WiFi router.

WiFi Coverage For Every Area Of Your Home

With built-in Mesh WiFi, this router is designed to scale to your household's WiFi needs. As your WiFi needs grow, simply add a Linksys Velop node to expand your coverage. Velop nodes all work seamlessly together with the MR9000, so there's no need to manually switch between networks.

Diagram of household with multiple nodes setup to eliminate dead zones
Linksys App dashboard on a smartphone

Easy Setup

Simply connect your router to your modem, download the Linksys app, name your network, and choose a password.


Alexa Wi-Fi Access

With Alexa, you can easily manage Wi-Fi access for devices and individuals in the home, taking focus away from screens and back to what’s important. Say commands like “Alexa, turn off Timmy’s Wi-Fi”, when it’s time for dinner or “Alexa, enable guest Wi-Fi” when you have people over.


Back of the Linksys Max-Stream AC3000 MU-MIMO WiFi Tri-Band Router

USB and Ethernet Ports Offer Versatile Connectivity

Equipped with four Gigabit Ethernet ports, the MR9000 supports wired connections up to 10x faster than standard Ethernet. And thanks to the ultra-fast USB 3.0 port, you can easily connect shared storage devices, printers, and other peripherals to your network.

Automatic Firmware Updates

Your MR9000 will automatically receive firmware updates from Linksys as they are released, so your router is always secure and up to date.

Linksys Smart Wi-Fi

CUSTOMIZE AND MANAGE YOUR HOME WiFi ANYTIME, ANYWHERE

With the Linksys App, you can closely monitor and manage your home WiFi remotely using a smartphone or tablet.

  • Parental Controls: Ensure a safe Internet experience for your kids--even when you're away from home. Reduce online distractions during homework, family or dinnertime. Restrict access to inappropriate or distracting content, control usage, and block specific devices from accessing the Internet.
  • Guest Access: Generate a separate, password-protected Wi-Fi network for up to 50 guests and easily share the password via text.
  • Device Prioritization: Prioritize devices that need the most speed.
  • Speed Test: Easily test and monitor your Internet connection's speed to make sure you're getting full speed from your provider.

QUICK AND EASY SETUP

Managing your home Wi-Fi with Linksys Smart Wi-Fi is fast and easy:

Step 1 Set up your wireless home network

Set up your home Wi-Fi using a Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Router.

Step 2 Sign up for a Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Account

Download the free Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App.

Linksys Smart Wi-Fi on iOS Get Linksys Smart Wi-Fi on Google Play
Step 3 Customize your network with the Linksys Smart Wi-Fi apps

Use Your Mobile Device to Manage Your Home Wi-Fi.

Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    AC3000 MU-MIMO Tri-Band Gigabit, 400+867+1733 Mbps†
  • Key Features:
    • Tri-Band (5 GHz + 5GHz + 2.4 GHz), 2x4 AC
    • Simultaneous Tri-Band Wi-Fi Mesh System
    • Seamless WiFi
    • MU-MIMO
    • Auto Firmware Update
    • USB 3.0 Port
    • 4 Adjustable Antennas
    • Easy App Controls
    • Advanced Beamforming+ Technology
    • Smart Connect Band Steering
    • Intelligent Mesh Technology
  • Network Standards:
    • 802.11a
    • 802.11b
    • 802.11g
    • WiFi 4
    • WiFi 5
  • Wi-Fi Speed:
    AC3000 (N400 + AC867 + AC1733)
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    2.4 and 5 GHz(2x) (simultaneous tri-band)
  • Wi-Fi Range:
    Medium Household
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    • 1x Gigabit WAN port
    • 4x Gigabit LAN ports
  • Other Ports:
    • 1x USB 3.0 port
    • Power
  • Antennas:
    4x external adjustable antennas
  • Memory:
    RAM: 512MB; Flash: 256MB
  • LEDs:
    One, multicolor light for power and status, USB, Ethernet (1-4), Internet
  • Wireless Encryption:
    WPA2 Personal
  • Operation Modes:
    • Wireless Router
    • Access Point(Wired Bridge)
  • Easy Setup:
    • Simple and secured App based set-up
    • Required for set-up: (1) Internet connection with Modem. (2) Mobile device with Android 6.0.1 or iOS 11.4 and higher, Bluetooth preferred.
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    213.7mmX161.8mmx54.8mm (without Antenna)
  • Security Features:
    • WPA2 Personal
    • 128 bit AES link encryption
  • Regulatory Compliance:
    FCC
  • Other Certifications:
    Wi-Fi
  • Additional Information:
    Bluetooth 4.1/LE for secure and easy App based set-up
  • Power Supply:
    100-240V ~ 50-60Hz; Output: 12V, 2A
Support
Reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Slower than advertised I bought this two weeks ago and the speed is slow, like really slow. I have the spectrum internet ultra and even when I'm on the 5g on my phone videos take too long to load. I went back to the router that spectrum gave for free and it performs better than this.
Date published: 2020-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well with Velop So, I started with a Velop 2 node system already installed. I struggled to get the pairing set up, but eventually, I just rebooted it all and started fresh. The MR9000 is a solid built router and seems to have pretty good range as well. The biggest thing I was missing with the Velop system was not having enough ports for hard wired items. Now, I have the additional ports and am looking for what else I can hard wire in. Even though I struggled to get the router implemented, I would say it's a great setup and I'm very happy with how everything turned out.
Date published: 2019-10-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Another obsolete product, deceptively advertised I upgraded to this from the MR8300, after coping with constant dropouts, poor Wi-Fi speeds, and bugs using that unit as a primary node for four additional flagship tri-band Velop child nodes placed throughout my 3,500 sq ft two story townhome. And and after a week of vigilant firmware upgrades, QOS reconfigurations, near-daily channel optimizations and reboots, I still can’t get the MR9000 to accommodate my SmartHome of 45 devices—and I have verified Gigaspeed internet service. I also have a managed Netgear Gigabit switch handling QOS, flow control, and link aggregation for all of my wired hubs, attached directly to the MR9000, and the Linksys app diagnostics consistently report that all is sublime with my configuration. But my network diagnostics and speed tests tell a very different story. As I write this review on my brand new iPhone 11 Pro Max, I am doing so with a confirmed connection to my Linksys network, although in the app it shows that my device is off-line, despite multiple refreshes. But don’t worry—after I restart the entire mesh system and wait 20 minutes for everything to reconnect, it’ll show up again, at least until I walk from my bedroom to the living room. So here we have an “upgrade” from the MR8300, and as their competitors prepare to release upgrades mesh systems that support Wi-Fi 6 and wireless AX functionality in their backhauls, Linksys is refreshing their product line with this nearly identical unit that is more expensive and obsolete on arrival. After embarrassing themselves by releasing the MR8300 with a disabled USB port, the MR9000 has the same flaw—yet they keep promoting the units as having this functionality (you have to dig deep into the fine print to discover that they are intended for “future use”). Go right now and check out their description of the MR9000 on Amazon and see for yourself. But the most outrageous deception with this “new“ product is the higher price point and no Wi-Fi 6—while making a brazen claim of it being future-proof. Netgear is about to release an updated Orbi that has that functionality, which will surely solve my problem with handling 45 connected devices, and only two nodes will cover over 5,000 square feet with ease. Any claims that the new Orbis are overpriced are absurd, given how much I’ve spent to cover my home with this unit and four additional tri-band Velops, with no ability to achieve a fraction of my available bandwidth. Returning this waste of money and waiting until November for the Orbi. You guys at Linksys are just too behind the times, and should have stayed out of the mesh market. You’re neither innovative or competitive, and your advertising is deceptive.
Date published: 2019-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow fast and easy setup with my Iphone Linksy App After easily configuring the new MR9000 router I connected my Velop nodes to increase WiFi access to all areas of my property. The Velop nodes needed to be reset before working correctly. So far the eleven devices on my network are working great. WiFi speeds to my TVs has improved for streaming Netflix and such. My WiFi printer performance seems to have improved slightly. This Tri-band mesh router appears to combine both speed and mobile device reliability. I will update my comments if I see any changes or problems.
Date published: 2019-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best of a mesh and stand alone router! I picked up this router at the time I was working on replacing an aging Linksys I was struggling with. I was questioning whether I wanted a true mesh or just a stand alone router. I've done a significant amount of research on mesh but was not sure if I needed that much coverage in my split level house. If I bought a standard router, then if my upstairs signal was weak, I would have to pick up a range extender and suffer with possible bandwidth restrictions. If I picked up a mesh router, then I would have all of the nodes now, and less of a bandwidth issue as they don't use the primary wireless to relay signals, most have a dedicated backhaul network for mesh to mesh communication. That path though is not cheap. Then I found out about the MR9000, which works just like a regular router when used by itself but, if I needed the extra range, could also work in a Velop mesh network. Cost was less with plenty of expansion options later on. I have to say this was easy to install, has a phone app to set it up with and just works. Really good range as well as it gets up to the third floor of my house easily. One thing to keep in mind, make sure you connect to the routers Wifi network before you configure it. Simple thing but was not on the quick set up card. Once that's done its a guided install and could not be simpler.
Date published: 2019-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As Always Linksys Great I received this great device 2 weeks ago. I really can't describe how it save my time, my money as well as save my mind thoughts because it is easy to install and excellent range it can reached. I recommend that every house must have it.
Date published: 2019-10-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mercury Wireless Camera - No compatible I just bought LINKSYS MAX-Stream AC3000 TRI-BANK MESH WIFI 5 ROUTER. My device Mercury Cams are compatible with all router 2.4GHZ but not work with this router.
Date published: 2020-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Install, Solid Router We upgraded from the MR8300, so I was already familiar with the setup. It took less than 10 minutes to get everything plugged in, situated and working. We have a 3600 sq ft cinder block house, so wifi has always been an issue. Our current setup uses four Velop access nodes to reach every room. With simultaneous gaming and streaming for the entire family, we haven't had a single error or drop in latency since I installed this router. As always, I'm glad I went with Linksys.
Date published: 2019-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from didn’t work only worked for a day then it started blinking and not working
Date published: 2020-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Max-Stream AC3000 Tri-Band - Nice Product Overall I was very impressed with the AC3000. On the good side -Setup was easy and almost fun. The smart phone app provided easy to follow animations and step by step instructions and I was up and running in a few minutes. -Navigating through the administrative functions was easy. The interface uses simple terms and the help text is well written. - The device has a small footprint and does not take up much space on your desk or a bookshelf -I like the fact that its a mesh capable system. I'm going to buy the add on access points to provide coverage to my out buildings On the "Could be better side" -The WiFi range is good but not as good as other devices I've tested. (But still very acceptably) -It's does not have a built in VPN service. That's a handy feature is you want to access your network away from home.
Date published: 2019-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Linksys Product Took the AC3000 out of the box, plugged call the cables in, turned the router on, opened the Linksys App on my phone. Then enter the password to enter setup, change password to the old one and Wala connected. This took about 10 minutes to complete. Then go to the Node with phone add node in App this took about 3 minutes to complete. With the AC3000 and the Node, I have great coverage in the 2 story 3000sq foot home and about 60 to 70 feet in to the back yard. This Router is easy to setup and has great performance. I have no lag or buffering streaming video content on my TV with 9 devices connected. I have been using Linksys products for over 10 years and have nothing but great performance and easy setup out of all their products. Most are obsolete before they stop working. I have never had one die yet just, replaced because old technology.
Date published: 2019-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Speedy Router with Good Range It is easy to setup and configure the router using the Linksys app on your smartphone. But, you can also administer the router using your computer as well. You will need to create an account on the Linksys website if you don't already have one. The range is very good covering my whole house so I didn't try the mesh networking feature. The usual router security features are supported such as guest networking and MAC address filtering.
Date published: 2019-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent with on concern Firstly, I have been a linksys user ever since and having upgraded to the MR 9000 has been a breeze. Especially, having the option of installing via internet and app. Nevertheless, nothing comes perfect as on my previous RE7500 I can easily configure my attached hard disk but with the current app and link even when I have connected the software i can detect it on the internal software.Why? Seeking your assistance.
Date published: 2020-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great adition to my Velop Mesh network I decided to change out my parent Velop node for this router as it acts as an office wired connection plus the primary wireless connection for the home with the Velop Mesh network. The setup was super simple with the Linksys phone app. Followed the instructions and the setup was done in short time. The speeds have improved with this router and we now enjoy an even better network in my home. Thanks Linksys!
Date published: 2019-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to setup and great speeds This is a great WiFi router for home and small business users. Using the Linksys app on your phone takes the pain out of configuring this device. Claims to get up to 3Gbps of high speed connection, didn't see that, but did get great speed with all the devices I connected to it. First time, I used a mesh router, looking forward to teaming this with a Velop WiFi node. Got great range with it. I live on the first floor of my apartment building, the minute I walk in my iPhone was connected. Supports some enterprise features like creating a guest network, parental controls. Can schedule the time when the network is up. The content filtering is great for families to keep the kids off certain websites. This feature is great if your using for your business. Keep employees off certain sites and save bandwidth. Automatic firmware updates is a definite plus. With all the security breaches in the news, keeping your devices up to date is necessary.
Date published: 2019-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and stable I have used several generations of Linksys routers over many many years. This one is the fastest and the most stable one yet. Setup was very simple and trouble free, even when setting up the all the mesh nodes. The Linksys app is easy to use and this routers connection to the app is extremely stable. And did I mention fast, fast, fast.
Date published: 2019-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Range and Simple Set up! This router easily handled all of my network traffic without a hitch. I have multiple game consoles (Xbox, Switch, PS4) along with 7 Smart TVs, iPads, iPhones, and a few laptops and Macs. Never once had a problem with range or bandwidth! Setup was a breeze using the app and my iPhone. Fantastic router!
Date published: 2019-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and Easy Setup This is really a nice router. I was a little worried when I saw that it would set up with an app on my phone but proved to be really easy and fast. Devices found the router and connected easily. I have only had Linksys routers and I have not been disappointed.
Date published: 2019-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent coverage This router is top-notch. It has the ability to actually cover my whole house of 2750 sq ft without a degradation of signal strength. The front end GUI is very user friendly with more capabilities than most like routers. Highly recommend this router.
Date published: 2019-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to setup and super fast data transfer I initially thought setting up the MR9000 would be a little daunting, considering the complexity of its abilities in addition to using a mobile phone app to install it. Was I ever wrong! This had to have been the easiest setup and install of any router I've ever owned. -Download the Linksys app to my iPhone -Click on "Setup a New Product" -Answer a couple of brief questions, with prompts to move on to the next one each time. -Set the Mobile phone next to the router and watch the magic happen. I was up and running - ALL wireless devices (7) - connected and functioning fully in 15 minutes. Immediately I noticed faster page loads when checking each phone and laptop and iPad. I ran the embedded SpeedTest program in the Linksys App. I was a little shocked at the results - I can stream two HD movies at one time in any locations in my 2300 Sq Ft home. I ran the tet twice to make sure it wasn't a fluke. The MR9000 is a Tri-Band Mesh router, but at this time I have no added nodes. I would expect them to integrate as quickly and easily as the initial setup ran. I've only been used the MR9000 Router for just over a day, so long-term I can't tell you if any issues arise. I can and will update my review if anything pops up. I'm gonna give the MR9000 router 5 stars out of 5 at this time. I recommend it.
Date published: 2019-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh My Router! I think anyone would be impressed by this router. Setup with the Linksys app makes the initial set up process easier, although the app kept sending me to a bluetooth setup option at various times. Once successfully navigating back to setup, the process is easy. As for that hardware itself, I do wish the power cord was more friendly when being plugged into a power strip. One may have to plan to lose a plug or move around other plugs to allow for the rectangle power adapter. An aspect I really like with this router, is connecting my other smart devices. The router is able to identify some products and pre-population them in the device list. Also, I do not have to switch my cellphone wifi connections between the various wifi bands to connect devices that use common wifi bands. All devices are quick to connect. I have also noticed streaming is better with this router. My streaming devices, tablets, and mobile devices appear to react a bit faster compared to my previous routers. I would recommend this router for anyone that is in the market for an upgrade or replacement.
Date published: 2019-11-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Support Just purchased router because one feature was the USB port come to find out that its disabled. Maybe enabled in the future. Looking at reviews I see some have being waiting along time
Date published: 2020-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Took me a while to get this to a point where I could test it because of health issues. Set up was a breeze and works great. Grandson uses the router for gaming with no issues.
Date published: 2020-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Real Improvement Got this MR900 through Linksys Friends and Family. Hooked it up yesterday, no problem. Significant improvement over previous router, also Linksys ac 1750 which worked fine.
Date published: 2019-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Addition I have a pre-exixting Mesh network in my home. Adding this has expanded my signal strength imensly. It was relatively easy to install and add to the
Date published: 2019-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great router with mesh capability Bought this router to change my Netgear Orbi one. Great range and connected two Linksys Velop nodes. Wifi Signal is strong and fast throughout.
Date published: 2020-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good performance! The MR9000 has great coverage throughout my home and the speeds we receive in the back of the home give us great quality when streaming video.
Date published: 2019-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Setup is a breeze.. Connected the device, installed the app on the phone. App found it quickly. Minimal input to set up. So easy anyone can do it.
Date published: 2019-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MR9000 Max-Stream AC3000 WiFi 5 Router Review It seemed to take awhile but I finally received the MR9000 wifi router from Linksys. I've been a Linksys user for years but wasn't currently using one of their products. I live in a rural area where I only receive Internet via cellular hotspot. I've been frustrated with the wifi coverage in the home so when I saw an opportunity to obtain and review the new Linksys MR9000 WiFi 5 router, I jumped at the chance. I'm not that technical savvy but I have been the IT administrator in my own home and have set up wifi access in several past homes. I was amazed how easy this router was to hook up and start using. The Linksys App made it so easy and problem free. I think I had it up and streaming within five minutes from opening the box. After setting it up, I did a speed test and noticed that the new router increased my speeds by 100% and have increased/improved the wifi coverage in the home too. So far, I'm thrilled with the new LInksys router. Most anyone with a cell phone can have this router installed and 'plug and play' within minutes of opening the box. I would definitely recommend this router to family and friends. Thank you Linksys for a great product.
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features and great range I really satisfied with this router, easy set up and great range. It’s better than expected.
Date published: 2019-10-20
  • y_2020, m_9, d_30, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-MR9000, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 265ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT