text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

The Linksys Velop MX5 AX Whole Home WiFi 6 System is WiFi amplified, delivering more speed, coverage, and capacity than any WiFi technology has before.

  • Enjoy 4X faster speeds with WiFi 6 technology that delivers true gigabit speeds throughout your entire home, up to 5.3 Gbps with 12-stream connectivity.*
  • Delivers even more WiFi range, including the backyard and outdoor smart home devices
  • Just add a Velop Mesh WiFi node anywhere in your home for additional coverage.
 

 

$399.99

Find a retailer
Add to Wish List

Free Shipping on all orders.
Details

Features
Linksys MX5 Velop AX Whole Home WiFi 6 System

Offering exceptional speed, coverage, and capacity, the Linksys MX5 Velop AX Whole Home WiFi 6 System is the next generation of WiFi. This WiFi router/extender combines Velop's Intelligent Mesh technology with WiFi 6 to deliver true gigabit WiFi speeds-up to 5.3 Gbps-to every corner of your home, including outdoor areas. Capable of sending and receiving multiple streams of data simultaneously, WiFi 6 has four times the capacity of WiFi 5 technology. The Linksys Velop MX5 system can handle as many as 50 devices, so laptops, televisions, smart-home systems, and more can all operate simultaneously with ease. Featuring BSS technology, this WiFi router/extender minimizes congestion by eliminating interference from nearby wireless networks in order to deliver a strong, clear wireless signal to your home. The MX5 is part of Velop's modular system, which means increasing your coverage is as simple as adding another node. And with the Linksys App, setting up your system is fast and easy, so you can enjoy the next evolution of WiFi in a matter of minutes.

Makes Your Current WiFi Feel Like Dial-Up

WiFi 6 technology delivers true gigabit speeds throughout your entire home, with up to 5.3 Gbps and 12-stream connectivity. Next-generation OFDMA (orthogonal frequency-division multiple access) increases efficiency in high-density scenarios, delivering high-speed WiFi to multiple devices simultaneously.

Woman enjoying WiFi in her liviing room

Diagram of Velop node providing WiFi coverage to the entire home

Increased Coverage Range

Velop's Intelligent Mesh Technology, combined with WiFi 6, delivers gigabit WiFi speeds to every corner of your home, including outdoor areas.


Supports Even the Biggest WiFi Hoarders

With 4x the capacity of WiFi 5, WiFi 6 provides enough bandwidth for as many as 50 devices. And MU-MIMO (Multi-User Multiple-Input Multiple-Output) technology allows downloads and uploads on eight devices simultaneously.

Kids playing video games
Alexa Wi-Fi Access

Alexa Wi-Fi Access

With Alexa, you can easily manage Wi-Fi access for devices and individuals in the home, taking focus away from screens and back to what’s important. Say commands like “Alexa, turn off Timmy’s Wi-Fi”, when it’s time for dinner or “Alexa, enable guest Wi-Fi” when you have people over.


Eliminates Interference from Nearby Networks

WiFi 6 BSS (Basic Service Set) Coloring technology eliminates interference from nearby WiFi networks, so you always have a strong, clear signal for all your devices.


Advanced Security

Safeguard your network with wireless WPA2 (WiFi Protected Access 2) encryption and an SPI (stateful packet inspection) firewall.

Three quarter view of the Linksys MX5 Velop AX Whole Home WiFi 6 System
Back of the Linksys MX5 Velop AX Whole Home WiFi 6 System

USB and Ethernet Ports Offer Versatile Connectivity

Equipped with four Gigabit-Ethernet ports, the MX5 supports wired connections up to 10x faster than standard Ethernet. And thanks to the ultra-fast USB 3.0 port, you can easily connect shared storage devices.


Backed By 3-Year Limited Warranty and Tech Support

Velop is backed by both a three-year warranty and a three-year tech support guarantee. This premium level of support also includes a dedicated phone support line.


LINKSYS SMART Wi-Fi


Linksys Smart Wi-Fi

CUSTOMIZE AND MANAGE YOUR HOME WiFi ANYTIME, ANYWHERE

With the Linksys App, you can closely monitor and manage your home WiFi remotely using a smartphone or tablet.

  • Parental Controls: Ensure a safe Internet experience for your kids--even when you're away from home. Reduce online distractions during homework, family or dinnertime. Restrict access to inappropriate or distracting content, control usage, and block specific devices from accessing the Internet.
  • Guest Access: Generate a separate, password-protected Wi-Fi network for up to 50 guests and easily share the password via text.
  • Device Prioritization: Prioritize devices that need the most speed.

A WiFi Mesh Network in Minutes

Velop creates an efficient mesh WiFi network with all Internet-service-provider-supplied equipment and speeds. The simple, app-based setup will guide you through the process in minutes.

Step 1 Download the Linksys App

Download the Linksys App

Linksys App on iOS Get Linksys App on Google Play
Step 2 Connect to your modem

Connect to your modem

Step 3 Name your WiFi & create password

Name your WiFi & create password

Step 3 Place nodes throughout your home

Place nodes throughout your home

 

Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    AX5300 MU-MIMO Tri-Band Gigabit, 1147+2402+1733 Mbps
  • Key Features:
    • Easy Setup
    • 4x Better Performance than an AC Router
    • Tri-Band Dynamic Backhaul
    • 4x4 MU-MIMO
    • 2.2 GHz Quad-Core Processor
    • Next-Gen OFDMA Technology
    • Advanced Security
    • USB 3.0 Port
    • Control from the App
    • Four Gigabit Ethernet Ports
  • Network Standards:
    • 802.11a
    • 802.11b
    • 802.11g
    • WiFi 4 (802.11n)
    • WiFi 5 (802.11ac)
    • WiFi 6 (802.11ax)
  • Wi-Fi Speed:
    AX5300 (1147+2402+1733 Mbps)
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    2.4 GHz + 5GHz (x2)
  • Wi-Fi Range:
    Large Homes
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    • 1 Gigabit WAN
    • 4 Gigabit LAN
  • Other Ports:
    • USB 3.0
    • Power
  • Antennas:
    Internal
  • Processor:
    2.2 GHz Quad-Core
  • Memory:
    Flash: 512MB; RAM: 1GB
  • Wireless Encryption:
    up to 128-bit
  • Easy Setup:
    • Simple and secured App based set-up
    • Required for set-up: (1) Internet connection with Modem. (2) Mobile device with Android 6.0.1 or iOS 11.4 and higher, Bluetooth preferred.
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    4.5" x 4.5" x 9.6"
  • Weight:
    3.5 lbs
  • Security Features:
    • WPA2
    • WPA2 / WPA3 Mixed Mode
  • Power Supply:
    Input: 100-240V, 50-60Hz; Output: 12V/4A
Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What A Lovely Router - Setup So So Easy! I upgraded to get Wifi 6. I have a Gig at home. Best decision I have made on router replacement. Love it, Brilliant! Living in a major city, you are fighting for bandwidth in apartment buildings. No more slowness or noise!
Date published: 2020-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MX5 is a beast! Upon opening the MX5 Velop I noticed the size increase as compared to my existing Linksys nodes. I also noticed the addition of of 4 LAN ports and a USB port which is a great addition/ improvement allowing for direct connect such as a printer or mass storage device via USB port. Set up was relatively easy previous experience with similar Linksys systems was helpful. Standalone the performance was as expected and provided equal or better coverage and a noticeable increase in speed. I did incorporate my existing nodes and have increased my coverage robustly throughout the house as well as large portions of front and back yard. I currently run between 12 and 20 devices on the network including cameras and smart switches and other wireless devices and have no performance or reliability issues. I would recommend this product.
Date published: 2020-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Range and Power! When I received this product I was extremely skeptical as the last velop system I used didn't have the wifi strength I expected. This tower greatly surpassed my expectations and seemlessly delivers 300mgb speeds evenly through most of my 3100sqft home. I merged good with the smaller nodes I previously had but the smaller nodes seemed to lower the quality of my WiFi so I removed them and went back to just this parent node and it did the trick!
Date published: 2020-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy setup and good features Connecting and setup of router was easy! Have the router for about 3 weeks and it has been extremly easy to add new systems to the network. Easy to view connections and users attached to network. I've been having issues with phone coverage around the house. It appears I will need to add one or two devices to get better reception for my 2100 square foot home. Need to try two to three devices to see if that helps.
Date published: 2019-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This thing is a beast! I'm amazed at how well this is able to cover a odd shaped home with FAST WiFi. Setup through the app was quick and easy, sure beats the old days of having to log into a router from a numerical address. I really like having the extra ethernet ports on the router to connect wired items as well. The peace of mind knowing I am compatible with the latest standards is important to me so it's great that this is Wifi 6.
Date published: 2020-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very advanced WPA3 and WiFi 6 ready Pros: 1. Stable 2. Solid build 3. Familiar GUI 4. Simple Setup (minor hickup) Cons: 1. Size 2. No Status lights except 1 RGB ontop 4. WPA3/WPA2 Mixed mode doesn't play well with WPA2 devices. 5. Gigabit Ethernet only (it supports 5.3 Gbps wirelessly but only 1 Gbps over Ethernet? When I unpacked the MX5 AX5300 ROUTER I was impressed with how solid and heavy it felt! It was a bit to talk to sit where my WRT1900acs was I have to find it a new home because of it's size! It seems to have to sit vertical for cooling, I had issues with putting it in WPA2/WPA3 mixed mode my devices only hit 40-50 Meg's in WPA2/3 Mixed mode in WPA2 they hit 200-250 Meg's!! I don't think the new WPA3 Standard is ready for prime time! There are no Devices I Know of that support WPA3 WiFi 6 yet becides a few routers? That will change soon it's good to be ready!! I think Linksys will fix the speed issue with the mixed mode soon with a firmware update! The lack of 10 Gigabit Ethernet is a drawback since the 5.3 Gbps is only between wireless devices! When we have faster Internet this will be a bottleneck. Becides the size and lack it lights for the ports I love it!
Date published: 2019-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Router Yet I received this router about a week ago. Before setting up this router, I used my cell phone and did speed tests all around my house and also outside in my yard. I then set this router up and did the same speed tests in the same locations. WOW...I couldn't believe on how much better this router performs than the old one. I thought the old router was doing fantastic, but this new one totally blew my mind. Even wired, it out performs my old router. This router covers my entire house and also my yard. I have never had a router that performed this good. I don't have any products that will connect at the AX speed, but that doesn't matter, this router outdoes any other router I have ever had, even before the AX devices start being popular. When they say Whole Home, they really mean Whole Home and outside too. Thank You Linksys for building such awesome products...They are totally worth the money.
Date published: 2019-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Whole Home Wifi System! I have been using the MX5 Velop AX for a little while now and can fully recommend this "Whole home wifi system". I have a 3095 sqft home and have made this my main wifi system. I have zero dead spots and can even get 1 or 2 bars outside my house up to 20ft away. The setup was a breeze and it was very easy to navigate the settings menus. I would highly recommend the MX5!
Date published: 2020-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Latest WIFI is Great I've had this for approx 1 week. Set up was easy with the Linksys app. I have the router in a second bedroom so coverage was good, but speed was lower than expected, however, I do have approx 12 devices connected. So, what I ended up doing was to add an older Velop AC2200 Node from 2016 that I had and it added with no issues. It sounds rediculas but I like my Laptop at full speeds (866 mbps) but is currently running at 703 mbps. I like to get things done in a hurry and not spend alot of time on-line. I do take into account that my IP may throttle down at times which is a whole other issue. I do recommend the MX5 as a whole home solution. I do have coverage through the house. No Dead Spots. You can add nodes if needed which I have done just to increase the speed, but coverage was fine without the additional node. This Velop will also step you into future advancements as WiFi continues to evolve and higher standards are met.
Date published: 2020-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MX5 Velop AX system the new norm in wifi I received the package last Saturday and installed this Monday. I previously had Version 2 of the original Velop system and had a mix of 2 original Velop nodes and 3 later Nodes connected to modem/router in bridge mode. Installing Mx5 system was probably one of the easiest installs I have done! I accessed the app on my IOS and it asked if I wanted to change my primary (node to modem) which I did and then followed the app and quickly was all setup! I then had to redo all my nodes and basically that was it!I also elected to change my network ssid and password which caused a complete update of all connected device! This meant more time but I felt the need to start fresh. I have not seen any dramatic increase in speed but my pages on the internet seem to be updating much faster! One other note if you have any smart home devices or AI( Alexa ,Google etc) they will all have to be reconnected unless you left your network ssid and password the same!
Date published: 2020-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crazy fast This thing is crazy fast. We have: 3 phones 4 tablets 4 gaming systems 2 TVs All connected through this, with no issues. We stream all of our TV content and have no buffering problems. If you have a lot of data hungry devices, this is the router for you.
Date published: 2020-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Setup and Great Speed After a long wait (shipment was delayed for 2 months) I finally received the Router. I am very impressed with this router. Setup was super easy. The speed and connectivity of this router has been phenomenal. I am very pleased with this Router!!!!!!!
Date published: 2020-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fast Reliable WIFI System Linksys does it again. This is one of the Fastest Mesh WIFI Systems on the market today. I was wrong an AC router which would only give me 400mbps download if I was close to the router, but with this AX Mesh Unit I am getting upwards of 700mbps.
Date published: 2020-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best extender This is a great product.i have gigabit internet 20 + devices and now everyone in the household has superfast connections. I would recommend at least 2 units for a bigger house. Its important to follow online instructions for a seamless setup
Date published: 2019-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent as expected! The setup on this router is so simple it only took about 5-10min. I used the app to from the play store to setup. Once setup speed tests were blazing fast As expected. Wifi stability and speed has been rock solid since I've been using it.
Date published: 2020-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coverage with tons of app features Easy setup. Access your Linksys app on your smart phone. Be sure to log out and back into the app if you already access your account thru the app. This will add the Set Up a New Device to the menu. Be sure to update firmware on your Velop when connected. I used the automatic update method built into the app. I live in an apartment building with a lot of Wi-Fi traffic and the coverage is great. I only have 18 devices online all the time but have had as many as 25. Dead spots are a thing of the pass, I can still receive a strong signal when on the balcony furthest from the node. Once your velop is online go into the advanced Wi-Fi setting and click on Channel Finder to improve your speed and bandwidth on the node. I left the 2.4 GHz and 5GHz with the same name and password and allow it to choose the best one for my devices automatically. WSP connections worked fist time every time. The app has tons of features. This was all done using the android app. The unit is expensive No user’s manual, however you can find additional info at https://www.linksys.com/us/support-product?pid=01t2T000004ptzWQAQ Did not notice any significant speed improvement over my previous router Linksys WRT 1900 ACS and I do not have any other AX devices. I’m now ready for the future of Wi-Fi 6 devices. Love this router, but if you are a casual user with very few devices and only use for email and internet access save your money. If it is in your budget and you are looking for the latest mesh technology, I would definitely recommend this Router.
Date published: 2019-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WiFi 6 I have been using Linksys for long time good routers I just order two EA9500 one for me and one for my brother was thinking this is best should I cancel the order and order this one? My internet speed 500 mbps and sorry for asking here
Date published: 2020-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Velop TriBand MX5300 is a giant leap to WiFi6! The latest Velop MX5300 is a huge forward looking jump into the world of WiFi6 with a full implementation of the newest AX wireless network technologies. Everything is just what you expect, easy, straightforward and simple setup that fully integrates your existing network infrastructure including both "flat" and mesh equipment into a hybrid Mach speed system with total control over everything and it just works as it should - and as you expect from Linksys. Everything is well thought out, designed to impress and works perfectly straight out of the box. The bottom line is that you get what you want and what you need in one package, and it just works, and works well! Integrating with my existing WHW03 Velop and previous generation equipment is simply a matter of following the implementation setup instructions. My overall speeds are increased, even the non-WiFi connections, likely due to higher raw speed capabilities of the new CPU. Range is markedly improved beyond my expectations and I know that I will be tweaking things for a while because of the flexibility of the system.
Date published: 2020-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to setup, great full house coverage Set this up about 3 weeks ago. I wasn't expecting it to be "that much better" than my old wifi setup.. I was so very wrong.. I've got excellent wifi coverage in every corner of my house, no exceptions.
Date published: 2020-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Installation A Breeze Installation was extremely easy. It was up and running in no time at all. A great feature of the MX5 is the 4 available LAN ports built in to it. My overall internet speed has definitely improved.
Date published: 2020-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent System-Easy Install and Configuration Received the new MX5 Velop AX Whole Home WI-Fi 6 system and read up on doing the installation. I already had downloaded the app as I have used it with other Linksys routers. I made sure it was up to date before beginning the installation. The written directions were a little confusing but the app instructions were straight forward so I followed them during installation. I had the system set up and running within 15 minutes. I used the same wi-fi name and passwords from my old router configuration. I loved that I only have to have one WI-FI name as it uses the same name in mixed mode for both the 2.4 and 5 GHz speeds. Once the system was set up using the Linksys app on my I phone I noticed that almost immediately some of the previous devices using my old WI-FI configuration immediately registered with the new MX5 configuration. There were only approximately 5 devices out of 16 that I had to manually input the network and password before they connected to the new WI-FI system. I have checked all parts of my house and have a strong WI-FI signal in all areas. I love the new system.
Date published: 2020-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Connection Speed and Range This router was very easy to setup and configure. It supports all current WIFI protocols and standards. My Internet connection speed is 960 Mbps and my internal network speed is 10 Gbps. The fastest that I can connect to the router with a Ethernet 7 network cable on any single device is 1 Gbps in both directions at the same time. I am able to connect to it with my laptop at 866 Mbps on the 5G band. And to my iPhone and iPad at 560 Mbps on the 5G band. It transmits and receives on both the 2.4G and 5G bands at the same time. I suspect that I could connect faster if the client devices had better transmitters. None of my current client devices support the 802.11AX protocol. But I am expecting to upgrade my iPhone X Max to either a iPhone 11 or an iPhone 12 which do support 802.11AX. I have many smart devices in our home that are connected to the 2.4G band. And they all stay connected and work as expected. I get the best WiFi connection speed within 15 feet of the router but I can still get a usable connection even at a distance of more than 50 feet away.[everywhere in our 3,200 square foot home]
Date published: 2020-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great!!! I have had an Apple Airport Extreme for years but didn't have a good signal in my backyard. The Linksys system gives me a GREAT signal everywhere including down the block.
Date published: 2019-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like this unit! For four years, I have been running a Linksys EA9500 router for my house and could not have been happier. Fast forward to 2020 and I decided I would try a Velop MX series router just to see what all of the hype was about. I ended up getting the MX5 Velop AX. Right out of the gate, the setup was very easy and I had it up and running in less than 5 minutes. Since I used the same SSID and authentication, all of my devices immediately connected. One of the pestering issues I had with my EA9500 was throughput. I have gig-speed Internet with a high-end modem and network switch but I was far from seeing those speeds on my devices. I have newer devices which are capable of high WiFi speeds I have at work and other locations so the common denominator was my router. I am, once again, seeing the high speeds I was used to thanks to WiFI 6 afforded to me by the MX5. I have an HD multi-camera system at the house which I am now able to use without the occasional remote connection issues I had with the older router. Next, the plan is to add mesh nodes to augment the coverage in the corners of my house where there is weaker coverage. So far, so GREAT!
Date published: 2020-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Full house service Did not think it would work thru the whole house but it works great I have set up in my basement and it all the way to my upper levels Very happy
Date published: 2020-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features and Easy to use. I got this router and am greatly pleased with its bandwidth and output. Easy setup and easy connection to everything.
Date published: 2020-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Lag time! Was easy setup and when my family watches streaming services now there is no lag time for program to load.
Date published: 2019-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast I received this about 2 weeks ago. So far no issues at all. Speed, connection, & reliability are Great!
Date published: 2020-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally good wifi at our condo! I live in a 1300 sf multi-level condo with a LOT of wifi networks around me. I've constantly had issues with having a reliable signal. The Arris sbg6700ac combined wifi router/modem would cause my macbook pro laptop to periodically disconnect, similarly with our Pixel 2 XL phones. I tried replacing with a stand-alone linksys router (AC7500) and while the connections around it were great, the connections downstairs were bad / non-existant. So I got tp-link extender and that caused a lot of connection issues with our nest doorbell right next to it. So I finally got fed up and decided to go with the latest mesh network to be future proof (had to be WIFI 6 w/ WPA 3, and strong backend, and wired network connections on the nodes). Luckily Costco had a deal which seems to be now gone of $300 per node, so I decided to splurge with a couple nodes to fix my issue once and for all, and Linksys delivered! setup was a breeze, the app is nice, and I've never connected so fast and so reliably to a wifi network before. It feels like I now have an industrial setup. I am very happy and feel really good for once about our system. I have two words for people who are struggling like I was, do it! :)
Date published: 2020-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features and Easy Setup! This is absolutely the best router I have ever owned. Easy set up with provided app.
Date published: 2019-12-13
  • y_2020, m_8, d_7, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-MX5300, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 172ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Support
*As compared to client devices connecting to an AC 2x2 router that does not support 160 Mhz.