text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features
Linksys AC1200 BOOST Eliminate Deadzones

ELIMINATE DEAD ZONES AND BOOST WiFi UP TO 7,500 SQUARE FEET**

Easily expand your home WiFi to enjoy uninterrupted streaming, smooth online gaming, and more with the Linksys AC1200 BOOST EX WiFi Range Extender (RE6400). The AC1200 BOOST EX extends your existing WiFi range up to 7,500 square feet** so you can enjoy a stronger WiFi signal--even outdoors.

WORKS WITH ALL WiFi ROUTERS

The AC1200 BOOST EX is compatible with all WiFi routers, including your existing unit or those from service providers. There's no need to modify your router's settings when installing the extender--you won't have to touch your router at all.


Linksys AC1200 BOOST Easy Setup

EASY SETUP OPTIONS FOR OPTIMAL PLACEMENT

Two simple ways to setup:

  • Simply press the Push Button Connect feature on the AC1200 BOOST EX to automatically sync it to your router.
  • Simple setup from a smartphone, tablet, or laptop.

Find the optimal location for the range extender using Spot Finder Technology.

  • If placed too far from an existing router, a range extender may not expand WiFi or WiFi may be spotty. Spot Finder helps ensure your Linksys range extender is in the right spot.

Linksys AC1200 BOOST Dual Bands

STRENGTHENS WiFi CONNECTION WITH DUAL BANDS

Stream movies, play games online, and browse the Web without interruptions thanks to quick data transfer speeds of up to N300 + AC867 Mbps*. The range extender features dual bands and can also focus the WiFi signal directly to your connected devices for optimal performance, thanks to Beamforming Technology.


Linksys AC1200 BOOST Crossband Technology

Crossband Technology Maximizes WiFi

Crossband Technology allows information to be obtained on one band and transmitted on the other, resulting in reduced dropped data packets, faster media transfer speeds, and a stronger, more consistent signal throughout your home.


GIGABIT ETHERNET PORT

WIRED CONNECTION WITH GIGABIT ETHERNET PORT

Connect a wired device such as a gaming console, Blu-ray player, Smart TV, or streaming player to your WiFi network. The extender's Gigabit Ethernet port provides data transfer speeds 10x faster than a Fast Ethernet port.

Videos

Eliminate Dead Zones with Linksys Range Extenders Featuring Spot Finder Technology

  • Eliminate Dead Zones with Linksys Range Extenders Featuring Spot Finder Technology

  • Discover Linksys Range Extender Solutions to Eliminate Dead Zones

Show all videos
Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    802.11ac
  • Key Features:
    • Works with Any Router
    • Cross-Band Technology
    • Dual-Band
    • Beamforming Technology
    • Gigabit Ports
  • Wi-Fi Speed:
    AC1200 (N300 + AC867)
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    2.4 and 5GHz
  • Wi-Fi Range:
    7500 sq ft
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    One(1) Gigabit Ethernet port (10/100/1000 Mbps)
  • Easy Setup:
    • CD-Less setup
    • Setup from mobile devices
    • Push and connect using Wi-Fi Protected set-up (WPS)
  • Minimum System Requirements:
    Connected devices need Ethernet connectivity and Ethernet cables
  • Physical Specifications :
    121 x 87 x 60 mm
  • Security Features:
    • WPA/WPA2
    • 128 bit AES link encryption
  • Warranty and Support:
    • 1-year limited warranty
    • 90-day complimentary assisted technical support
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys AC1200 BOOST EX Wi-Fi Range Extender, RE6400
  • Quick Installation Guide
  • Regulatory Information
Reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Wi-Fi extender Had it for well over a month and found it adequately extends Wi-Fi range. Including the finished basement, I have a 3 level home and a patio out back. My router is on the top floor and the extender is in the first floor between the 2nd and basement. The reception in the basement was adequate prior to this extender, but now gets a stronger signal there and in my back yard patio. When installing, I had to move it around a bit to find the bets spot for spreading out the signal where I needed it. Also played around with the two antennas a bit. I keep one vertical and one horizontal. But it was reasonably easy to set up. Only bad thing about it is 3 new network names. With an EXT at the end. I was hoping to keep existing network names, but this is not a huge issue.
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not easiest to get working via internet approach. I have had this unit 3 weeks and after having issues with internet loading finally got it working. I can not make it stay hooked up via my iPad. I have iPad at the .ext and then later in the day it kicked off any my main WiFi is on. I do not know what causes this. Also the power went off and the unit would not come back green. I had to establish with my router. Sorry for the not so positive review but does not meet my expectations.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features and Speed! I recieved this unit for promotional purposes, free of charge. I would buy this in a heart-beat! it is so easy to set up and now the only wireless question at my house is, "what's a dead-spot?". it is fast and easy to set-up andspeed?? Rick W.
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wifi signal now to all areas of my house I have a three story house with my router in the middle floor. Wifi was good everywhere in the house except upstairs which had an overall weak signal with basically no signal in the master bedroom. I followed the easy instructions of the RE6400 out of the box. Plug it in, push a button on the router, push a button on the extender and repeat. The extender synced and I was in business. I plugged in the extender upstairs and the signal is just as good as downstairs coming off my router. I've been using the product for over a week with no problems or dropouts or anything. I recommend the product as it does what it was designed to do. This is the first time I've used a range extender so I have nothing to compare it to, but I don't think I need to since it fulfills all my needs.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Somewhat frustrating I just reverted back to my old extender. This one did have a stronger signal but I started to have connection problems with my devices. It seems to present itself as another network. I have a computer in a garage that connects reliably using the old extender but the range is limited. Once I setup this new one I started having network connection problems even though the signal appeared strong. The problems spread to my wireless devices in my house as well. I admit I'm not very knowledgeable about this stuff.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My RE6400 Works Great I am very pleased with this WiFi Extender. I replaced a RE1000 with this one and what a difference. What a difference over the previous Linksys extenders, I have tried them all. You won't be sorry buying this one.
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular Range! This is, by far, the best booster I have ever had. When I pull up in my driveway, my cell phone immediately changes over to WiFi because it is picking up the booster signal.
Date published: 2015-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product! My internet was dropping repeatedly each day and I learned that the router software/firmware must be updated. Since it was a single band router that had been dropped once and maybe broken, I opted to buy a new dual band smart router the will upgrade automatically. I'm so glad I did! My internet had remained constant. And my phone has not lost its Wi-Fi signal once in the 2 months I've been connected. Great product at a great price. Our unit serves 2 people with multiple devices and a smart t.v.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Easy to set up, about 5 min, extends range as advertised. Fast speeds & makes WiFi in my shop workable & convenient.
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, but not great. Internet is now pretty strong in the whole house, but when you move from one end of the house to the other with your phone or tablet, you have to reset your wifi. It's not automatic. It's also been frustrating to get the right placement of the Range Extender - when it's close enough to the router turn a solid green, it then doesn't have a consistently strong signal where it's needed. And when it's to get the coverage needed, it's amber - but at least it's not blinking.
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Setup & Integrate into Existing WiFi Easy to Setup & Integrate into Existing WiFi. Setup took minimal time since I had already setup 2 related range extenders earlier. We decided to go with the same name as the existing WiFi network in order to alleviate any issues with users having to switch connections. I currently have 2 of these online and in use with my WiFi. I plan to test having all 3 of my extenders integrated and running at the same time in the next month when my schedule allows.
Date published: 2016-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great to find that right spot! I found the RE6400 to be a great solution to extend the network into an area that had no service. At first, not easy to figure out optimal location and installation. As we moved it from one place in the house to another, it became easier to find ultimate location. I also liked the feature that allows it to be named different than the router; this way, you can determine if devices are connected to router or extender. This should be highlighted more.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to do what it is advertised to do Just what I needed to get a better signal to my work shop. Being an old codger, it took me a while to figure out that I had to connect it to my computer to get it to work. Did that, unplugged the connection and I was, and still am, good to go.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY TO SETUP! WORKS GREAT! Linksys RE6400 AC1200 BOOST EX Wi-Fi Range Extender works as promised . . . it extends the range of your Wi-Fi network. This unit allows us have full access to parts of our home where the access was previously limited. The setup was easy. Just plug the unit in, push the WPS button, then move the unit half way to where you want your Wi-Fi extended. There is even an app for your phone to help you find the right spot. Alternatively, you can easily log into the unit and set it up manually. This unit works on both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands. Also, the traffic speed is good. My only complaint on the unit is it only extends one SSID. So, if you are running a main network and a guest network, sorry, you can only extend one. A work around is to split the bands, but that is sub-optimal. The bottom line: This unit will easily extend your network further with minimal bother.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broke down after 2 weeks of use I bought this a month and a half ago and even bothered to give it a review. After 2 weeks of use the device stopped working. It will not transmit a wireless signal. If left unplugged for a several hours and then plugged back in, it transmits a wireless signal, but only for a couple of minutes and then the wireless signal ceases to be transmitted. The light is solid green, but no signal is transmitted.
Date published: 2016-08-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sounds like it will suit our needs. Unfortunately I haven't been able to hook it up yet. Got only so far and couldn't figure out how to do it. My computer language skills are zip. Tried calling the tech support number on the web site several times, but when I dialed the last number the call would fail for some reason. Would like some help. Don't have a WPS on my Belkin router. Boo Hoo ☹️ Would like to fill the rest of this review....
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It does not do much This is my second WiFi extender, and my conclusion is the same as before - these devices may do something under some circumstances, but they really do nothing much for me. Yes, I do get a stronger signal when connecting to the device - but the device is still connected to my modem by WiFi, which implies that I do not get any benefit. I guess that if you can connect it the modem by cable things would be different - but that is not an option in my current setup.
Date published: 2015-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive Wi-Fi Range Extender This review is for Linksys RE6400 AC1200 Boost Ex Wi-Fi Range Extender. I have been using the extender for about a week and so far I have been pretty impressed with the performance. The extender came in a nice package along with a quick installation manual. Overall setup of the system is pretty easy (even without using WPS option). Browser-based setup is pretty good and I was able to extended my network in less than 5 mins. I also liked Linksys's Spot Finder feature that lets you pick ideal placement location for the extender. As far as the performance goes, I have a 3000 sqft 2-story house and I can clearly see the difference in some corners of my house where I used to get weak signal. Data throughput also seems to be as good as my main router. I haven't tested how far I can go outside (I have tested all the way up to my deck) before the signal degrades, but so far coverage of the extender seems to be pretty impressive. Overall, it is a very good extender with a very intuitive interface that can get rid of spotty signal areas of your house well.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent device I bought this extender 1 month ago as I need Gigabyte Ethernet to connect my DVR camera recorder which is support Gigabyte...before this extender I tried many other brands extender or access point the result was Intermittent Playback when I try to start more than one camera at same time from my laptop although some other extender was higher specification than current Linksys, but when I used Liknksys AC1200 I got a smooth playback video with stable connection even I try to start 5 camera together at same time which is mean the transfer rate between DVR-Linksys-extender and my desktop is very stable with high speed so I highly recommended this device or any other Linksys network solution as according to my experience in other occasions Linksys give you better speed and stability than other brands.
Date published: 2017-08-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Performance is poor I purchased this extender to replace another brand that has begun to have issues dropping the signal. This extender was difficult to set up since my router doesn't have a WPA button. I used the browser based setup to get the router working. After getting it configured, I experimented with placement of the device to optimize signal strength and coverage. While the extender worked and was stable, my speed was only about 25% of what I have with the old device. I tried various configurations, but my speed never approached acceptable levels. I am technically competent and familiar with setting up networks and devices, but this extender just doesn't perform as advertised. I am now using my old device again, and will return the Linksys for a refund. Linksys has an excellent reputation, but I would not recommend this model.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Product works very well. Help with signal is a back room office. Easy to set-up and works well.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from SLOW! Bought 3 of these a few weeks ago to help extend both 2.4 and 5G bands in my 5000 ft home. Upon configuration (which was easy!) seemed like they were working great, extending the wifi to the far reaches of my house. Over the last few weeks however, we noticed the speed when riding the extenders was greatly reduced/unacceptable. A test of riding the low signal strength of the router vs the extender was no comparison! Hugely disappointed!
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work -- waste of time and money Have Linksys EA6400 dual-band WiFi router -- at other end of house from TV room. Laptop in TV room gets poor signal. This worked greate (175 MB/s!) -- for one day. Next day, could not connect to the Extended network. This went on for five days. Called Links, spent 2 hours on phone, reconfigured to use static IP address -- told that would fix this. Great speeds (again). Next day, same problems. Returned to Linksys.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from TOO SLOW ON BOTH BANDS!!! It does not extend well because the speeds are much too slower, than the speeds from the router than it self. The routers speeds on the 2.4 GHz band is around 120 MBPS, with the extender, maybe 25 - 30 MBPS.....on the 5 GHz band with my router (Linksys WRT3200ACM) I get about 350 MBPS, with the extender only about 70-80 MBPS....and I used the Spot Finder, and positioned the antennas as was told to in the user manuel.
Date published: 2017-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WiFi for the Garage I added a detached garage and shop to my property but the new addition was too far away to connect to the home network so I added RE6400 AC1200 BOOST EX Wi-Fi Range Extender, it works great. Installation and set up is as easy as it gets. Push buttons and wait for lights to blink. One issue is the booster makes a new network signal so be prepared to reconnect and reenter passwords for devices.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's Working ! Earlier I wrote that I had a problem setting it up. Linksys reached out to me and I was guided through the set up. It was easy. I just needed help. My husband noticed a difference in his TV in his man cave in the back of our big yard. Mine still needs a little tweaking as it has a steady amber color. It's as close to the router as it can get. Will work on it later, but I am pleased.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Addition To My Network I was looking for something to give me more coverage outside. My router is in my basement and I placed the AC1200 in my garage and was able to extend my network to my front yard and beyond. I was still getting wifi 4 doors down. The setup is pretty easy, Linksys made it that way. If you are looking for something to extend your network indoors or out, this is the product you need.
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Linksys delivers but falls a bit short! I recently installed my Linksys RE6400 AC1200 BOOST EX Wi-Fi Range Extender, in my 5,400sqt 2 story property, this device performed well within its limits, it did not surpassed or exceeded my expectations, due to the fact that I already own other products similar to this, having said that. Installation: Installation was a breeze, it only took me about 3 minutes, from opening the box to fully installing this Wi-Fi Extender, all I had to do was plug it into a wall, let it boot up for about a minute or two and log into it's own "Wi-Fi".signal that comes up on your computer, tablet, mobile devices etc.The password to that is always usually "admin" without the quotes. Once you are connected to the device successfully you can change a few settings on the device such as network name and password options that are better for your needs. Coverage: The coverage in my large home was adequate, it did not surpass my expectations as other products from Linksys have in the past, however, I have to point out, the price difference in this unit and the other units I'm referring to also have a lot to do with it, but at this price, with this coverage, I don't think many should be complaining, I complain because I'm used to buying high-end devices regardless of the price, but I also like to test out other devices because, who knows, I might find a gem one of these days, unfortunately this is not it, although this device performs quite well by itself. Absolute Pros: This device can handle both bands, the 2.4Ghz and the 5.Ghz bands. Please note, I did received this device for my honest and unbiased review from the Linksys friends and family program, although the opinions and this survey article are of my own will.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT BOOST!! I had a problem trying to connect this to my Verizon Gateway Modem, after several attempts I had to call the support desk for assistance. Since the RE6400 has been connected, I have nothing but confidence when I am outside doing yard work or grilling and staying connected to the internet, with a big yard all that was missing was the constant internet connection.
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from did not work The indicator lights are supposed to be green vs. amber but they look the same! The difference is subtle that there's no point in having an indicator light, instead you just need to test the connection. I spent 2-3 hours with my technically-inclined friend trying to get this extender to work. It only made the connection worse so I'm going to return it.
Date published: 2016-08-30
  • y_2019, m_5, d_22, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_90
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-RE6400, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 453ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*Maximum performance derived from IEEE Standard 802.11 specification. Actual performance can vary, including lower wireless network capacity, data throughput rate, range, and coverage. Performance depends on many factors, conditions, and variables, including distance from the access point, volume of network traffic, building materials and construction, operating system used, mix of wireless products used, interference, and other adverse conditions.
**Range specifications are based on performance test results under normal use case conditions. Actual ranges will increase or decrease depending on wireless obstructions, operating environments, and building material. Wireless coverage claims are used only as reference and are not guaranteed as each wireless network is unique.
Push Button Connect works with devices that support Wi-Fi Protected Setup™ like Linksys Wireless-AC routers and others.