text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features
Linksys AC1200 MAX WiFi Range Extender (RE6500HG)

SMOOTH STREAMING & DOWNLOADING THROUGHOUT YOUR HOME

Stream HD-quality videos and play online games wirelessly without interruptions or lag thanks to high-speed AC technology. For rapid and reliable wired connections to computers and other Internet-ready devices, the RE6500HG includes 4 Gigabit Ethernet ports - offering speeds 10x faster than Fast Ethernet.

Linksys AC1200 MAX WiFi Range Extender (RE6500HG)

ELIMINATE DEAD SPOTS

The RE6500HG extends the wireless coverage area in your home by up to 10,000 square feet** by repeating and redistributing the signal from the router. It also features Crossband technology, allowing wireless bands to receive information on one band and transmit on the other to reduce dropped data packets. The result is a stronger, more reliable WiFi signal, allowing you to stay connected on your laptop or mobile device from anywhere inside--or even outside--your home.

HIGH-GAIN ANTENNAS AMPLIFY WiFi SIGNAL

The RE6500HG's two external high gain antennas are designed to eliminate the dead zones that can occur when walls or construction materials obstruct the signal between your WiFi devices and the extender. Adjust the antennas to optimize your network performance and enjoy smooth HD video streaming and gaming throughout your home.


CONNECTS TO SPEAKERS FOR DIGITAL MUSIC STREAMING

In 2 easy steps, your range extender connects your speaker system to your digital library:

  1. Connect stereo system or audio speaker to the range extender.
  2. Stream your music from your smart device or computer.

Spot Finder Technology

GET A STRONGER SIGNAL WITH EXCLUSIVE SPOT FINDER TECHNOLOGY

Linksys Spot Finder Technology provides a seamless setup process and helps you determine the optimal placement of the RE6500HG, allowing you to enjoy WiFi even in the far reaches of your home. Using any mobile device, such as a smartphone or tablet, Spot Finder shows you where to place the range extender in relation to your existing router. Simply follow the prompts for a quick and easy setup.

Technical Specs
  • Network Standards:
    • IEEE 802.11a
    • IEEE 802.11b
    • IEEE 802.11g
    • IEEE 802.11n
    • IEEE 802.11ac
  • Radio Frequency Bands:
    2.4 & 5GHz
  • Ports:
    4x Gigabit Ethernet, audio, power
  • LEDs:
    Power/Wi-Fi Protected Setup, Ethernet (link, activity)
  • Buttons:
    1x Reset
  • Operating Temperature:
    32 to 104 F (0 to 40 C)
  • Storage Temperature:
    -4 to 140 F (-20 to 60 C)
  • Operating Humidity:
    10 to 80% Noncondensing
  • Max. Link Rate:
    867 Mbps
  • Platform Compatibility:
    • Windows XP
    • Windows Vista 32/64
    • Windows 7 32/64
    • Windows 8 32/64
    • Windows 8.1 32/64
    • Mac OS X 10.5.8 Leopard
    • Mac OS X 10.6.1 Snow Leopard
    • Mac OS X 10.7 Lion
    • Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion
    • Mac OS X 10.9 Mavericks
    • Mac OS X 10.10 Yosemite
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys AC1200 MAX Wi-Fi Range Extender
  • AC/DC Power Supply
  • Two High-Gain Dipole Antennas (5dbi)
  • Ethernet Cable
  • Quick Installation Guide
Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a cahrm Quick delivery. Very easy setup. Works perfectly. Just what we needed.
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easier setup I had had another Linksys extender that dies after about two years. I am a brand loyalist. so I purchase this one to replace the old one. I was pleasantly surprised to find the set-up much easier than I had previously experienced with Linksys/cisco. Not only that, but so far, I have not had to reset or reconfigure it. That too was something that plagued my old one. The range is very good and the signal strength remains strong during use. Well done, Linksys.
Date published: 2017-06-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BAD Customer relations or bad product. I purchased this item about 2 years ago and it is trash to me.
Date published: 2017-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job it is supposed to very well. I bought this product a month ago and am pleased i did.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, easy setup. Everything I hoped for. Not only does it show ALL bars on wireless devices connecting at the other end of the house, it allows me to connect a BlueRay player that had an Ethernet but was not wireless to the internet. I am entirely satisfied. Set up was so easy I thought I must have done something wrong until I saw the blueray showing on my router and it told me it had internet.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not even kinda easy First attempt no wireless network appeared, had to reset. 2nd attempt wireless network appears, cannot connect to my original Wi-Fi network when other devices have 50 to 60% connection. 3rd attempt, hardwire into extender and my setup progress is interrupted because I "lost connection"... when I was HARDWIRED. Sending it back, it is completely useless.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Problems... Just to put the previous review/er in perspective, the RE6500 is not supposed to have Spot Finder Technology, the chart at http://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=156248 clearly shows that the RE6700 has this feature, the RE6500 does not
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from average performance I bought this a month ago since I had a less expensive range expander that came up a bit short. Was easy to install but didn't perform any better than what I had previously. I have a 2800 sq ft home with my base modem in the upstairs corner of home. Was hoping with a central range extender to cover the house.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, solved deadspot in front of my house I have a router/wifi box which was purchased from my Cable company. Signal was good throughout the house but not in the front yard. I purchased this extender and placed it in the garage. Not only can I get wifi in front of the house, but it reaches across the street and then some!
Date published: 2016-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Wi-fi I'm speaking for myself and my experience only. I now have excellent Wi-Fi services. I'm able to access my Wi-Fi outside my home and can download apps and updates at tremendous speeds. I'm so glad that I've purchased the Linksys RE6500HG AC1200 Dual-Band Wireless Range Extender.
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not great I have always used Linksys products. I purchased two types of range extenders but neither of them provided extended range. They did however provide a stronger signal within the range of my router. So I am somewhat disappointed with both purchases.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Price, setup, performance stellar Had a competitor's extender but it was so confusing I purchased Linksys this time - glad I did. Linksys was less expensive, easier to set-up and has performed better. Even moving it and setting it up multiple times was a breeze.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Performed as advertised - excellent reach I added this to expand my WiFi to primarily to support Bose SA-5 amps that cover my deck and garage. It worked great - now music throughout the home and my wife gets stronger signals on her IPAD out on the deck. Thanks Linksys!
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Significant progress with tech support. The technician was very helpful and professional. Some difficulty understanding. Background noise on the tech's end was also an issue. I may have to call again for issues created when this one was resolved.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Superior speed in downstairs area Other than the fact that it would not allow download of new firmware, it jumps the speed in my downstairs area from 50-75mbps to 350-400mbps. Web pages move like they should.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Easy to setup I have had this for about weeks. I am unable to get a signal even with this device. My last wifi was a links us 3300 and covered the whole house with a strong signal.
Date published: 2015-11-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Linksys RE6500HG AC1200 This product uses 192.168.1.1 which interferes with most common routers. During the setup of the extender, it never will because of this conflict.
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ease of set up I bought the range extender. Set up was easy. Range extension is great. Network speed is 50% below tap. Therefore three stars.
Date published: 2015-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Fairly easy to install, once I got to the right place using the set up. Not clear to go to setup online.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works great. easy to set up. fast Great product. Easy to extend wifi signal. Signal strength is now strong and solid throughout the house
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple Solutio Solved my problem of weak reception in the back rooms of my home. Took less than 10 minutes to install.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeds all expectations Spread the signal far and wide. Fills the holes, bridges the gaps, and burns through walls
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderfull It was easy to install, instructions were clear, and it works great.
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to hook up! Very easy to setup and it helped double my signal from the router.
Date published: 2017-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Linksys RE6500HG AC1200 Dual-Band Wireless Range E Has significantly improved wifi connnection throughout the house.
Date published: 2015-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome No more dead spots. Reaches the garage, and both patios.
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hard to setup I have another brand , and I push a bottom and work
Date published: 2016-04-04
  • y_2019, m_8, d_17, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-RE6500HG, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 266ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
* Range specifications are based on performance test results under normal use conditions. Actual ranges will increase or decrease depending on wireless obstructions, operating environments, and building material. Wireless coverage claims are used only as a reference and are not guaranteed as each wireless network is unique.
** Maximum performance derived from IEEE Standard 802.11 specification. Actual performance can vary, including lower wireless network capacity, data throughput rate, range and coverage. Performance depends on many factors, conditions and variables, including distance from the access point, volume of network traffic, building materials and construction, operating system used, mix of wireless products used, interference and other adverse conditions.