text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Use our configurator tool to find out which mesh router combo is the best fit for your home.

Select Size:

 

$299.99

Find a retailer
Add to Wish List
This item is added to your WISH LIST

Free Shipping on all orders.
Details

Features

Woman enjoying Velop WiFi on her phone

Experience Flawless, Full-Strength Mesh WiFi with Velop

Easy to set up and designed to fit anywhere, Velop brings ultra-fast, full-strength mesh WiFi to your home in minutes. Featuring Intelligent Mesh™ technology and a sleek, modular design, the Velop mesh WiFi system spreads strong WiFi through any kind of home.

Mesh WiFi That Learns From You

From the moment you set up your WiFi mesh network, Intelligent Mesh™ Technology gets to work adapting your Velop system to your home.

Diagram of a signal between nodes

Self-Healing

If someone accidentally unplugs a node, the other nodes will pick up the slack.

Diagram of several devices accessing different channels

Self-Selecting

Even with a busy network, Velop knows how to select the clearest channel for your devices.


Woman enjoying internet in living room

Designed to Fit Anywhere

Each Velop node features a beautiful, compact design that coordinates with any home style and decor. Multiple nodes work together as a system, so as your WiFi needs expand, simply add more nodes and interchange colors to coordinate with your home style.

Modular Mesh WiFi Fits Any Home

As your WiFi needs expand, you can easily add more nodes. Plug your home details into our configurator tool to find the perfect WiFi mesh system for you.

  • For an apartment or a single bedroom house, try a 1-pack
  • For a 2- to 3-bedroom house, try a 2-pack
  • For a 3- to 4-bedroom house, try a 3-pack
Children using tablets

Future-Proof and Secure

With automatic software updates, your mesh router will always remain up-to-date and secure. Convenient, leading-edge security features allow you to block content and pause the internet for family time.


Fast, Reliable WiFi

Velop nodes comes equipped with Dual-Band technology, giving you exceptionally fast WiFi even when multiple WiFi devices are connected.

Linksys App on the Main screen

Manage Your Home WiFi Anytime, Anywhere with the Linksys App

With the Linksys App, you can closely monitor and manage your home WiFi remotely using a smartphone or tablet.

  • Guest Access: Create a separate, password-protected WiFi network for up to 50 guests and easily share the password.
  • Parental Controls: Ensure a safe Internet experience for your kids -- even when you're away from home. Restrict access to inappropriate or distracting content, control usage, and block specific devices from accessing the Internet.
  • Device Prioritization: You can prioritize devices that need the most speed.
  • Alexa Support: When paired with Alexa, the Linksys App gives you access to a variety of convenient voice commands.
  • Speed Test: Easily test and monitor your Internet connection's speed.

A WiFi Mesh Network in Minutes

Velop creates an efficient mesh WiFi network with all Internet-service-provider-supplied equipment and speeds. The simple, app-based setup will guide you through the process in minutes.

Step 1 Download the Linksys App

Download the Linksys App

Linksys App on iOS Get Linksys App on Google Play
Step 2 Connect to your modem

Connect to your modem

Step 3 Name your WiFi & create password

Name your WiFi & create password

Step 3 Place nodes throughout your home

Place nodes throughout your home

 

Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    Dual-Band AC1300 (867 + 400 Mbps)‡ with MU-MIMO and 256 QAM
  • Key Features:
    • Dual-Band Wi-Fi Mesh System
    • Seamless Wi-Fi
    • Easy App Controls
    • Intelligent MeshTM Technology - Self-Organize, Self Optimize and Self Healing
    • One Wi-Fi Network
    • Auto Firmware Upgrade
    • Parental Control
    • Guest Access
    • Auto sensing WAN/LAN Ports
    • Wired/Wireless Backhaul
    • AP/Bridge Mode Mesh Wi-Fi System
    • Spot Finder- Mesh system uses signal strength, throughput, and latency to determine the optimal placement during set-up and post set-up.
    • Auto Wi-Fi Channel
    • Bluetooth 4.1 embedded
    • Speedtest support
    • Amazon Alexa support
    • 3-Year Warranty and Support
  • Network Standards:
    • 802.11a
    • 802.11g
    • 802.11n
    • 802.11ac
    • 802.11b
  • Wi-Fi Speed:
    AC1300 (867 + 400 Mbps)
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    2.4Ghz + 5GHz
  • Wi-Fi Range:
    up to 4500 sq ft
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    2x WAN/LAN auto-sensing Gigabit Ethernet ports
  • Other Ports:
    • power jack
    • power switch
    • reset button
  • Antennas:
    3x internal antennas and high powered amplifiers
  • Processor:
    716 MHz Quad Core
  • Memory:
    256 MB NAND Flash and 256 MB DDR3
  • LEDs:
    One LED indicator
  • Wireless Encryption:
    WPA2 personal
  • Easy Setup:
    • Simple and secured App based set-up
    • Required for set-up: (1) Internet connection with Modem. (2) Mobile device with Android 4.4 or iOS 9 and higher, Bluetooth preferred.
  • Minimum System Requirements:
    Required for set-up - Simple and secured App based set-up: Mobile devices with Android 4.0.3 or iOS 8 and higher
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    3.1" x 3.1" x 5.55" per Node
  • Weight:
    4.35 Lbs
  • Security Features:
    WPA2 personal
  • Regulatory Compliance:
    FCC class B
  • Additional Information:
    Bluetooth 4.0/LE for secure and easy App based set-up
  • Power Supply:
    Input: 100-240V ~ 50-60Hz; Output: 12V, 1.0A
Package Contents

Package Contents

  • Linksys Velop (x3)
  • Ethernet cable (x1)
  • Power adapter (x3)
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Printed Documentation

 

Reviews

Press

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Perfectly The Velop Intelligent Mesh WiFi System was as easy, (if not easier), to set up as any router I have ever had since the mid 90's. All three pieces connected with no problem as well as all of the WiFi devices in the home. I thought this can't be that easy? I went online to look at reviews and found many where individuals had difficulties. So here we go; time to try and reproduce problems. Initial set up was a simple two story townhouse. I didn't even need the third option, so I took the unit to a friends house and tried within their three story home. Same as the initial setup except the third unit went into the basement. No problems what so ever. All of their devices worked perfectly. OK, now what, Went to another friends home, a ranch with Garage, Even with the main electrical and plumbing feeds in the garage their were no issues. Still not understanding where the issues are coming from, so one final test. Went to yet another friends home, which is a ranch with a barn, (only 15 ft away). Set up same as before, and would you believe it; still no issues? Not sure if those with issues are faulty units or extreme interference, but I found the Velop system to be a perfect solution to doing away with repeaters. I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2018-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great in concept but lacking in execution I was sent a 3 -pack of the Velop mesh routers to try out and my expectations were extremely high. The setup instructions were well written and easy to follow. Getting the first node setup near the middle up front of my open floor plan 1,750 square foot single story home went as expected since that is where the home office and modem reside. Things took a detour from there when I put the second device in the rear left window though. Seems that was just out of reach of the first node even though I have an extender just as far away (and through 2 additional walls I might add) on the other side of my house that works great and reports in the perfect placement. Moved 8 feet closer to the first node and still no love leaving me little choice but to move even closer before it would connect. As my hope initially had been to hit the front middle of the house with the other nodes in the left and right rear for maximum coverage (extending even a bit out to the back deck) with the limited coverage that was not possible. Other than my displeasure with the coverage the usability of the mesh WiFi system performs quite well. In the past I had tried doing a very similar DIY setup and it had mixed results but this setup being designed for this performs flawlessly.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy setup right out of the box I was unsure whether or not I would like the Belking Velop Intelligent Mesh WiFi System. I wondered how it would be better than my current Linksys WiFi router. I have to say that setup is much easier than other WiFi routers I've installed. Out of the box, power and NIC is all that is required to have the first node up and running. I did have to install an app on my phone to access the final parts of the setup, but that was it. This was the most painless install of a WiFi router ever. Adding a 2nd node was just as easy. For this, I have to give Linksys credit. I do not think installation could have been easier. The only complaint here is that it takes using your phone to finish the install. Speed was good with only 1 node installed. Using Speedtest, I hit 187 mbps. That is great speed over wifi. However, after adding the 2nd node, speeds dropped considerably. Signal strength was good, but speed dropped well below my current Linksys speed (consistently running between 150 and 180 mbps). This might have been due to Comcast issues, so I will continue to try this setup to see how it works. Again, signal strength is great; speed is another issue now. Overall, I like the setup and ease of adding nodes. I just wish the initial speed would have remained.
Date published: 2018-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great coverage, great style, meh utilities. I gave the Velop a chance in my home, and there was a lot to like about it. The cloud-based setup was easy. The nodes connected and signal coverage in our two-story townhouse did feel stronger in the harder to reach corners. I now had Ethernet ports available upstairs where the nodes were placed. These were all solid pluses. That said, I didn’t notice much of a difference in network speed versus the router the Velop replaced, and I did notice a minimal amount of network latency. Not deal-breakers for me, as the network speed was likely limited by my ISP and the latency was barely noticeable. I just happened to be looking for any sign of it. In the end though, Velop was missing a few valuable features compared to my Linksys WRT 3900-ACM router: A second 5ghz band (the more expensive version of Velop does have this), and built-in NAS+DLNA media server support via Ethernet and USB. The signal boost just wasn’t enough of an advantage to justify spending more money on a stand-alone NAS. I’m also not really a fan of fact that cloud-based setup is a requirement instead of an option. If I had a larger home or one with more significant signal reach issues, this would be a different story. I’d definitely consider the Velop a strong solution at a reasonable price.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Idea but not to standards of other Routers I must first state that I received this product free of charge as part of the Linksys Friends and Family Testing program. I must respond with a review after testing. This review is my own opinion and has not been directed by Linksys or anyone else - just my experience. I received the product but was delayed in setting up and testing due to eye surgery which put me out of commission for a few months - now I have completed the process and ready to review. Set up was less convenient and less easy than the regular routers that I love. First - during set up, I had to keep resetting the router as it would not complete setup. I was using the enclosed directions and the Linksys App and also the online setup (via URL). After 3 or 4 resets I finally got it to be useable, adding additional nodes had similar experiences. Second, my router keeps going offline frequently which requires shut down and repowering the router. Irritating and might have some issue with ISP - but other routers work fine. Third, I notice the Router has a capacity of 100 Mbps - of which I could not more than 85 Mbps - Unfortunately I have 450Mbps service so I was being heavily restricted. The additional areas of coverage were very good. I would recommend this product to people who have 100 Mbps or less service and need to increase range of coverage. I will work fine in these situations once setup (which needs to be set more like other Linksys routers to be easier).
Date published: 2018-10-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the looks, but lacks on performance I will preface my review by mentioning that I live in a 65 year old house with very thick plaster walls. I feel like the plaster makes a difference on wifi performance. The looks and concept of this wifi system is amazing. I love the looks of the nodes and the fact that 2 of the 3 can be placed anywhere they can be plugged in to power and don't have to have cable access for each. The setup wasn't as easy as other Linksys routers I have owned. The Velop has a combo 2.4 and 5 ghz setup, but some of my devices required only 2.4 so I had to contact tech support and learn how to set it up as a 2.4 and 5 ghz system. With other Linksys routers, I could just set my Wifi name and password the same as the old routers and all my devices would automatically connect. This didn't happen with this system and I actually had to completely change the name and password and individually reconnect all my devices. As for performance, the Velop systems range seems to come up just a little short from the previous routers I've had. One of the nodes seems to be offline about 50% of the time, Im not sure if maybe there is an issue with that Node or if maybe its location needs to change. I am still working with it and will continue to trouble shoot. As for speed I have no complaints at all, it works just as good as our previous router. Overall I give this system a 3.5 out of 5 stars. I feel like I will get the nodes working better and figure the range issues out but its more work than other routers that you just keep in 1 location. I don't recommend these if you are technology challenged.
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Speeds - Excellent Coverage Ever since Mesh Routers have hit the scene, I have been intrigued by their reported coverage and performance. After setting up and testing the Velop AC3900 Dual Band Router (3-pack), I was impressed. I believe they have a solid place in the router market and mesh technology should be in every home. (Pros) The Velop (3-pack) performed well. I placed two nodes upstairs, one in the office, one in the living-room, and one in the basement Media Room. The setup was super easy. Menus and directions were clear and concise. After linking all three nodes I walked throughout the house measuring signal strength. All areas in the house displayed three out of three bars, according to the iPhone 7 I used for testing. (Cons) The ONLY things I am not impressed with are: • Lack of a USB port for an external hard drive or printer, camera, et cetera. • The WiFi speeds are about a fifth of what I usually get. A USB port is important to connect cameras that need an external hard drive to record video. I’ll need to purchase a NAS at some point. I used my iPhone, sitting near the home node to test the WiFi speed, the fastest I got was 65Mbp upload speed which was faster than the download at 84Mbps. I ran the Ookla Speed test app on the Apple TV and got a similar result. I have a Gig connection and could easily reach 500-600Mbps with my previous router. I connected the home node and my iMac with a CAT6 cable to test a hardline connection. I achieved 927Mbps down and 803Mbps up, which worked as expected. End result, I think it’s an excellent product with some really cool features and superb coverage but It’s not a powerhouse when it comes to WiFi.
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Choice for a Range Extender! Living in a townhouse has its own set of challenges for someone used to living in a single-family house. Wifi signals shouldn’t be one of them. My router is upstairs and does a great job of covering a very large portion of my two-story townhouse, both upstairs and downstairs. On the other hand, my cell service carrier has very spotty service in the area I live in, so much so that while inside the townhouse (after talking to my carrier), I must utilize the WiFi calling option to make and receive calls. During some parts of the day, calls originating downstairs can be a challenge to keep connected to say the least. My remedy for that, the Linksys Velop Intelligent Mesh WiFi System AC3900. Set up of the system was simple, in this 3-pack, you get 3 nodes, 3 power sources, and an Ethernet cable… that’s it! Connect the first node by plugging it into your router and to a power source. Use the Linksys app and follow the set-up instructions, and you’re set! The app even trouble-shoots any set-up issues by guiding you through the color of the light displayed on top of the node. Once you’ve connected the first node, position the additional nodes as needed in any remaining dead/weak zones, plug them into a power outlet, follow the set-up instructions on the app again and watch your coverage expand. Keep in mind, you will need to set up a password when setting up guest access. Now, my WiFi enabled cell phone coverage is much better. I can walk to different areas of the downstairs portion of my townhouse, including up/down the stairs, without dropping a call. Easy set-up, great coverage, a system perfect for my situation! Please note that this product was a free sample from Linksys. It was provided to me for my review in exchange for my honest feedback.
Date published: 2018-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expanded my internet This system is an “upgrade” from EA8300 Max-Stream AC2200 Tri-Band Wi-Fi Router that was paired with a Max-Stream range extender for my 2,000 sq ft single story home - I experience a significant signal strength loss as I have a brick wall / fireplace in the center of the house. I had to try multiple node locations to get “through” the wall but finally found a place for the second node near a window and my assumption is that it’s paired with node 1 around the wall as opposed to through it. The third node is then placed in the office - giving me a node one both sides of the house with one in the middle. The three nodes are paired similar to a series circuit with node 1 connected to the modem, node 2 paired to node 1, and node 3 paired to node 2. I’ve experienced no loss of network speed with the nodes paired this way (node 3 returned the same speed test results as node 1). It takes some time to find the right node placement for your physical configuration but once you’ve found it, the connectivity and speed is great. Out of the box (and by design) all 2.4 and 5 GHz frequencies are in the same SSID and the system constantly tries to identify the best for each device. For me, that resulted in random connectivity issues. That was addressed by changing the SSID for the 5 GHz frequency and manually connecting streaming devices like Rokus to that frequency and random devices like iPads and iPhones to the 2.4. I live in a rural area so there’s not a lot of traffic or interference in the 2.4. It’s easy to set up and the app is quite intuitive - but at times painfully slow - be more patient than I was and setup will be a breeze. Find your node placement and customize the frequencies as needed for stuation. It’s well worth it for internet piece of mind.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from With the AC3900, you can move your wireless signal I received my Belkin International - Linksys Velop Intelligent Mesh WiFi System last Tuesday. On Wednesday I had about three hours free in the evening during which I thought I could install the VELOP and connect my devices. It turns out that the most time I needed was just under an hour to: Disconnect my old router. Connect the first of three VELOP nodes to my cable modem. Run the Linksys App on my iPad. Launch setup from the app. And Voila' - I was online with my first node! The above steps took about 15 minutes. That included reading the instructions and thinking about best location for the first node. After that is took another half hour to choose locations and setup the other two nodes using the Linksys app. And by the way - the app lets you know if you have selected the best location from the base node. I have a two story 100 year old house. The modem and base node are in the living room near the cable ingress. The nodes are sleek and modern looking and aside from the calm blue light on the top, are quite unobtrusive. The second node is about 30 feet from the base in a sunroom that was added to the main house. There is a lot of metal in the sunroom and the signal has to pass through an old outside wall. The third node is on the second floor in a room above the room housing the first node. Both nodes indicated strong signal reception after installation. In general, the nodes are very easy to install. The Linksys app is very intuitive and passes setup information along to you in an easy to understand manner with suggestions for better placement for optimum performance. All of the above dialogue I classify as "Pros" for the system. The only "CONS" I experienced are: The AC3900 has a limit of 100 Mbps per node. My internet service offers up to 300 Mbps service. The best system for my service would have been the AC6600 system which can utilize the faster internet transfers. I can still stream movies, but then I have more than one data hungry device online, there is a slowdown noticed. The other "CON" is that while the nodes look sleek and modern, some family members think they are too obvious and add to the clutter of the room. Over all, the system works well. The Linksys app is very easy to use and offers many options that most people might useful. I recommend this system to anyone who is having trouble getting clear and strong wireless signals in all areas of their home and yard. Keep in mind that these nodes can be moved at anytime to fine tune and optimize your signal.
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the improvement I expected Pros: + Attractive devices. + Very easy to do a basic setup. + Attentive customer service, always available - This would have been a 1-star review if it had not been for the patience, tenacity and politeness of their people. Cons: - This 3-pack model is a dual band setup. Cheaper, but don't be confused and think that you are buying the original three band system. Notably that model was most often criticized for its exorbitant price. - 5GHZ & 2.4GHZ bands by default work under same SSID, not ideal for SmartHome setups. Wi-Fi SSID can be setup as unique per band, but in doing so, you become an unusual user and must implement these functions OUTSIDE of the phone app, and inside of their sketchy web UI pages. - Weak support for "unusual users" meaning they want to help, and oh they try, but solutions don't materialize. Other Thoughts: I didn't buy Velop to improve coverage on 2.4GHZ. I invested so that I could continue to operate all my SmartHome stuff that requires 2.4GHZ which was all working fine before. I bought it to build solid coverage in a 2500 sq ft. two story with a basement on 5GHZ so our phones, tablets, and laptops would all be better served. I'm yet disappointed. * Key problem - not yet solved - the 5GHZ band will only support channel 36 as control. If you have neighbors who are also inhabiting 36... THIS IS NOT A GOOD PRODUCT FOR YOU. After hours on the phone with tech support, there seems to be no solution. Their web UI, which constantly informs you go back to the phone app, show facilities to change (click the "CA" in bottom right corner of the page) but the system does not change channel. I'm guessing here, but it is possible that this is how they "engineered" dropping the third band to lower the cost of this system. They have a channel selection "tool" that pretends to be optimizing channel selection, which works on 2.4GHZ channels, but never changes 5GHZ channels. (Verified with two different third-party phone apps.) * Attracted by a deal, I installed two of these three nodes, into the same locations previously occupied by a single Google Wi-Fi node (in bridge mode) and an Asus RT-87 which was my primary router then, as it is now. Neither the Velop or the GooFi Mesh nodes support advanced router functions such as QOS or whole network VPN client setups. I relocated the Asus to a basement location and turned off 2.4 GHZ on it and put the 3rd Velop into my office which was always starved for 5GHZ signal. This arrangement, I'd hoped, would assure great 5GHZ coverage everywhere in my home. Now read the title again.
Date published: 2018-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Great Concept I looked forward with great anticipation to installing the Linksys Velop Whole Home Wi-Fi Dual-Band 3-node system, since I could add two extra nodes for the two difficult areas of the house. There were a few bumps along the way. Setting up the master node was the easiest of the group. Plug it all in, wait for the correct color lights to show up, and then finish the install on the mobile app. The other two nodes were a little more time consuming. I started with the second node in the bedroom perhaps just fifteen feet away. It would not connect to the master node. So I moved it right next to the master for programming purposes. It connected this time but the light was yellow, meaning a weak connection. I finished the install and then moved it back to the bedroom where it reset and the light came up blue this time, which meant a good connection. Sure enough, in the office and bedroom, signal was full-strength. The third node also did not connect to the master from its location downstairs in the living room (about 30 feet away) so I once again put that node right next to the master. This time the light came up blinking red which meant it was out-of-range. I figure something must be awry with the firmware as they were six inches apart. Once again I finished the install which congratulated me on a successful connection. I moved the third node downstairs to its location near the TV and the light came up red. However, the signal was strong right next to the node just like the two upstairs. About fifteen minutes later I checked on that node and the color had changed to yellow even though it had a strong connection. The firmware on all the nodes has already been updated, so perhaps the next update will clear up the light color issue. Of the Linksys router installs done to this point, only the Velop system has a full strength signal no matter which room you go to. The single router systems lost strength in the corners of the house, and the system with the paired extender did well downstairs but it was unable to provide as strong a signal as the Velop. An hour after the initial install the bedroom node turned from blue to yellow, and the living room node turned from yellow to blue. Signal is still strong so we'll see what future firmware updates may provide. I would have to say the Velop system (in my case the 3 nodes) does work as intended and provides a more seamless roaming experience. The only question mark is that the color of the node lights may be incorrect. The AC3900 is for basic internet at speeds up to 100 Mbps, which worked well with my internet setup. Overall wireless speed did seem to be a bit slower than on the dedicated routers. Finally, though I received this mesh system at no cost, I would expect that those looking to upgrade an older system would need to factor the higher cost of this system into their considerations.
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for large homes! I received my Linksys Velop AC3900 WiFi router system 3-Pack (in white) last week in a box that was torn and half open, but the Linksys packaging was kept in perfect condition due to decent Linksys packaging. I knew I'd better set it up right away to make sure nothing was damaged. 15 minutes later I was up and running. The initial setup is so simple. Install the power cord and modem cable (included) to the node, plug it in and watch for the flashing purple light. The next step is adding the Linksys app to my phone. Since I already had the app installed to manage my Linksys 3200ACM router, I found it a little confusing trying to tell the app to use the Velop router instead of the 3200 router. Once I had that sorted out I was able to find the Velop and activate it. I then was able to label the first node “Living Room”. Immediately my two computers, two tablets, and phone were able to find “Living Room” and connect. The app displayed each device in use and allows special settings for each one. I then unboxed the second node and plugged it in on the other end of the house. It only needs to plug into an outlet, not the outlet and modem like the first node. It took about five minutes to locate “Living Room” and allow me to name it in the app. I named that one “Guest Bedroom”. My phone found it right away in its “settings”. The app has icons for easy identification of devices and displayed phone, computer and tablet icons, one for each unit. It was now time to unbox node three. I set that up on the lower floor of our house. I was curious as to how that would perform as our floors are insulated for both sound deadening and fuel economy. Five minutes later it was sending me information. So all three nodes were active an working within fifteen minutes of unboxing, pretty impressive. I have a home-based business and appreciate that I can have a dedicated channel for my business and a secondary “Guest” channel for everyone else. Two great features in the app are the “Prioritization” and “Parental Controls”. I can give my computer 1st priority and the tablets secondary priority so my work machine runs with the most efficiency. When the grandkids are here they can use the guest channel and I can set the “Parental Control” for “lights out” at 10:30 p.m., a feature they don’t like at all (sorry kids). My Linksys 3200ACM router, which has been the rock star of routers, is faster than the Velop and has more channels to choose from. To get the same speed and functions I would want to move up to the Velop AC6600 system which offers 300 Mbps (vs 100 Mpbs) and a Tri-Band Wi-Fi instead of Dual-Band. That said, the AC3900 works just great and gives me much better coverage throughout my home than my 3200ACM. Since I rely on the 3200ACM for work I have both routers working separately to have the best of both worlds. So now I use the 3200ACM only for my work and the Velop for everyone else. It’s a win-win.
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good with a Caveat This product was my first dip into the very hot and trendy pool of mesh network routing. I have anxiously been hoping to get my hands on a mesh network as my home is a rather long and somewhat narrow town home. We regularly experience dead zones in the front and back of our house - say nothing to the garage and front/back yards. I had lofty dreams that this product would replace my standby Linksys routers and fix all of my internet woes. First, lets talk about all of the good things this Velop variant does - and there are plenty. Setup - getting this system out of the box and serving your internet needs is stupidly easy. The instructions walk you through step by step of the required steps and with only a couple of tiny snags that revolved around placing the Velop stations in the proper places around your home this process was not only simple but fast.The system immediately just worked - which I see as being a pretty critical part of any technology offering in 2018. Gone are the days of enduring heaving tweaking and forced software updating right out of the box. The Velop system instantly updated its firmware and walked me through the process of optimizing my network for a congested urban living environment. Next, a compliment is owed to the Linksys App which has consistently been improving and with the Velop system I finally saw what the app was made for - it has always been a serviceable app and easy to use, but with Velop it just feels tailor-made.I asked my wife to make some tweaks on the app and she had zero trouble with navigating the tasks - this is not a standard experience with other IoT devices. Lastly, the Velop system is the first Linksys device that I actually think looks handsome. I have always loved the Linksys hardware, but from a style standpoint - well they were never much to look at. That seems to be changing if the Velop is the company's attempt to craft a new design style for fresh start devices. Now, I mentioned that I had a caveat that kept me from p making this device my primary router. The units I have under testing are dual band and many of those devices are 5ghz capable and part of my smart home setup. These units ran fine at first but once a few tablets and streaming devices were added the network began to slow dramatically. I have gigabit internet at home and after adding smart home devices to the Velop and then streaming one HD Netflix movie a quick speed check showed a download speed of 25Mbps whereas a speed check on my existing Linksys routers showed a near-gigabit download speed. I did retest a series of times while not streaming or gaming, but the highest download speed I ever got was 75 Mbps. I had a conversation with some friends who had experienced similar issues with other competing dual-band mesh systems and both friends had since upgraded to tri-band and had shared stories of dramatic improvement. That said, the tri-band alternatives Velop are nearly double the cost - so there is a price for that beefed up system. I have zero problem endorsing AC3900 Velop system but I would argue that this system would be ideal in a smaller home or a larger apartment - perhaps even units with walls that are otherwise problematic to traditional wifi setups. At the end of the day this is a fantastic system and to me gives hope for what will come from Linksys in the future.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good with a Caveat This product was my first dip into the very hot and trendy pool of mesh network routing. I have anxiously been hoping to get my hands on a mesh network as my home is a rather long and somewhat narrow town home. We regularly experience dead zones in the front and back of our house - say nothing to the garage and front/back yards. I had lofty dreams that this product would replace my standby Linksys routers and fix all of my internet woes. First, lets talk about all of the good things this Velop variant does - and there are plenty. Setup - getting this system out of the box and serving your internet needs is stupidly easy. The instructions walk you through step by step of the required steps and with only a couple of tiny snags that revolved around placing the Velop stations in the proper places around your home this process was not only simple but fast.The system immediatley just worked - which I see as being a pretty critical part of any technology offering in 2018. Gone are the days of enduring heaving tweaking and forced software updating right out of the box. The Velop system instantly updated its firmware and walked me through the process of optimizing my network for a congested urban living environment. Next, a compliment is owed to the Linksys App which has consistently been improving and with the Velop system I finally saw what the app was made for - it has always been a serviceable app and easy to use, but with Velop it just feels tailor-made.I asked my wife to make some tweaks on the app and she had zero trouble with navigating the tasks - this is not a standard experience with other IoT devices. Lastly, the Velop system is the first Linksys device that I actually think looks handsome. I have always loved the Linksys hardware, but from a style standpoint - well they were never much to look at. That seems to be changing if the Velop is the company's attempt to craft a new design style for fresh start devices. Now, I mentioned that I had a caveat that kept me from p making this device my primary router. The units I have under testing are dual band and many of those devices are 5ghz capable and part of my smart home setup. These units ran fine at first but once a few tablets and streaming devices were added the network began to slow dramatically. I have gigabit internet at home and after adding smart home devices to the Velop and then streaming one HD Netflix movie a quick speed check showed a download speed of 25Mbps whereas a speed check on my existing Linksys routers showed a near-gigabit download speed. I did retest a series of times while not streaming or gaming, but the highest download speed I ever got was 75 Mbps. I had a conversation with some friends who had experienced similar issues with other competing dual-band mesh systems and both friends had since upgraded to tri-band and had shared stories of dramatic improvement. That said, the tri-band alternatives Velop are nearly double the cost - so there is a price for that beefed up system. I have zero problem endorsing AC3900 Velop system but I would argue that this system would be ideal in a smaller home or a larger apartment - perhaps even units with walls that are otherwise problematic to traditional wifi setups. At the end of the day this is a fantastic system and to me gives hope for what will come from Linksys in the future.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great whole house coverage. I was looking forward to getting the Velop system. It was growing tiresome of needing to check and change the wifi setting depending on where I was in my house. I have a WRT3200ACM as my router on the first floor at one end of the house. Then a WRT1900AC on the second floor almost halfway to the other side of my house, which is set in bridge mode to the 3200. The box for the Velop was lighter than I expected for three nodes and power supplies. I almost expected it to be missing some hardware. But no, the units just happen to be light weight. I configured the first AC3900 node to replace my A3200 temporarily. This was to see how simple it was to do so. It was able to be configured pretty easily with the Linksys app. Next I wanted to setup some of the advanced features that I perform for my home network. Specifically some port forwarding to reallocate some application defaults to different ports on the internet or WAN side of the router. To my dismay these do not have any of that functionality. Then I continued to setup the other two nodes across the house. Following the directions I set the second node up where my 1900 was placed on my second floor. Then finally the third node at the far side of the house. They both linked up with blue lights per the instructions which probably took about three minutes each. Now for throughput testing. For this I’m using an iPhone X. As I sat in the home office 3 or 4 feet away from node1, the up and down speeds were very good, topping out my ISP’s 200Mbps down, 35Mpbs up advertised connection rates. When running the tests the iPhone’s settings had cellular and bluetooth disabled to ensure I was only connecting to the WiFi network. (Img 1 of the Ookla Speedtest output.) Next I sit close to the second node, it shows that it is connected directly to the first node in the home office. To ensure I was connected to it directly I disabled and re-enabled the WiFi on the iPhone. I’m assuming the algorithm works correctly on the mesh network so that the iPhone will connect to the closest and therefore strongest AP. For perspective, lets say my house is an “expanded cape cod” with a total of just about 2100 square feet of space. At least a few walls and a floor between each node as the network cascades across the house. It seems depending on the time of day, I tend to get different results on download throughput for nodes 2 and 3. Logically this does not make sense but that’s what I am seeing. Img2 shows node 2. Noticing node 2 speed drops considerably then a bit more for node 3 as seen in Img3. In my experience the connection to the network SSID shows nice consistency for overall connectivity as I move around my house. The network name shows all three bars as it gets handed off from node to node. Just the further away from the Primary node the overall expected download throughput gets lower. Not great but not terrible for me since the heavier usage will be near node one 85-90% of the time. Youtube and music streaming for mobile devices as well as the Amazon Echo’s across the how work just fine. Even while streaming music on three Echo’s, video on an iPad Pro and two Apple TV’s. Not bad at all. Overall I have to say Linksys did a good job with the mesh network it is seamless. As for my experience with the speed loss on the far side. Logic says perhaps the premium Tri-Band model would have better download throughput speeds. This model is only Dual-Band and the specification does state a recommended max ISP connection of 100Mbps. I don’t agree with that 100% since the physical LAN and WiFi speeds are 1Gbps and an AC1300 (867 + 400 Mbps) respectively. Again though a good value and purposeful mesh network for seamless connectivity throughout the home for users that do not need Port forwarding or VPN networks.  Note: After the testing above I put the Velop System in the Bridge mode connection to my WRT3200ACM, where the WiFi on the 3200 is disabled and the Primary AC3900 is connected via 1Gbps hardwired to it. This way I have my port forwarding and VPN capabilities.
Date published: 2018-07-28
  • y_2019, m_4, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-WHW0103, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 421ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Support
‡Maximum Performance derived from IEEE Standard 802.11 specifications. Actual performance may vary, including lower wireless network capacity, data throughput rate, speed, range and coverage. Performance depends upon many factors, conditions and variables, including building materials and construction, volume of network traffic, mix of wireless products used, interference and other adverse conditions. In order to achieve the best performance, this product must be used with compatible AC1300 wireless devices. The standard transmission rates for each node—867 Mbps (for 5 GHz radio), 400 Mbps (for 2.4 GHz)—are the physical data rates. Actual data throughput will be lower and may depend on the mix of wireless products used and external factors.