text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Use our customizer tool to find out which mesh router combo is the best fit for your home

Select Size:

Select Color:

  • white
  • black

$349.99

Find a Distributor
Add to Wish List
This item is added to your WISH LIST

Free Shipping on all orders.
Details

Features
Linksys Velop

Wi-Fi THAT SETS YOU FREE

Linksys Velop is a high-performing modular WiFi mesh system of nodes built to provide exceptional Wi-Fi coverage throughout your home. It sets up in minutes and delivers a flawless, ultra-fast, full-strength signal. It sets up in minutes and delivers a flawless, ultra-fast, full-strength signal.

Sleek Design

CHOOSE BETWEEN BLACK AND WHITE COLOR OPTIONS

The Linksys Velop is available in black or standard white finish, so you can choose the color that best matches the style of a particular room or the devices that you already own. For instance, choose a white node to coordinate with your kitchen, and a black node to blend in seamlessly with your home entertainment center.

Tri-Band Mesh Wi-Fi Solution

TRI-BAND MESH Wi-Fi SOLUTION FOR EXCEPTIONAL SPEEDS

Featuring Dynamic Tri-band technology, Velop outperforms the competition by providing faster speeds through its combination of three Wi-Fi radios, each tuned for optimal Wi-Fi load balancing to ensure peak Wi-Fi performance throughout the home. Whether you're streaming 4K content, gaming, or video chatting, Velop delivers exceptionally fast Wi-Fi to ensure optimal performance even when multiple Wi-Fi devices are connected.

Tri-Band Mesh Wi-Fi Solution
Modular Wi-Fi Solution

MODULAR Wi-Fi SOLUTION THAT CONFIGURES TO YOUR NEEDS

Velop's modular design performs well within every home type, situation, and footprint. Each Velop node is a powerful Tri-Band connection point offering up to 2,000 square feet** of coverage.

Townhouse? Ranch style? Brick or steel? Simply add additional nodes to work around walls, problem areas, or multiple stories.


SEAMLESS WI-FI EXPERIENCE

A SINGLE, SEAMLESS Wi-Fi EXPERIENCE

The Velop mesh system operates as a singular network that works to ensure a 100% seamless connection as you move throughout your home.

3-Year Limited Warranty

BACKED BY 3-YEAR LIMITED WARRANTY AND TECH SUPPORT

Velop carries a premium level of support and is backed not only by a three-year warranty, but also by a three-year tech support guarantee with a dedicated phone support line.*

Sleek, compact design

SLEEK, COMPACT DESIGN

Velop is designed for high-performance Wi-Fi. Each Velop features a beautiful, sleek design that can be placed in open spaces, and away from obstructions to provide the best in-home Wi-Fi experience.

Compact in size, Velop is easy to place throughout the home and features an 88% smaller footprint than that of a traditional router. Its tower design supports vertical antenna placement, which enhances Wi-Fi dispersion throughout your home. Additionally, Velop features a cable management system designed to hide connected cables and keep your home clutter-free.

Works with Amazon Alexa

VELOP WORKS WITH AMAZON ALEXA

When paired with Alexa, Velop gives you access to a variety of convenient voice commands. For example, you can verbally turn Guest Wi-Fi on or off by stating, "Alexa, ask Linksys to turn on my guest Wi-Fi."

LINKSYS APP


Linksys App

CUSTOMIZE AND MANAGE YOUR HOME Wi-Fi ANYTIME, ANYWHERE

With the Linksys App, you can closely monitor and manage your home Wi-Fi remotely using a smartphone or tablet.

  • Parental Controls: Ensure a safe Internet experience for your kids--even when you're away from home. Reduce online distractions during homework, family or dinnertime. Restrict access to inappropriate or distracting content, control usage, and block specific devices from accessing the Internet.
  • Guest Access: Generate a separate, password-protected Wi-Fi network for up to 50 guests and easily share the password via text.
  • Device Prioritization: Prioritize devices that need the most speed.
  • Auto-Fix: Automatically select the best channel for your device and eliminate congestion with the push of a button.
  • Speed Test: Easily test and monitor your Internet connection's speed to make sure you're getting full speed from your provider.

QUICK AND EASY SETUP

Managing your home Wi-Fi with the Linksys App is fast and easy:

Step 1 Download the Linksys App

Download the Linksys App

Linksys App on iOS Get Linksys App on Google Play
Step 2 Connect to your modem

Connect to your modem

Step 3 Name your Wi-fi & create password

Name your Wi-Fi & create password

Step 3 Place nodes throughout your home

Place nodes throughout your home

Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    Tri-Band AC2200 (867 + 867 + 400 Mbps)‡ with MU-MIMO and 256 QAM
  • Key Features:
    • Simultaneous Tri-Band Wi-Fi Mesh System
    • Seamless Wi-Fi
    • Easy App Controls
    • 3-Year Warranty and Support
    • AutoFix & Instant Alerts
    • Works with Alexa
  • Network Standards:
    • 802.11b
    • 802.11a
    • 802.11g
    • 802.11n
    • 802.11ac
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    Simultaneous Tri-Band (2.4Ghz + 5GHz + 5GHz)
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    2x WAN/LAN auto-sensing Gigabit Ethernet ports
  • Antennas:
    6x internal antennas and high powered amplifiers
  • Processor:
    716 MHz Quad Core
  • Memory:
    4 GB Flash and 512 MB RAM
  • Wireless Encryption:
    WPA2 personal
  • Easy Setup:
    • Simple and secured App based set-up
    • Required for set-up: (1) Internet connection with Modem. (2) Mobile device with Android 4.4 or iOS 9 and higher, Bluetooth preferred.
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    3.1" x 3.1" x 7.3" per Node
  • Security Features:
    WPA2 personal
  • Additional Information:
    Bluetooth 4.0/LE for secure and easy App based set-up
  • Beamforming:
    for 2.4 GHz and 5GHz bands
Package Contents
  • Linksys Velop (x2)
  • Ethernet cable (x1)
  • Power adapter (x2)
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Printed Documentation
Reviews

Press

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible! Horrible! Horrible! Purchased this system from Best Buy 3-27-17 and took attempted to set it up in my home. No luck! constant "node off map" error message. Called customer service and went through the entire firmware updates and trouble shooting process. 1 hour and 19 minutes later still no communication between nodes and was told to return it to Best Buy for a new system. 3-29-17 new system picked up from Best Buy and guess what...still same error message with an entire new system. Guess I will be returning this one as well and purchasing the competitor.
Date published: 2017-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from great range inconsistent speeds had for just under one month. solved all of my range issues but would not play nice w/ fios service. I plug directly into the optical network interface on the side of my house with an RJ45 by passing the need to use big reds outdated router. This proved to be changeling. Linksys tech support was excellent but fios would not entertain the fact that their router was out of the loop and was unable to change anything in the Velop setup with the thin android/IOS setup app. In the end I got the Orbi with a much more robust web based setup interface solving all the issues.
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Velop and Network Attached Storage Devices I'm wondering if you can setup velop to integrate with a NAS?Also Can I use a Ethernet to USB adapter to connect a storage device to the unit? Internet is great all over the home, but without being able to backup your devices or manage those backups, I feel is a real let down. The cloud isn't for everyone and I would like to backup my computers to an external HDD right on my network, so i'm hoping that it's possible somehow. Anyways Ill see how this whole home system compares to my standalone netgear X6 in the next 30 days. I'm hoping for consistency with this unit, because netgears products have speed drops constantly which becomes very irritating
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Speeds, Not what they say I have the 3 pack for about a month and a half now, and I was hoping to get the 100% speeds throughout my house like they advertise. I do not get even close to the speeds from my ISP. I get 367-370 MPS from my ISP, and when I do a speed test from my phone (galaxy S7) on the 5ghz channel, I get 253 MPS (at best) and when I am on the 2.4GHZ channel, it is in the 90's. I spent a lot of money on this and switched from the Google Wifi (which was MUCH cheaper) because of the tri band functionality and thought that would make a difference. NOT I am VERY disappointed!!!
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally - Total Home WIFI coverage Still to early to give the "VELOP" five stars. But so far so good - I notice a immediate difference with "NETFLIX" streaming (no buffering). The "VELOP" (3 nodes) is covering over 5000 sq. ft. in my home - with TV's constantly streaming, with over 25 devices (phones, IPads, PC's, Washer & Dryer, printers, etc.) and there nothing I can complain about (except a "burp" here and there with Comcast). I had a minor problem during installation (user induced) and had to start the process over - but installation is a straight forward process. All-In-All - if you are experiencing WIFI issues in your home - the may be answer you are looking for.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In-freaking-believabke Went from a poor quality modem router providing 6mbps download speed when I pay for 75mbps. Now...we'll, see the photo. I got an amazing discount on the 3-pack, paid $300. But it's an amazing system. The first picture is in my living room 15 feet from Node A. The second, in the corner of my second story about 30 linear feet from Node A. I suppose I will install one of the other nodes, for the heck of it, and hope I'll someday have a home large enough to use all 3! The application is also awesome. Had trouble connecting my harmony hub. Went to the app, found the hub and the IP address, and poof, wahla, abra cadabra-connected. I just installed this thing 5 minutes ago, so not much more to speak on yet.
Date published: 2017-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Dime! I just bought the 3 tower Velop system to solve a problem I was having with spotty wifi in a large house (4,000 sq ft). I had a great router but it was located in the back of my house which gave me very poor wifi in the front because it was too far away. I added an extender but now it created a secondary wifi network xxxx-5G-EXT that you would have to make sure you logged in to when in the front portion. It was a pain. This new Velop system gives me uninterrupted service through all 4,000 square feet under the same network name with no loss in signal strength. I thought it was a bit expensive but it was worth every dime. If you have a big house, BUY IT!
Date published: 2017-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great way to cover your entire home with wifi. Technology is ever changing. When Linksys announced the Velop Mesh System, I wondered what could it be? A router and extender combined in a single unit? Was I right, a totally new design for home users. Setup was easy, but a requirement is that you need the Linksys App and Bluetooth. Followed the steps on the app and the setup was fast. You don't need to be a techie for the installation. The app will guide you step by step all the way. Connect the first node to the modem with the supplied eathnet cable, the system will indicate if it successful or not. Proceed to the next step for the second node. As suggested, do not place it too far away from the first node. The nodes are designed to blend in to your surrounding decor. After setup, that you can put the nodes in areas that have low wifi signal. At the end, it will ask you to give a unique name to your mesh system. Once done, your connected. That simple. I placed one in the family room, the other in the upstairs landing. Tested speeds was fast through the house. The improvement I got was in the garage and backyard. I had connectivity issues with my previous system, but with this, no problems. I highly recommend this system if you got the cash to spare. A bit pricy but it blends into your home decor. It comes in one, two or three nodes. For a one room apartment, you can get the one node setup. My house is about 2000 sq ft. and two nodes worked perfectly.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully Designed And Excellent Speeds The Velop Whole-home Wifi 3-Pack came in a beautiful designed box, the unboxing experience was pure joy, simple and elegant. As you open the box you have 3 gorgeous routers staring you in the face. These are designed with class you will not want to hide them in a closet or behind things, you can leave these in the open and barley notice them. They did a wonderful job designing these. The setup process was very easy, you can tell they did a lot of engineering to make this go as smooth as it can. The setup is done via an App, both android and iOS is supported. So please make sure you have a tablet or phone ready. Setting up the first node is simple, just following the instructions on the app, once that is setup you have options to setup more nodes, again very easy if you just follow the app. I had zero issues setting mine up. Each node has 2 ethernet ports, your first node will have to be used as WAN/LAN but the other nodes will provide 2 LAN ports. My first node I have a switch connected to the LAN port with zero issues. I believe you can also set these nodes up using ethernet cables vs wireless, but to me I don't see why you need to because the wireless connection to each node is solid. Coming from my old router I see huge speed improvements in certain parts of my house. For example one room in my house was almost impossible to get wifi to, when I did a speed test it came in at 41/20 and could only be on the 2.4ghz range, never could I get anything to connect using 5ghz range. Once I placed a node in this room I was able to get 150/25, a huge improvement. The speeds are like that throughout my house, I have 1 node in my basement and two nodes upstairs. I can walk anywhere in the house and alway have full bars and a fast connection. I'm also seeing a huge improvements on my connection outside of the house, so its nice to be in the yard and still have wifi. Streaming netflix, youtube and playing video games (xbox) I had zero buffering issues, I haven't tried streaming 4k. I have 25 devices connected to my nodes and haven't noticed any issues yet. I do have a con for the Velop system, the parental controls need improved, I believe they can do that in the next update or two. I have no way to setup times I want my kids to access the internet, the app says to use the web gui but when you go to the web gui there is nothing there to setup the parental controls. The only thing the app lets you do is block websites or that user. Also the geek inside me wants more control, I would like to see support where i can change the LAN IP and access to a web gui. Also IPv6 support. I am very impressed with this system, the speed and the range can not be beat, well done Linksys, well done.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product C R A P Support I was so happy with the first one i bought for my community pool, I bought another for my house. EZ to setup, it automatically creates settings and finds other units. A seamless experience. Our Club has a long narrow building with cinderblock walls - so a single access point can't get signal from one end to the other. I set up a Velop 3 pack and now have uniformly high speeds in all parts of the building and all around our pool 75 foot long building and 1.5 acre pool area. Fantastic signal everywhere. But... I called support. Oye. On hold for 15 minutes and no end in sight. I guess it had better work as support is awful. Just doesn't even respond
Date published: 2017-07-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not quite ready for prime time Brought he 3 pack. When your ISP goes up and down these VELOPs get confused, the remotes lose their connection, you have to power cycle them to get back on the network, there is a LACK of some commonsense RF signal level tools for placement and to make this thing work. Maybe in another year. When it's working it's really good. (about 80% of the time) when it's not is a PITA to get back running again. By the fourth or fifth time of reinitializing the base VELOP unit attached to my BB cable modem, I simply gave up and took them back to Best buy for a pair of WRT3600 Linksys - these work great and have accurate reporting information on what and who is on your home network (and you can use one SSID as well with them)
Date published: 2017-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great overall the setup was easy with the exception of when it tried to validate your login and then connect to Linksys cloud. Good think I had read a review telling me to connect to the setup SSID to proceed. Clearly, that is a miss by the technical team and the User Design group. Other then that I connect to the main router and then the other node. I then moved my node to my office which has an ethernet port plugged it in an it is flying. Interesting that I went from 473 MBPS being 30 feet away to 88 MPBS however there is to much interference. Once I plugged in ethernet back to 473 MBPS. Overall, I'm very pleased since I have a minimum of 190+ wireless in the the other rooms.
Date published: 2018-05-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mesh / node switchover not so good I bought this to roam around the house (3000 sq-ft). It was great as long as I didn't go from one side of the house to the other. If on the phone (Droid or Apple) using Wifi calling, it was painful to try and continue a conversation during the switch.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs improvement I received the Velop 2-Pack Whole-Home System from Linksys Friends+Family for free to test and give an honest review. I have spent the past few days using the system and have a few issues which need to be addressed. Everyone should understand that the product is brand new and will have a few bugs that need to be corrected. My concern at the moment is that it is very expensive and does not perform the way it is advertised, at least not in my home. I have always mentioned that if a network product came out and worked the way it was advertised in my home, it would work for anyone. I live in a two story home which is 2,700 square feet. The "comm room" is located on the first floor in the northwest part of my home. My office is located on the second floor in the southeast portion of my home. There are 4 walls and half a wall of glass separating the two nodes. Each node is supposed to cover 2,000 square feet so in total, I have a system that is advertised to cover 4,000 square feet. Both nodes do communicate but at a speed that is not close to what it should be. There is no way currently to see how the two nodes are performing. There should be a part of the Linksys app that shows how the connection between the two nodes are performing, like they have with the RE7000 extender. When I do a Speedtest from the node that is connected to my router, I get an average of 180 Mbits down which is what I got before the Velop. When I do the same test from my office, I get between 30 and 60 Mbits which is about the same as my connection when I go thru the RE7000. Hopefully, this can be corrected via firmware updates. As I said previously, this product is new and will take some adjustments by Linksys to make it better. I have two issues which may be due to my setup that need to be corrected. When I look at the DEVICES on the network thru the Linksys app, the following shows up, my Samsung Galaxy devices are only connecting to the 2.4Ghz band and not the 5Ghz band. This of course will greatly reduce the speed of my download tests via the SPEEDTEST app. Since there is no way currently to have more then one SSID defined, it makes it impossible to correct this. My devices do NOT have the ability to select the wifi band, not even in development mode. The other big issue for me is not having the ability to define my own sub-net. Without that there is no way I can use this in "production". The Velop is advertised as a router and an expensive one. It should have the same router setups as the other routers such as the WRT1900ACS and EA7500. For people living in a smaller house and not needing the requirement to have unique sub-nets and SSID's, the Velop may work for them. At the same time they may not need a Velop at all. I am going to try and get a third node which should correct my speed issues and if I do, I will see if I can update my review. I cannot recommend this product yet. They need to add more functionality and get better performance. In time I believe it will.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pleased with this first try at Mesh WiFi I have a large home which has always been a challenge to cover adequately with WiFi. I did a bit of research and decided to go with the VELOP whole home mesh WiFi system. In all to cover all the areas of a large home I have 5 units to insure full coverage. I find the system works well and I am hoping in time with firmware upgrades it will get even better. I do have occasional issues with a hub dropping offline (although it says all is fine in the app). However all in all - the coverage is good, the speed seems good and the setup could not be easier.
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Its ok I bought this a few weeks ago and not impress with the performance. I have read the mix reviews but still gave it a try. Bought 3 in a package. House is 3000sqft. I basically put each node in 1 room of each side of the house and main modem router is in the center. In the house it does say full par but does lag. It needs to switch off each node more smoothly. I have a node in my room and when I use my wifi in my backyard and thats beside my room, wifi seems pretty weak. They should make an update for nodes to switch more smoothly and connects the device to the nearest node. For the price its not worth it.
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features! Not very powerful. I've had the Velop wifi system for about 2 weeks. I am trying to replace a very powerful Linksys EA9500 router. I like the ease of setup and the apps. The first node took a while to connect to my router. I finally had to unplug it and try a different one and it connected right away (still not sure why) I don't like the fact that the first node you setup only has 2 wired ports. Wish it had more for a printer, etc. I have a 1,900 sqft (on the main level) ranch house so i setup 1 in the basement and 2 upstairs. Their power / range beyond 20 ft. isn't great. Wish they had more power. I might have to purchase 1 more node for better coverage in the basement. I really wish I could hook these in with my EA9500 to get the best of both worlds.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Velop Whole Home W-Fi 2 Pack I received this as a promotional Unit to try out and review it. I did not purchase it or am I being paid to write this review. The Velop I got was the 2 package unit. It is suppose to cover 4000 sq.ft. I have another Linksys router, the 1900 series and even though it is fast I was still having deapspot in my house, especially in the basement. This house is 3 levels so I put one unit in the Living Room and the other in the Basement. To my suprise I have no deadspots on any level including the outside front porch area. I get full bars on all my devices with Wi-Fi. The streaming of movies is also no cliches or problems when playing them. Setting this up was very easy. All I had to do was plug in the units and install it with the Linksys Smart app. I use android phones so that is how I did it. I already had the app installed on my phone as that is how I setup and accessed my othe Linksys router. To install the Velop series I had to logout of my current account and then it picked up the Velop in the living room first and all I had to do was create a new account with another email address and login. It is very simple as you just have to plug the first unit in and connect in via the supplied ethernet cable to your cable router. It found that unit and asked me to name it and create a password for it. Next it found the one in the basement and it asked me to name it and that was it. I even tried out the ethernet on the one in the basement by hooking up a laptop to it via ethernet cable and it hooked up with no problem finding the internet. I would high recommend this for anyone that has problems with deadspots in their home as this Velop system is great and the speeds are fantastic.
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solves all blind spots problems It is really awesome. VERY easy to install. The app guides you perfectly well. This is the only negative comment: The only thing the app does is that.. installation. In the rest of its features is totally unreliable (for example it shows devices which are connected when they are not and vice-versa). But the VELOP is totally awesome.
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing difference Amazing difference. I had a AC 1900 plus an extender for my house. The internet connection was fine but I had some random drops when multiple devices will connect plus when I go from one part of the house where the extender was located the signal will sometimes disconnect and reconnect. After I purchased the VELOP I have not had a drop in connection when multiple devices are connected at the same time, also going from on part of the house to the other where the other VELOP is connected I have no drops in connection. The wifi signal strength is a great improvement compared from my old router.
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Install, works great My setup before Velop was the Verizon Fios Gateway. The signal wasn't great, it would drop out, and was generally unreliable. Using the Linksys website, it was suggested that I get a two node system. I ordered it, took it out of the box and followed the instructions for setting the system up. It couldn't have been any easier. Not only that, the coverage is superior to that with the Fios Gateway. I am not a techy person, so I can't go into detail about other specifics, but what I know is that this was easy to install and it works great. In my opinion, it is certainly worth the cost.
Date published: 2018-08-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good coverage? These were more expensive than their competition but got decent reviews and so I purchased them to cover a single story 2,500 sq ft home. Not being terribly computer literate, I hired the Geek Squad to install the system for me. When the installer left my home all 3 nodes had blue lights indicating that they were all working properly. A few days later I noticed that the node farthest from the base has a yellow light. That situation has continued intermittently ever since so I re-called the Geek Squad again and they will be returning to troubleshoot the situation. All indications are from Linksys that this system is easy to install and works fine for a normal sized one story home-but apparently not.
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solved all of my dead spot issues. Wish I would have bit the bullet a long time ago and stopped screwing around with changing my router and extender positions, only to be foiled with either connectivity issues or items not working for one reason or another. One month later, I cannot believe that everything is working flawlessly, without rebooting anything, nor anything dropping off the network. I really, really, really like the App as I can tell without a doubt what is connected to the network. Word of caution here, connect one item at a time, rename it in the App so you know what it is before moving on to the next.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs a little work with the app Used iPhone to install the system. (This is a long review) First, I must say once everything is up and running the system works well. All my devices are running well and if this was the end of my review it would be 5 stars. First problem encountered was the install procedure stalled and there is no way to do anything at that point. The app is absolutely horrid when it gets stuck (loss of a star at this point). I figured ok and installed the app on my iPad and started again from the beginning. All seemed to work just fine. I gave it a new SSID (same name as my old SSID so I would not have to update all my devices) and same password as my old network. I should have known something was wrong when some devices made me fill out the password to connect and some did not. So started watching a movie on my firestick and it was working just fine; about 20 min into movie it freezes, no internet !! Alright, no problem. Checked app and now only 2 velops are showing. The 2nd one added which was where the firestick was connected had disappeared although the light was solid blue. The 3rd one installed was actually red but was showing as good to go on the app. OK, no problem, just reset the 3rd one and reinstall. Now the app froze on the iPad. No problem, reinstalled app on phone and started again. App froze again so now both devices are just stuck. (By the way app does not run on a computer.) Got the third one up and running again, but now the network was not secure anymore. The app showed WPA2 and the password was there, but network still unsecure. At this point I figured it was just time to completely start over. I was thinking maybe the two devices messed something up. Started over and everything went flawless. Network is up and running and not a single issue. I may come back and update later if necessary. Now the bad stuff !! The app does not work on the computer and that may be because they want you to be close to device while setting up and honestly not everyone has a laptop. Not defending the company, but that may be the reason the app does not work on the computer. Also, when the app hangs there is nothing you can do. I just uninstalled and reinstalled to get going again, that’s a no go. Additionally, the app still needs some tweaking because it shows some devices are connected via Ethernet when clearly for some devices it is not even possible; my truck connects to the net and it is reported as an Ethernet connection, not possible. I have 4 devices that are reported as Ethernet but they are all wireless. Fix the app !! Not all people have a modem with LAN inputs so they use a router. If you had more than one lan cable attached to your router then you would not have the option to connect all your devices to the velop because it only has an input for one device. (guess you can use an ethernet switch which will require additional space). For me, OK with my modem with 4 lan hookups, for many others, NO GO !! So you can see the app, no computer support, and one LAN hookup are some issues with the Velop. I will not ding the initial setup, but the install did hang which caused me to switch devices. So that is how Velop only earns 3 STARs from me.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wi-Fi All Over My Home Velop was just what I needed to help improve the wi-fi coverage in my home. My Linksys EA9500 router was getting the job done, but the Velop mesh system takes things to a whole new level in a great way. Beautiful packaging, easy to follow set up and everything you need to get up and going is in the box. The Linksys app is very intuitive and steps you through everything in a very organized way. The set up of the additional two nodes was really easy. You just follow the guide on the app and it does the rest. I love it. The performance overall is really good. Using just one node, the coverage was excellent all by itself. I am amazed with how something so small can work so well. My home is 4000 sq. feet. After installing Velop, I walked around the house with my wi-fi analyzer there are no dead spots anywhere in my home. It took me almost two hours to get the first node set up. I would get to the point when the node was trying to set itself up (it creates its own Wi-Fi access point) and would hang up there. I eventually figured out my alternate Wi-Fi point was interfering with the set up. Once I got that shut down..the first node set itself up like magic. It was my fault. I should have disabled the other Wi-Fi access point. The instructions and in app guide felt almost too simple for me. This was the easiest set up process I have ever seen. The only issue was (maybe not an issue) is that the app doesn't explain what the process is going to be before you start. You only find out as you go along. It would have saved me some time if I was told how to prepared my existing network prior to installation. Setting up the other two nodes was easy and trouble free. I thought the power supplies for the nodes are too big. They take up a lot of real estate on a power strip and if they needed to be that big, a vertical approach might have been better. They do work just fine on a standard wall outlet. Summary: Some minor set-up issues aside (it's on me), the system is great and is performing very well and totally solves my home's Wi-Fi coverage issues. My wife knew nothing about what I was doing and commented that the Wi-Fi in the house worked better than normal. There's your testimonial..
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I had been running on the Cable/Modem combo which my ISP gives out and I thought it was more than what I needed. That was not true at all, coverage was actually fair but the speed was terrible. I upgraded to the Velop system and spread all three units around the house and what a difference it made. I must admit, setting up was a little frustating as one of the steps was establishing communication with my modem and it took several restarts until it got it but after that it was all smooth sailing. Adding the other two modes was a breeze as the app walks you through it and well worth it at the end. I would recommend giving it a shot and what's the worst it could happen? You don't like it and return it (doubtful)
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very frustrating system Bought this system to speed up our internet and enable use throughout our home. Modem that came with nodes did not work or have a phone connection port. Instructions were confusing for startup but once we got hooked up with smart phone it was very easy. had to use current modem and once every node was set up it seemed like system was wonderful. Speeds and access throughout home were great. Since then the system is very unreliable and getting connection to internet very time consuming. Tried two different numbers for support and each time got someone who could not begin to help other than ask questions. They claim to have great support but seems to me it is a runaround. If someone doesn't resolve issues soon it will go back!
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Inconsistent Performance While I like the better coverage across the house, performance is very inconsistent. My WIRED connection CONSISTENTLY provides 350+ Mbps download speed and 23 Mbps upload speed, but my wireLESS connection does not provide consistent speeds at all. Sometimes it provides 150 Mbps download speed, which would be fantastic if it were consistent. But many times I get 7-8 Mbps download speed at the same place with the same device. (BTW, don't trust the speed test within the online app. It just gives you the wired download speed, so it always looks like it is fast. Use a third party online speed test.) At least with my previous WAP, I got consistent speeds. These devices cost WAY to much to provide such inconsistent performance.
Date published: 2017-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnificent Mesh! Although I've received three review requests from Linksys, I always wait a full three weeks before I review a tech product, so if there are Gremlins lurking they've raised their heads by now. No Gremlins I'm happy to report! We have a 3,000+ sq ft house, two stories, and we spend a good deal of our days in the back yard. Our Velop system gives us great coverage all over the house as well as a decent signal along the back fence of our back yard, a good 80 feet from the house. Easy installation, app is clear and concise with instructions. We're very pleased!!
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great System I've had this Velop (3 Pack) for about 3 weeks now and I must say this WI-Fi System is great. I only live in a about a 2200 sq ft ranch house and have put each of the nodes in different rooms, allowing for coverage of not only the entire house, but outside and even in the detached garage. I have coverage everywhere now. The biggest issue I had before the Velop, was my son would play games on his Xbox and computer (Wi-Fi) over the internet and the connections was slow and he would always gripe on how slow it was. Now since I have installed the Velop and installed one of the nodes in his room and connected his Xbox and computer with Cat6 cable to the node, he has not complained at all and said everything is working so much better.
Date published: 2017-02-08
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_221
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-WHW0302B, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 78ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Support
*Based on the maximum speed that data (Phy rate) can move across a wireless link while alternating between the two 5GHz radios in each node. Each node has three Wi-Fi radios – one 2.4Ghz Wi-Fi radio and two 5 GHz Wi-Fi radios. Each 5 Ghz radio has throughput of 867 Mbps. Nodes will alternate between the two 5 GHz radios for each separate connection, providing 100% seamless Wi-Fi to your network. Specifications are subject to change without notice. An active, customer purchased Internet Service Provider broadband account is required for connection of this product and other connected devices to the Internet. Some devices may require additional wireless adapters or an Ethernet cable to connect.
**Each node in the wireless system provides a range of up to 2,000 square feet. Range can vary with the number and placement of nodes in the system. Range specifications are based on performance test results under normal use case conditions. Actual ranges will vary depending on wireless obstructions, operating environments and building material. Wireless coverage claims are used only as reference and are not guaranteed, as each wireless network is unique.
†For full warranty and support information, please visit the product support page.
‡Maximum Performance derived from IEEE Standard 802.11 specifications. Actual performance may vary, including lower wireless network capacity, data throughput rate, speed, range and coverage. Performance depends upon many factors, conditions and variables, including building materials and construction, volume of network traffic, mix of wireless products used, interference and other adverse conditions. In order to achieve the best performance, this product must be used with compatible AC2200 wireless devices. The standard transmission rates for each node—867 Mbps (for each 5 GHz radio), 400 Mbps (for 2.4 GHz)—are the physical data rates. Actual data throughput will be lower and may depend on the mix of wireless products used and external factors.