text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features

ENGINEERED FOR ULTIMATE PERFORMANCE

Built on the foundation of our original WRT's open-source heritage, the Linksys WRT1200AC delivers superior network performance for the most demanding users. The WRT1200AC features two external antennas, a powerful 1.3GHz dual-core ARM, and Wireless-AC to provide high-speed Wi-Fi connections with exceptional range.

Linksys WRT1200AC Wireless AC Router

Linksys WRT1200AC Wireless AC Router

USB 3.0**, eSATA, & GIGABIT ETHERNET PORTS TO SHARE FILES

For competitive performance, we equipped the WRT1200AC with four Gigabit Ethernet ports featuring speeds up to 10 times faster than Fast Ethernet. Using the USB 3.0 port**, you can add external storage devices to share content across your network, or a printer for the office. For those with an external SATA storage device, the WRT1200AC is outfitted with an eSATA port for convenience and optimal data transfer rates. This port can also serve as a USB 2.0 port.

Linksys WRT1200AC Wireless AC Router

DUAL-BAND ANTENNAS AND BEAMFORMING FOR PROFESSIONAL-GRADE COVERAGE

To provide fast, reliable Wi-Fi coverage throughout your home or office, the WRT1200AC features two high-performance antennas engineered to enhance 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz dual-band wireless connections. With adjustable antennas and Beamforming technology delivering a focused signal to individual devices, you'll experience faster network speeds, better range, and reduced interference from other devices for strong, stable Wi-Fi connections.

FAST 1.3GHz DUAL-CORE PROCESSOR TO SURF, STREAM, & GAME SIMULTANEOUSLY

With a professional-grade, 1.3GHz dual-core ARM processor, the WRT1200AC is one of the fastest Wireless-AC routers in its class. Unlike standard single-core processors which have to switch between data streams and aren't as suited for multitasking, a dual-core processor can handle multiple data streams simultaneously. The result: better efficiency and performance, particularly in today's multi-device world.


Open Source

OPEN SOURCE READY

While the Linksys WRT1200AC provides an outstanding experience via Smart Wi-Fi immediately out of the box, advanced users can further modify the router with open source firmware. Developed for use with OpenWRT, an open source, Linux-based operating system, the router offers an additional layer of customization to suit your needs.


LINKSYS SMART Wi-Fi


CUSTOMIZE AND MANAGE YOUR HOME Wi-Fi ANYTIME, ANYWHERE

With the Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App, you can closely monitor and manage your home Wi-Fi remotely using a smartphone or tablet.

  • Guest Access: Create a separate, password-protected Wi-Fi network for up to 50 guests and easily share the password.
  • Parental Controls: Ensure a safe Internet experience for your kids -- even when you're away from home. Restrict access to inappropriate or distracting content, control usage, and block specific devices from accessing the Internet.
  • Device Prioritization: You can prioritize devices that need the most speed.

QUICK AND EASY SETUP

Managing your home Wi-Fi with Linksys Smart Wi-Fi is fast and easy:

Step 1 Set up your wireless home network

Set up your home Wi-Fi using a Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Router.

Step 2 Sign up for a Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Account

Download the free Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App.

Linksys Smart Wi-Fi on iOS Get Linksys Smart Wi-Fi on Google Play
Step 3 Customize your network with the Linksys Smart Wi-Fi apps

Use Your Mobile Device to Manage Your Home Wi-Fi.

Videos

Meet the WRT1200AC

  • Meet the WRT1200AC

  • The Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App has a Whole New Look & Feel

Show all videos
Technical Specs
  • Network Standards:
    • IEEE 802.11a
    • IEEE 802.11b
    • IEEE 802.11g
    • IEEE 802.11n
    • IEEE 802.11ac
  • Radio Frequency Bands:
    2.4 & 5GHz
  • Ports:
    Power, Internet, Ethernet (1-4), USB 3.0, USB 2.0 / eSATA combo
  • LEDs:
    Power, Internet, Ethernet (1-4), Wi-Fi Protected Setup, 2.4GHz, 5GHz, USB1, USB2
  • Buttons:
    Reset, Wi-Fi Protected Setup, Power
  • Operating Temperature:
    32 to 104 F (0 to 40 C)
  • Storage Temperature:
    -4 to 140 F (-20 to 60 C)
  • Operating Humidity:
    10 to 80% Noncondensing
  • Max. Link Rate:
    867 Mbps
  • Platform Compatibility:
    • Windows XP
    • Windows Vista 32/64
    • Windows 7 32/64
    • Windows 8 32/64
    • Windows 8.1 32/64
    • Mac OS X 10.5.8 Leopard
    • Mac OS X 10.6.1 Snow Leopard
    • Mac OS X 10.7 Lion
    • Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion
    • Mac OS X 10.9 Mavericks
    • Windows 10 32/64
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys Dual-Band Gigabit Wi-Fi Router AC1200, WRT1200AC
  • Quick Start Guide
  • CD-ROM with Documentation
  • 2 Antennas
  • Ethernet Cable
  • Power Adapter
Reviews

Press

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Less functions and slower speed than expected I just got it, so I don't know the reliability yet. It's good so far. However, as the online review from another website says, the router has less function compared to another high-end router such as antivirus function and traffic monitor. The range is pretty good for such small antennas. The speed is fast, but not as I expected. The another router I got provide me websites suddenly as I click. It also takes a while to update the configuration, even it has great specs on CPU and RAM.
Date published: 2015-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Performs well but setup was difficult This router performs well but it was very difficult to set up on my complicated network topology (DSL modem, Linksys router and a switch). Sounds simple but I attempted many permutations before I got it right, including setting up the modem as a transparent bridge (which didn't work). Eventually I ended up with both the modem and router acting as routers. I spent a long time with Linksys and CenturyLink tech support. Linksys tech support was outstanding, and eventually we got it working. The UI admin page functions are first rate. Specifically, I wanted to turn off the wireless radio at night and this router will do it.
Date published: 2015-12-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lousy setup process I purchased this product to add Wi-Fi signal to my home, and connect a couple of additional devices via hardwire to my network. (WebCams) This thing will NOT allow connections to the internet, and will NOT allow devices to connect to the modem/router my ISP provides. The wireless setup APP is also useless, even when connected to the router. I used this device for two years from a cable modem/router, but no way it will work with my DSL ISP. You should be able to enter an IP into a browser, set the this router IP address in relation to your first router, rename the wireless SSIDs and passwords, tell it not to enable DHCP and be off an running.  Not on this beast!
Date published: 2018-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Linksys WRT 1200 AC dual-band router Received my free router to test and rate from the Linksys friends and family program. Setup was super easy in that I plugged into my modem using the provided cable. Using the smart Wifi setup which included changing the default admin password I was super excited to see the network map feature and to have the ability to control which devices have controlled access to my data rates. I live in a two story 10 room home and have an adequate signal throughout the house. After initial setup my router started with both 2.4 and 5 ghz wirelelss available and included a guest network for both which I later deactivated. Minimal setting changes were required for my home network.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Numerous features I had been researching wifi routers in part due to choppy video/audio with iPad FaceTime operation. I did receive this Linksys WRT1200AC router free in return for an evaluation review. Packaging was fine. Setup was extremely easy and seamless, just followed the quick start guide for "replacing " existing 5yr old Linksys router. I like the Android app option to access and monitor network as well as the guest network option. It did seem to clear up the video/audio issue although more time may be needed to access that issue. My wife seems to think video imaging is sharper. Works well with our 2 story home with 2 computers and 1 - 2 smartphones and cable internet service.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Speed drop requires reboot At least once a day the speed drops from about 30 mbps to 3 mbps. Rebooting the router with the Linksys SmartWiFi utility or hardware reboot restores normal speed.
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great router linksys WRT 1200ac The Linksys WRT 1200ac offers a reliable Wi-Fi for small size house. It comes with a Dual core 1.3 Ghz CPU, 128Mb Flash, and 256MB DDR3 RAM. This router offers great signal for most of your devices iPad, iPhone, Laptops, desktops, and gaming consoles. It has a USB 3.0 port on the back which allows you to add your 3.0 USB external hard drive making this router act like a NAS storage device. Other features included in this router are network map, connectivity troubleshooting, open source, and guest access. The phone app allows you to access the routers setting and change them as you please locally or remotely. This router is stack-able meaning you can put it in top of another 1200ac WRT model or the 1900ac WRT or the Linksys switch shown in my pictures. I would not recommend this router for a two story house since signal is not the greatest in this model. However, I do recommend it for people in a one story house or one story apartment. One thing that I really want Linksys to change is the Marvell chip to a Broadcom chip as other routers perform better in my testing. The app from Linksys needs to be improved as well to show CPU and RAM usage, live bandwidth usage. This router is wall mountable as well. In conclusion, this router feels really sturdy does not feel like it was made from cheap material like other routers has a decent reliable Wi-Fi and offers decent features.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WRT 1200AC WiFi Router I received the WRT 1200AC Dual-band Router about three weeks ago. It was easy to set up following the instructions and prompts through Linksys Smart Wi-Fi. It worked well generally. However, some of the android devices would drop the connection and when trying to reconnect would not connect correctly and would ask for a login /password. I have not had the chance as yet to discuss the issue with support. I generally like Linksys products very much and I'm sure this product is as good. I just need some time to analyze the problem. I would generally recommend this to others. I do like the features which includes even an on/off switch which previous Linksys products do not have.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great router! I used this router to replace a WRT54G that was starting to show it's age. Setup was quick and easy, in less than 10 minutes I had configured the router using the same SSID and security as my old router so that all my devices would connect without requiring any changes. I like the Linksys Smart Wi-Fi interface, it is extremely easy to use. The router itself looks cool, I like the front display. So far, performance has been outstanding. Using an iPhone, I walked around my yard (outside the house!) at distances of up to 75 feet from the router and always maintained a strong signal. No issues at all within the house with iPhone wifi connection, multiple smart TVs and DVD players.
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! This router was amazingly easy to setup and install. The instructions that came with it were clear, concise, and well written. The range was the best I’ve seen in a comparably equipped configuration. With a USB 3.0 port and eSATA port, this router should be viable for many future upgrades. With this router, it is not necessary to customize any ports settings; it just works out of the box. Although there was not an option to install a custom DDNS, no other router currently on the market seems to have this feature as a standard. Even though I received this router as a free sample, to give an honest evaluation; I feel this is one of the best routers on the market for the money.
Date published: 2016-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much Better Wifi! I have had this router for 2 days, and it is head and shoulder above the N750 that I had before. I had even tried range extenders with old router. The range of the Linksys AC1200 is over double my old N router! Old router would not reach 2nd floor of house, Linksys works flawlessly, even our blueray player is now streaming correctly! Linksys AC1200 was very easy to set up, I followed the 5 step guide and was up in under 5 minutes. I used the Linksys wizard, and set my new network with same SSID and Password as old router, so I did not have to reconfigure my laptops and tablets. I like some of the upgraded features this router has. 1st- the media prioritization- my household does lots of streaming, so I enabled this to improve performance. 2nd- I am interested in the Open VPN. What is it? In English- It is a technology that lets you create a private connection. Why? If you are at a Coffe Shop, or an Airport, and you just connect, there is a good chance that others can see your data..Do I need to tell you how bad that is? Sites, data, credit cards....Ick! If you have a VPN, your device creates a private, safe, tunnel from your device back to your home that cannot be snooped easily. The Linksys AC1200 and AC1900 have this tech BUILT IN. You activate in your router, load the client to your device--laptop/tablet, and instead of leaking data, you are safe. I like the USB 3.0 port, but I have a 8 TB NAS, so I do not plan to hook up storage directly at this time. All in all, this was a great upgrade!
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not exactly what I've expected As I have a lot of problems with ISP's WLAN Router, they've suggested me to acquire additional one and shut down the signal from original one. The salesman in the computer shop suggest me the Linksys WRT1200AC router as top of the class and with a lot of additional features as Guest network, Advanced Management, Parental Control and so on. The problem is that I still need to reboot it quite often as the signal is breaking up all the time. The signal also completely disappear and after few seconds reaper again. I've checked with my ISP and they've claimed that the internet signal is steady all the time.
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mcelhaney 1200 router review Received my test 1200 router 4/14/16 and replaced my 2 year old router today (4/15/16) with the new unit. I disconnected my old router and connected the 1200 in my garage near the ceiling to get maximum signal coverage. I rebooted my cable modem and powered up the 1200. My IPad displayed and accepted the new signal immediately. My browser brought up the Linksys smart WI-FI settup page and after changing passwords I decided to not to settup the Linksys account since I would not be managing my network remotely. I ran several speed tests on both 2.4 and 5 Ghz settings finding a 50% increase in speed over my previous router and the signal range increased also primarily on the 2.4 setting.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! Great signal! I got this router less than a month ago and our entire house signal has improved dramatically. I was using another brand router that was not quite 2 years old. I always assumed we have thick plaster walls that the signal doesn't work good upstairs or down in the basement. This Linksys WRT1200AC router has no problem getting us a strong signal throughout our home. We have several items: 5 phones, 2 Ipads, android tablet and at times up to 4 computers on all at same time. No one has been complaining about slowness or the spinning circle since we hooked up this router. We have a 25mbps plan with our provider and finally seeing the expected results. Thank you Linksys for such a great product!
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! Great signal! I got this router less than a month ago and our entire house signal has improved dramatically. I was using another brand router that was not quite 2 years old. I always assumed we have thick plaster walls that the signal doesn't work good upstairs or down in the basement. This Linksys WRT1200AC router has no problem getting us a strong signal throughout our home. We have several items: 5 phones, 2 Ipads, android tablet and at times up to 4 computers on all at same time. No one has been complaining about slowness or the spinning circle since we hooked up this router. We have a 25mbps plan with our provider and finally seeing the expected results. Thank you Linksys for such a great product!
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast, reliable router that is easy to setup. First you will notice the famous, retro design of the Linksys WRT1200AC router. My first wireless router was the classic, rock-solid Linksys WRT54G so I was excited to review the next generation. The WRT1200AC has an easily stackable case that feels very sturdy compared to other consumer grade routers on the market. Other stackable Linksys products are the WRT Switch and a rumored WRT Storage Bay. This is one powerful router with plenty of ports. Speed is what you need for demanding video and a highly connected household of devices. Connections to the router from phones, tablets and computers is virtually instantaneous thanks to a dual-core processor running at 1.3GHz and plenty of RAM. It features four Gigabit Ethernet LAN ports and one Gigabit WAN (Internet) port. The router also has one USB 3.0 port and a unique port that can work as either a USB 2.0 or an eSATA. eSATA is a very fast port that many external hard drives use. Again, think large files or video streaming when it comes to eSATA. Wi-Fi aggregate throughput is 1200Mbps via dual streams over 5GHz and 2.4GHZ bands. This is a lot of bandwidth and should be more than adequate for most households. Our household has multiple gaming consoles, phones, tablets, notebooks and home office computers and never once was there an issue. It should be mentioned that phone type services like VOIP, Facetime and Skype worked flawlessly. Signal strength is strong throughout the main floor of our house and even successfully streamed Netflix video to our television in the finished basement. Linksys has set the bar when it comes to router software and ease of setup. You can quickly have this router functioning in minutes. Need a guest network to keep your connected devices safe from visitor's? No problem. Linksys has you covered in a couple of clicks. The guest Wi-Fi is completely segmented from your home network. The latest Linksys routers have something that I really love and that's a power rocker switch. Never again will you have to stumble around to find the power cable to power down your router. Not that I have experienced a time where I needed to with this router, however, one of the first things your Internet provider technical support asks you to do is power off and on your router. The rocker switch make is a breeze. In summary, the router performs extremely well in a heavily connected home. Speed to connect and stream is top notch. Video is no problem. If you are upgrading from a router that's even a couple of years old, you should see a big bump in overall performance. There is nothing like the feel of broadband on a dual-core router running at 1.3GHz.
Date published: 2016-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overcomes dense NYC wireless congestion I purchased this unit on sale with the hope that it's AC design and dual-band (2.4/5.0 MHZ) would overcome the enormous amount of low band congestion I have experienced in two Upper East Side of Manhattan. Congestion makes wireless operation virtually impossible. The unit works very well: laptop, Apple TV, Smart TV, iPhones, wireless printer. I am pleased with the results. I purchased the unit, in spite of a less-than-enthusiastic CNET review based upon my experience with Linksys over the years and their support for customers. A bit pricey but in the end a good value.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Router I received the WRT 1200AC router to evaluate and replace an aging router. Setup was a breeze. I just plugged the router into my cable modem, reset the modem and was going through the setup wizard in minutes. The performance is fantastic. I now have full Wifi throughout the house and it is much faster than my old router. The SmartWifi App is great, I can access my routers settings from anywhere. I enabled the DNLA server and connected a USB drive with Music, Movies and pictures, now I can view my media from every room without any additional software. This is definitely a router worth buying.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Device I received this router unit as a review unit from Linksys. Let me say though that if i were to get a router, this would be the one to get. The price point that it sells for is perfect for any medium size home/family, and the router is one of the fastest that I have used in the past 5 years. The new user interface that linksys has put together is very well crafted for a inexperienced user, but sometimes gets in the way with how more technical users might want to interface with it. Haven't had an issue other that a time when the network went down but that was due to the ISP. the LAN stayed up and i was able to stream 4k videos from my desktop to my screen at the other end of the house no problem.
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feature Packed! Easy to setup, works straight out of the box. Wireless range is better than my previous router. I have connected it to a DOCSIS 3.0 modem from my cable provider. The router setup pages are accessed via a web browser with all router controls clearly marked, page by page. I really love the user interface, simple and no ambiguous settings or check boxes to click. All grouped into different pages for the settings. It has a cool feature called media prioritization, just drag your device that’s marked to the top of the list, and no matter how many devices you are connected to, that device on the top of the list will always get a dedicated bandwidth. Great if you are working at home with the kids on their tablets and mom using her wireless computer in the kitchen streaming her movie while making dinner for the family. The external design looks futuristic with all the necessary indicators clearly laid out in front. One gripe I have is the indicators (light) are too small to see from across the room. Two adjustable external antennas are required to distribute the dual band Wi-Fi signals. It’s a feature called beamforming technology. It focuses the signal to your tablet for best performance. Four gigabit Ethernet ports are at the rear to connect your internet enable TVs, amplifiers, media players and game consoles. In this day and age, I find four ports a tad too few. I had to get a switch box as I have more than four devices that needs to be connected to the internet. Also at the rear, a combo USB 2.0/eSATA port and a USB 3.0 port are included. I prefer a separate USB 2.0/eSATA port for obvious reasons, a USB printer for print sharing and an external hard disk drive to access content while you are on a road trip can be connected. The file system storage supports NTFS, FAT and HFS+, so you can connect different format drives. Security is one of my biggest concern as I have small kids and the usual weekend guests. Parental controls is easy to setup to restrict websites and content for the young ones. Guest network allows you to create separate, restricted network access, keeping your private files and devices safe. Security features WEP and RADIUS, the other security protocols are Wi-Fi protected setup and WPA2 encryption. A Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App can be downloaded from the app store. Just login with your router userID / password and you can control the router settings from your iPhone. What a great function, you don’t even need a computer now to change settings. There are other apps that you can down load that can keep you busy all day. If you are into controlling everything with your phone, you got it! Overall a respectable, affordable router costing below $200 with all the bells and whistles included. Great if you’re just looking for an affordable, branded and with the latest features.
Date published: 2016-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally back to the Blue! Thank You Linksys. Let me first start by saying that I received this router from Linksys for my review. With that being said up front, I can honestly say that I would have purchased this router if I had not recieved it for free. I already was looking at the new WRT1900AC when I received this one. When I opened up the WRT1200AC and laid my eyes on it and the Blue hit me, I was almost in tears and was barely able to contain my excitement. Maybe its just me or a Geek thing but the look of my devices is as important as their abilities. Also it looked very similar to the original beast the WRT54G. I can't stress enough how happy I was to see that they brought back the original WRT style Blue and this time it was Open Source Ready out of the box. Open Source means basically that the router can be used with Firmware (software) written and developed by really anyone or any group. I have always been a fan of DD-WRT which I used daily on my older WRT54G. It has the ability to turn your basic router into one with features well beyond this price range. If you are unfamiliar with Open Source I invite you to do some research on the subject. I wish everything was Opened! Before I received the WRT1200AC I was using the Linksys EA6500 and I can say that it is a decent router, however I always felt like it didn't have enough processing power as it would overheat and either hang or just restart. Not to mention it didn't have any visible antennas which just made me feel as if it just didn't have the range needed. I personally have multiple Wi-Fi devices and a few wired devices plus two techie kids with all the latest gadgets, consoles and laptops that all need routing. Plus just about everything nowadays has wif built in. The EA6500 even though it was a dual band and also has the wireless-n standard it just could not keep up with my demands. I had resorted to using two of my older WRT54G's with DD-WRT installed in addition to the EA6500 and was barley getting the job dobe with all the different devices and traffic we have. I am super pleased and happy to say that with this new WRT1200AC router I haven't had one issue with it overheating or crashing due to throughput. The 1.3 Ghz dual core Processor and 256MB of DDR3 RAM get the job done with ease. I purposely waited to write my review as to collect more real world data. I wanted to push this router to it's max and give it every opportunity to fail. The speed and range of this WRT1200AC is very good and I must say I like the design of the WRT routers much much more. I am a die-hard Linksys fan and user. I have tried other routers in the past and none seemed to satisfy my needs quite like the blue WRT routers from Linksys. With all the new gadgets coming out with built in internet access a router with a faster CPU and onboard memory is a must. My refrigerator even has wifi! So far I currently have roughly 25 Wi-Fi connections and 4 wired ethernet connections and as long as I use the QoS feature of the router I do not notice any lag or service interruptions when my children play Netflix or online gaming like I experienced with the EA6500 and 54G's. Before to get decent service at the far end of my home or in my garage I had to use a Wi-Fi extender (Linksys AC750) but now with the WRT1200AC I do not experience any signal loss anywhere in my home. This is an absolutely amazing router. Plus it looks good too.. Thank you again Linksys. Chad
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT HOME ROUTER Everything I was looking easy setup control over users I had up to thirty units on my home network not one problem or slow down. Streaming video, network file sharing I put this router to the test it passed with flying colors the price was a bargain
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stable and fast router with many attached devices NOTE: I received this unit free from Linksys to test and report. UNBOXING: It came packaged very well, no muss, no fuss which I like. Unboxing it showed simple instructions and a CD for installation (pics). It's large but lightweight, very angular and aesthetically pleasing as are all of Linksys' equipment. This one in particular giving a nod to the best selling router of all time, the WRT54. CONNECTING, STARTUP, SETUP, and USER SETTINGS: I use a MacBook Pro with no CD drive so all of my installation was done wirelessly. I connected the router to my Motorola SB6141 modem and use Charter high speed cable as my ISP with a 60Mbps down, 4 Mbps up plan. Always disconnect your modem from your previous router and reboot it when installing a new or different router. My modem tends to pick up the signal from the router without it having to be connected to the new router upon startup, so I did it that way. The WRT1200AC had no firmware update so I'm using firmware version 1.0.4.167471 which came preinstalled. The router booted up flawlessly and was up and sending out wifi signals in less than 3 minutes. I connected with my MacBook via the web address listed on the enclosed pamphlet with no problems. As you connect, you have the option of using the setup wizard or not. I normally can configure routers without it, but in this case used it for the purpose of the review and for those who are not particularly tech savvy. The most important thing about WIFI is setting up your security. The wizard walks you through changing your network password and network name. I always do this because I like to set up things that I can easily remember. For example, I use "1" for the 2.4GHz and "2" for the 5GHz network names and my childhood home phone number as the password. You can also use the standard network names and passwords that Linksys imprinted on the bottom of the router. WIFI. I have a few AC devices and all the rest are wireless N. I used mixed frequencies for both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands and WPA2-PSK security. I left all the settings on "auto". I had trouble with my XBOX 360 Slim with the 2.4GHz transmitter for "N" frequency. I get some packet loss (6%) and very low upload speed (0.02Mbps). This is only for my XBOX 360 Slim. I called tech support and they walked me through some troubleshooting. It appears to be an XBOX wifi adapter issue, not a router issue. If I used single network mode of G then the packet loss goes to zero and download speed goes up to 9Mbps, upload to 4.2Mbps. I have an XBOX wifi adapter that supports both 2.4GHz and 5GHz for the non wifi XBOXes and I used that on it. The WiFi immediately improved. So, if your XBOX Slim is not giving you decent WiFi performance I would use G band for the most stable or get a Microsoft XBOX WiFi adapter so you can make use of the N speeds for all your other devices. I use Media Prioritization for XBOX LIVE. My son and I use XBOX LIVE quite often and I want to have the most lag-free gaming we can. Guest access comes enabled by default but I don't use it so I turned it off. I also don't use network attached storage so I can't comment on that here, either. I don't use a VPN so that was left disabled as well. USAGE: Gaming and moderate NAT. With multiple XBOXes it's common to see a moderate instead of open NAT. I experienced this with my Linksys WRT1900AC as well. There was no workaround for it when I looked into it at the time and I'm not sure if there is one now. For most households I don't think this is an issue, but for gaming households this can impact the quality of multiplayer gaming when more than one person is on XBOX LIVE. Netflix streaming. Wireless Netflix streaming has been perfect. No lags through my Apple TV. It loads fast and streams with no buffering. Printing. I have a Dell wireless laser printer that I use for my home office. Using the WPS feature on the printer as well as on the router, setup and connecting was truly a breeze. I pushed the WPS connect button on the printer and then using the web interface, clicked on the virtual button for the router. It connected within about 4 seconds, remained connected and has printed flawlessly. Range. Range is good for me. I'm in a 2000 sq. ft., single-level home and the router is centrally located. I have no problems with range from one end of the house to the other. OVERALL OPINION: This is a GREAT router. It is powerful, stable and fast. The "cons" I've written here regarding the 2.4GHz N transmitter would be fixed with either a call to tech support or switching out the router for another one if it's a hardware issue. The WRT1200AC is a set and forget piece of hardware. Once you get your initial settings where they need to be, you just then get to enjoy the benefits of this router. I would definitely recommend this router to friends and family, from ease of setup to speed and reliability. It does what it's supposed to do and does it very, very well. I'm looking forward to enjoying this router for a long time.
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Install & Setup The WRT12000AC is very easy to install and setup. I was particularly impressed with the fact that I could change the settings for the 2.4 GHZ band to accommodate 2 wi-fi cameras that I use and would only work on 802.11 b/g network mode without this feature my cameras would be useless. The range of the Wi-Fi seems to be very good as I live in a single story 2000 sq. ft. house and I have no problems with my video player streaming to my bedroom TV at the back of the house. I think the quality and streamlined looks of the WRT1200AC are exceptional and would highly recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Router I bought the router for my businesses. I like the direction they are going with the Smart WiFi. They just need to keep on improving the features. It would be nice, if you could change of Guest WiFi login's on a certain date in advance. That way I can notify all 16 locations of the new password and let them know what date the change is going to happen. Or change all 16 locations by changing password once. Other then that, very cool feature, including changing port forwarding remotely.
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Constantly Drops 5G I bought this to increase download speed and the 5G drops every few minutes.
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Router but a few bugs Nice router, but a few bugs: 1. The Speed Test function always reports slow download speeds. My download speed is 14 Mpbs, the Speed Test function reports ~5 Mpbs. The upload speed reporting is correct. 2. The DDNS function does not work. I use NO-IP.com The Problem is that it is not the external IP that is used to update the DNS record, but the IP used to connect the router to my modem. The router knows the correct ip address to update the DNS record, as it is displayed in a different window. By using the IP address between my modem and router to update the DNS server, the DDNS function is useless. 3. If Media Prioritization is turned on, and a device is selected as high priority, he bandwidth for all other devices is greatlyy reduced (14 Mpbs to 3 Mpbs). This occurs even if the high priority device is turned off.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My review of the Linksys WRT 1200ac I will first tell you about all the geekier things about this router, things that 60% of you could care less about. This is a dual band router which means that you can connect at 2.4 or 5 GHz. The 5 GHz band is faster but doesn’t broadcast as far. Your devices must be able to connect to the 5 GHz band. Beamforming technology that many devices don’t make use of yet but ready for the future. Four gigabit ethernet ports, Two USB ports 3.0 and 2.0 one doubles as a eSata port, 1.3 GHz central processor, 128 MB Flash memory, 256 MB DDR3 Ram. This router is ready to run open source firmware for those that what to take things to the extreme. Two high output antenna. My home is a single floor at about 1800 sq ft ranch and I had high signal on both bands, there are even higher output antenna available for people that might need them. My being 69 years old I need something that I hook up and it works. I replaced another Linksys router with this one and I used the Linksys setup guide that pops up when you have the router in place. I was impressed at how easy it went, everything in my home was setup in 30 minutes even my wifi thermostat. My signal on the 5 GHz band was a lot higher then my previous router that was running open source firmware. I have two laptops running on the 5 GHz band, and two iphones, a thermostat, game machine, printer , two televisions, a server and two video streaming devices running on 2.4 GHz. The parental controls are great to keep the kids or grand kids from getting into the wrong sites and all of this can be controlled at your home or with your wireless phone, You can also turn off and on guest access, time on and off, all with the free smart wifi app. I then set up my home network, using windows 10 and it went smooth as silk. My laser printer was a breeze to setup shared on the network. I had a few issues with my external drive connected to the router but it was my fault , once working I loved it. My wifi thermostat was a bear to keep connected with my old router, but this router has not dropped connection on anything. For me that is a big plus. I see no need to go to open source firmware at this time. .All you older people and people that have a problem with new technology will love this router. The network map on the router shows you everything connected with icons. All of us older people love pictures. If you want a simple to use router that performs really well then I suggest that you buy the Linksys WRT1200ac.
Date published: 2016-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good performance, but parental controls don't work Provides good coverage around a 3-level residence, but parental controls don't work. I wanted to control access for an iPad and it makes no difference whether it's set to a schedule or to always block access - the iPad can always access the web. The firmware is the latest version.
Date published: 2015-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the ability to have guest login I had an old Lynksys router for about 8 years, but it was wearing out and my wifi was somewhat inconsistent. Bought the new router and I'm very happy with it so far. The signal is much stronger and more stable. And I really like the ability to have a guest portal as well.
Date published: 2015-07-28
  • y_2019, m_3, d_22, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_271
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-WRT1200AC, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 391ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*The standard transmission rates—300 Mbps or 867 Mbps (for 5 GHz), 400 Mbps (for 2.4 GHz), 54 Mbps, and 11 Mbps—are the physical data rates. Actual data throughput will be lower and may depend on the mix of wireless products used and external factors.
**May require a software/firmware update available for download at linksys.com/support.
‡While Linksys fully embraces the open source community and is providing open source use capabilities, they do not offer technical support on using open source firmware. Installing 3rd party firmware is done at your own risk and replacing factory-installed firmware with open source firmware will void your warranty. Please always seek the advice of more experienced users via open source community forums if you’re unsure.