text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features

Linksys MAX-STREAM AC600 MU-MIMO USB Adapter (WUSB6100M)

IMPROVE YOUR HOME WI-FI BY UPGRADING YOUR WINDOWS® PC TO NEXT-GEN AC WI-FI WITH MU-MIMO USB ADAPTER

This AC USB adapter instantly upgrades your Windows®-based laptop or PC to the latest Wi-Fi standard. This effectively makes your laptop/PC a MU-MIMO device, thereby allowing the Wi-Fi signal in your home to be distributed more efficiently to more Wi-Fi devices for stronger overall Wi-Fi coverage.

Next-Gen AC Wi-Fi MU-MIMO technology delivers exceptional speed and performance to your Windows®-based notebook, laptop, or desktop computer. It allows you to binge watch your favorite shows, play online games, and download large files with supercharged AC Wi-Fi speeds that are three times faster than Wireless-N.

MU-MIMO in Your Home

ULTRA-PORTABLE, TINY FORM FACTOR

Whether it's plugged into your laptop's USB port or stowed in your briefcase, the adapter's tiny, lightweight design is discreet and portable.

SIMPLE PLUG-AND-PLAY SETUP

To enjoy next-gen AC Wi-Fi, simply plug the adapter into your PC's USB port and your PC will automatically download the driver from the Microsoft Windows® server. You also have the option of installing the driver from the included CD.

MU-MIMO in Your Home

FAST, RELIABLE CONNECTION WITH AC Wi-Fi AND BEAMFORMING TECHNOLOGY

This Dual-Band USB Adapter uses a 5 GHz band to offer speeds up to AC433 Mbps--3x the performance of Wireless-N--and a 2.4 GHz band to offer speeds up to 150 Mbps.* Beamforming technology focuses the Wi-Fi signal directly to your Windows®-based laptop or desktop computer from your router for a reliable connection, letting you enjoy uninterrupted gaming and streaming.

Easily Bring MU-MIMO to Your Home

WORKS WITH ALL Wi-Fi ROUTERS

This dual-band USB adapter is compatible with all Wi-Fi routers, including your existing unit and those from Internet service providers. For optimal performance, pair this dual-band USB adapter with a MU-MIMO router.

Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    • AC600 MU-MIMO Dual-Band AC
    • MU-MIMO
    • Dual band 2.4 and 5GHz
  • Key Features:
    Adapter wirelessly upgrades your Windows®-based notebook computer to AC WiFi speeds with MU-MIMO
  • Network Standards:
    • 802.11ac
    • 802.11n
    • 802.11a/g
    • 802.11b
  • Wi-Fi Speed:
    AC433
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    Dual Band 2.4GHz and 5GHz
  • Certified Operating Systems:
    Windows® 7, Windows®8.1 and Windows®10
  • Minimum System Requirements:
    USB 2.0
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    40.64mm X 18.034mm X 11.938mm
  • Weight:
    5.896 grams
  • Security Features:
    WPA2
  • Warranty and Support:
    1 Year US, 2 Year EU
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys Next-Gen AC AC600 MU-MIMO USB Adapter, WUSB6100M
  • Quick Start Guide
  • CD-ROM with Setup Software and Resources
Reviews

Press

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Speeds are Fantastics I bought 5 of these to replace the all the cat 5/6 cables lying around in the game room. I was using a Tp Link power-line adapter to carry the load down to the basement and was only seeing around 60-80 mbps when 3 machine were actively gaming. With 3 of these Linksys 6100M's in place and they all are simultaneously hitting speeds of 250mbps up and 150mbps down. Great investment and more importantly no wires or hub lying around. We need to wear seat belts when surfing and gaming since we are moving soooooooo fast!
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plug and play.. if not has a cd. Hello. I just need a internet connect in my room because I was being to loud in computer room. But anyway i need something that can play 3 clients of eve online and teamSpeak and have Music playing in the background. It's has done it all. I have contacted customer support for Issue with 5 GHz find out my router range needed to be tuned up. I have now on 5ghz. We do have a Front tier Internet so right now can't give you speed test Data correctly but it running right 87/76. We do have 300/300. That it.
Date published: 2016-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy! I received this Linksys WUSB6100M Max-Stream™ AC600 Wi-Fi Micro USB Adapter a weeks ago. I plugged it in and pushed WPS on my router and I was online wirelessly, at twice the speed I previously had, in under a minute.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome adapter! Please note, I did receive this device in exchange for an unbiased review. I unhooked the Ethernet cable and disabled the built-in WiFi adapter on my ASUS laptop, and installed the Linksys WUSB6100M AC600 adapter in its place. Installation was quick and easy; my ASUS is running Windows 10 Pro, and I had no issues installing the driver for the WiFi adapter. I always reboot after I install new hardware, so did that, and then put this little gadget to the test. And... WOW!!! I was absolutely blown away at the improvement in the speed of my WiFi! So much faster than the WiFi built into my laptop, and of course, so much more secure because it's got AC security. It was speaking to my AC router instantly after the installation, and has been running flawlessly since I installed it. Just for grins, I unhooked it and transferred it to a HP EliteDesk Mini PC that I have here and am working on, to see how it worked on that little PC. Same result! Absolutely blown away by the improvement in speed, so I kept it installed until I had all the Windows Updates for Windows 7 Pro finished on it. I plan to put it back on that PC when I do the upgrade to Windows 10 later today, since it runs so much faster when doing updates. I also plan to recommend this adapter to the owner of the PC, to replace the built-in WiFi in his new little PC. This is an extremely impressive piece of hardware, and I'm glad to have it here. I like the additional speed from it, and I really like knowing that I have the highest level of security for my WiFi. This laptop doesn't leave the house, so it won't get tested outside of my home, which is a shame. (I'm retired, so don't have to worry about hauling my laptop around with me.) However, I am totally impressed with the Linksys AC600 Adapter, and am going to recommend it to a number of friends who are always complaining how slow their WiFi runs. This little device will definitely solve their problems.
Date published: 2016-06-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Melted I recently purchased a Linksys WUSB6100M Max-Stream™ AC600 Wi-Fi Micro USB Adapter from Best Buy brand new. I plugged it into a USB port on my Lenovo H520s i7 desktop computer. Everything appeared fine for all of 5 minutes, just enough time for me to complete setting up the device. After 5 minutes, I notice the flashing orange light on the micro USB adapter quit flashing. I plugged in several different USB devices into the same port to test whether or not it was the port or the device. But every other device I tested worked fine.
Date published: 2019-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Setup Great Performance I ordered this Max Stream AC600 about 3 weeks ago and it was waiting for me upon return from vacation. I would love to say how I applied all sorts of great technical knowledge to install this unit but that wouldn't be the truth. I popped in the CD and 3 to 4 minutes later it was working perfectly. 1st thing was to Speed Test it's speed from the same location in the house where I always use the laptop. The results were exactly what I pay my ISP for. After using this for several days the units performance has been flawless without any glitches whatsoever. I have 25 years of computer consulting so when I had this opportunity to try Linksys products and write reviews I believed with those years of experience I could review products and write meaningful reviews.
Date published: 2016-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Buffering I received the WUSB6100M Max-Stream AC600 Wi-Fi Micro USB Adapter from Linksys to review. Out of the box is the adapter, instructions and installation CD. The adapter is compact and has a light indicator which I like. When plugged in, it did not initiate the install automatically on Windows 10 laptop. I used the CD and followed instruction and was a breeze to install. My laptop is relatively old and operates on 2.4 GHz frequency band. I noticed an immediate increase in download and upload speeds using the adapter. I have multiple units in my household including other laptops, printers, iPads, gaming equipment and surround sound system on my network. The network utilizes a Linksys WRT1900ACS router. The speed is amazing on all units. The addition of the Max-Stream AC600 USB adapter saved me from spending hundreds of dollars to upgrade my laptop. The adapter price is less than $60. An excellent deal to upgrade the speed on any laptop versus spending hundreds on new one. I'm planning to install a security system with wireless cameras in my house and have been doing a lot of research on that. Unfortunately, WRT1900ACS router does not have the MU-MIMO technology. I need to do more research or contact technical support to find out if upgrading to a newer Linksys router with MU-MIMO technology will work better/faster, with the AC600 adapter and the additional equipment I need to install, than the router I currently have. Linksys products provide the reliability and the speed I need for my network. HAPPY SURFING.
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic performance I bought my laptop in 2010 so technology is not the latest, therefore my wifi signal is very limited and I don't get much signal anywhere around home. So it was either getting a new laptop or buying this adaptor. I went with the most affordable option. This is definitely a life saver. My signal is way stronger than before and I am able to use the 5Ghz signal now to not interfere with my smart gadgets around home. Installation is pretty easy and it is small enough that you wont even notice it is there. Great buy!
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Installed easy, WELL?? I plugged this unit into my USB 2.0 using Win 8.1 pro it wasn't plug and play. I turned off my Intel WIFI card and had to use the CD that comes with AC600 and it installed fine. I had to go in to the control panel to disable the Intel WIFI and enable the AC600. The one thing I noticed right way that the AC600 speed was 87mbs while my Intel N card it would read 144mbs.? Went to speedtest.net AC600 I have comcast tested 54mbs download and 24mbs upload. Not sure why it is not picking up my AC speed I was hoping I'd get a higher speed with my new linksys router with mu mimo When I tried to install on a laptop win 7 pro it would not install and it told me the certs were not signed so it would not allow it to work. Again it did not Recognize this unit had to use the CD never could get it to work.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well I received this wireless usb adapter this week. I used this on a Windows 10 device. Simply put in the supplied CD and ran the install routine. Plugged into a USB 2.0 port and it was discovered immediately. It works well and connects immediately in both 2.4 and 5Ghz bands as advertised. Speed is better in 5Ghz band. Stays connected over the 2 days I have tried it. A couple of minor issues. One, after it was first installed, and the PC went into power save mode overnight, the adapter would not come back and was not recognized. I had to pull it out and reinstall it for it to be recognized. I later went into the Windows adapter setting and unchecked the option to let the device be powered off to save energy. This solved the problem and it now comes back as it should. I also tried to install this device on a Ubuntu Linux laptop. It would not work and was never recognized. Linksys does not advertise this as being supported but I just wanted to see. So, if your intent is to use this on Linux be forewarned. Other than that, this works well and would be an excellent upgrade for any PC lacking AC capabilities.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product At first glance this is a product that could easily be dismissed as unnecessary but the gains that I've received from the improved performance I believe would be well worth the cost. I reside in a rural area and receive my ISP via a wireless router with a medium signal strength. This USB Adaptor has greatly improved the quality and DL speeds from my router and signal extender to my AIO PC.
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lot of power in a very small package. When I opened the box holding the new Linksys WUSB6100M Max-Stream AC600 Wi-Fi Micro USB Adapter I couldn't believe the size of it. At just over an inch long, it packs the ability to speed up the wireless network in my house. I followed the suggestions on the Linksys website and plugged it into a USB port on my laptop. It connected immediately to my network. It was effortless. There were immediate results in increased connection speeds, full strength signals throughout my house and no dropped or weakened network connections. I'm talking 2 tablets, smartphone, and desktop throughout the house. The WUSB6100M AC600 did all of that by just plugging it into the USB port on my laptop. This Micro USB adapter is REALLY worth buying. I recommend it to anyone with a home network based on my experiences with it.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't detect 5Ghz networks I just bought this, and it doesn't detect 5Ghz networks, I have tried every solution I could find, and nothing worked, it's so frustrating
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product The Linksys WUSB6100M Max-Stream AC600 Wi-Fi Micro USB Adapter rates 5 stars because it is dependable, easy to setup and has an excellent range. Compared to the wifi adapter built in to my laptop, this USB adapter almost doubles the range distance. It only took me a couple minutes to setup. Does require you to set it as the default wifi adapter. Again a simple process of right-clicking on the adapter and setting it as default. Every thing worked better than expected.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast It works very good for my needs, I like it An I will recommend.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Increased Speed I received the micro USB adapter a couple of weeks ago and was skeptical. A products that boasts that it can speed up my internet X3 just by plugging in a USB adapter. I must say I was pleasantly surprised when I checked the speeds of my internet with and without the adapter. It was true my speed went from 144 to 433 mbps. Set up couldn't have been any easier. I just plugged it in, turned off my laptops wifi adapter and I was good too go. Very impressed.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect addition for my old laptop I started using the WUSB6100M Max-Stream about a month ago and it has been a perfect upgrade for my old lap top. I have used on my home network (AC network) and I have used it in many different hotel across the US with out any problems or issues. It was very easy to setup it basicly did everything for me. I plug it in and it has found the network every time and connected. That's what I wanted it to do and it did.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does this work with Windows 10? No specs on which OS it is compatible with. Is it Win 10 compatible? Would like to know before buying it.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome little dude(max Stream 6100M Purchased a couple of weeks ago, wanted my laptop to connect to internet at home at 2.4 and 5.0 it would only connect at 2.4 before this little max stream adapter did it all on windows 10 that way I didn't have to speculate on what internal card I would have to change added bonus laptop is old it dies I remove max stream and can use on another device. Would highly recommend and would purchase again!!! :)
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great USB Adaptor Received this a few weeks ago. Setup was super easy, used the CD and followed instructions. Installed software and was good to go. Ran a speed test after installation and found that it Increased my wireless internet speed quite a bit. I would recommend this little adapter for those that wish to increase WIFI speeds without spending a bundle of money on other units. All in all , a great piece of equipment.
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great adapter This little adapter has been amazing. Directions are very easy to follow. I spend a lot of time in the kitchen doing "mom stuff" and the wifi barley reaches and buffers or drops off a lot. Since plugging in the adapter it has grabbed the wifi and not let go! I can watch you tube, a movie on Netflix or listen to music with no buffering whatsoever. I will be getting a few more for our other laptops!
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from performance is everything I have a AE3500(n750) router with Comcast 150 Mbps service, the AC600 gives me about 70 Mbps on wifi. I also have a AE6000 micro usb adapter, both using the 5 GHz band, the AC600 is faster on wifi then the AE6000,the only downside of the AC600 is the physical size, the AC6000 is smaller, size becomes an issue when the AC600 is plugged into a laptop's side connector, no question it performs very well.
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than average Performance Works great for the size. Not as good as some with large and external antennas but worth the cost. It worked well in both the 2.4 Ghz and 5.0 Ghz bands. I was able to connect at 30 Mbps on the 2.4 Ghz band and at 50 Mbps on the 5.0 Ghz band using a 50 Mbps Internet connection. It is very small and compact so it doesn't take up much space in use or storage. It doesn't get hot or use much power.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Speedy adapter I have been using this adapter for more than a month and am very satisfied with its performance. My desktop computer is about 30 feet from the modem and the signal passes through three walls (our house is steel framed). The signal received is noticeably faster than before. The adapter size is small; less than half of the one I used previously. It is plugged into a USB 3 port.
Date published: 2016-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work I bought this for my new gaming computer which didn't have a wifi chip and I don't have a Ethernet port in my room. It installed super easy but I could not use the wifi. It connected to my network but didn't allow me to use it
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Linksys WUSB6100M Max-Stream AC600 Wi-Fi Micro USB I received this adapter a couple of weeks ago, plug in the adapter and less than a minute it was set up. All I had to do was connect to my AC wireless network. The adapter is very solid and connections did not drop after heavy use. This is a great adapter that creates a solid connection and never fails. I highly recommended the AC600 Micro Adapter,
Date published: 2016-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strong Signal - Fast Speeds I purchased this unit to pair with the EA7500 MU MI-MO router. They are a great pair. Speeds are faster then I was getting with my e3000 and ea1000 (which died, and replaced with a WUSB6300). It's pretty good aside from the drivers sometimes having to be reloaded with a reboot. Could be my machine. Didn't experience it withe other USB adapters.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good range and speed Got this to review and I am glad I did. I had tried different wireless options and they always fell short of my expectations but this combined with the WRT1200AC router work great! I finally have my media server/htpc hidden away without sacrificing speed compared to a wired connection transferring files and streaming on my LAN.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great on my laptop. My laptop internal wifi card died. I plugged it in and had to install the Linksys drivers. Works like a charm. Only downside is when my laptop "sleeps" I have to unplug it and put it back in. Called support and found that this was a glitch with Windows 10. Hopefully they will solve it. No big deal to unplug and replug.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Advancement I received this unit and tried it out on a laptop that I use for most of my work. The units capability was amazing compared to the laptops on board built in wireless system. It worked so much better that I am using it instead. The only issue is it does take a usb port, which I really don't need. I have 6 ports on my laptop.
Date published: 2016-06-13
  • y_2019, m_5, d_22, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_96
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-WUSB6100M, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 421ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*Maximum performance derived from IEEE Standard 802.11 specification. Actual performance can vary, including lower wireless network capacity, data throughput rate, range, and coverage. Performance depends on many factors, conditions, and variables, including distance from the access point, volume of network traffic, building materials and construction, operating system used, mix of wireless products used, interference, and other adverse conditions.