text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features

The Future Is Now With Intelligent Mesh™ Technology and WiFi 6

The Linksys MR9600 is a super powerful Dual-Band WiFi 6 router perfect for those who want true gigabit speeds, more range and pure gaming power throughout their entire home. Powered by Linksys Intelligent Mesh™ technology and 6 Gbps of speed, it’s 4x faster than WiFi 5 routers, eliminates dead zones and isolates your network to eliminate interference. If your needs change and you want to grow your network, this future-proof router expands by adding any Linksys mesh compatible products. The MR9600 is so easy to set up with the Linksys App, you’ll be streaming 8K video in a matter of minutes.

 

Linksys MR9600 speed description

More Capacity to More Devices

WiFi 6 sends and receives multiple streams of data simultaneously, providing up to 4x more WiFi capacity to handle every mobile, streaming, gaming and smart home device on your network.

 

Linksys MR9600 coverage diagram

Bye Bye Dead Zones

Intelligent Mesh™ Technology combined with WiFi 6, delivers gigabit WiFi speeds to every corner of your home, including the backyard and outdoor smart home devices.

 

Linksys MR9600 displayed on Linksys App phone screen

Easy Setup and Control

The Linksys App makes it simple to set up, lets you access your network from anywhere, and view or prioritize which connected devices are using the most WiFi.

 


Minimizes Wi-Fi Congestion

Eliminate interference from neighboring networks with advanced WiFi 6 technology that can isolate your network, reduce congestion and deliver the strongest, clearest WiFi signal available.

Alexa Wi-Fi Access

With Alexa, you can easily manage Wi-Fi access for devices and individuals in the home, taking focus away from screens and back to what’s important. Say commands like “Alexa, turn off Timmy’s Wi-Fi”, when it’s time for dinner or “Alexa, enable guest Wi-Fi” when you have people over.

Smarter Security

With automatic software updates, Parental Controls and separate Guest Access, your network will always remain safe, secure and up to date.

100% Backward-Compatible

Works with all existing WiFi enabled devices from smartphones, tablets, laptops, smart home devices, streaming devices and more.

 

Linksys App


Linksys App

Customize and Manage Your Home WiFi Anytime, Anywhere

With the Linksys App, you can closely monitor and manage your home WiFi remotely using a smartphone or tablet.

Guest Access: Create a separate, password-protected WiFi network for up to 50 guests and easily share the password.

Parental Controls: Ensure a safe Internet experience for your kids -- even when you're away from home. Restrict access to inappropriate or distracting content, control usage, and block specific devices from accessing the Internet.

Device Prioritization: You can prioritize devices that need the most speed.

Speed Test: Easily test and monitor your Internet connection's speed.


Quick and Easy Setup

Managing your home WiFi with the Linksys App is fast and easy:

Step 1 Linksys App Home Screen

Download the Linksys App

App Store Icon Google Play Icon
Step 2Connecting Velop node to a modem

Connect to your modem

Step 3Linksys App WiFi Setup Screen

Name your WiFi & create password

Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    AX6000 Mesh Dual-Band Gigabit 1147 + 4804 Mbps
  • Key Features:
    • Dual-Band (2.4GHz + 5 GHz), 4x4 WiFi 6
    • Easily Expandable Mesh WiFi System
    • Seamless WiFi
    • Automatic Firmware Updates
    • Two USB 3.0 ports
    • 4 Adjustable Antennas
    • Easy App Controls
    • Simultaneous Dual-Band
    • 4x4 MU-MIMO
    • 1.8 GHz Quad Core Processor
    • OFDMA Technology
    • Intelligent Mesh Technology
  • Network Standards:
    • WiFi 6 (802.11ax)
    • WiFi 5 (802.11ac)
    • WiFi 4 (802.11n)
    • 802.11g
    • 802.11b
    • 802.11a
  • Wi-Fi Speed:
    AX6000 (1147 + 4804)
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    2.4 and 5GHz (Simultaneous Dual-Band)
  • Wi-Fi Range:
    Up to 3000 Sq ft*
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    • x1 Gigabit WAN
    • x4 Gigabit LAN
  • Other Ports:
    • x2 USB 3.0 Ports
    • Power
  • Antennas:
    4x external adjustable antennas
  • Processor:
    1.8 GHz Quad Core Processor
  • LEDs:
    Power/Status/Connection, WPS, Ethernet, USB
  • Operation Modes:
    • Wireless Router
    • Wireless Bridge
  • Storage File System Support:
    • FAT
    • FAT32
    • NTFS
    • APFS (Read Only)
  • Easy Setup:
    • Simple and secured App based setup
    • Required for setup: (1) Internet connection with Modem. (2) Mobile device with Android 6.0.1 or iOS 11.4 and higher, Bluetooth preferred.
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    280 x 170 x 60mm (antennas down)
  • Weight:
    2.07 lbs (940 g)
  • Security Features:
    • WPA2/WPA3 Mixed Personal
    • WPA2 Personal
    • WPA3 Personal
  • Power Supply:
    Input: 100-240V ~ 50-60Hz; Output: 12V, 4A
Support
Reviews
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lower upload speed don't buy it. I have a Verizon Fios Gigabit internet speed but this new router I'm getting significantly lower upload compared to Linksys WRT32AC. I've tested the speed from various range of WiFi Ax devices and results are same across all of those devices.
Date published: 2020-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ascetically Pleasing with Great Range! I received this product as part of Linksys's Family & Friends testing. The design of this router is incredible and it stands out from previous models. The router does not run too warm, has 4 ethernet ports in the back for wired connectivity. Setup only took 5 minutes via my iPhone. The app is simple to use and very friendly. What I really enjoy about this router is the range capability. I get full wifi coverage across my garden which involve a cinder block wall. The antennas are adjustable to point them in different directions if needed. The top design of the router has a grill feature to ventilate air, hence, the router does not run hot, which is amazing. There is a blue LED on the front that acts as a status indicator. The router was setup in my network closet on a high shelf. I get full wifi coverage past 2 cinder block walls. One of the fastest router setups I have done. Highly recommend for larger coverage area because since it is mesh technology, you can additional had nodes to extend it if needed. This router alone is perfect for home use with more network speed capabilities. WiFi-6 device that can handle so many devices, perfect for an IoT environment in family homes.
Date published: 2020-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! So, let me start by saying, I have a 2 node Velop system in my home. I upgraded my main router with this unit. One of the nodes was wired to a game console, and with the previous router (which was a good Linksys as well mind you) I was pulling about 60-70 Mbps down of my 100 Mbps speed. That's not bad, but when I hooked up this unit, I instantly boosted that speed to the same node and got almost 115 Mbps!. It just expanded my network and gave me better speed all around. The app worked better this time too after an update.
Date published: 2020-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy this router This router is amazing! It’s very fast and just as important, easy to set up. Following the instructions in the app, I was fully set up in about 15min. We are a very device heavy family: 3 phones 3 iPads 3 Nintendo switches Apple TV 2 smart TVs 2 computers We stream our TV service. Most of the above are connected and active at the same time. This router doesn’t miss a beat. And the Wi-Fi 6 will future proof you for at least a few years. Bottom line, buy this router.
Date published: 2020-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coverage Speeds I am very impressed with the speed this router delivers overall its distance. We live in a 3200sqft, 2 story home and the router covers it all with great speeds at its farthest distance.
Date published: 2020-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty good but some small drawbacks Some minor drawback. The antennas are too long for my my liking. It gets a little hotter than I would expect. It does have plenty of ethernet ports which is really nice. I wish they wouldn't include WPS as an option - horrible security. No issues with distance but I wouldnt buy for $400 myself.
Date published: 2020-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Range and Speed I've had this router for about a week and so far it is great. Setup was easy and fast, I was up and running in less than 5 minutes. My speeds have increase greatly and the coverage is fantastic. Even with my router is in my basement the signal strength is superb and reaches out to my pool. I have 7 devices connected to wifi and never experience any reduction in performance. I would definitely recommend this router.
Date published: 2020-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great!!! I took about 2 minutes to download the app and set up the router and I finally have wifi on my back porch
Date published: 2020-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed with Router - Using Verizon FIOS Gigabit I recently received this router in the mail from Linksys. Upon unboxing the router, I was able to setup the router from start to finish in under 15 minutes. If there was one drawback to the installation of this router, I as a technician would like to have FULL control of the device and not have to use a smartphone app to setup the router. Although most home users would probably welcome this feature, I believe that the option to setup the router traditionally through a web browser, logging in as an admin would be appreciated. I tend to not like my products dumbed down and would like to have all configuration options available to change as I wish. If someone doesn't have a smartphone, which I guess won't be all that many people, but still a percentage worth noting that will have an issue setting this router up without most likely a call into tech support. Other than that one caveat, I am really impressed with the speeds it achieves during the speed test. I am located in Westchester County, NY and in my home which is about 3,000 square feet inside, I found that this router covers all areas of the home without an issue and spreads outside to my yard as well. I have seen 1, one star review on this site claiming that the user has Verizon FIOS Gigabit and was getting slow speeds from the router. I ran the test multiple times with over 20 online devices connected to it at the time, and all speeds were what is displayed in this picture I am attaching and ABOVE. I own an IT business that services homes and small businesses in the area and I will definitely be recommending and purchasing this product for my customers for the foreseeable future.
Date published: 2020-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely fast router, great file storage options, The router was really simple to set up using the Linksys App, which gives you the option to keep the router locally administered. I used my old router's name and password, every device I have connected without a hitch. The connection speed was faster than my ISP (AT&T Uverse), even from outside 50 yds away on the street... It works easily with extender/mesh nodes but they weren't even neccesary.
Date published: 2020-06-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I really wanted it to be superior... The MR9600 sounded great, but did not match up to the performance and features of my EA9300. Or, even the new WiFi 6 router I “had to” purchase from CenturyLink to get the MR9600 up and running. The MR9600 is elegantly designed and setup was fast. But, two main features, that allow me to bring internet and strong signals to all of my devices, were lacking; VLAN tagging and range for legacy devices. The design I absolutely love. The shape and simplicity of the base and antennas is much smaller, simplistic to what I’m used to coming from the designers of Linksys products. Unfortunately, I did not have a good experience with options and performance. This router does not have the section to enter the advanced PPPoE and VLAN credentials. I have a Gig connection, and with previous Linksys routers, I could use the “Connection” and “VLAN” settings in the web interface, bypassing having to use one of the CenturyLink modem/routers. Customer Service confirmed that these are not available options on the MR9600. I moved to purchase a new router/modem from CenturyLink to put inline with the MR9600 and was finally able to get the internet working properly, but then discovered some of my devices were not staying connected around the perimeter of my home. I have a two story 1700 square foot (approx 850 sq. ft per level) home. The three devices that would not stay connected were 2.4 ghz security cameras and a smart plug. Also, I noticed that the strength of the WiFi on my iMac, on the far side of my house, had dropped a couple bars. I’m sad it didn’t work out and maybe a firmware update will fix some things in the future. It’s disappointing when you look forward to installing new technology, it’s not as expected and then have to put things back as they were. Maybe the boasting on the box and in the advertisements are strictly referring to the performance of WiFi 6 devices, which I do not currently have. But, if it’s “backwards compatible” it should be at least as good as what I had before. After all, this is the flagship of the current lineup. I’ll keep an eye on the firmware updates and see if some of my issues are addressed and maybe try again another time.
Date published: 2020-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Coverage, Missing One Thing The MR9600 is a great router, but it is missing one thing. Overall, I would rate it 4.8 stars. Over the past few years I have been using other Linksys WRT routers that have included OpenVPN. For me, this has become a necessary feature. Mainly, I use it to access a networked tv tuner when I am on travel or even going for a walk. Sure I can run it from another machine, but it's nice to have it included in the router itself. Installation was easy. I prefer the web based method over the phone app method, so I changed the URL to /dynamic/login.html to get that. (It would have been nice if the setup screen would have given that option for those that might prefer this method.) WiFi coverage was great. I turned off all nodes to the Velop system I had running and was still getting decent signal in the most extreme places in my home. Connecting the Velops to the MR9600 to create a new mesh was simple and really expanded the coverage.
Date published: 2020-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Fast Router Really easy to install and set up. It replaced my previous Linksys router so I already had the app installed on my phone. That made installation very easy. My internet speeds have dramatically increased compared to my previous router and it looks really cool too. I definitely recommend this router if you have not updated recently.
Date published: 2020-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best router I've ever owned This is by far the best router I've ever owned. Setup was a breeze using the Linksys app, and the performance is unbeatable. I get a strong signal throughout my house and even outside around my house. We are able to use multiple devices at once including streaming 4K television with no problems. The MR9600 is a great router!
Date published: 2020-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and Easy Wow! This was the easiest set up I've ever had with a router. It has great range and is fast. I noticed a difference in speed and distance right after installation. Only issue was that it did not find my 2.4ghz equipment so I had to separate the speeds. That was easy because of the Linksys app.
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super fast router This router comes with new and great features such as adding another router to extend WiFi Coverage. The router is extremely powerful and streams without any issues. I have placed the router in the basement and my home is 4600 sqft. I get signal until the end of my house.
Date published: 2020-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Router The router was extremely easy to configure and attach to my current Linksys mesh router. Once completed and installing the Linksys app, the configuration was a snap. I checked coverage throughout my house (2700 sq. ft.) and coverage was amazing nothing less than 80%.
Date published: 2020-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good performance and coverage The MR9600 was delivered to me about a week ago so I have had only a little time to work with it. I was having some coverage issues with my single MX5 so when I saw the MR9600 was available, I jumped on it. I knew when I received it, I had some decisions to make – either use this as the router and the MX as a MESH point, the MX as the router and the MR as a MESH point or just use the MR9600 alone. I knew I was going to be leaving town soon after receipt of the MR unit, so I carved out some time to get it set up. For the sake of brevity, I left the MX as the router and MESH’d the MR9600. It could not have been easier using the app on my iPhone. As for coverage, it’s what I expected from a higher-end, consumer unit – it’s very good, even out in my yard where we tend to spend a lot of time. I have several cameras, game systems, personal devices (iPhones, iPads, etc…) and 4K in multiple rooms. So far, the unit works as advertised. This week, when I have more time, I plan on swapping roles for the MX and MR unit and expect it will work very well.
Date published: 2020-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coverage, Speed and reliability Just got it and its working great. Easy to set it up, add nodes to it, to use the parental control and to access the smart wifi app. I have two other nodes connected to it and my coverage is great out in the house and out in the yard
Date published: 2020-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Looking Router! Very well packaged, easy to set up and simple instructions. For the most part is very reliable, good coverage range as stated on the box and the speed is phenomenal.
Date published: 2020-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast no matter how many devices are active This thing is fast even with multiple devices active on the network. It has good coverage throughout the house with no dead spots.
Date published: 2020-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great speed This router runs wifi6 which is amazing for cell phones. It has great coverage and was easy to set up.
Date published: 2020-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Router!! The speed & coverage this router gives is Amazing!! Highly recommend, & I even stock it at my store.
Date published: 2020-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great performance, Easy Setup Upon unboxing the router, I was able to setup the router from start to finish in under 15 minutes. If there was one drawback to the installation of this router, I as a technician would like to have FULL control of the device and not have to use a smartphone app to setup the router. Although most home users would probably welcome this feature, I believe that the option to setup the router traditionally through a web browser, logging in as an admin would be appreciated. I tend to not like my products dumbed down and would like to have all configuration options available to change as I wish. If someone doesn't have a smartphone, which I guess won't be all that many people, but still a percentage worth noting that will have an issue setting this router up without most likely a call into tech support. Other than that one caveat, I am really impressed with the speeds it achieves during the speed test. I am located in Westchester County, NY and in my home which is about 3,000 square feet inside, I found that this router covers all areas of the home without an issue and spreads outside to my yard as well. My internet connection is from Verizon FIOS, I ran the test multiple times with over 24 online devices connected to it at the time, and I got speeds on both download and upload of over 900 MBPS. I own an IT business that services homes and small businesses in the area and I will definitely be recommending and purchasing this product for my customers for the foreseeable future.
Date published: 2020-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fixed my WIFI Issues! This MR9600 caught my eye with the new fangled "MESH" technology with 6Gbs of speed through the air. My setup includes wireless streaming of (3) 4k TVs and 6 security cameras. I previously moved the security cameras to my Guest network because the combination of streaming to TVs and security camera feeds (also 4k) brought my WIFI to its knees. When guests stayed over they complained about how slow the Guest network was plus dropouts, hangs, you name it. Without the ability to hard wire I was looking for a solution and the MR9600 is it! I was at first take aback by the price. A lot more expensive than my Netgear, the MR9600 better solve my issues, I thought. Setup was straightforward-once you get used to the app. I'm an old dog and like setting the router up to 192.1.1.x in my browser. Once I downloaded the app though it was pretty easy. It found the router immediately, let me create passwords with ease and connected all of my devices. Just for giggles I put everything on the same network. I couldn't believe it. The TVs didn't burp, complain or jerk. I watched a movie with my wife while I purposely left my iPad running on the coffee table with all security cameras streaming. Smooth as warm butter! It's been a week and the only issue is that I have a rocking chair on my patio for my cigar weakness. Never got signal out there...till now. It's not as strong as inside the house but my Netgear never made it out there at all and my ability to get to my cameras, for example, was a godsend. Worth every penny!
Date published: 2020-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good integration with mesh system I recently received the MR9600. I am comparing this to my current Velop Mesh system, which includes 2 Velop tri-band and 2 Velop dual-band nodes throughout my house. I was pleased to see that the newer MR9600 can be integrated with other Linksys mesh routers and nodes. Installation: Setup was very easy via the Linksys app. The process took about 5 minutes to be generally up and active. Firmware then updated automatically which took a few more minutes. Overall, this took about 10 minutes in total. Because I have about 30+ devices than use need an internet connection, I made the wifi name the same as the old one, and all prior devices reconnected without issue...a very important ability. Signal Strength: I initially set it up the MR9600 as the only node on my network. Compared to my prior 4 node network, the signal strength was certainly not as strong throughout the other floors of the house. However, then I set the MR9600 as the parent node and used the other 4 as child nodes for my network, which restored signal strength that I am used to throughout. Internet Speeds: I am able to run internet speed tests throughout the house and get full speed everywhere. Unfortunately, I do not have any Wifi6 devices to test the newest aspects of this device. App: Continues to be easy to use. I make an effort to name all of my devices correctly, and take off or block unknown devices. The app makes that fairly easy to do. Bottom Line: Linksys devices remain easy to set up and use. Certainly recommend, and I hope to try the even fast Wifi6 soon too.
Date published: 2020-07-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good if it's all you need I really want to like this router. Perhaps it's just not mature enough yet. It has several features that I'm looking for, including WiFi6, WPA3 and external networked storage support. However, there are pain points that come along with these features and they're hard to ignore. For instance, while this is a mesh router, you can't use other Velop nodes if you want to run either a WPA3 or mixed WPA2/WPA3 network. And the network storage function doesn't include DLNA functionality (like the WRT line of Linksys routers). Linksys also doesn't provide an easy way to replace an existing parent node in a Velop network. You can't back up your settings and move them onto a new device. Instead, you have to reset everything and start from scratch, which is time consuming. The frustrations are compounded by the Linksys website, which for some delightful reason doesn't appear to actually want you to log into it. You need the Linksys app to set up the router and it forces you to use a Linksys account. God help you if, like me, you are inexplicably locked out of your Linksys account. The website won't actually send password reset emails (I tried 9 times over the course of two days). I finally created a new account via the app with a different email address, and the website wouldn't recognize these new login credentials, either. And now I keep seeing these "verify your email!" banners in the app, which I can't actually do anything about because I'm still waiting for that verification email to actually arrive. Long story short, this is a great device if a single access point is all you need and don't have an existing Velop network that you're trying to upgrade. It'll be a lot more useful if they bring WPA3 to the nodes but until then I'd shy away from paying for security features you can't actually put to use in a mesh network.
Date published: 2020-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great router with high speeds In testing the MR9600 I found it's a very high end router for sure. I'm leaving it in my environment, replacing another high end router. I plugged this in and within minutes was setup using the Linksys app. Speed tests with my other router came in around 260-280 down and 11-12 up. After setup and securing this router I found speeds averaging around 350 down and 11-12 up. That's amazing improvement especially when comparing to another high end router. It's possible the speed increased also from rebooting the modem, but I don't recall ever gaining speeds in the 300s before. Setup and features are everything I expect from Linksys which is ease of use and comprehensive. The speed is blazing fast and features are excellent. I have not yet tested mesh but this seems promising if I was to add a node across the house. Frankly, I don't think I'll ever need to because the range is pretty solid. Our house has plenty of devices and so far everything runs smoothly on this router. Our network includes 4 Ring devices, 3 TVs, 2 phones, a computer, 2 laptops, Xbox, printer and probably other devices that don't come to mind. Everything runs well with no buffering or latency issues to note. As for any drawbacks or concerns: I have mixed emotions on the mixed wifi channels (2.4 GHz + 5.0 GHz). On one hand I like the ability to tell my devices which signal to connect to (5 GHz close range and 2.4 GHz longer range such as in the basement) and on the other hand I trust this router will find the optimal setting for my device. When i test using my phone, I'll see the signal strength decrease as I walk towards the other end of our house or into the basement but shortly thereafter the signal strengthens. I assume it's switching channels. Additionally, I'm one who prefers more or larger antennas. I'm sure I'm in the minority here, but I'm willing to sacrifice aesthetics for range. If this was to include 2-4 more antennas, or if these were 1-2 inches larger, I would probably be happier. This isn't a deal breaker though and depending on your environment simply adding mesh node(s) would be the best solution. Range is not an issue in my 2000 sq ft, 2-story house with basement. I'm writing this honest review in exchange for a free product.
Date published: 2020-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast router with easy setup! To start, I was running a Linksys WRT3200AC router that performed reasonably well in my house. I had turned off the 2.4GHz and used an older AP, since the only things running on 2.4GHz was a number of home automation devices. I unboxed the item and was very happy with how the item is packaged. The device is larger than the WRT3200AC, but not by a whole lot so the MR9600 fit nicely in the location on top of a bookshelf that the old router was located. It is a much more streamlined and attractive design from the older routers. The sleek face on the front shows only a blue light when it is running properly. The antennas (which do not disconnect) are nicely folded to the side when boxed up, but spin up nicely and click into place when upright. If you need to reach larger areas (like a second floor), the antennas do fold outward to a 45 degree angle. I have done that with the front 2 antennas, while leaving the back 2 upright. I will say that this was the easiest router I have ever setup. I used my already downloaded Linksys app to bring the new router in and setup it up. Then, since I'm a Network Engineer, I finished the setup and set all of the advanced settings I wanted via a browser on my laptop. This router has most all of the same features that the WRT3200AC had, so navigating around was fairly simple. One difference I did notice was that I was not able to turn off either of the WiFi bands (2.4 or 5GHZ), so I have been running all 26 devices from this router. I am pleased by the performance of both bands, and all of my devices are very responsive. The faster processor in this router shows when doing configuration and when many devices are wanting network access. It is a very "snappy" router to be connected to. Some days I work from home, and my workspace is in my room upstairs away from the router ( I think some of the signal actually has to travel through me). I am pleased to say that the connection has improved a little from using the WRT3200AC, so I am able to better handle video conf meetings. Speedtest is able to be run right from the router itself, and gives you a good idea of your bandwidth at that point in time. It would be nice to see historical data from previous tests, but that is more of a nice to have. I would like to try its mesh features for myself, but don't have a mesh another mesh wireless unit, so its just me and the router for now. I will highly recommend this router for anyone who wants great WiFi6 performance and an all around fast and easy to use router!
Date published: 2020-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A worthwhile router for the upcoming WiFi-6 Std. The Linksys Max Stream AX6000 Dual-Band WiFi 6 Router is a very powerful dual-band WiFi router, being one of the latest products to incorporate WiFi 6. As the name states, it’s a powerful dual-band router suitable for all devices. It features a powerful quad-core processor, and it utilizes MU-MIMO technology to allow for a large number of devices to be connected to the router simultaneously with no loss in speed. Along with its capabilities to reduce power consumption and its security features, this router is no slouch for any household. I’d like to talk briefly about WiFi 6 here, also known as 802.11ax. It is the latest Wi-Fi standard to be ratified by the Wi-Fi alliance for use. To compare, the last standard was Wi-Fi 5, 802.11ac in late 2013. WiFi 6 improves upon its predecessor by allowing a wider frequency range for operation as well as OFDMA technology and improved MU-MIMO throughput. All of the tweaks and improvements in the specification give a theoretical throughput speed greater than WiFi-5, and that is obvious in the testing. The contents of the router are pretty basic: the router, a quick-start guide, health and safety pamphlet, an Ethernet cable, and an AC adapter. Setting up the router was straightforward, and it was all done through the Linksys Smartphone App and Bluetooth. Admittedly, it took some tries to get it working. There was a slight hiccup with Bluetooth, but once I figured out that you had to pair with the router, the rest of the setup was okay. Testing the router with my devices showed a significant improvement with the utilized WiFi-6 band. Results may vary, but I’ve managed to get an average throughput of 88.52 Mbps and 83.33 Mbps download/upload on a WiFi-5 device. Using a WiFi-6 capable smartphone, I was getting results of 113.48 Mbps and 160.38 Mbps download/upload. This shows a significant improvement when using WiFi-6 devices thanks to the addition of MU-MIMO in the uplink direction. The router range is up to 3000 square feet, and my testing area is just barely outside the maximum range. Nevertheless, even while outside of the max range, I still get a decent connection. As a whole, this router delivered on what it promised. Setup was straightforward, though it took a little time to figure it out. It worked well with all of my devices, especially with the latest WiFi-6 smartphone. It covered a wide range, and it definitely delivered on the wireless speeds it claims. All in all, I highly recommend getting this router, especially for its WiFi-6 support. That new standard will become commonplace, and having a router capable of it puts you ahead.
Date published: 2020-06-29
  • y_2020, m_8, d_11, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-MR9600, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 172ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
May require a software/firmware update available for download at linksys.com/support.

Belkin, Linksys, Velop and many product names and logos are trademarks of the Belkin group of companies. Third-party trademarks mentioned are the property of their respective owners. [Alexa and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.] Apple and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc. Android and Google Play are trademarks of Google Inc. Bluetooth® is a registered trademark owned by Bluetooth SIG Inc. and its use by Belkin is under license. Wi-Fi and Wi-Fi Protected Setup are either trademarks or registered trademarks of the Wi-Fi Alliance. The Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Logo is a certification mark of the Wi-Fi Alliance.

© 2020 Belkin International, Inc. and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.