text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Removing wireless network profiles or preferred networks

If you have connected to various wireless networks before, your computer may have problems connecting wirelessly, especially when the wireless network name (SSID) is the same with the previous ones you have connected to.  Removing wireless network profiles on your computer may improve your wireless connectivity to your current wireless network.

This article will guide you on how to remove wireless network profiles on your computer.  Select your computer’s operating system below for specific instructions:

Windows® 8 / Windows 8.1
Windows Vista® / Windows 7
Windows XP
Mac OS X®


NOTE:  Removing network profiles/preferred networks cannot be undone.  Make sure you know the wireless settings of your wireless network to be able to reconnect to it.

Windows® 8 / Windows 8.1 

Windows 8 and 8.1 does not have the list Preferred Networks that lets you add or remove a profile.  However, you can choose to forget the network through the Networks section or delete a profile using the Command Prompt.  Follow the steps below to know how.

Through Networks
Through the Command Prompt

Through Networks 

QUICK TIP:  The computer must be in range of the wireless network before you proceed with the steps below.

Step 1:
Select  from the Charms Bar.  To open the Charms Bar, move the mouse cursor to the upper right corner of the screen.  

Step 2:
Click on the Network icon.



 

Step 3:
Select the network you want to remove and try to connect.  When you get an error message that says Can’t connect to this network, click Forget network.



 

If your computer connects to the network, just right-click the name and then click Forget this network.



 

Through the Command Prompt 

The Command Prompt in Windows 8 and 8.1 lets you delete a profile or show all wireless profiles saved on your computer using a specific command.  To open the command prompt, go to Search > enter Command Prompt in the search box, then click Command Prompt.

  • To delete a profile, enter netsh wlan delete profile name="ProfileName" 



 

  • To show all wireless profiles saved on the computer, enter netsh wlan show profiles 



 

Windows Vista® / Windows 7

Computers running on Windows Vista and Windows 7 may show the error message, “The settings saved on this computer for the network do not match the requirements of the network”.  Removing the previous wireless profiles or preferred networks resolves this issue.  For instructions, follow the steps below:

Step 1:
Click the Pearl button and click on Control Panel.


 
 

Step 2:
In the Control Panel window, select Network and Sharing Center.



 

Step 3:
Click on Manage wireless networks.


 
 

Step 4:
Select the network profile you wish to remove, make sure it is highlighted then click Remove.



 

Step 5:
A window will prompt you to confirm the removal of the network profile you selected to remove.  Click Yes to continue.


 
 

You have successfully removed the network profile.

Windows XP

NOTE:  The following instructions are only applicable to Windows XP Service Pack 3.

Step 1:
Click Start > Control Panel.



 

Step 2:
In the Control Panel window, select Network Connections.



 

Step 3:
Right-click on Wireless Network Connection then select Properties.



 

Step 4:
Click on the Wireless Networks tab.  Select the wireless network profile you wish to remove under the Preferred networks category then click Remove



 

NOTE:  Ensure that “Use Windows to configure my wireless network settings” is checked.  Otherwise, you will not be able to Add or Remove preferred networks.

Step 5:
Click OK.

You have successfully removed the network profile.

Mac OS X®

NOTE:  Mac OS X Version 10.7.3 (Lion) is used here as example.

Step 1:
Click on the Apple menu and select System Preferences.



 

Step 2:
Click Network.



 

Step 3:
Click on the Advanced… button.


 

Step 4:
Select the wireless profile you wish to remove under the Preferred Networks box, make sure it is highlighted then click the minus (-) button.



You have successfully removed the network profile.

QUICK TIP:  You can now try to reconnect to the wireless network to save it to your computer or device.

Was this support article useful?

Additional Support Questions?

Search Again

CONTACT SUPPORT