text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Restarting your router using the Linksys app

What is the difference between resetting and restarting?
 
A reset restores your router to the state it was when you took it out of its box, requiring you to go through the setup process again.  A restart, on the other hand, is far less disruptive than a factory reset because all settings are maintained.  Wireless devices will disconnect from the router, but will reconnect automatically once the router is ready and the devices find the network.

This article will provide you with instructions on how to restart your router using the Linksys app in case you encounter router or modem connection issues.  

The most common method to restore communication for a modem or router is to restart it by turning it OFF, then back ON again.  This gives the devices a chance to find each other.  Follow the steps below to properly restart your router using the app.


NOTE:  Steps and images may vary depending on the operating system of your mobile device.  In the examples below, iOS and Android devices are used.
 
Step 1:
Connect your mobile device to your router's Wi-Fi then open the Linksys app.
 
Step 2:
For iOS, tap Manage Your Wi-Fi.
  For Android, tap Log in.
 
iOSAndroid
User-added imageUser-added image
 
Step 3:
You will be prompted to log in using your Linksys server account.  Enter the necessary credentials and tap Log in

NOTE:  You can also choose to log in using Router Password on iOS or Use Admin Password on Android.

 
iOSAndroid
User-added imageUser-added image
  
Step 4:
On the Dashboard, tap the Menu User-added image icon on the upper-left corner.

 
iOSAndroid
User-added imageUser-added image
 
Step 5:
Tap Network Administration.
 
iOSAndroid
User-added imageUser-added image
Step 6:
Tap Restart Router.
 
User-added image

Step 7:
Tap Restart.


NOTE:  While the router is restarting, all connected devices will lose their internet connection and will automatically reconnect when the router is ready. 
 
User-added image

Wait for the restart process to be completed.
 
User-added image

A message will be displayed that you have successfully restarted your router.

Was this support article useful?

Additional Support Questions?

Search Again

CONTACT SUPPORT