text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

How to disable the Wi-Fi (Belkin)

This article will walk you through general instructions on how you can disable the Wi-Fi on your Belkin router.

NOTE:  
The steps and instructions may vary depending on your router/gateway’s model.  Contact your device’s manufacturer for support.

Before you begin:
  • Make sure that the computer you use to access the web-based setup page of your router or gateway is either wired to it directly or is connected to it via Wi-Fi.
  • Make sure to know your login credentials as these differ for every manufacturer.  Contact your device’s manufacturer for support.
Step 1:
Launch a browser.

Step 2:
Enter "https://192.168.2.1" in the address bar and press [ENTER].  If it doesn't work, check your router's IP address.

Step 3:
Log in to the router.  
  • Web interface - Click Login at the top-right corner and enter your router's admin password.  If you have not set a custom password, just leave the Password field blank then click Submit.
     
    User-added image

    User-added image
  • Dashboard - You will be asked to enter the administrator password you created upon setup.  Click Let me in! to continue.  If you have not set a custom password, you should be able to log in right away.
     
    User-added image

Step 4:
On the web-based setup page, look for Wireless or Advanced Settings.
  • Web interface - Under Wireless, click Channel and SSID.
     
    User-added image
     
  • Dashboard - Go to Advanced Settings > WiFi.
  • Wireless-G router - Click on Wireless and select Disable.
 
Step 5:
Disable the Wi-Fi.
  • Web interface - Click the dropdown menu for Wireless Mode, then select OFF
     
    User-added image
     
  • Dashboard - Click the dropdown menu for Wireless Mode and select Off.  You must separately do this for each wireless band.
     
    User-added image
     
  • Wireless-G routers - Click on the Wireless Mode drop-down menu and select Off.
     
    User-added image
 
Step 6:
Save your changes.  Click on Apply Changes for the web interface.  For Dashboard users, click Save.

Was this support article useful?

Additional Support Questions?

Search Again

CONTACT SUPPORT