text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features

Unleash the Power of WiFi 6E

Linksys Atlas Max 6E (AXE8400) unleashes the biggest upgrade to WiFi in a decade, bringing the ultra-fast, low-latency 6GHz band to every corner of your home. Use as a backhaul between nodes or connect directly for seamless video conferencing, working from home, remote learning, and even the latest AR and VR. Velop Intelligent Mesh technology offers whole-home coverage that’s easily expandable by adding additional nodes. With easy setup, advanced security, and parental controls, Linksys Atlas Max 6E is an essential upgrade to any home that needs the most reliable, highest-speed WiFi.

Linksys Atlas Max 6E (AXE8400) displayed next to a large blue WiFi 6E symbol

A New Band for Your Latest Devices

WiFi 6E offers the 6GHz band connection needed for optimized work-from-home, online learning, livestreaming, and up to 6.5x faster speed*** for AR and VR devices.

For devices you wish to connect directly to the 6GHz band, please check with your device’s manufacturer regarding compatibility with the 6GHz band.

Mesh WiFi 6E systems and smart devices shown in different rooms and stories of a home.

Highest Device Capacity Ever

With 4x† the channels of current WiFi systems, the 6 GHz band can handle all the traffic from the busiest smart homes using heavy-bandwidth devices all day, every day.

Linksys Atlas Max 6E next to Velop Intelligent Mesh logo

Powerful WiFi 6E Mesh Coverage

Velop Intelligent Mesh™ technology combined with WiFi 6E delivers gigabit WiFi speeds to every corner of your home or business.

Qualcomm chipset

Industry-Leading Technology

An advanced Qualcomm™ chipset delivers the ultimate WiFi 6E experience. This next-generation technology transforms home and business WiFi with its wire-like stability and blazing-fast performance.

Linksys Atlas Max 6E displayed within the Linksys App

Easy Setup and Control

The Linksys app makes setup simple. Once set up, you can access your network from anywhere, and view or prioritize which connected devices are using the most WiFi.

Child safely and securely streaming a video on the Internet

Smart Security

With automatic firmware updates, parental controls, and separate guest access, Velop provides a safe, secure and up-to-date home network.

Linksys Atlas Max 6E displayed next to smart phones and headphones

4x4 MU-MIMO

4x4 WiFi radio with MU-MIMO enables more devices to connect simultaneously, allowing multi-device streaming, uninterrupted gaming, and faster internet speeds. Downlink and uplink MU-MIMO are both supported.

Person plugging in an Ethernet cable into the back of a Linksys Atlas Max 6E Tri-Band Mesh WiFi 6E System

Ultra-Fast Multi-Gigabit Speed

With a 5 gigabit WAN port, you can experience up to 5 Gbps‡ speed throughout your home for smart TVs, streaming devices, gaming consoles, and even the latest VR and AR.

Product shot of Linksys Atlas Max 6E displayed next to a CES 2021 Innovations Awards badge

Works with all ISPs

You’re covered no matter who your internet provider is, plus you’ve got 100% backward compatibility for WiFi 5 and older devices.


True Tri-Band

Every tri-band node can broadcast on three wireless radio bands simultaneously with combined WiFi speeds up to 8.4 Gbps.


USB 3.0 Port

Connect storage devices to the 3.0 port and share across your WiFi network.

Woman installing a placing a Velop router on a shelf

OnTech Smart Services and Linksys logos

Get Help From the WiFi Pros

Linksys has partnered with OnTech Smart Services to offer expert installation, with same and next-day appointments nationwide. Professional installations starting at $99.99.

Book a Tech »

Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    AXE8400 MU-MIMO Tri-Band Multi-Gigabit, 1147+2402+4804 Mbps
  • Key Features:
    • Easy Setup with the Linksys App
    • Expanded Spectrum with the 6GHz Band
    • Dynamic Backhaul
    • 4x4 MU-MIMO
    • 2.2GHz Quad Core Processor
    • Next-Gen OFDMA Technology
    • Advanced Security
    • USB 3.0 Port
    • Gigabit Ethernet LAN Ports
  • Network Standards:
    • 802.11a
    • 802.11b
    • 802.11g
    • 802.11n (WiFi 4)
    • 802.11ac (WiFi 5)
    • 802.11ax (WiFi 6)
  • Wi-Fi Speed:
    AXE8400 (1147+2402+4804)
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    2.4GHz, 5GHz, 6GHz
  • Wi-Fi Range:
    up to 9000 square feet
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    Four Gigabit LAN + One 5Gbps WAN
  • Other Ports:
    USB 3.0
  • Antennas:
    12 Internal
  • Processor:
    2.2 GHz Quad-Core
  • Memory:
    Flash: 512MB; RAM: 1GB
  • Wireless Encryption:
    up to 128-bit
  • Storage File System Support:
    FAT, FAT32, NTFS, HFS+
  • Easy Setup:
    • Simple and secured app based setup
    • Required for setup: (1) Internet connection with modem. (2) Mobile device with Android 6.0.1 or iOS 11.4 and higher, Bluetooth preferred.
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    4.45 x 4.45 x 9.57 in
  • Weight:
    3.25 lbs
  • Security Features:
    • WPA2/WPA3 Mixed Personal (2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands only)
    • WPA2 Personal (2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands only)
    • WPA3 Personal (all bands)
    • Enhanced Open Only (all bands)
    • Open and Enhanced Open (2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands only)
    • Open (2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands only)
  • Power Supply:
    Input: 100-240V ~ 50-60Hz; Output: 12V / 4A
Support
Reviews

Press

Rated 2 out of 5 by from The mobile app ruins the whole experience The app is very bare-bones. There is only broadband speed check, but no node check, or device connection checks, or usage data/stats of any kind. There is also no information about the backhaul configuration. The app is glitchy and sometimes just fails to find the router. For parental controls, scheduling are per device - there are no device groups. Oh, and the hardware is too expensive.
Date published: 2021-07-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great product....if you don't need PPPOE and VLAN I bought this to replace my CenturyLink Fiber modem...which required PPPOE and VLAN tagging to interface with the fiber ONT correctly. Even with the PPPOE password and correct VLAN/MTU settings, performance was abysmal (850mbps down, 40 Mbps up). I put my old CenturyLink modem in passthrough mode and reset the Linksys router....then added it after the CenturyLink modem....850mbps down/950mbps up. Why is performance using PPPOE and VLAN tagging so hard manufacturers to get right?
Date published: 2021-06-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Software is Very Limited & Limited Backhaul Running in bridge mode the WAN port only runs at 1Gbps. This limits your backhaul to only 1Gbps. Also, mobile app and web interface have very limited diagnostic tools and are really slow. For example, the only way to to even see backhaul link speed is to parse through a sysinfo.cgi web log. I can only hope that this limitation gets fixed and the software gets better over time...
Date published: 2021-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stable and rock solid performance I am using the Linksys Atlas Max 6E as a standalone router. My son is very pleased with hard wired performance to his PC gaming rig while I am enjoying clutter free wifi for all my Mac centric gear at wired speeds. Wishlist: Add Apple HomeKit and Time Machine support.
Date published: 2021-07-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad with FIOS + Random Node connection drops So I had this a month or so now. First off, as another reviewer has said, this router is broken with FIOS. Directly connected to my FIOS ONT, my upload speed only reaches 30Mbps. I have a 1GB Up/Down connection. My old Orbi system works with no issue. My old Verizon Fios Router also works with no issue. I did call Linksys support on this, and really the only thing they had me try was reboot/reset the routers (which I've already done). I finally got to a higher tech support (Case 13777062) and all they told me was I had to put a switch between the router and the ONT, and that they were aware of the issue (This was Jun 28). I had an old 5 port switch lying around and tried it and it did fix the upload issue. This however shouldn't even be considered a fix as users shouldn't be expected to buy or have additional hardware lying around. Well after 'fixing' that issue, I run into another issue. This time, at some weird random times, one of the child nodes will briefly blink red and lose connection with the parent node. This has happened so many times, but at random points. There are some days I have no issues, and then others, it will happen 2 or 3 times per day. I've tried moving the child nodes around, and also resetting and rebooting the child/parent nodes. I even exchanged between child and parent nodes, still same issue. Do not buy this! Wait until a mature FW is released and all this is ironed out. For a $1200+ system, I am considering returning this for a more reliable system.
Date published: 2021-07-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BUYER BEWARE I bought this unit from Best Buy upon launch and I admit that the speed is impressive when it works HOWEVER there is a serious issue with the hardware that Linksys support doesn't acknowledge or want to address. Multiple times a day the nodes disconnect, only for a few seconds but it is enough that all the clients attached are dropped. I spend $1200 for a reliable system and its terrifying being in the middle of an important meeting when one of these episodes occur, which are unpredictable. Other users report the same issue, so its not just me. I called support and have been given the run around for days and I am sick of it. I personally will NEVER buy another Linksys product again and I advise all others not to. I had an Netgear mesh system before this and the product and support were so much better. It shows the character of this company when customers invest $1200 in a product and they don't even support it. I have been told several times that a special team would contact me to help troubleshoot but course it never materialized. I just got a email at 4:00am saying that someone will call me but it never happened. I wish I could return it but I wanted to give them a chance to fix it through firmware. BUYER BEWARE
Date published: 2021-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible support My units don’t work, but instead of solution Linksys continues to not support their product. Please avoid them
Date published: 2021-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but what about adding some more details Great system and easy to set up. Used the web interface and set up within 20 minutes. Everything running great but it will be good to know the back haul connection as I did wired but nowhere in the app I see how the nodes are connected. Will be good to know that the nodes are wired and not defaulting to wireless. In addition there was a firmware update but not much information in the release notes other than issues fixed? Overall a great system and hope it stays that way. How about a wall mounter for this system, Linksys?
Date published: 2021-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it! I was having connectivity problems with the netgear rx40. I replace all my ethernets cables to Cat8 (definitely overkill) and set up the atlas max 6e and now Im getting full down and upload speeds that were advertised by isp over wifi, in every part of my house. I didnt see the 2-pack as an option when I purchased, so I got the 3-pack. My house is just under 3k sqft and the 2-pack is enough. I placed them in opposite coners of the house, one being upstairs.
Date published: 2021-05-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Product reviews promising for new technology I am currently using Google Wifi as well as Nest Wifi mixture. Decent performance for my numerous PC's and TV's. I saw this linksys 6E mesh wifi and was going to purchase, even though it was relatively expensive. After the reviews I have decided to wait until more organizations roll out the similar product, though it is significantly faster than the Nest wifi I am not running anything right now that seems to have issues with the current setup i.e. multiple users Video Conferencing, VoIP, TV, etc.
Date published: 2021-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mesh on the market!! Fantastic speed once setup properly! Out of the box I used the iOS App to set the system up, that was a horrible mistake, almost returned. I have Comcast gigabit service, using the app for setup I only got 300 - 400mbps, which was unacceptable. I called the Velop support team and they recommended and walk me their setting up the nodes using the web interface, NOT bluetooth. This required resetting every node and going through the setup again. The results were 800 - 950mbps in the same room and 600 - 700mbps in the next room approx 35ft away and on the other side of a wall, and most of the house. I believe this is were some of the bad speed reviews are coming from. This system pushes 300 - 500mbps about 50ft all around outside my house. This router is incredibly expensive but well worth the features, flexibility and most of all future proof!!
Date published: 2021-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stability is aweful - Firmware update please. Before this mesh system I had a another Wifi 6 "Pro" Tri-Band Mesh system (not many out there so can pretty much know which one I had). I was extremly happy with the reliability I just was looking for a system with a Multi-Gig WAN port to take advantage of my full internet speed. While setup was a breeze with the Atlas Max system, the reliability is not great. I have noticed any time I do live broadcasting on Twitch or Youtube for over an hour the remote nodes lose full wifi and wired ethernet connection liek the physical equipment is having a firmware/memory crash. Randomly devices just lose wifi even without heavy traffic (Linksys app says placement is good for all the nodes). I have reached out to Linksys over weeks where I have factory reset the whole system, swapped the nodes to be in different locations, and sent countless logs. After multiple times contacting Linksys advising I sent countless logs through both the mobile app and Web Interface I gave up after their support closed my ticket for a third time without resolution. A system that is half the the cost with a smaller/lower count atennae array, and lower bandwidth capacity should not be working better than this system with the main node and 2 remote nodes setup in the exact same locations as when I setup this system. This system needs a firmware Update ASAP! Its been 4 months since the last firmware update and Linksys support doesnt even want to escalate issues with customers that understand the technology and want to assist in data collection/ logs for these issues.I'm not holding my breath on an update anytime soom if you look af the firmware update history of other Velop systems. Look towards either another brand or a more mature system from Linksys cause at this point the Atlas Max 6E system is unreliable and a waste of money.
Date published: 2021-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delivers! Worth The Wait! This is amazing! Finally VR over wifi! Finally 4k HDR over Wifi!
Date published: 2021-04-22
  • y_2021, m_9, d_16, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-MX8503, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 172ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*System indicating a multi-unit pack with no additional product purchases or firmware upgrades necessary to create a mesh network.
**Performance may vary. Customer-paid internet service required. For more information, please refer to the insert inside the package, or the product data sheet found at: Linksys.com/velop/documentation.
***As compared to WiFi 5 2x2 dual-band router up to 80MHz.
†4x more channels on 6GHz band as compared to dual-band router on 2.4 & 5 GHz bands excluding DFS channels, determined using 20MHz channels as a reference.
‡Wired speed up to 5Gbps requires multi-gigabit ISP speed up to or greater than 5Gbps.