text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

The Linksys Velop MX10 AX Whole Home WiFi 6 System is WiFi amplified, delivering more speed, coverage, and capacity than any WiFi technology has before.

  • Enjoy 4X faster speeds with WiFi 6 technology that delivers true gigabit speeds throughout your entire home, up to 5.3 Gbps with 12-stream connectivity.
  • Delivers even more WiFi range, including the backyard and outdoor smart home devices
  • Just add a Velop Mesh WiFi node anywhere in your home for additional coverage.
 

 

$699.99

Find a retailer
Add to Wish List

Free Shipping on all orders.
Details


FREQUENTLY BOUGHT TOGETHER:

Total price: $ 0
Features

Linksys MX5 Velop AX Whole Home WiFi 6 System

Offering exceptional speed, coverage, and capacity, the Linksys MX5 Velop AX Whole Home WiFi 6 System is the next generation of WiFi. This WiFi router/extender combines Velop's Intelligent Mesh technology with WiFi 6 to deliver true gigabit WiFi speeds-up to 5.3 Gbps-to every corner of your home, including outdoor areas. Capable of sending and receiving multiple streams of data simultaneously, WiFi 6 has four times the capacity of WiFi 5 technology. The Linksys Velop MX5 system can handle as many as 50 devices, so laptops, televisions, smart-home systems, and more can all operate simultaneously with ease. Featuring BSS technology, this WiFi router/extender minimizes congestion by eliminating interference from nearby wireless networks in order to deliver a strong, clear wireless signal to your home. The MX5 is part of Velop's modular system, which means increasing your coverage is as simple as adding another node. And with the Linksys App, setting up your system is fast and easy, so you can enjoy the next evolution of WiFi in a matter of minutes.

Makes Your Current WiFi Feel Like Dial-Up

WiFi 6 technology delivers true gigabit speeds throughout your entire home, with up to 5.3 Gbps and 12-stream connectivity. Next-generation OFDMA (orthogonal frequency-division multiple access) increases efficiency in high-density scenarios, delivering high-speed WiFi to multiple devices simultaneously.

Woman enjoying WiFi in her liviing room

Diagram of Velop node providing WiFi coverage to the entire home

Increased Coverage Range

Velop's Intelligent Mesh Technology, combined with WiFi 6, delivers gigabit WiFi speeds to every corner of your home, including outdoor areas.


Supports Even the Biggest WiFi Hoarders

With 4x the capacity of WiFi 5, WiFi 6 provides enough bandwidth for as many as 50 devices. And MU-MIMO (Multi-User Multiple-Input Multiple-Output) technology allows downloads and uploads on eight devices simultaneously.

Kids playing video games
Alexa Wi-Fi Access

Alexa Wi-Fi Access

With Alexa, you can easily manage Wi-Fi access for devices and individuals in the home, taking focus away from screens and back to what’s important. Say commands like “Alexa, turn off Timmy’s Wi-Fi”, when it’s time for dinner or “Alexa, enable guest Wi-Fi” when you have people over.


Eliminates Interference from Nearby Networks

WiFi 6 BSS (Basic Service Set) Coloring technology eliminates interference from nearby WiFi networks, so you always have a strong, clear signal for all your devices.


Advanced Security

Safeguard your network with wireless WPA2 (WiFi Protected Access 2) encryption and an SPI (stateful packet inspection) firewall.

Three quarter view of the Linksys MX5 Velop AX Whole Home WiFi 6 System
Back of the Linksys MX5 Velop AX Whole Home WiFi 6 System

USB and Ethernet Ports Offer Versatile Connectivity

Equipped with four Gigabit-Ethernet ports, the MX5 supports wired connections up to 10x faster than standard Ethernet. And thanks to the ultra-fast USB 3.0 port, you can easily connect shared storage devices.


Backed By 3-Year Limited Warranty and Tech Support

Velop is backed by both a three-year warranty and a three-year tech support guarantee. This premium level of support also includes a dedicated phone support line.


OnTech Smart Services and Linksys logos

Get Help From the WiFi Pros

Linksys has partnered with OnTech Smart Services to offer expert installation, with same and next-day appointments nationwide. Professional installations starting at $99.99.

Book a Tech »

Woman installing Velop node on a shelf
Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    AX5300 MU-MIMO Tri-Band Gigabit, 1147+2402+1733 Mbps
  • Key Features:
    • Easy Setup
    • 4x Better Performance than an AC Router
    • Tri-Band Dynamic Backhaul
    • 4x4 MU-MIMO
    • 2.2 GHz Quad-Core Processor
    • Next-Gen OFDMA Technology
    • Advanced Security
    • USB 3.0 Port
    • Control from the App
    • Four Gigabit Ethernet Ports
  • Network Standards:
    • 802.11a
    • 802.11b
    • 802.11g
    • WiFi 4 (802.11n)
    • WiFi 5 (802.11ac)
    • WiFi 6 (802.11ax)
  • Wi-Fi Speed:
    AX5300 (1147+2402+1733 Mbps)
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    2.4 GHz + 5GHz (x2)
  • Wi-Fi Range:
    Large Homes
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    • 1 Gigabit WAN
    • 4 Gigabit LAN
  • Other Ports:
    • USB 3.0
    • Power
  • Antennas:
    Internal
  • Processor:
    2.2 GHz Quad-Core
  • Memory:
    Flash: 512MB; RAM: 1GB
  • Wireless Encryption:
    up to 128-bit
  • Easy Setup:
    • Simple and secured App based set-up
    • Required for set-up:
      (1) Internet connection with Modem.
      (2) Mobile device with Android 6.0.1 or iOS 11.4 and higher, Bluetooth preferred.
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    4.5" x 4.5" x 9.6"
  • Weight:
    1,59 kg
  • Security Features:
    • WPA2
    • WPA2 / WPA3 Mixed Mode
  • Power Supply:
    Input: 100-240V, 50-60Hz; Output: 12V/4A
Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Real Experience with the MX10 System I have a 3600 sq ft two story home with basement. The floors are poured concrete, the cable modem is downstairs in a corner office. Main living space is upstairs and the home does not have wiring for ethernet. I have been using an Apple 2TB Time Capsule for some years and it has worked amazingly well but is no longer supported and I can no longer even configure it with airport utility. I have three ring cameras, 2 nest thermostats, 3 laptop computers, 2 iphones, 1 ipad, smart TV, apple tv, 3 dlink cameras, several WEMO switches and Amazon Echo. The extreme distance devices such as the camera in the basement and the ring devices on the perimeter of the property were at the limit of reception. I tried the google mesh system with three nodes and it was horrible, setup was a nightmare, signal strength and throughput were disappointing. After researching numerous systems I came down to the Orbi and Linksys systems. I opted for the Linksys and was able to find a new in box from a reseller on ebay for a decent discount. The units are identical, essentially two MX5300 systems. I installed one to replace the time capsule connected to my Spectrum Cable Modem operating in bridge mode to bypass the internal wifi of the modem. The linksys app on the iphone is a little unstable and had to be installed a couple of times, sometimes the buttons seem to freeze, but it could be that it is communicating with the linksys cloud site and there could be some lag. I would suggest that they put in a status bar to let user know that it is thinking and not frozen. The speed downstairs next to the node is 235 mbps download which is fantastic. Next I installed the second unit in node mode upstairs by the front door. The setup froze up and I had to try a couple of times but it eventually installed without issue and the app has the ability to see all your connected devices and which node they are connected with. I ran the channel optimizer a couple of times and after 24 hours I can say that I am absolutely delighted. The remote perimeter devices have very strong signals, I can get over 200 mbps standing at the street a couple hundred feet from the units. I have full signal in rooms that were very marginal before. It is very easy to find yourself with a couple dozen connected device without realizing and while I wish I had installed cat cable in my home, i have to live with that choice and the linksys system allows all of these devices to communicate with strong signals and very fast throughput. They are heavy and solidly made, the hardware seems to be first rate. I have always considered linksys top notch in terms of quality and technology and this system did not let me down. I was going to add a third node in the garage but that will not necessary with the two that I have. The app is growing on me and I would recommend letting the app automatically do most of the configurations and not try to get too manual with the setup.
Date published: 2020-03-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't Support Apple HomeKit These are OK WiFi 6 mesh routers. However, they don't support Apple HomeKit, despite Linksys' PR saying their routers would be updated to support HomeKit. I will definitely not be purchasing from Linksys again.
Date published: 2020-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Software Updates since 03-2020. No Home Support For a product that is at EOL (end of life), they’re still selling it. Albeit as a fire sale. While Netgear will be updating their Orbi systems to WiFi 6e, Linksysbjasnt release an update for this model in over a year. With it being a premium purchase it should have been the first to receive Apple Home support. Very disappointed. But not unexpected. Linz Kay’s has had a history of not offering updates to their products.
Date published: 2021-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great router with plenty hardwired, No USB-C Just follow the directions and the setup is basically a breeze. This is not an access modem so you still need that. The speed relies so heavily on what access modem you use so it is incorrect to blame the router for speed issues. Easy connections and mesh-moving when going though the house. The nodes are not small and tidy like many people desire. You will need to workout any backup issues needed, like Apple TimeMachine.
Date published: 2020-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful, large, white monoliths This mesh units 5.3 Gbps rated wi-fi speed (802.11ax WiFi 6), signal strength - coverage area (6000 sq. ft.) and ability to handle upwards of 50 devices is definitely a winning combination and is a great upgrade option. While this system is backward compatible to prior Wi-Fi standards, to truly unlock the routers maximum speed/potential I would suggest you verify what internet access speed you are paying for from your internet provider, as well as your modems specifications. In my case I decided to upgrade to Gigiblast from Cox cable as well as replace my modem to handle Gigablast. Unfortunately, I wont get Gigablast installed until 11/23 as they need to perform some line upgrade to my house, So for now I am “stuck” with my current limit of 150 Mbps. I consider these to be “hidden costs” associated with wanting to get the best out of this router and maybe something that should be considered before purchase. I have used the prior 802.11ac Linksys velop 3 node system (01-2017). My main dislikes of those units - it only allowed for max of 2 hard wired ethernet connections, no USB and the access/connection area is very small at the base of the unit. Tech specs; Tri-band (1,147Mbps 2.4GHz, 2,402 Mbps 5GHz, 1,733Mbps 5GHz) 2.2 GHz quad-core processor 512MB Flash memory 1GB RAM and 4x4 MU-MIMO. There is virtually no info included in the box for these units and at the time I was writing this review there was very little info I could find but these 2 links may help with FAQ’s and specs; https://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=306850#H06 https://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=306849 Positives; 1) The biggest positive for me is each unit can be used as a base or as an extension node. This provides future flexibility as you can “lend” an unused node to be used by a friend, etc. Netgear Orbi units are either base or extension – you cant use extension as a base. 2) Very Easy setup – but must download Linksys app and use mobile device for initial setup using Bluetooth. 3) Blazingly fast, with right equipment 4) Each of these AX5300 units allow for 4 1Gbps hard wired connections as well as USB 3.0 connection for external storage (doesn’t seem to support a printer). The ability to connect devices such as a TV using ethernet cable may allow for much higher streaming speeds than using the devices older wifi. 5 Signal strength is pretty amazing. Using speedtest.net app on my phone I checked signal strength at my wifi pool equipment which is outside and about 60 feet and 2 walls away from the extension node. Speed was exactly the same as I got when seated 10 feet away with no obstructions. After using for a week have not noticed any wifi drops of signal. 6) I think they have aesthetically pleasing shape but they are maybe 30% larger and heavier than prior Velop units. Also, prior model needed 3 nodes to cover 6000 sq ft – this takes only 2. 7) After initial setup you can access the wifi network using Linksys Smart WiFi on your desktop/laptop. The interface is nice and gives you more or less same access to settings as phone app – including map of attached devices. There is also a Device Prioritization option so you can give certain devices preference on their signal. Changes made here reflect on the phone app and vice a versa. Can list devices alphabetically – which I liked. Stated on box can have more than 50 devices connected. I have 27 and while not all of them are in use at any one time I did run 3 with 5GHz and 3 with 2.4 GHz wireless connections as well as 1 hard wired - all streaming something and I did not notice any impact to picture/voice, etc. Negatives; 1) Price - but I suspect most homes could make due with 1 node (3000 sq ft coverage) which would be cheaper. 2) I found an irritating anomaly between the Linksys phone app and the desktop interface. The device list on the phone will tell you whether device is connected to base or extension using 2.4 or 5 GHz but doesn’t give you the devices IP address. The desktop interface does give you the IP address but doesn’t tell you if device is connected to base or extension and doesn’t indicate how connected (2.4 or 5 GHz) – very frustrating. In either software you can easily rename the device. 3) Due to where the connections are in the back (on an edge and angled) the wires kind of stuck out for me, which I didn’t like particularly in the family room expansion node. I just turned it 45% and problem solved (see pics). I think this is a great 802.11ax option and is for someone who has everything connected using wi-fi and wants the most up to date/fastest connection possible. There really aren’t many 802.11ax devices out there right now so if you currently have an 802.11ac rated router I am not sure this will be worth the upgrade price – unless you are bumping up against maximum devices connected.
Date published: 2019-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent router with one BIG caveat I purchased this from BestBuy but thought to help potential buyers here. I went from an Orbi system to this. I have over 80 wifi devices and my Orbi system was having issues. Installation of the main router and the node could not be any easier! It was such a pleasant experience. The router immediately recognized all devices before I even set up the child node! Signal is powerful to blanket a big three level place. The problem: I was getting around 200 mbps on wifi with Orbi (ISP delivers around 600 mbps through wired). With Velop I was getting around 90 mbps no matter what I did (reset the router and the node, mess with settings, etc.) I was pretty disappointed at that point. Solution: It just occurred to me of a similar problem I had with a router in the past and a post on a forum that the problem was the cat cable provided in the box for Velop to connect the router to the cable modem. I switched it to Cat6 cable and wifi speed jumped to over 450 mbps!! I don't know why they supply a cheap and inferior cable but if you have the same issue, try using a Cat6 or better cable to connect the main Velop to your cable modem/router. Also, I noticed that not using a backhaul wired connection between the main router and the node provides better speed. Odd but true. So I just left the node as is to communicate with the main router via wireless. All in all, this is fantastic mesh router minus the issue above.
Date published: 2020-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! I just upgraded from the 3 node tri-band Velop (AC6600) to the MX10 2 node setup. Amazing coverage! I have a 2 story with a finished basement and had a node on each floor. I was happy with that coverage, but noticed some loss in the corners of each floor and outside backyard and garage was still a bit spotty. With the MX10 I've put one node on the main floor covering basement and outside and its getting better coverage than the 2 nodes were before. I've put the second node on the second floor as before. Loving the consistent, full coverage! Next step is to move over to AT&T 1Gb fiber service... I considered dinging setup rating 1 star because neither node connected during setup the first time. Had to retry both, but no biggie second time worked just fine and had a fully functioning network with no further configuration required. For anyone not a fully educated network specialist this setup process and resulting great coverage was impressive.
Date published: 2021-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I purchased this product around 1 month ago, (Too bad I didn't wait for this sale). It works great and the setup was a breeze. Took about 3-4 mins and done...
Date published: 2020-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Whole Home Wi-Fi 6 System I bought this a few days ago from Best Buy(last one in stock) and I was very hesitant on purchasing this because of the high price tag. I looked around at a few other Wi-Fi mesh routers and kept coming back to this one. I finally grabbed it and went on my way to check out. I was very surprised how big in size these both were but hey, if you are going to get faster speed and range, GO BIG OR GO HOME! The setup was a breeze with the linksys app and was up and running in 10-15 minutes. The only complaint I had was that it never was clear why only the main node in my office was the only one to show up on my wi-fi list on my phone. I contacted Linksys support via chat on my computer and they explained why. The nodes connect to whatever device is closest to it and has the strongest signal. The other node I have upstairs in my game room. I have both Nodes connected to my fiber network and each node as an internert port and 4 additonal ports to connecte devices. So, I have the main node in my office connected to one of its port going to the node in my Game room's ethernet port. This setup works flawess! My wife teaches online piano lessons and connects wirelessly to her iMac using Zoom. She has a perfect connection with no lag or any issues at all. The wireless speed are so much faster than having an ethernet cable plugged in. I had a Linksys WRT3200ACM but it keep dropping Wi-Fi plus I wanted to upgrade to Wi-Fi 6 for my new Playstation 5 coming out next month! I highly recommend this and you will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2020-10-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great until it wasn't Worked for two weeks then started losing internet connection. Now will not connect at all.
Date published: 2020-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Product works well but no HomeKit support I bought this solution for 3 different homes with the understanding that the Velop products would be getting HomeKit support. Now I find that the latest and greatest product in the lineup isn't included! Very disappointing and, despiate having spent nearly $2k on them, I believe I will be removing them and replacing with the Eero equivalent with HomeKit support.
Date published: 2020-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great System for Large Home After a very poor experience with the Hydra 6E. I installed the two-node MX5300 and so far it's outstanding. Fairly easy to set up, although it took a couple of tries for each node to be recognized by the setup app. After that setup, was quick and flawless. Not a dead spot anywhere in a 6000 sq. ft., 3-level house. Strong performance everywhere.
Date published: 2021-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Device for Crowded Condominium Spectrum Installed MX10 and one node in 3rd level condo where 35 other units have high speed wireless devices plus building has whole structure shared Wi-Fi system. Speed inside my 2400 sq. ft. unit went from around 30 - 40 GBits to steady Cable company MAX of 197 GBits throughout Unit with no dead spots. Structure is concrete with steel beams and aluminum studs for walls. I used cat 5 cable to connect Router and one node to the incoming service. Also distributed Router next to modem and TV set to Denon Receiver, DVR Device and Cable DVR using cat 5 cable. Using the wi-fi to multiple i-pads, i-phones and Apple TVs throughout unit in bedrooms and as personal devices. Bedroom TV and Livingroom HD TV both going simultaneously, plus thermostat and security system connected as smart devices plus mobile phones and i-pads all running at same time with no problems. Never had connectivity so good! Best product Linksys has made from my user's point of view.
Date published: 2021-07-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poorly designed product: Hard to setup and unreliable. The phone app is very slow, takes minutes to do anything.
Date published: 2020-08-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Overpriced, underperforming junk Bought this overpriced system to replace a failing EA9500 access point that Linksys no longer supports. This system is woefully inadequate compared to previous access points. This two-node system doesn't provide a fraction of the promised 6,000 square foot coverage. I have a home with just under 2,400sq feet and the primary and satellite APs are centrally located and I STILL have 2.4Ghz clients reporting disconnection issues. 2.4Ghz clients should have a much greater range than 5Ghz clients. There are no troubleshooting tools or technical information afforded to the customer in the management interface to allow any sort of wireless architecture troubleshooting. Customers have no idea which access point clients are even connected to, at what power or dBi, and there are NO deployment tools available to assist customers in determine best AP placement in their homes. At a $699.99 price tag customers should expect MUCH more out of a 2-node mesh system when a 1-node AP at a fraction of the cost better served wireless connectivity.
Date published: 2020-11-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor internet I have both MX 10 and old Velop the system sucks wasted $900 for trash. Always disconnects get another mesh company.
Date published: 2020-04-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Look at something else I purchased these, and my coverage is worse; on top of that, I had to purchase a mesh router for my home, which is 2560 sq ft, tired of troubleshooting with folks who follow scripts.
Date published: 2021-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible speed and coverage For full disclosure, I am a Linksys Firmware Engineer. I have what I would call a difficult house to have good WiFi coverage. I have tried all sorts of network topologies and products to try to improve my WiFi performance. Until this product, I have always been dissatisfied with my WiFi performance. This is definitely a significant upgrade for my home network. I was previously using a mesh WiFi5 network, and getting maybe 65 Mbps from my devices throughout my house using 3 nodes and my wired network speed was at max 300Mbps... the wired bottleneck was of course my cable modem service. Decent speed, but not great. So I upgraded my cable service to Cox Gigablast service which claimed to give me 1GB service, but alas with my old WIFI5 technology, my WIFI performance was still about 65Mbps in most places in my house. Still on a quest to get better WiFi performance, I then upgraded to this MX10 WiFi6 solution... and carefully placed the two nodes in my house. Node placement is very important to get good performance and coverage. I tried placing the 2nd node in a few different places and checked performance in many different places in my house. After moving my 2nd node around a bit, I had found a good place where performance was good everywhere. I have one node in my computer room downstairs, and one node in my bedroom upstairs... coverage on both floors is great. My current performance for wired through the MX10 is about 850Mbps or better, and I am seeing about 350Mbps or better for WiFi devices throughout the house. What a difference! The coverage and performance is great throughout my 2900 square foot home and even the backyard has great signal and performance. I am at last very satisfied with my WiFi network performance. I think I will stay with this setup for a long time!
Date published: 2021-02-22
  • y_2021, m_9, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-MX10600, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 172ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Support