text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

FREQUENTLY BOUGHT TOGETHER:

Total price: $ 0
Features

The Latest WiFi 6 + Intelligent Mesh Technology

Linksys Velop WiFi 6 Whole Home Mesh System (MX4200) delivers next-level streaming and gaming to more than 40 devices on your network. It offers a reliable connection for everyone to stream, game, and video chat without interruption. Intelligent Mesh™ Technology offers whole home coverage that’s easily expandable by adding additional Linksys Intelligent Mesh products. With easy set up, advanced security and parental controls, MX4200 is an essential upgrade to any home.

Powerful WiFi 6 Mesh Coverage chart: Covers up to 2,700 sq. ft and supports 40+ devices.

Powerful WiFi 6 Mesh Coverage

Intelligent Mesh™ technology, combined with WiFi 6, is designed to deliver gigabit WiFi speeds to cover every corner of your home, including the backyard and outdoor smart home devices.

Close up of video game controller. Reads: Up to 4x More Capacity, Handles 40+ Devices at speeds up to 4.2Gbps.

Connect More Devices Than Ever Before

WiFi 6 sends and receives multiple streams of data simultaneously, providing up to 4x* more WiFi capacity to handle more mobile, streaming, gaming, and smart home devices.

 

MX4200 product shot from behind

Built for Reliability

Linksys is a pioneer in home networking, with over 30 years of innovation going into every WiFi solution. Enjoy a worry-free connection with a 3-year warranty and outstanding tech support when you need it.

Screenshot of the Linksys App and its features

Easy Set Up and Control

The free Linksys app makes it simple to set up, lets you access your network from anywhere, and allows you to view or prioritize which connected devices are using the most WiFi.

Front product shot of MX4200 with a dark background

Next-Generation Speed

Faster WiFi performance for lag-free online gaming and HD streaming to any device, providing 3.5x** more speed compared to WiFi 5.

Apple HomeKit app screen

Works with Apple HomeKit

HomeKit-Enabled Router

With Apple HomeKit, Linksys Velop Tri-Band Mesh WiFi Systems give you even more protection of your HomeKit accessories and an easy way to manage what they are allowed to communicate with in your home and through the internet.

Side product shot of Velop MX4200

Smart Security

With automatic firmware updates, parental controls, and separate guest access, Velop provides a safe, secure and up-to-date home network.


Customer Support 24/7

Talk to Linksys support staff whenever you need them, online or by phone.


Works with all Internet Providers

Works with all Internet Service Providers and is 100% backwards compatible with WiFi 5 and older devices.

Woman installing a placing a Velop router on a shelf

OnTech Smart Services and Linksys logos

Get Help From the WiFi Pros

Linksys has partnered with OnTech Smart Services to offer expert installation, with same and next-day appointments nationwide. Professional installations starting at $99.99.

Book a Tech »

Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    AX4200 MU-MIMO Tri-Band Gigabit, 600+1200+2400 Mbps
  • Key Features:
    • Easy Setup with the Linksys App
    • Tri-Band Dynamic Backhaul
    • 4x4 MU-MIMO
    • 1.4GHz Quad Core Processor
    • Next-Gen OFDMA Technology
    • Advanced Security
    • USB 3.0 Port
    • Gigabit Ethernet Ports
  • Network Standards:
    • 802.11a
    • 802.11b
    • 802.11g
    • 802.11n (WiFi 4)
    • 802.11ac (WiFi 5)
    • 802.11ax (WiFi 6)
  • Wi-Fi Speed:
    AX4200 (600+1200+2400)
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    2.4GHz, 5GHz, 5GHz
  • Wi-Fi Range:
    up to 2700 square feet
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    3 Gigabit LAN + 1 Gigabit WAN
  • Other Ports:
    USB 3.0
  • Antennas:
    Internal
  • Processor:
    1.4GHz Quad-Core
  • Memory:
    Flash: 512MB; RAM: 512MB
  • Wireless Encryption:
    up to 128-bit
  • Storage File System Support:
    FAT, FAT32, NTFS, HFS+
  • Easy Setup:
    • Simple and secured App based set-up
    • Required for set-up: (1) Internet connection with Modem. (2) Mobile device with Android 6.0.1 or iOS 11.4 and higher, Bluetooth preferred.
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    4.5" x 4.5" x 9.6"
  • Weight:
    2.08 lbs
  • Security Features:
    • WPA2
    • WPA3
    • WPA2 / WPA3 Mixed Mode
  • Power Supply:
    12V / 3A
Support
Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks Great and is Super Fast I received the Velop mesh router and realized I needed to upgrade my cable modem. After accomplishing activation of the new modem, the Velop pretty installed itself. I kept the same WiFi name and password so the 9 devices in my home connected automatically. The download speed went from 300 MPS to 942 MPS. The mesh system is absolutely awesome! I was frustrated because I’ve paid for one gig service for a long time but never achieved 1/2 of that speed. Now I am getting my monies worth!
Date published: 2020-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the extra ports This router was provided to me free of charge from Linksys. I am using it with an AT&T WiFi hot spot and it works great to connect my home monitoring devices to i.e. thermostat and lights. Speeds were as expected, no drop outs thus far. It was easy to configure and change the password too. In addition, having the extra ports on the back allows me to connect my computers to the router too instead of relying just on using wireless. It's a great product. Keep it up Linksys!
Date published: 2020-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a wifi solution that works! I have tried different combo routers and dedicated wireless access points that always fail to meet my needs. I am in a two story house with lots of walls and using just one of these upstairs was good for 90% of the house. Once I got 3 set up I moved them to far corners of the house and I have no dead spots, seamless transfer from the backyard to anywhere in the house (no having to connect to a different node, it is automatic and seamless), and it has been reliable. Anywhere in the house I get over 500Mbps on my 600 Mbps cable connection. My old solution I would regularly get 15Mbps in most of the house with all the devices I have connected from phones, tv's, lights, etc. I highly recommend this system and once we upgrade our devices in the distant future we can take advantage of wifi 6 and I am sure this system will shine even brighter.
Date published: 2020-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Breeze To Set Up This is by far the easiest WiFI system I have ever set up. Using the app it took me maybe five minutes to hook up and configure. My devices all connected with no issues. I replaced an Xfinity router and it's the best decision I have ever made. The coverage area is significantly better. So far I have not had any reliability issues. It works as expected. I would recommend this router system to anyone looking to up grade your WiFi network.
Date published: 2020-12-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Throttles your internet speed Been doing network administration for over 15 years. This router is garbage. Network speeds, including internet, are throttled. This means they’re slowed down. Even on previous firmware, disabling device prioritization, manually configuring devices, and even setting the router up to allow one device connected to it, and bandwidth is throttled. Buyer beware
Date published: 2020-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking and high performing network addition I added this node to our existing network last week. I was surprised how easy and fast it was to get this connected. Just open the Linskys app on your mobile and follow the simple prompts. Takes less than 10 minutes to connect wirelessly to your existing network. In this case, I connected to our MR9600 and this extends the network really well. I get nearly the same speeds a couple rooms away from this child node as I do at the main router. This is a handsome and sturdily built node that I don’t mind having out as part of the decor. I like that it has some weight to it so it feels very solid. I would consider adding another one of these once it comes time to upgrade my speeds with my cable provider. So overall, I would recommend this to those wanting fast speeds with a reliable connection. Good looks, easy set-up, excellent performance and speed can be expected from velop.
Date published: 2020-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best router I’ve ever owned! This, by far is the best router I’ve had the pleasure of owning. The easiest to set up and the absolute best coverage of any router I have ever had. The Linksys app makes setup a breeze and it looks great too, although I wish it were black. I am currently streaming to three televisions and two PS4’s with no lag or buffering. This thing works great.
Date published: 2020-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Magnificent Beast What a beast. What a large, white, magnificent beast this thing is. I already had a Linksys WiFi6 Mesh router (MR9600) and then this thing showed up and took the signal strength on the second floor of my home to a whole new level of fast. While the WiFi 6 features are great, it’s the tri-band setup that really makes this baby scream since it can use one band as a back haul to the main router downstairs. It is a bit shocking to take out of the box though, since this thing is easily double the size of the previous generation of Velop nodes. Size does made placing these discretely a notable challenge, but the speed and range boosts are so noticeable that I’m willing to forgive this “feature” of the new version. Setup is just as simple as any other Velop product. The real draw here is that you can likely retire at least two of the older, smaller nodes and replace them with a single one of these. That’s why I did and the results have been fantastic.
Date published: 2020-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Mesh unit yet Received this unit to test and provide honest evaluation of the device. The unit was a bit trickier than other mesh devices that I installed. I feel that the setup instructions could be improved. My first two attempts to setup using the iPhone app failed. Third try I connected directly to the router and since then I have had no problems whatsoever. The coverage area is very good. Area coverage is actually larger than when I was using a 3 node network. Speed - the node is providing me more of the speed than I was getting before. Realizing that wireless speeds will never match wired speeds I do see a nice bump up from what I was getting. Using the node I am constantly getting download speeds in the 375+ Mbps range and upload in the the 40 Mbps range. Without the node I was generally getting downloads In 260 to 280 Mbps range with highs around 325. Upload speeds without the node ran in 24 to 32 Mbps. Very happy with this device.
Date published: 2021-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple to use, fast WiFi 6 Mesh Router This Tri-Band Velop is updating an older WiFi 5 Velop. Install was almost goof proof. While keeping the old Velop active, I turned the new one on, the app saw it and asked me what I wanted to do. I choose the option to swap out the old one and in 5 minutes I had a new router in place and running. It kept the old setting to boot. I ended up reseting two of the old mesh nodes, adding them to the new mesh network to fill in an upstairs gap. Its really easy to do with the app. (And now I'm probably going to have to save up for an additional WiFi 6 Mesh Node as WiFi 6 is not supported on the older nodes). One note, it did not install the latest firmware by default, so you should check the web site, download and install manually if that happens to you. Throughput is fantastic for games and streaming HD video is not a problem. I only wish the app had the same settings as the web based router config page as some in depth settings are just not exposed. Regardless, highly recommended...
Date published: 2020-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Christmas Came Early This Year! No kidding! This would make virtually anyone who has internet a great gift, but not just in the holiday season. In fact, whether you use it as a router or for an additional node, I believe that this is a welcome gift for any occasion. It is truly a gift that keeps on giving.
Date published: 2020-12-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Underwhelmed I was given this unit to review and found the overall performance comparable in most respects to the MR8300 Linksys unit it replaced. I was expecting a noticeable difference. Setup, following the instructions explicitly, did not work. I had to contact tech support which guided me through setup of both the AX4200 as well as relinking to an existing Linksys extender. Prior to installation I verified signal strength and both download and upload speeds in 8 locations throughout my home. Once installed, signal strength indicated strong in all locations, and upload speeds were nearly identical with the previous router. Download speeds, however, were dramatically better in the two locations closest to the new router--358 vs. 79.6 and 299 vs. 29. Download speeds in the other 6 locations were modestly better. In spite of this I have witnessed occasional buffering that I did not experience with the MR8300, and really have not noticed any practical improvement with daily use, though I have only had it for a couple of weeks.
Date published: 2020-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick and easy set up! Just got this a week ago, and it was up and running in about 15 minutes. Very intuitive app, and so far it has been very reliable. Even better speed tests results than my previous WiFi router.
Date published: 2020-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to setup. Very easy to setup, just follow the Linksys app. Nice white design that blends in, that a big black unit. The power plug is design not to block other wall plugs. Best of all it is fast.
Date published: 2020-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have wifi everywhere now I have used a half dozen products to get complete coverage for wifi in my home. I unplugged everything else as this does the trick!
Date published: 2020-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Range I purchased this a couple of weeks ago and the range is great. Easy set up, it took less than ten minutes. Great router!
Date published: 2020-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great range I bought this a few weeks ago and I’m very impressed with the range and easy set up of this router. Very impressive.
Date published: 2020-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome range! Super easy setup! Another great product from Linksys! So easy to setup and works great!
Date published: 2021-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Stylish and Powerhouse Addition to our home Feature packed with thoughtful design that blends in to any room's surroundings and no unsightly antennas visible that has prevented me in previous attempts from placing previous devices in the optimal location for best signal strength per my boss (wife)!! Love the recessed connection jacks for and the status light indicator being placed where they aren't a blaring reminder that this is a WIFI device as well as the remaining control buttons on the bottom of the unit. Even though since the initial set up I doubt I'll have to use them much. The overall size is also amazing considering the abilities of this unit's range of up to a 2700 square foot range along with up to being able to support 40+ devices is great especially when our home is pack with smart home devices competing for internet access space. So far no lag time issues with streaming TV and or online game playing at the same time. Thinking seriously about extending the range by adding some additional "nodes" to this setup so I can also utilize WIFI in the garage as well as outside as well as install a wireless security camera system option. Setup was painless thanks to the Linksys app. The advanced security features are also a must with the increased online banking / purchasing.
Date published: 2021-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insane Speed and Reach The AX4200 Tri-Band Mesh WiFi 6 system is a beast. It is the by far the best router that I have ever owned. I first hooked this up as a separate node to my current Linksys mesh wifi system. The speed was noticeably faster. I then decided to hook it up as my primary and that's when I noticed how much more faster it was on its own. It's probably overkill for an apartment but I would definitely encourage others to purchase this for big houses, as the reach on this router is unbelievable. I can go into the basement and not even lose a wifi bar. I can also go outside and not lose a wifi bar. My older router with one node would not let me do either. If by some reason you needed more reach you can easily purchase another node for the mesh system. The AX4200 is pretty big compared to my other nodes. You can tell that it is meant to be the primary router to any other nodes. the footprint remains small but the height is larger. I was able to hook up the AX4200 within 5 minutes thru the Linksys app on my iOS device. As I mentioned I first added it as a node and then switched it to my primary after a few days. Both instances of set-up were flawless. It's going to be difficult to switch back to anything else after using this now for over a week. I am very pleased with the AX4200.
Date published: 2020-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Geo's MX4200 Review I received this product 2 weeks ago and initially had a problem with installing it on my network. After trouble shooting and working with the Linksys technical support we determined that the problem was the unplugged node on my Velop network. I removed the child node and then added the AX 4200 to my network as a wireless child node and it connected without any problem. I then took the device as Linksys recommends to it new location and brought the device back up as a wired child node. It worked great. I then added the second child node back to my Velop network and it added right back in without any problems. I accessed some of the programs I normally do such as Disney +, Netflix, etc. from the devices attached to the MX4200 and could see a noticeable difference in loading the apps. Streamed a moving or 2 and have no problems at all. I now have a full network signal on all my devices and the device is working great. Except for the initial problem I had with the disconnected child node on my Velop network, the MX4200 was relatively easy to setup. My grandkids came over after the new Node was installed and they played their PS4, Xbox, and several items on their phones all at the same time and did not notice any issues. I would strongly recommend this product to add to your network and expand and improve coverage.
Date published: 2020-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Affordable Top Tier Wi-Fi 6 Mesh Router! The Linksys Velop AX4200 Tri-Band Mesh WiFi 6 System (MX4200) is another great product from Linksys. I was very impressed with this router. I have a Linksys MX5 Velop AX5300 router (MX5300) configured for one side of my home. My goal was to connect the AX4200 to my AX5300 (Both routers are connected via a wired Ethernet backhaul to my main ASUS router) and create a Linksys Mesh network that covered my other side of my home. The purpose of this new Linksys Mesh network was for my six outside Ring security cameras and a new guest network for visitors using both 802.11ac (WiFi 5) and 802.11ax (WiFi 6) standards. I used the free Linksys App on my Android smartphone. This app was very user friendly and it went through each process of the setup. It took about 6 minutes to add this node to my existing Velop Mesh network. Regarding performance, the AX4200 node performed at the same level as the AX5300. I tested with a couple of smartphones and tablets and roamed around my home. Also, I noticed that the coverage radius was up to 30 feet from outside the perimeter of my home. I enabled the Linksys Skill for Alexa so that I could manage Wi-Fi access for the connected devices in my home. I used this feature to enable guest Wi-Fi access and also to turn individual device connections on or off. It worked great! Overall, I highly recommend this Linksys Velop AX4200 product. I was impressed with the easy setup process, whole-home and outside coverage area, and performance. If you are looking for a Wi-Fi 6 Mesh router, then this is the product for you at a great price point.
Date published: 2020-12-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not friendly with AT&T First off, perhaps this system was meant for cable internet users because I sure had a tough time getting a node working with my AT&T fiber internet. The app could not connect the node at all to my internet. My modem router I have is the BG-210 from AT&T and there was no mention if I connect to the linksys node through the internet port or Ethernet port. I even gave up on it after two calls to tech support, who was no help. I returned the system, then came across a YouTube video of a gentleman who showed how to connect two routers together. That is what resolved the issue for me, and boy, what a pain it is too. Today I went back to buy the system again to give this a try. Here’s is what I had to do: 1) BG-210 modem/router- go to web based router settings and make sure DHCP is enabled and set IP address to 192.168.1.1 2) Linksys router - connect to router WiFi address and go to web based router settings and change the WiFi SSID and password before anything else. 3) Find the setting to disable DHCP, then save it. 4) Linksys router - after the refresh, find the setting to change the IP to 192.168.1.2 5) Connect the cable from the AT&T BG-210 Ethernet port to the Ethernet port of the Linksys. No not the internet port, it wouldn’t work. 6) After everything is connected, I went to 192.168.1.1 and turned off the BG-210 WiFi entirely so I only got the signal from the linksys. 7) Since I only need one node I stopped there but I suppose adding more nodes is the same sort of process. Keeping in mind I am doing this all manually not by the mobile app since it didn’t work. Anyway this was a pain in the butt and took me nearly 8 hours to figure all this out, but It works well with no hiccups.
Date published: 2021-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from State of the Art! Let me start out by saying WOW! I obtained this node about 2 weeks ago and it has definitely been an improvement in our life. I replaced my EA9500 router with this single node. I had no idea that this little tower would easily replace such a beast router. As it stands now I'm practically running everything in my house on wireless with the exception of my NAS. So unless you have everything hard wired to your router this is definitely the device for you. The tower itself is awesome on aesthetics and a space saver it also has 3 ethernet ports (hard wire connections). For any of you that own an EA9500 router you will know that it's huge with 8 antennas and no way to hang on a wall but has the versatility of 8 hard wire connections. As great as my router was, I couldn't hide it anywhere and so it stands out in my living room but now I'm able to hide this tower on the side or behind my TV in the living room. My connection seems to be more stable on this Wifi 6 node Vs. my AC5400 router and I do notice an improvement in consistent speeds. My internet always use to test speed at high 300's and low 400's now I can hit up to 450+ in the same spot with the same devices. It was easy to setup, literally just added a new device through the app and it picked it up the new device and set up was mostly automated. Parental controls are great and easy to use, you will definitely not be disappointed coming from an AC network over to a Wifi 6 network. Range is an improvement, although I can't tell you how much farther the signal goes I can tell you that the spots that were previously 2 or 3 bars are now full bars, this particular setup was in a 2300 Sq. ft. house. Thank you Linksys please keep up the good work.
Date published: 2021-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY WORKING USB CONNECTIVITY Velop AX4200 Tri-Band Mesh WiFi 6 System (MX4200) Review I would like to start out saying how much I LOVE this Mesh Router. I always test the USB connectivity on every device I get just to see how ‘bad’ it is. My thinking is that if a networked device has USB connectivity, it should work that way and not simply be a feature added that nobody uses. I was sorely mistaken when testing this device. Starting at the beginning, I followed the QSG (quick start guide) and plugged the network into the WAN (internet) port, and then plugged in the power. I opened up my Android app to start the setup, which was fast and flawless. I then inserted my 32GB USB 3.0 drive into the only USB port on my model, as well as used this for every test. From my computer I mapped to the drive as drive N: and proceeded to run my tests, as shown below in ‘speedtests1.jpg’. My current 2 routers offer the speeds noted in the image ‘speedtests2.jpg’. The wired speeds were always faster which a single exception on the 256MiB RND4K tests. This was so far beyond even the last router I tested that I had to recheck the tests a few times to make sure something was not an error. Everything was setup properly. I am still amazed. Now back to testing of the other functions of this router. I was able to add 2 other nodes to this router with any issues and even seemed to have better coverage than the previous setup without moving any of the nodes from their current locations. All the features such as prioritization, external storage, parental controls, and Wi-Fi settings operate as I would expect. No vast improvements, no issues, it just does what I expected. I would absolutely recommend this router to anyone who would like to use USB router attached network storage. That alone makes me want to completely change out my current router for this unit. I did receive this unit free as a test unit and would gladly purchase additional nodes based on its performance.
Date published: 2020-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great router and great starter to mesh-routing The Linksys Velop AX4200 Tri-Band Mesh WiFi6 router is the latest in their lineup of Mesh WiFi systems. In this iteration of their Velop line, the router allows for a wide variety of network speeds, and it supports all of the latest WiFi protocols, including the new Wi-Fi 6 standard. It has a wide range of up to 2700 square feet, and it is capable of broadcasting three Wi-Fi bands to meet all of your Wi-Fi needs. I received this router as part of Linksys's program in exchange for my honest review. Contents: The box consists of the router, an Ethernet cable, a power adapter, and some health and safety information. The router was bigger than I thought it would be. It's similar in design to previous iterations of the Velop node, but this one is larger. I liked how it had additional Ethernet ports as well as a USB port for external storage. Setup Setting up the router is easily done through the Linksys Smartphone App. There were some slight issues at the beginning where the app couldn't locate the router, but I realized that all I had to do was connect to the router via Wi-Fi and Bluetooth. Once I did that, everything went fine. It was easy to set up the name and password and get everything up and running. Testing I tested the router using a SpeedTest program to see what speeds I can get in various parts of my house which is a tad bigger than the specified range of the router.For the most part, the speeds were what I expected given the layout of my house. Up close, I got a very impressive download speed of 178 Mbps. At the far end of my house, I got 10 Mbps. The router has a wide range, but for a two-story house, a single node did better than what I expected. Final Thoughts: Overall, this new addition to the Velop family performs very well. Setup was simple, and the coverage with just one node was pretty extensive. Speeds with the router were very fast up close and were acceptable farther away. I highly recommend this product for anyone wanting to get started with mesh-networking and the latest Wi-Fi protocols.
Date published: 2020-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Speed you can live with! The Velop AX4200 Tri-Band Mesh WiFi 6 System MX4200 is at just about at the top of the line for wifi 6 routers. Linksys has smashed the wifi barrier with this router for speed and ease of setup and use. The router runs on 892.11ax, more commonly known as WIFI 6 ,at about 9.6 Gbs compared to WIFI 5 at about 3 to 3.5 Gps. Its not so much about the speed as the fact that it will allow you to more then double the wireless devices that you use now and handle the load much better. I’m running 28 different wireless devices now and have had trouble keeping one of my smart dimmer switches connected to my router. It completely took care of the problem. You don’t have to have all WIFI 6 gadgets to take advantage of WIFI 6 because it takes care of the bandwidth so much better. If you want to see a big improvement in speed, when the WIFI 6 devices start to come out you will notice a huge difference. I did upgrade my laptop to wifi 6 and I noticed about a 10 Mps increase. Don’t let that stop you from buying because the other benefits using a Velop mesh WIFI 6 system will more then make you a happy camper. One thing I noticed was that the ax 4200 didn’t use the 160 Mhz bandwith, that I would have liked. But performance was excellent. The 2.4 band covered my whole house with full coverage, but the 5 band was down a bit, Now, I am using the single node so I was impressed with the output. I setup one of my old velop nodes to help with the 5Ghz band and everything was great. I have about 1900 sq ft. Don’t you think it would be nice not to see that annoying circle spinning in front of your eyes all the time. I believe that you can run at least 125 and more devices compared to like 50 on older units. WIFI 6 also has a lot better security then WIFI 5 because it comes with WPA 3 and its is more difficult for hackers to get your passwords, you do need wifi 6 devices for this feature. I would have to write 3 pages to tell you of all the great benefits the velop AX4200 will give you so it would be best if you purchased your own and start enjoying life all over again. Baxter
Date published: 2020-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy To Setup Router. Good WiFi Speeds. The first thing I noticed when I unboxed the Velop AX4200 Tri-Band Mesh WiFi 6 router (I'll call it the Velop 6 for short) was how large it was compared to the original Velop mesh router. Both are white and boxy, but the new Velop 6 is much larger. This will definitely stick out in any decor. The Velop 6 still uses only one indicator LED, situated on top, but the power switch, LAN & WAN ports are now on the back edge of the router, The original Velop had it's ports and power switch on the bottom. The Velop 6 also now includes 3 LAN ports vs. only 1 on the original Velop. There is also a USB 3 port for attaching an external hard drive. In addition to the ports on the back, a power switch, reset button, and a WPS button were on the bottom of the Velop 6. I only had one node for evaluation, so I wasn't able to test any aspects of using the Velop 6 in a mesh configuration. I Could have installed nodes from the original Velop, but I'm not sure what that would accomplish other than to prove that a mesh system could be setup. The performance of the original nodes would have been mixed in with the performance of the Velop 6 and would not be of any valuable information. So, for this review, I will evaluate the Velop 6 as a stand alone wireless router. Setup was easy using the Linksys app on my iPhone 6s+. I already had an account made to configure the older Velop router, so I just used it to setup the newer Velop 6. Following the on screen directions, I was able to connect to the Velop 6, name my network, and configure basic settings (including changing the router password). I then powered my network down and swapped out my existing router (a Linksys WRT3200ACM). I powered up my network & proceeded to go through all the more advanced settings. The Velop 6 was missing some of the more advanced settings available on the WRT3200ACM. Security is restricted to WPA2/WPA3 Personal only. No Enterprise or legacy settings, so if you have older devices that don't support WPA2 minimum, you won't be able to use them with this router. Also, you can't manually select bandwidth or channels with this router, although it does have a feature to scan for the optimal channel and displays which channel it has selected for each band. After I finalized the settings to be configured as similar to the WRT3200ACM, I went around my home taking measurements of the speeds I was able to get on both the 2.4 & 5.0 GHz bands. The location of the Velop 6 was centrally located on the second floor of my house, and would have to cover around 3000 sq. ft. In general, the speeds of this router were faster than what I was seeing with the WRT3200ACM. Not only were the speeds faster, but the range was better. In some areas of my house where I was only getting low single digit speeds with the WRT3200ACM, I was getting double digit speeds with the Velop 6. I was most impressed with the performance using the 5 GHz band, which consistently recorded triple digit speeds at distances of up to 40 feet away, through walls and floors. As a single point router, this model was pretty good, although it was missing some configuration settings that I would have liked to have. For instance, there was no way to save configuration settings or manually up date the firmware. With no means to manually update the firmware, I don't think there is a way to use a 3rd party firmware (DD-WRT, Tomato, etc.). I also would have liked to have 4 LAN ports instead of the 3 supplied on this model. For most consumer users, the missing ability to manually control some features isn't an issue. They would want a Plug & Play approach to setting up a home network, but for enthusiasts, they would probably not consider this model. And after a quick seach on the web, this model is pretty expensive, but if you've got to stay in the Linksys ecosystem, this may be the model to get if you really need a WiFI 6 mesh system.
Date published: 2020-12-24
  • y_2021, m_9, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-MX4200, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 250ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*As compared from 802.11ac to 802.11ax

**As compared to 2x2 WiFi 5 router at 80 MHz

May require a software/firmware update available for download at linksys.com/support.

Belkin, Linksys, Velop and many product names and logos are trademarks of the Belkin group of companies. Third-party trademarks mentioned are the property of their respective owners. [Alexa and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.] Apple and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc. Android and Google Play are trademarks of Google Inc. Bluetooth® is a registered trademark owned by Bluetooth SIG Inc. and its use by Belkin is under license. Wi-Fi and Wi-Fi Protected Setup are either trademarks or registered trademarks of the Wi-Fi Alliance. The Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Logo is a certification mark of the Wi-Fi Alliance.

© 2020 Belkin International, Inc. and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.