text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features
Linksys AC1200 BOOST Eliminate Deadzones

ELIMINATE DEAD ZONES AND BOOST WiFi UP TO 7,500 SQUARE FEET**

Easily expand your home WiFi to enjoy uninterrupted streaming, smooth online gaming, and more with the Linksys AC1200 BOOST EX WiFi Range Extender (RE6400). The AC1200 BOOST EX extends your existing WiFi range up to 7,500 square feet** so you can enjoy a stronger WiFi signal--even outdoors.

WORKS WITH ALL WiFi ROUTERS

The AC1200 BOOST EX is compatible with all WiFi routers, including your existing unit or those from service providers. There's no need to modify your router's settings when installing the extender--you won't have to touch your router at all.


Linksys AC1200 BOOST Easy Setup

EASY SETUP OPTIONS FOR OPTIMAL PLACEMENT

Two simple ways to setup:

  • Simply press the Push Button Connect feature on the AC1200 BOOST EX to automatically sync it to your router.
  • Simple setup from a smartphone, tablet, or laptop.

Find the optimal location for the range extender using Spot Finder Technology.

  • If placed too far from an existing router, a range extender may not expand WiFi or WiFi may be spotty. Spot Finder helps ensure your Linksys range extender is in the right spot.

Linksys AC1200 BOOST Dual Bands

STRENGTHENS WiFi CONNECTION WITH DUAL BANDS

Stream movies, play games online, and browse the Web without interruptions thanks to quick data transfer speeds of up to N300 + AC867 Mbps*. The range extender features dual bands and can also focus the WiFi signal directly to your connected devices for optimal performance, thanks to Beamforming Technology.


Linksys AC1200 BOOST Crossband Technology

Crossband Technology Maximizes WiFi

Crossband Technology allows information to be obtained on one band and transmitted on the other, resulting in reduced dropped data packets, faster media transfer speeds, and a stronger, more consistent signal throughout your home.


GIGABIT ETHERNET PORT

WIRED CONNECTION WITH GIGABIT ETHERNET PORT

Connect a wired device such as a gaming console, Blu-ray player, Smart TV, or streaming player to your WiFi network. The extender's Gigabit Ethernet port provides data transfer speeds 10x faster than a Fast Ethernet port.

Videos

Eliminate Dead Zones with Linksys Range Extenders Featuring Spot Finder Technology

  • Eliminate Dead Zones with Linksys Range Extenders Featuring Spot Finder Technology

  • Discover Linksys Range Extender Solutions to Eliminate Dead Zones

Show all videos
Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    802.11ac
  • Key Features:
    • Works with Any Router
    • Cross-Band Technology
    • Dual-Band
    • Beamforming Technology
    • Gigabit Ports
  • Wi-Fi Speed:
    AC1200 (N300 + AC867)
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    2.4 and 5GHz
  • Wi-Fi Range:
    7500 sq ft
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    One(1) Gigabit Ethernet port (10/100/1000 Mbps)
  • Easy Setup:
    • CD-Less setup
    • Setup from mobile devices
    • Push and connect using Wi-Fi Protected set-up (WPS)
  • Minimum System Requirements:
    Connected devices need Ethernet connectivity and Ethernet cables
  • Physical Specifications :
    121 x 87 x 60 mm
  • Security Features:
    • WPA/WPA2
    • 128 bit AES link encryption
  • Warranty and Support:
    • 1-year limited warranty
    • 90-day complimentary assisted technical support
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys AC1200 BOOST EX Wi-Fi Range Extender, RE6400
  • Quick Installation Guide
  • Regulatory Information
Reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to set up I used this item in a 6000 sq ft house to boost the wifi signal from the front upstairs to the back downstairs. It works well.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good improvement Have had it a couple of months and it has definitely made a difference. Very good improvement to my signal strength and range.
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from setup is hard. Stops working and needs to be... on sale because was overpriced, junk. Setup is hard. Stops working and needs to be setup all over again. I HATE THIS THING!!!
Date published: 2019-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well When multiple computers are using the wi fi it has happened that when on is turned off all loose connection to the internet.
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it's one of the top products available in market it's really great product with advanced technology with in good price. also the support was perfect with quick response
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never could get it to work Never could get it to work. Enterd the wifi code of my router and it would not accept it. Set up is not easy.
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not sure working Ifind that my connects with my broadband is working better connected to laptop and Linksys by way of wire.
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Very Difficult to setup!!!!!!!Hit wps button on my router within 15 ft of my router and will not pick up.
Date published: 2020-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to set up; works great. Easy to set up - just plugged it in and followed the directions. It works better than my old Linksys
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install, great response This device is really easy to install. I use it with AC1900, and signal is really good.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not bad no bad for signal extender, however, the signal processing for reply takes forever.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy installation Complete coverage of my condo, condo is the structure of the concrete and steel
Date published: 2016-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent It was a plug and play. A great device .would be a great boost for anyones WiFi
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works quietly and efficiently This product allows me to work anywhere in my home. It takes no maintenance.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WiFi Extender Excellant coverage, and easy to set up. It took less than a few minutes....
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I bought this 3 weeks ago. It makes a huge difference in WIFI reception.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from didn't work right I bought this at Costco. It doesn't work at all, and it never did
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Over all satisfied Works greats with my Linksys router adds a lot of distance.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DOES NOT WORK WITH ACTIONTEC MI424R REV. I REPEATED ATTEMPTS - ALL FAILED - FAILED - FAILED - FAILED.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from range extender did not see any difference in speed. was a waste of money
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy setup much cheaper and easier than running an Ethernet cable .
Date published: 2015-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy setup, extended range Right out of the box the RE6400 AC1200 was nice looking and easy to get up and running with my existing router. My current home is a 2-story above grade, 1 story below, 4000 sq' foot house and my router is positioned in a corner basement closet that is surrounded on 3 sides by concrete walls. Therefore, getting a good Wi-Fi signal on the upper floors and on the opposite side of the house has always been a problem. The RE6400 came with a quick set up guide and I opted to set it up with a 3rd generation iPad. The install was accomplished easily within 5 minutes. The only thing I found slightly annoying was that I had to log my various devices into the newly created "Ext" networks with my password (I hoped it would auto populate from the router). During setup the RE6400 indicator lights let me know that it was installed too close to the router so I moved it to another location and the indicator let me know it was in a good spot. It's been plugged in that location for about a week and my family has not complained about their Wi-Fi signals dropping or about any dead spots. The only issue I have run into since installation has been some buffering while streaming video. However, I'm not sure if this was an issue with the RE6400 or with the amount of bandwidth that was being used by my family (4 iPads, 4 iPhones, and multiple other streaming devices that run via Wi-Fi. .
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy to install! I live in a 2-storey home that has a backyard patio where we have a barbecue and picnic bench. I have a Cisco Linksys E900 wireless router that my family routinely uses to stream internet content and Netflix to a Windows laptop, two IPADs, and two I-Phones. We had no issues with wireless connection speed downstairs inside our home but upstairs and in the backyard the wireless signal was weak – only 1 or 2 bars – resulting in slow internet surfing and TV picture freezing when watching Netflix upstairs. The AC1200 WIFI Range Extender solved my wireless problems. Out of the box the AC1200 WIFI Extender is a small, lightweight, one piece, simple plug in unit. Set up for me was simple because I had the same Linksys brand wireless router. All I had to do was plug the AC1200 into a wall outlet, press the Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) button on my Linksys E900 wireless router then press the WPS button on the AC1200 Range Extender. After a couple of minutes the AC1200 range extender displayed a solid green light indicating it was connected. I moved the AC1200 to a central location downstairs in my home and then walked around with my laptop checking for wireless signal strength. I had at least 3 bars signal strength at the furthest corners of my home upstairs and in the backyard! I highly recommend the AC1200 range extender for anyone needing more wireless range. It’s small, easy to set up, easy to move around and it works!
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent extender I purchased this a few hours ago on a whim at Costco and am very pleased with the results. I have a pretty powerful non-Linksys AC2400 router that has done well in a 3 story house. But with a recent move to a new home, the coverage had proven inadequate. I've had extenders before but always had found their performance to be lacking. With the 2.4ghz band, I now get transfer speeds in the low 50mb range with the RE6400. The only problem I had was with setup. I am quite technical but found that the status of the RE6400 I received did not match the installation instructions - at all. After a bit of analysis, I discovered that this device had its SSID turned off and the default password changed. Once I reset to factory, things improved. But I never saw an SSID of Linksys Extender Setup – xxx. Fortunately, I've used a lot of different network devices and was able to guess what to do - as the documentation was not very helpful resolving my "non-standard" status. I had WPS turned off on my router - so I tried browser setup. Unfortunately, I could not get it to work - wirelessly. I did find, however, that I could access the setup menus by plugging my laptop into the RE6400's ethernet port. Once connected, the setup menus were very simple to access and use. After that, it was only a few minutes to set up. The only thing I found to be annoying about setup was the Spot Finder. Although it worked fine, it took several minutes each time I moved the RE6400 before I could validate the status with Spot Finder (power off, plug back in, wait for reboot). A long extension cord would have been extremely helpful.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review of Linksys AC 1200 Boost EX Wi-Fi Range Ext This is a review of the Linksys AC 1200 Boost EX Wi-Fi Range Extender RE6400. This device is compatible with the following wireless standards: 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11a, and 802.11ac. It operates on 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz frequencies simultaneously. I paired the Linksys AC1200 Boost EX Wi-Fi Range Extender RE6400 with a Linksys WRT 1900 ACS Dual Band Smart Wi-Fi Router with 1.6 GHZ dual core CPU and 512 MB memory (2.4 GHZ and 5.0 GHZ). I live in a two story house. The router is located on the first floor of the house in the far left corner. I do not have any significant Wi-Fi dead spots within my home and, I usually have had no trouble connecting to the Wi-Fi anywhere within the house. However, some places that are located the farthest from the router do sometimes have a signal strength that is weak compared to other locations. If I am outside on the back porch, or under the shade trees (some 15 to 20 yards away from the house) I have trouble getting a strong signal and experience slowness on my notebook and phone. However, with the Linksys AC1200 Boost EX Wi-Fi Range Extender RE6400, this is eliminated. Inside or outside, my signal strength is excellent on both frequencies, and the speed is good; especially on the 2.4 GHz frequency. Set up and configuration of the Linksys AC1200 Boost EX Wi-Fi Range Extender RE6400 can be done manually via the website or automatically through the Wi-Fi Protected Setup Button feature (i.e. WPS). I tested both features; first doing the setup via WPS; and then setting the extender back to its default settings, and setting it up via the website. I had problems with the setup or configuration using either method. The Wi-Fi Protected Setup Button feature (i.e. WPS) was the quickest of the two methods, but the “geek” side of me appreciated the details of the configuration that is available when the setup is done via the website. The Linksys AC 1200 Boost EX Wi-Fi Range Extender RE6400 comes with another feature that I have not seen before. It is called Spot Finder Technology. Using a smartphone, notebook or tablet, the Spot Finder Technology uses your browser to provide a visual image of the distance between the Range Extender and your router. It helps ensure a proper placement that is neither too far or too close to your router. I tested this feature by plugging the Linksys AC 1200 Boost EX Wi-Fi Range Extender RE6400 into a number of different electrical outlets within my home just to see how the visual representation changed in each location, and to determine the signal strength in each location. The Linksys AC 1200 Boost EX Wi-Fi Range Extender RE6400 has another feature called “Cross-Band.” It is this feature that allows the extender to operate on the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz frequencies simultaneously. This is the “default” setting during the device setup. There are other configuration options with “Cross-Band,” but I have not tested any of these. The Extender works fine for me with the default settings. Overall, I found the Linksys AC 1200 Boost EX Wi-Fi Range Extender RE6400 to be an excellent device and would recommend it to anyone that desires to improve the range and signal strength of their Wi-Fi set up.
Date published: 2016-06-30
  • y_2021, m_11, d_27, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_93
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-RE6400, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 141ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*Maximum performance derived from IEEE Standard 802.11 specification. Actual performance can vary, including lower wireless network capacity, data throughput rate, range, and coverage. Performance depends on many factors, conditions, and variables, including distance from the access point, volume of network traffic, building materials and construction, operating system used, mix of wireless products used, interference, and other adverse conditions.
**Range specifications are based on performance test results under normal use case conditions. Actual ranges will increase or decrease depending on wireless obstructions, operating environments, and building material. Wireless coverage claims are used only as reference and are not guaranteed as each wireless network is unique.
Push Button Connect works with devices that support Wi-Fi Protected Setup™ like Linksys Wireless-AC routers and others.