text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features
Linksys RE9000

ELIMINATE WiFi DEAD ZONES AND BOOST RANGE

Extend your Next-Gen AC WiFi connection in hard-to-reach locations of your home such as the backyard, garage, or bedroom, so you can get blazing AC3000 WiFi speeds to Smart TVs, Blu-ray Disc players, iPads, tablets, laptops, and smartphones. Powerful amplifiers and four high-performance external antennas deliver maximum power and range, allowing everyone in your family to enjoy 4K/HD movie streaming, simultaneous online gaming, social media, and more.

Linksys RE9000 Range Extender Diagram

UP TO 3X FASTER THAN DUAL-BAND RANGE EXTENDERS*

The Max-Stream RE9000 Tri-Band Range Extender helps you get the most out of your home WiFi by delivering speeds up to 3X faster than Dual-Band range extenders*. Dedicated backhaul technology maximizes WiFi speeds by assigning a single, dedicated 5 GHz WiFi band to your router. This frees up the remaining two bands to focus exclusively on your streaming media players, game consoles, and other connected devices, so you'll enjoy full-strength WiFi without slowdown or degradation.

Additionally, Band Steering automatically directs connected devices to the faster and less congested WiFi band, offering uninterrupted premium coverage throughout your home and beyond.

How Tri-Band Works Animation

WORKS WITH ALL WiFi ROUTERS AND ISP GATEWAYS

This WiFi range extender is compatible with any WiFi router, including those from Internet service providers. There's no need to adjust your router's settings when installing the extender.

MULTI USER-MIMO EXTENDS NEXT-GEN AC WiFi TO MULTIPLE USERS

Next-Gen AC with MU-MIMO (Multi-User, Multiple-Input, Multiple-Output) technology ensures your WiFi is delivered faster and with more efficient throughput to every MU-MIMO connected device. This means your whole household can surf the Internet, stream 4K and HD movies, play online games, and more simultaneously--without annoying buffering or lag.

Range Extenders With vs Without Seamless Roaming

ROOM-TO-ROOM WiFi WITH SEAMLESS ROAMING

With Seamless Roaming, your enabled wireless devices will automatically switch to the strongest WiFi signal, so you won't have to manually connect to the router or range extender when you move from one room to another--or even to your backyard.** This means that you can move freely throughout your home while video chatting or streaming videos without experiencing dropped calls or buffering.

Pair a MAX-STREAM router such as the EA9500 with the MAX-STREAM range extender for more efficient home WiFi that delivers stronger, more powerful WiFi signal to all your devices.

Range Extension diagram

AUTO UPDATES KEEP YOUR DEVICE UP TO DATE

Your RE9000 will automatically receive firmware updates from Linksys as they are released, so your range extender is always secure and up-to-date.

BEAMFORMING FOR RELIABLE CONNECTIVITY

Linksys range extenders provide a reliable connection that allows you to enjoy uninterrupted gaming and HD streaming. Beamforming technology focuses the WiFi signal directly to your smartphone, tablet, or laptop for a fast WiFi connection.

Spot Finder Technology

EASY SETUP OPTIONS FOR OPTIMAL PLACEMENT

Two simple ways to setup:

  • Simply press the Push Button Connect feature on the MAX-STREAM AC3000 to automatically sync it to your router.
  • Simple setup from a smartphone, tablet, or laptop.

How to extend WiFi range as much as possible: find the optimal location for the range extender using Spot Finder Technology.

  • If placed too far from an existing router, a wireless range extender may not expand WiFi or WiFi signal strength may be spotty. Spot Finder helps ensure your Linksys range extender is in the right spot.

Gigabit Ethernet Ports

4 GIGABIT ETHERNET PORTS TO CONNECT WIRED DEVICES

Connect game consoles, Blu-ray players, or Smart TVs to the AC3000's four Gigabit Ethernet ports to provide a fast and stable connection.

EXPAND YOUR WiFi NETWORK WITH ACCESS POINT MODE

You can configure the RE9000 range extender to act as an AC access point to extend your home WiFi and reduce dead zones. Access Point Mode allows you to add WiFi capabilities to your existing home wired network. Not only will Band Steering automatically direct traffic to the least congested of the RE9000's three WiFi bands, but all three bands will use the same SSID for seamless performance.

Simply connect the AC3000 range extender using a Gigabit Ethernet cable to your router or cable gateway to upgrade your WiFi connectivity.

Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    AC3000 Tri-Band with MU-MIMO
  • Key Features:
    • MU-MIMO
    • Seamless Roaming
    • Dedicated Backhaul
    • High Power Amplifier
    • Gigabit Port
    • Multi-Mode
    • 1-Touch Setup
    • Spot Finder Technology
  • Network Standards:
    • 802.11 a
    • 802.11 b
    • 802.11 g
    • 802.11 n
    • 802.11 ac
  • Wi-Fi Speed:
    AC3000 (N400 + AC866 +AC1733)
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    Tri-Band, 2.4 GHz + 5 GHz + 5 GHz
  • Wi-Fi Range:
    Up to 10,000 Sq Ft
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    4 Gigabit Ethernet Ports
  • Other Ports:
    No
  • Minimum System Requirements:
    • Microsoft® Internet Explorer® 8.0
    • Firefox® 20
    • Safari® 5.1
    • Google Chrome™ 25.0 browsers or higher
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    136mm x170.4mm x 45.1mm
  • Weight:
    360 g
  • Security Features:
    Access Control (Wireless MAC Filtering)
  • Warranty and Support:
    12 Months (for U.S.)
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys Max-Stream Tri-Band AC3000 Wi-Fi Range Extender, RE9000
  • Quick Install Guide
  • Regulatory Information
Reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wireless Extender!! I’m doing my review on the RE9000!! I really must say it’s a good product. Setup was easy I was up and running in less than five minutes. I love the form and design. It looks like a little router so it doesn’t look weird or out of place. It fixed my internet in places where my internet couldn’t reach or wasn’t consistent. I can only say good things about it. The only issue I ran into i don't know if it's just the unit I heve is that it has a hissing sound going on. Something I hope can be fixed with an update. Overall it's highly recommend!!!
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Choice Setting up the extender with my Linksys AC1750 was effortless. When the status bar on the extender turns solid green, the connection is complete. The status bar is also helpful when placing the extender around the house as a solid green bar indicates a strong connection to the router. If the bar is orange, the connection is weak. A big plus with the AC3000 extender is seamless roaming if connected to a Linksys Max-Stream router, The signal throughout my house is excellent. I highly recommend the AC3000 to anyone looking to extend their network with the latest technology.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Good WiFi Range Extender! I received this for free in exchange for an honest review. I found this WiFi Range Extender easy to install and setup. It took less than 10 minutes to set and make operational on my home network. Connection to all my other devices, 2 cell phones, 2 wireless printers, and 2 other wireless computers (1 laptop and 1 desktop) was immediate. I have found this range extender to be a big improvement over my older wireless range extender (roughly 3 years old). It is much more powerful in terms of range and whole house and outside patio coverage. It operates very smoothly with great coverage. No glitches or other problems at all. I highly recommend the Linksys Max-Stream Tri-Band AC3000 Wi-Fi Range Extender for ease of installation, operation and signal boosting power.
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for multi level buildings Got this product to test and I am really amazed at all recent linksys offerings. First it is very easy to setup with any router (though i hv linksys one only) and took like 10-15 minutes overall. Before this, we hv deadspots and now everything is gone - like magic ;). One other good thing is u continue to get same speed with extender (no drop in speed). Overall i like the product and recommend to a fren or other for sure.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great! I've tried extenders before and have to say my expectations were low from prior experiences but this unit worked great! I have a detached garage at my home with zero wifi signal and the router in the house is around 60' away. I positioned it a little less than mid-way and I was able to stream music, videos and perform all my other need tasked without a problem.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great New Product The RE9000 has a range as good as my AC router and I am well please with it. I am able to receive over 100 Mbps on the 5G band and 50 Mbps on the 2.4G band.from a wired Internet connect speed of 100 Mbps. I have tested the range and speed of the connection in several areas of my home and I am able to be at least 50 feet from the RE9000 and still receive a very fast and steady signal. This extender is probably the best you are going to get until both the routers and the extenders start using the 802.11AX standard.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great extender Best extender I have used. Great connection and range. Cons - I started with the AC1900 router, however moved to the AC2200. After I installed the AC2200 I could not use the WPS to link up the two. I went on the dashboard to link up the two, however it would not link using the roaming feature, it kept trying to give me the ext extensions. When linking to a knew router you have to reset this device and then it will link up like the first time you installed it. 2nd con, no USB port like on the routers. Since the AC2200 only comes with one USB port I could have used one on here so my wife and I could have our own. The extender is back in my office, so that would have made it more convienent to use the feature instead of having to go to the router to change USB sticks.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Open this Gift First!! One button set up with the WPS feature was quick and painless. After pressing the WPS button and waiting only a short time before the green light indicator came on was a pleasant change from others I've tried where I had to drag out a Ethernet cable and physically connect the gateway router to an extender and having to log in to a manufactures web site to set one up. This range extender has a small physical footprint but is huge on features and performance such as seamless roaming, tri-band Wi-Fi, spot finder mobile app, and up to a 10,000 square foot range which makes covering most applications a breeze. The house is challenging since there is a 20 foot wide solid brick feature from floor to ceiling as you enter the front door with a fireplace on the opposite side. My plan was to hopefully place this extender on a side way shelf as close to possible to one of the open areas that the brick wall wasn't blocking with out blocking the signal to the rest the single story home and the adjustable antennas were just the ticket. Success!! Now not only is a strong Wi-Fi signal available past the brick wall but it also extends through out the rest of the home as well as in the back and front yards thanks to some large windows on both exterior walls. My son in law is a dedicated gamer and even with other family members online at the same time on a variety of devices from laptops to cell phones I didn't hear any grumbling about his game response slowing down. I imagine I'll be repeating another setup in the near future at his home when his purchase arrives as well. The 4 gigabit Ethernet ports will also be helpful to ensure seamless streaming on my TV. Frequently I need to be on my laptop for WebEx conference calls which until now I've always been tethered to an Ethernet cable but no more since the response and Wi-Fi strength is such that I should be able to move around my property to find a quiet spot for calls should others be at home as well. This extender is a great product and value with a painless install. Linksys has got all the bases covered with this product.
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A true breeze to set up. Easiest device to set up I have ever owned. Plug in the power, wait a few seconds for the light to complete cycling, press the WPS button on the router and then the WPS button on the RE9000. That's it! All settings completed and all devices ready to connect the normal way. About two minutes max following unpacking. That was simple to. The instructions are included and are easy to follow, with clear descriptions and handy pictures. Since I was replacing an old extender I didn't even have to use my tablet to find a location for the device. The primary uses for the RE9000 is to provide my wife's all-in-one computer a fast wifi connection and provide my grandson an ethernet connection for his Playstation 4 Pro in our living room. Both connections are working seamliessly. The roaming support is something I use with my Samsung phone and my Surface Pro laptop. All works as advertised, without having to change anything in the wifi connection or log in or out of anything. This is a great premium device. Consider one for a holiday present!
Date published: 2017-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SIMPLE Set was so easy. Just plug it in, push WPS button on router and on it and you are done. Seamless device connection while going around house and outside. Doesn't seem to lag either. I connected this to a linksys max stream ac2200 which has great range anyways. Could only put about 30ft from it but still extended the range out at least another 60ft from where the ac2200 dropped off. If I could have put where the ac2200 dropped out at probably would have had signal out 130ft more
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works GREAT!!!! I received this unit a few days ago and set it up the same day. Installation was easy , just followed instructions that came with it. Placed the range extender about midway in the house as I have computers and TV's in rooms at either end. It works GREAT. I can now stream some movies on my firestick at 5Gb as before I had to use 2.4Gb option. I would recommend this Linksys RE9000 MU-MIMO Range Extender to anyone that has a poor internet connection in their home of office.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good and bad Had for a day now.setup took minutes hooked up in five minutes to connect to my wrt 1900ac.no problems.so I noticed it only gives me one bar extra on signal.that could be a lot better.tried moving it to other locations like instructions said and it won’t connect unless it’s a foot in range of my router.the speed is a lot better.maybe a update will help with signal.going to try to run a few tests to boost the signal better.over all love the product.
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I needed. Easy to setup and worked just as advertised to extend the range of my current Linksys network to additional rooms.
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EZ-PZ This is the product I've needed for awhile. My laptop resides in a particularly challenging location for Wi-Fi in my home. Installing the RE9000 instantly improved signal strength from 3 bars to 5, and improved throughput by at least 30%. Setup was incredibly easy and took less than 10 minutes. If you have locations in your home that get weak, or no Wi-Fi, you should really try this, especially if you already use a Linksys router. Very pleased with this product!!!
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coverage After receiving my RE9000 Range Extender and unboxing it setup took about 5 minuets. The RE9000 communicated with my Linksys Router and almost set itself up properly. After using the RE9000 for about a week I almost forgot I had it. Coverage is seamless. The RE9000 has incredible range and speed. I noticed a significant speed improvement over my old extender. If you want great coverage and speed the RE9000 is the Range Extender you want.
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dies after warranty Follow up to the re9000.so it just up and stopped working shortly after the warranty ran out.no surges or anything.just stopped no lights.moved to different outlets still nothing.guarantee i wont get to test anything after this.since its been years now they havent sent me anything.
Date published: 2020-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy setup. Received this device recently and the setup as a wireless range extender using the browser-based method and a cell phone took about 5 minutes. The setup software is very easy to follow and the RE9000 paired easily with my EA8300 Router. The Spot Finder screen that shows the idea distance from the router for the RE9000 placement is useful. Since the EA8300 router provides excellent coverage for the inside of my home I was unable to find a place for the RE9000 far enough from the router to make it into the ideal distance range while still being indoors. However, some quick tests outside my home now show a strong WiFi signal in areas of my property that had weak or no signal without the RE9000. I'm looking forward to using my WiFi devices outside my home once winter is over. This also looks to be a device that once setup will run without any problems or adjustments.
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes wireless just as fast as direct connection I upgraded my wireless extender from a Linksys RE6700 which worked very well to the new RE9000 extender. My dsl internet speed is 28Mpbs with cable connected direct to router using speedtest.net. Testing the wireless connection speeds on the 5Gz band I get 27Mpbs with the RE9000 VS 21Mpbs with the RE6700. The RE9000 also appears to handle multiple wireless streaming better and range is great. I give it a thumbs up.
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Upgrade extender, good range and speed This extender has been in user for about a week and the results have been good. The home is average size (2100 sq- ft) with upgrades to an smart home of many connected devices and home automatons. There are many other connected devices (ex..tablets, TV's, Phone ) so the home needs always reliable internet connections. There were already an range extender connected for downstairs area coverage (ex. kitchen, bedroom and living room) and this solution worked OK, but It was not the best. There were some issues of signal drops and dead spots, but it was semi- reliable. In starting with review of RE9000 there were some issues at first with initial installation. The router failed to connect through WPS and also with PIN method. The connection type that worked was the browser method and there you can adjust the setting and configurations. Finding the sweet spot with the signal finder was simple and through automatic setting/switching/band steering features no changes was needed to be made. If your router supports these feature you can keep all your setting and network name. The network has just one network name on either bands (2.4 or 5 GHz) and there is no need to change networks for strongest signal. These features have worked well and so far I have not had signal drops. The results with the area range of extender has been good with coverage in front/ backyards and garage. For a test I stressed the network with multiple streams in an attempt to break. There was no issues of lagging or connection problems so test passed.The network keeps an high signal and offer decent speeds. With IPhone 8 the highest speed gotten on network after speed test was 75 Mbps and 10 Mbps upload, but the average was 45 to 50 Mbps. This is also the average on the laptops. In ending this extender is an upgrade from previous models with good speed and area coverage. The new features such as band steering and automatic switching are must have to make the network work easier.
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cleared up our dead spot So I got this as part of Friends and Family so I did not pay for it but I have to say that it really works to eliminate an issue we were having at the other end of the house. While sitting on our patio we would sometimes lose connection to our isp. This has solved the problem. I am not saying this because it was free to me but because it works like it is suspose to
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Range Extender! The RE9000 MU-MIMO Range Extender is the best I have seen and I have tried a few of them. I have a large area to cover and always, even with other range extenders had that one space that suffered but not with this one. It truely lives up to it's promise. It is a good choice and I understand it works with any wireless router. Linksys, you have a hit on your hands!
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Set up can't get any easier! The day this was delivered, my husband opened the box and said...looks the same as your router. Well, it does look the same of course. Inside the box, the extender, power cord and quick set up guide. I took it into the office, plugged it in and within minutes got the ready light as described in the guide. Since my plan was to use this as a wireless extender (it can also be used as a wired access point) I then pressed the wps button on my router followed by the wps button on the extender, very quickly the two paired up and I was able to take the extender to my chosen spot, plugged in and with my tablet, confirmed function. Now, we didn't have any totally out of range areas in our home but rather lessor signal. This now has provided us with full signal all over which in turn has provided faster connection speed and consistent streaming without any lag or lapses. Best of all, it only took maybe 5 minutes to get it up and running.
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Setup / Works Great! The RE9000 range extender is so easy to setup. Just push the WPS button on your router and then the RE9000. That is all you need to do. I then moved it to a room that did not have much of a signal from my router and now I have full coverage there. So if you have an area that does not have good wireless coverage from your router, this is all you need.
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple to setup and does the job I paired this range extender with my Max Stream router and it was so easy to setup. It pretty much picked up all the settings from my router and it piggybacks on the same wifi network ID. So far the speeds have been good from it. Took me a few tries to find the best spot in the house for it but now i get full coverage throughout my house.
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great item when works!!! I bought this WiFi Extender about 2 yrs ago. The set is easy and nice. But when I move to place upstairs. It keep loosing it connection with router. I do a factory reset and to care for awhile. But after awhile it drop connection and reconnect. So I did another factory reset and in our bedroom and it drop 2.4Ghz and only showed 5.0Ghz.
Date published: 2020-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Linksys - Great Range Extender The Linksys RE9000 MU-MMO Range Extender is a fantastic device. It's an easy set-up and running within five minutes. It replaces a weak WI-FI signal in hard to reach home areas with a strong steady signal. It is an excellent addition to any home network. The Linksys RE9000 Range Extender deserves a four star rating.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy set-up and works great I recited this through the Linksys Friends and Family Program to test. The devices was easy to set up using the WPS protocol. Coverage is excellent. There were two corners in my home that had extremely poor 5G coverage. Now rhe whole house has excellent service. The 5G extended coverage now bathes the entire house.
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick easy setup I replaced my not so old tri band extender with the Linksys RE9000. What a difference! No more buffering. I was having problems with a video door bell and flood light camera connecting and each has a good signal now. Also has seamless roaming you can turn on if your router supports it.
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Astounding Speed! Setup was simple and easy with the WPS button. A noticeable speed up with network speed was appreciated. The range has increased the area covered in our home. The dead zone - that spot in our house where WiFi seems to have disappeared has now disappeared providing a good strong signal.
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works amazingly I received this product free from Linksys to test and was not disappointed. It is easy to set up and I now have WiFi everywhere in my house. I had some dead spots in my upstairs but after installing the range extender, I now have speedy internet. Great product!
Date published: 2017-12-17
  • y_2021, m_9, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-RE9000, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 219ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*Maximum performance derived from IEEE Standard 802.11 specifications. Actual performance can vary, including lower wireless network capacity, data throughput rate, speed, range, and coverage. Performance depends on many factors, conditions, and variables, including distance from the access point, volume of network traffic, building materials and construction, operating system used, mix of wireless products used, interference, and other adverse conditions. In order to achieve the best performance, this product must be used with compatible AC3000 wireless devices.
†The standard transmission rates of both 5 GHz radios—1733 Mbps + 867 Mbps—are up to 3x faster physical data rates when compared to dual-band AC1200 range extenders with one 5 GHz radio speed of 867 Mbps. To achieve these speeds, this range extender requires a 5 GHz connection to the router.
**Seamless Roaming is designed for devices that support the 802.11k standard, including but not limited to, iPhone (4s and later), iPad Pro, iPad Air and later, iPad mini and later, iPad (3rd generation and later), iPod touch (5th generation and later), Samsung S4 (Android 4.2.2 /4.4.2), Samsung S5 (Android 4.4.2), and Samsung S6 (Android 5.0.2). For more information on supported Windows® and other devices, please check with your device manufacturer. Seamless Roaming may require the latest Max-Stream firmware. Please check the support page of your Max-Stream Router for more details.
§Range specifications are based on performance test results under normal use case conditions. Actual ranges will increase or decrease depending on wireless obstructions, operating environments, and building material. Wireless coverage claims are used only as reference and are not guaranteed as each wireless network is unique.
Push Button Connect works with devices that support Wi-Fi Protected Setup™ like Linksys Wireless-AC routers and others.