text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features
 
Technical Specs
  • Network Standards:
    • IEEE 802.3
    • IEEE 802.3u
    • IEEE 802.3x
    • IEEE 802.3ab
    • IEEE 802.3az
  • Ports:
    5x Gigabit Ethernet (10/100/1000)
  • Power Input:
    100-240V AC, 50-60Hz
  • Warranty and Support:
    1 Year
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys SE3005 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch
  • Quick Install Guide
  • Power Adapter
  • Wall-Mount Kit
  • 4 Rubber Pads
Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy solid performer NB: I received this switch from Linksys to evaluate and review. I have had it for 2 weeks. My network is a gigabit cat 6 network (9 PCs from XP to Win 10, openSuse Tumbleweed tower and laptop, 2 multi-function wireless printers, six 8 and 5 port gigabit switches) and mimo wireless N and AC. It is a sturdy metal case. It has excellent throughput, especially when three people are streaming internet games and videos. It has autopowerdown of unused or inactive ports (powersaving), autocrossover for chaining. This is a solid, thus far reliable, middle of the road performer! I consider Linksys to make high quality devices and on the high-end of the market overall in quality and innovation. I doubt you will go wrong with or regret investing in this device.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice sturdy feeling switch This switch looks great, is weighted, so that it stays where you set it. It just so happens that I was out of ports on my router. One port on my router to this switch and now I have 4 more ports. I connected the power, ran a Ethernet cable from my router to the switch, then started connecting Ethernet ports on the switch. WOW, no setup at all, just plug it in and connect the Ethernet cables, so simple to set up, anybody could set it up in minutes. It has a very sturdy metal case. I have had it for a few weeks and it works great.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Port Gigabit Switch This is a product that has no options and it just works out of the box. Every household will need this at some point in the vast amount of setups or transfer of data from old PC to a new PC, etc. For a speed test I had a Laptop directly connected to a router to a NAS Storage and tested my data speed transfer. I inserted a 50 foot Ethernet in front of and behind the Switch and saw no drop in transfer speed. If you need a reliable simple switch this is your answer if for nothing else to give you those extra ports on your router which for some reason only come with 4 ports. Now I have 8 ports off my router for those NAS devices, VOIP boxes, security gateways, and TV internet and eliminated wireless for better overall performance. Good Luck you will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet little switch The first thing that I noticed when I pulled this compact switch from the box was how durable it felt. It reminds me of a full size switch you would see in a data center or network closet at a company. Adding this to my network was just as easy as I expected. Plugged a LAN cable from my router into one of the ports on this switch and plugged my laptop and network drive into two of the other ports. I was up and running in no time. To test the speed I moved several large folders from my network hard drive to my laptop drive. Both of these devices were connected using Gigabit network cards so the speed of transfer was very impressive. If you are looking for the perfect switch to expand you network or transfer large files between wired devices, this is the switch for you.
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy to use I received this item from Linksys to review and I was very pleased with the results The switch was almost foolproof to set-up and I was off and running almost immediately. There was very little drop in performance with the signal for the other devices, even when it was fully loaded to the max. I liked the fact that it came with both non-skid rubber feet for placement on top of something, as well as the wall mount hardware for a more permanent placement. Solid performance and compact footprint make this a winner.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I got this product wanting to use enthernet ports at full speed. This product lets me use multiple cables at full speed. The only downside is that the AC wall adapter is a little bulky and I would of liked the adapter to be inside the switch.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect example of a sff gigabit switch Not everyone needs a bulky "desktop" gigabit switch with 8+ ports. For those of us who need to add just a couple wired devices and would like to do it as simply and discreetly as possible, this is a perfect solution. The unit is simple and handsome, with indicators to let you know exactly what is connected and active. Speed throughput seemed to match all other wired connections, and I found zero bottleneck. I would have no issues using this or other from the line as backbone SOHO switches.
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and easy I bought this for my small business, the hookup was a breeze required very little input on my part. I would highly recommend this equipment for anyone who wants to have a fast and easy running network.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The SE3005 performs a quiet function flawlessly I needed some Ethernet ports away from the router for a desktop PC, a solar panel monitor, and an Xbox One S and the SE3005 5-port switch was perfect. I wall-mounted right behind my devices. It is not the sort of device that requires any attention but it has been doing its job for the past two months without any issues. The only suggestion I have is to put an LED on the top as well as the side so that it is easier to see it when it is wall-mounted. Great device.
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SE3005: A great way to expand your network Fantastic device! The SE3005 Ethernet network switch works right out of box (it took me 2 minutes to unbox, connect to the network and have it running - Plug and Play at its best). You just plug it in, connect one end of an Ethernet cable to any of its 5 Gigabit ports and the other end to your router, network extender, or other hub. You're now ready to connect up to 4 more Ethernet devices onto your network. Great value for the money, small footprint, works well.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid switch, What more can you ask for A simple un-managed switch, it does its job good which is all you can ask for. Sturdy as a rock so you don't have to worry about stacking things on top of it if you're limited for space, lights on the front can be a little distracting if its in view (which is why its missing a star in the rating), seems to be QoS compatible as well which is nice. Reliability wise, I've had no problems, but I've rarely had problems with un-managed switches at all
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality, reliable switch I received this switch from Linksys for feedback.. After refinishing my basement a couple of months ago, I had a problem with the location of my tv and media components. Dead zone. With a faint wifi signal the linksys 5-port switch saved me. Luckily I was able to run a cat 6 cable from my router upstairs down to the switch allowing me to connect my xbox, apple tv, and a/v receiver to the network. Setup was plug and play...and after a month of using I haven't experienced any problems with speed or performance. No lags with online gaming and Netflix content loads quickly with no buffering. This is my first switch so I don't have much to compare it to, so upon arrival I assumed I would be getting a small piece of plastic. I was pleasantly surprised to discover the metal construction. The device seems to run cool and works flawlessly. I would highly recommend.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solved the PROBLEM I purchased the SE3005 after purchasing a WRT1900ACS router. My office originally had a WRT54G, and a Kinsgton 10/100 switch. After installing the router any systems connected to the switch could not access the internet, or networked printers. I thought it could be a compatibility issue between the new ACS router and the 10/100 switch. I installed the SE3005 and everything worked great. The switch was pure plug and play.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast fast fast Got this to connect my Xbox 360 and Xbox 1 and computer to Comcast to free up my Wi-Fi. On my 360 the latency dropped from 27ms to 20ms and download speed is up from 3.52mbs to 30.45mbs nearly X. 10!!! On the Xbox 1 the same 27 to 20mbs latency drop. And downloads increased from 31.4 mbps to 59.7 mbps all with 0 % packet loss. 7ms. to a gamer is the difference between getting owned and owning it. This is a great product.
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great speed, super easy setup This switch replaced a 5 port switch I bought about two years ago. The older switch was a 100MB switch so I knew I would pick up some speed on my network with the Linksys gigabit switch but WOW. The speed differential has been huge and I am thrilled with this product. All I had to do was swap them out and I was good to go. Nothing else was required. I can strongly recommend this product.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent addition to my home network I received this Ethernet switch to try out and review recently and I am highly pleased with the performance. I am getting full speed from my router through this switch to each of my computers and to my blu-ray home theater system. This gives me more outlets to plug and play just about any hard wired device that my grandkids bring when they come to visit; without any slow down problems.
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy setup I ordered this with a few other Linksys systems. Wanted to make sure I had extra line network set up. I wired my house for LAN wiring, Not that it is needed, but I am pleased with the connectivity, I notice no difference in speed. I only wished I had got the 8 port one. Now I think I will get the 8 to replace the 5 port. Great Job Linksys.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works in the background flawlessly This purchase (SE3005 5-port) is now serving a desktop computer, an Xbox One S, and a solar panel array monitor. It is a compact unit which I easily mounted on the wall behind the hardware. It comes with rubber feet (unattached) and wall mounting anchors and screws that mate with mounting slots on the bottom of the switch. All connections are firm and I used it to relocate some Ethernet cables away from my router (by about ten feet) to improve the esthetics of my computer area and to free up a couple of ports on the router (EA8300) because that model only has four out gigabit ports. The SE3005 has five ports and one is used for gigabit in from the router. Any of the five ports can serve this purpose, leaving the remaining four for outputs. A very well-built device with a metal case. I prefer metal construction to the more fragile plastic used in many devices these days. I am very happy with my new switch and recommend it highly to anyone needing a few more gigabit ports.
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Three Steps to Up and Running What can you really say about a network switch that requires only 3 steps to be up an running. If it works as advertised not a whole lot! The Linksys SE3005 worked as advertised. Plug in the power adapter, connect to the upstream ethernet source, and connect your downstream ethernet devices and you are up and running! Why would one need a switch? In my case, my home isn't wired for ethernet so we have opted for wireless connections or powerline connections. I used powerline adapters to connect my devices that need a fast and reliable connection to the internet, TVs, game consoles, desktop PCs, and set top boxes (ie Fire TV). Most the the powerline adapters have only a single ethernet port so being able to connect the Linksys SE3005 switch to the powerline adapter is a big big help. Besides the convenience of expanding the number of ethernet ports at a location, the switch is smaller than the one it took the place of and it feels like a quality device being made of metal rather than plastic.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No fuss Switch What more can you say regarding a switch? Great throughput and no set up needed. I am using this to split my internet connection between my two routers in the house creating separate networks. I basically replaced my old switch and installed this and everything is working fine.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and simple I have used other Linksys products and Ethernet Switch is just what I wanted. Small form factor, simple setup and operation. When I installed it, it powered up, recognized the 4 devices I had connected and just plain started to work. .. Perfect..
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from switch I received from Links us a free 5 port gigabit Ethernet switch. I have put this switch to good use and found excellent response time at each port to be excellent. I would recommend this product to anyone who needs a switch for home or work.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Speed Management! This product is excellent on managing speed. It doesn't slow speeds from the router to other devices. If anything it speeds up the internet. It's great for people who need to manage multiple devices at a time for the internet.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good little switch I got this about a week ago and it works great. My wireless router now has extra ports for all of my internet needs. while using wifi is good whenever i can wire into the internet for maximum performance is better.
Date published: 2016-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A proven product that works and is reliable A proven product that works and is reliable. Linksys product was very easy to set up on our network I would Morton say that it's a plug-and-play scenario no problems no issues on set up.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very simple Switch This switch is very easy to install into your network. It is also very small, but works very well. If you need more that 5 ports then you need to look at the 8 port model.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Solution This solved an issue that I did not know could be fixed. No more wires running from the bedroom, where my router is, across the living area and plugged into my laptop!
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as advertised. Plug & Play. Compact & Quick. The Linksys SE3005 5-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch is a real no-brainer. It works as advertised and does so with ease. It is truly Plug & Play. It took me only a few minutes to plug in the power and connect my wireless router, two PCs, network printer, and NAS. All devices were connected, online, and communicating at gigabit speed without having to reboot a single device. The Linksys SE3005 is small & compact so it takes up very little space on your desk, can be tucked away out of site if need be, or can also be wall-mounted with the included kit. I was able to share and transfer files quickly with multiple devices and the Linksys SE3005 didn't break a sweat. I do a LOT of LARGE file transfers over my home network, stream movies & music, and have bit torrent running 24/7. This gigabit switch took a load off my wireless router that was also acting as my network switch. Since adding the SE3005 to my network, traffic seems to flow much smoother and efficient. I have not experienced a single issue with it and would definitely recommend this 5-port switch if you need a very small and portable, yet efficient gigabit ethernet switch.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed I needed one more ethernet port from my router. Bought this, hooked up the cables and plugged it in and I was finished! I doesn't get much easier than that.
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This works GREAT! This product works great! There is no loss of speed and all items connected have the same measurement as they do when directly connected to the modem.
Date published: 2016-04-09
  • y_2021, m_9, d_20, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-SE3005, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 188ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT