text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features
 
Technical Specs
  • Model Name:
    Linksys AE6000
  • Network Standards:
    • IEEE 802.11a
    • IEEE 802.11b
    • IEEE 802.11g
    • IEEE 802.11n
    • IEEE 802.11ac
  • LEDs:
    Link/Activity
  • Buttons:
    Wi-Fi Protected Setup
  • Wireless Encryption:
    WEP, WPA & WPA2 Personal/Enterprise, WPS
  • Storage Temperature:
    -4 to 158F (-20 to 70C)
  • Hardware Interface Type:
    USB 2.0
  • Max. Link Rate:
    Up to 583Mbps
  • Platform Compatibility:
    • Windows XP
    • Windows Vista 32/64
    • Windows 7 32/64
    • Windows 8 32/64
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys Wireless Mini USB Adapter AC580, AE6000
  • CD-ROM with Setup Software and Resources
  • Quick Start Guide
Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent !! Bought this for my ThinkStation Lenovo D30 server instead of installing the wireless card, of all the computers I own the D30 with the AE6000 Linksys has by far the fastest internet connection of all, it jives well with the WRT1900AC router extremely well. I don't know exactly why, but this set up achieves download speeds 2 to 3 times faster than anything else I have.
Date published: 2016-03-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst product ever So I bought this to work with my ac router which is the same brand. And have had problems with it since day one. It started with dropping connection all the time then moved to not remembering my home WiFi connection every time my computer restarted. I would have to reinstall it now it does pick up the AC connection on the 5.2 connection is junk do not buy this
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Problems with Windows 10 It worked well for a couple of weeks, then my Windows 10 laptop started crashing to a blue screen of death with the following message: "Your PC ran into a problem and it needs to restart. We're just collecting some error info, and then we'll restart for you. Stop Code: BAD POOL HEADER". This happened several (3 or 4) times per day. Investigating this, I came upon a suggestion to remove all external devices from the laptop, so I removed the AE6000. The laptop then worked fine without error for several days. I then plugged the device back in and within 2 minutes the laptop crashed again with the same message. I then went to the Linksys support page to see if there was a driver update available, and their latest driver version was 5.01.25.0 which is the exact version that I have. So, I would not recommend this device for Windows 10.
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The AE6000 solved my droping signal problem. I upgraded my operating system to Windows 8. When I did, the receiver I used with Windows XP continually would drop the signal from my Linksys Wireless Router. After talking with a technician at Linksys, they recommended the new AE6000. I have not dropped my signal again. I works Great, thanks!
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO FAST! ROCK-SOLID CONNECTION. Excellent product! My Lenovo W520 had slow, erratic WiFi with the built-in 5GHz adapter. I added the Linksys AE6000 / AC583 adapter and now I get consistent 430Mbps when paired with Linksys EA6900. Signal strength is 100% at long distance. Fastest wireless I have ever experienced.
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointing speeds I had this adapter replaced under warranty to very slow speeds and poor reception. The replacement is more stable but will not register any speeds above 150; even my old N series adapter register 300. For those of us with newer routers look at another product.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst usb adapter ever created this adapter is a practical joke that belongs in nobody's computer. drops me every 5 seconds. it took about an hour to write this review it dropped me so much. im gonna burn this and go buy the 30$ one cause it loves me at least. good day to you Linksys. </3
Date published: 2015-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great and easy to set up The Linksys AE6000 was easy to setup. And gives faster connection than the other adapter I was using. Which is another brand. It keeps a constant connection to the Internet and doesn't lose it self. It also has a larger WIFI range.
Date published: 2014-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great improvement of speed. I bought this s few weeks ago. My NIC card was not capable of 5Ghz. The Linksys AE6000 Wireless-AC Mini USB Adapter put it right up there. Instillation was a snap. Just plug it in to a USB port and Windows does the rest.
Date published: 2016-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from new computer win8 I had to get a new computer w/win8.my wusb54gsc wouldn't work.I called Linksys support and was advised I needed the AE6000.works great,setup was easy.took me longer to get the box open than to get up and running.
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well..... Pleased with performance until after upgrading to Windows 10. Would like to see a driver so can enjoy the improved performance on Windows 10.
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from thought more would happen I wanted to update equipment to work with win 10 and found out that the install disk doesn't work and only drivers for win 8.1 were supplied.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No windows 10 compatable I have not been able to use this as there is no upgrades for windows 10.
Date published: 2016-02-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Slow as molasses Barely works. Don't waste your money. Find another solution.
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth the sale price - I don't recommend Hi purchased the AE6000 on sale. It is not good for everyday use. The first AE6000 that was delivered didn't work at all - simply non-functional from the moment I first tried to use it. The second, replacement, device does work. However the speeds are slow compared to other wireless devices I have that aren't even AC. And the sustained throughput was not reliable. It does work, it does turn on and is recognized by the computer. Just not a good AC device.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible for any desktop with windows 10 For $50 this adapter is literally the worst headache ever. First off, the disk was blocked by my security, and then once i found the drivers on the internet, my download speeds were atrocious. I can barely surf the web with this product. If you have windows 10, don't buy this.
Date published: 2015-11-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing that it doesn't work on Mac Is day and age, a $50+ item cannot only support one major operating system, granted it was given for 'free' as part of the router purchase but we are a Mac household and I was hoping my wife could boost her old MacBook Pro, so bummer! I guess it is a gift then for someone that has a PC. Quite unacceptable actually that a product like this doesn't support both pc and Mac
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy setup, Fantastic speed (AC1200) I bought the adapter for speed, all my children and Grandchildren live all over the US. We use Skype & Facebook to stay in touch, this adapter does it all and when my husband got us a new router - my laptop was off to the races. Thank you Linksys for always having the best products.
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from does not stay connected on toshiba laptop i just bought to use on Toshiba laptop. does not stay connected and powers down. Blue light turns off. How much power does it need. I tried it on Gateway tower and it runs OK. Should I try another USB port?
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I've had this product for about a month and I've had great results. Slightly larger than I expected, but still smaller than an inch. Great reception, fast browsing!
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from better reception I recently purchased the Linksys Smart Wi-Fi router AC 1200.My reception appears to be markedly improved, I recommend it to anyone contemplating an upgrade.
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple to enstall. My problem was that I didn't need it, the links router I have does the trick. So I have two of the AE600's and an N600 that work well but I cannot use.
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from USB AC Wireless adapter Awesome. Small and very reliable. Great speed and works great. Never had a issue with it. Linksys makes great products. The best I have used.
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small and works! I bought this about 2 months ago and am very happy with how easy the installation went, but more importantly, the performance is great!
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super small and, powerful. This is a welcome addition to my Desktop and also a vast improvement over another popular Adapter. Easy to set up and very stable.
Date published: 2016-01-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good device Its fantastic for short distance and weak for long distance I hope Linksys will apply new firmware to solve that issue
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Easy to install and set up. Fits nicely against laptop. But ab it too small gets lost in my backpack
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mini-usb this was the easy est wireless usb i have ever used i have always had good luck with linksys stuff
Date published: 2016-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Neat tool" Great tool when working on computers without a direct internet connection or wirless hardware.
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improved Performance Improved performance and range over the built-in WiFi on my Dell Venue Pro
Date published: 2017-02-07
  • y_2020, m_8, d_8, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-AE6000, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 125ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*Maximum performance derived from IEEE Standard 802.11 specifications. Actual performance can vary, including lower wireless network capacity, data throughput rate, range and coverage. Performance depends upon many factors, conditions and variables, including distance from the access point, volume of network traffic, building materials and construction, operating system used, mix of wireless products used, interference and other adverse conditions.