text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features
Linksys EA8500

ULTIMATE SOLUTION FOR MULTI-DEVICE HOUSEHOLDS

The Max-Stream AC2600 Router is the ultimate solution for multi-device households. Breakthrough MU-MIMO technology delivers 4.6x* faster Wi-Fi speeds to everyone and everything on your busy network. Now the whole household can play video games, listen to music, check email, shop, stream movies, and more--all simultaneously and without lag or buffering.


MU-MIMO for Multiple Device Households

EVERYBODY'S ONLINE. NOBODY'S WAITING

The Max-Stream AC2600 Router delivers plenty of bandwidth to all of your connected devices such as streaming media players, smart TVs, tablets, and game consoles--maintaining a fast, uninterrupted Wi-Fi connection even if multiple family members are all connected at the same time. This allows everyone in your household to connect to the Internet at the same time without slowing down your network.


Tolly Infographic

BREAKTHROUGH LINKSYS MU-MIMO FOR YOUR BUSY HOME NETWORK

Multi-User, Multiple-Input, Multiple-Output (MU-MIMO) technology ensures uninterrupted Wi-Fi connections that function as if each device has its own dedicated router. You and other household members can now connect to the Internet, stream media, and play online games simultaneously at speeds up to 4.6x faster* than traditional Wi-Fi.


Lifestyle 1

UNINTERRUPTED MOVIE STREAMING

No more frozen screens while streaming your favorite shows or movies. With Linksys MU-MIMO technology, the entire household can enjoy smooth performance when simultaneously streaming. The combined 2.53 Gbps Wi-Fi speeds** wipe out annoying buffering and enable faster downloads.


Lifestyle 2

IMPROVED MOBILE SPEED AND RANGE

Shop online, send emails, and even set up your router from your mobile device in any room of your home without having to worry about signal drop-off. Beamforming technology delivers whole-home coverage that targets Wi-Fi signals to provide increased signal strength and coverage for each mobile device. Linksys Smart Wi-Fi allows you to monitor your home network anywhere from your mobile device.


Lifestyle 3

LAG-FREE ONLINE GAMING

Game without interruption from other devices on the network with the new MU-MIMO technology. The router's supercharged 1.4 GHz dual-core processor and four high-speed Gigabit Ethernet ports make it an ideal choice for gamers looking for blazing-fast wired connections.


LINKSYS SMART Wi-Fi


CUSTOMIZE AND MANAGE YOUR HOME Wi-Fi ANYTIME, ANYWHERE

With the Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App, you can closely monitor and manage your home Wi-Fi remotely using a smartphone or tablet.

  • Guest Access: Create a separate, password-protected Wi-Fi network for up to 50 guests and easily share the password.
  • Parental Controls: Ensure a safe Internet experience for your kids -- even when you're away from home. Restrict access to inappropriate or distracting content, control usage, and block specific devices from accessing the Internet.
  • Device Prioritization: You can prioritize devices that need the most speed.

QUICK AND EASY SETUP

Managing your home Wi-Fi with Linksys Smart Wi-Fi is fast and easy:

Step 1 Set up your wireless home network

Set up your home Wi-Fi using a Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Router.

Step 2 Sign up for a Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Account

Download the free Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App.

Linksys Smart Wi-Fi on iOS Get Linksys Smart Wi-Fi on Google Play
Step 3 Customize your network with the Linksys Smart Wi-Fi apps

Use Your Mobile Device to Manage Your Home Wi-Fi.

Videos

The Linksys Max-Stream MU-MIMO Router lets you enjoy Hulu with 3x faster Wi-Fi (VIDEO)

  • The Linksys Max-Stream MU-MIMO Router lets you enjoy Hulu with 3x faster Wi-Fi (VIDEO)

  • Max-Stream™ Routers & Range Extenders with Seamless Wi-Fi Roaming

  • The Linksys Smart Wi-Fi App has a Whole New Look & Feel

  • Eliminate Lag & Buffering with a Linksys MU-MIMO Router

Show all videos
Technical Specs
  • Network Standards:
    • IEEE 802.11a
    • IEEE 802.11b
    • IEEE 802.11g
    • IEEE 802.11n
    • IEEE 802.11ac
  • Radio Frequency Bands:
    2.4 & 5GHz
  • Ports:
    Power, Internet, Ethernet (1-4), USB 3.0, USB 2.0 / eSATA combo
  • LEDs:
    Internet, Ethernet (1-4), Wi-Fi, Wi-Fi Protected Setup, Power
  • Buttons:
    Reset, Wi-Fi Protected Setup, Power
  • Operating Temperature:
    32 to 104 F (0 to 40 C)
  • Storage Temperature:
    -4 to 140 F (-20 to 60 C)
  • Operating Humidity:
    10 to 80% Noncondensing
  • Max. Link Rate:
    1733 Mbps
  • Platform Compatibility:
    • Windows XP
    • Windows Vista 32/64
    • Windows 7 32/64
    • Windows 8 32/64
    • Windows 8.1 32/64
    • Mac OS X 10.5.8 Leopard
    • Mac OS X 10.6.1 Snow Leopard
    • Mac OS X 10.7 Lion
    • Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion
    • Mac OS X 10.9 Mavericks
    • Windows 10 32/64
Support
Package Contents
  • Linksys AC2600 MU-MIMO Gigabit Router, EA8500
  • Quick Start Guide
  • 4 Detachable Antennas
  • Ethernet Cable
  • Power Adapter
  • CD-ROM with Documentation
Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent choice i bought the ea8500 last week to replace my old router and to test it actually by far it is the best router i have ever seen it is really speedy compared to my old cisco x3000 router because i had some issues in the past to get a full bars in my quite large home had some issues setting it up because it wouldn't connect but after several try's it hopefully worked :) the 5 Ghz band is by far is the best because i have a 10-14 devices using internet at the same time though i dont stream 4k i do a lot of internet surfing and streaming i had 0 buffer or any problem after setting this device . the speed is 10x better than my previous router even in far distance it is a solid choice !! i the new mu-mimo technology is a fully beneficial for who has a multiple devices like me !! i noticed that the device is honestly little bit bulky and does not feel the way it should but overall it is the best !!!! i do recommend this router .
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stable connection, great speed Before I bought this router I always lost Internet connection several times a day. When I booted my PC it took forever to connect to the network. Now it is a whole different world. The speed is amazing. The only thing that was frustrating (at least for me) was this: I followed exactly the setup instruction of the quick start guide for replacing an existing router. After connecting the cables as instructed I waited for the power indicator light to stop flushing and waited and waited. It wouldn’t go solid. Reading everywhere "setup is so easy". Long story short. I should have also disconnected the modem first not only the router. Updating the quick start guide to: “Note: If replacing an existing router, disconnect that router and your modem first.” I am very pleased with this router!
Date published: 2015-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Router that Efficiently Streams All Devices It's come to a point where, seemingly, our entire home relies on internet service. It makes no difference if the service coming into the home is flawless if your router is sub-par. The EA8500 efficiently streams VOIP calls, movies, television, video games and the media devices of three children...at the SAME TIME! This router is highly recommended. I was skeptical due to the problems our family encountered previously but this router proved me wrong. It was my previous router and not the internet service provider. Internet efficiency is only as good as your router. The EA8500 allows you to, reliably, take advantage of lightning fast internet. No more buffering in the middle of a movie, or asking the kids to turn off the video games until the movie is finished.
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful range Was going to replace my ASUS RT-AC68U with this and give the ASUS to my daughter for her new house that is half the sq ft. of mine. NOPE! When I set up the EA8500 with the same exact configuration settings, a bunch of my devices no longer connected. No amount of tinkering with antennae position or settings would correct. I used a signal strength meter and the EA8500 was about half the older ASUS. So, looks like daughter will get the EA 8500 and I'll keep the ASUS. Maybe Linksys just wants to sell range extenders??
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from nice unit works well, except.... seeing devices getting disconnect ted in evening multiple times even when no significant traffic and very few devices connected up. happens every evening to me. I have read on Linksys community bulletin board many others currently experiencing this issue as well. indicated that older firmware release 1.1.4 (Build 168206) does not have this problem. unfortunately I do not have access to this older firmware. would appreciate if linkysys would provide this on support website so I can try it. please assist.
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sorry had to send back I bought this router to upgrade my home system based on reviews and a recommendation from a leading consumer magazine . After a week something went goofy. First my home alarm system emailed me i was offline then my weather station stopped loading to the web. When i got home my Voip phone was down. I then got a hold of my ISP and they pinged the router could see it but it would not respond. After all this my computer was kicked offline. I reinstalled my old router and sent this puppy back to the seller. I was really hoping for this to work out.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Performance: Poor Firmware This router cannot hand out static DNS addresses or handle dhcp dns relay in its current firmware, this is a basic router function that any of its competitors can do and it cant do it. In plain terms even if i reset it to defaults i cant plug it in to my cable modem and it work. It worked before update now its a gigantic brick. Have been told directly by Linksys support that "static DNS routing" is not a feature that is available in the current firmware. If it doesn't have that then what did I buy? It's obviously not a router. Cant flash the firmware to a different version as it wont allow you to downgrade. on top of that firewall settings in the thing are dismal, cant block more than 10 sites per IP and no global settings another standard router feature. Ill go to your competitors from now on for all Linksys and Cisco products. Thoroughly disappointed.
Date published: 2015-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! With some many wireless devices in the homes these days, this was a great investment. They whole family notices a big difference in speed/throughput.
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice looking router - range not great I got this router to replace the EA6700, as i wanted better range. I thought that by going up a few models with big antennas would help. I like the GUI on both and also that it doesn't have tonnes of flashing lights on the front, so stuck with Linksys. I have to say the improvement on range between the EA6700 and EA8500 is only marginal. I am sitting in the room aback my router and only getting 'poor' signal quality according to my wifi analyser. Hope that a firmware update in the future focuses on helping with range....
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dissappointing for my purpose and use After using netgear for years, I bought this model (Linksys EA8500 Max-Stream AC2600 MU-MIMO Smart Wi-Fi Router) to replace the lower end E8350 which had flaws as well. I was using the E8350 for a few days and was having issues with connecting to the 5G bandwidth. So I decided to upgrade to the "Smart Wifi" version. I used it for two weeks and all was well, until I had a client stop by my home office, where I accomodated their internet needs by turning on my "guest" network. I had just opened a whole can of worms in doing that. My DHCP server was no longer in control of the network, hence IP conflicts, and this router does not give you the ability to set the range of the guest network IP addresses. That subnet is hard coded in. When I called Linksys... the eventual solution was for me to daisy chain my old router and use that as my "guest" Network. Just plain BAD and not SMART ENOUGH!
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great so far Replaced Motorola Zoom router side with EA8500. Noticeably faster and I've had zero downtime. I like that it has no lights on front so I don't know what one of the other reviews here is talking about. There's only a white light on top.
Date published: 2015-08-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WIFI drops my tv Just bought this last week. A friend set it up for me. In the week I've had it, the internet went out completely in my house. I then had to try and re-connect everything. I am unable to connect the TV in the living room to the internet. The TV in the garage I have to manually connect. Did it over five times. Finally, it connected. Then about 20 minutes later, when watching a movie, I get an error message saying the bandwidth is too slow to watch a movie so no more movie. I have Verizon FIOS in my house. This NEVER happened with my old router. I logged into my Linksys account and the site is NOT helpful. The FAQ does NOT answer any of my issues. The couple of tabs are a joke. I am NOT pleased whatsoever with this. I now have to go out and either get an extender to see if this would help OR return this and get an entirely different product.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great coverage Overall the ea 8500 is a great router. Initial setup is very easy but you need to open an account with linksys, although I trust them registration should be voluntary, if it is, I was not offered the option in my setup. Instaling my hard disk to the usb port was more complicated because the instructions and help files didn't help, got it to work but I couldn't get all the security features to work. This advanced features need better setup instructions and probably a tutorial although it may be available but I didn't find it. I will be trying again, maybe I'll have better luck.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Improvement over the EA6900 The EA8500 is a definite improvement over the EA6900, which I replaced to achieve better 802.11AC range and performance. The EA6900 had difficulty maintaining the AC connection in the upstairs reaches of our two-story 2850 square foot home, but the EA8500 shoots a strong, steady signal everywhere within the structure, and even out on the back deck. Set up was a breeze and the features controlled by the router's user interface software are very similar to what I was accustomed to with the EA6900. While not a big deal, I would like to be able to monitor automatic software updates by seeing the date the last update was made along with the software version. So far the four AC clients in out network are happy, and so am I. The EA 8500 is the best of the three Linksys router I've purchased.
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I upgraded to this product from an older Linksys router. I used an extender with my older router but have not had to use it with this new one.
Date published: 2015-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TERRIBLE. Installation failed over and over. Experience with Installation was TERRIBLE. I attempted 5 different times using different approaches and all failed. Had to return the product for Full Refund. I had been a faithful and loyal customer for Linksys for 10 years, but now I am switching to Netgear. Linksys quality has vanished!
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Set was reallitivly easy and the router is fast. The unit works everything in a three breadroom home easly with two cell phones. TV, Roka.
Date published: 2015-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a horrible experience!!! Have been trying to set this router up for the last hour, simply can't pass the "please wait " stage. Horrible SW. rebooted and reset multiple times, tried wireless and wired, manual setup (got stuck there after entering the password). Disclaimer, I work in tech in the valley, so I'm used to bad SW. I can't imagine how frustating it would be for the average american
Date published: 2015-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and worth the money I purchased the router a last month to upgrade my old ea3500. I have 5 tablets, two computers, two smartphones, a nest thermostat, 2 wemo wifi plugs, an Apple TV, Chromecast, and all that stuff was too much for the ea3500. I shopped around and looked online as well as read a lot of reviews. It's fast and so far worth every penny. The setup was a real pain! The setup cd was useless. I called them and a tech said that he could have it up and running in 10 minutes. He was right.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very stable! I purchased this new 11 months ago and I'm very happy with the range, speed (yes even there ping speed compared to a weird connection), and most importantly the stability of this router. I do not have to worry about rebooting this, although it's good practice to do it at least once a week. Very impressed.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stumbled for the first month, good now! Purchased mine at BestBuy February 2016, the first couple of firmware updates made my router disconnect frequently. As of the last update, Ver.1.1.4 (Build 170630) 03/01/16 seems to have settled everything making this router more reliable. I used this router to replace my Linksys EA4500, both use the Smart WiFi setup GUI via a web browser so it is easy to setup. Range is much better and all devices connected seem to respond faster via their web browsers. As long as it is connected, everyone in the house is happy. The PLEX media servers works well with this router.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible product I purchased this product and had so many issues with it, I returned it. Linksys sent me this survey and thank goodness they didn't send it when I was having the issues because I am being kind now. Support was responsive but horrible. I replaced the unit and same issue... kept turning itself off and not allowing me to stream to my two apple TVs... I purchased another product and have not had an issue since.
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful Product I bought the Linksys EA8500 Max-Stream AC2600 MU-MIMO Smart Wi-Fi Router because it was an extremely capable product with a legacy of having great service for good value. I have not been disappointed either. I have plaster walls in an old home with wire mesh underneath to hold the plaster. It make my home like NSA. Very hard to have coverage of any kind due to this shielding. But the EA8500 is doing admirably and I continue to know that I made the correct choice in routers. This is the 5th Linksys router I've owned. In two words...Strong and Dependable.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from High Performance Router (for Dummies) ... Easy setup, and rock solid stable performance, but the lack of usable web filtering options is really disappointing. "Parental Controls" allows manually entering websites to block one at a time for each individual device connected to the router. No option to create a single block list and apply to multiple devices. Add that option - ideally with the ability to upload a list of up to 1,000 sites to block as a text file instead of entering them manually one at a time and it would be perfect ... as it is, it is like driving a race car with a bicycle handlebar.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Setup & Very Stable I'm going to have to say I got this router as a surprise because I answered a popup that required me to enter my information if i wanted to receive a free Linksys Wireless AC2600 Router. I see offers like this all the time. Most times I ignore them. This one almost seemed as if it was offering me something and there was no catch. A few weeks later a brand new router end up at my door. I was stunned. This router was not dofficult to get familiar with. Without some prior knowledge with routers, you might need to spend a bit more time than I did, but even a beginner could breeze through the setup and confguration. I manually connected some devices and I also used the WIFI protected setup for others. I wanted to make sure both methods worked. No problems there. I made sure the computer desktops and laptops were using the 5Ghz band since we were dealing with alot of bandwidth. The internet is coming in at 125-150mbps, which is quite fast, and this is where I noticed the speed. Including myself, there are 3 people using the internet simultaneously on a regular basis. Alot of Youtube, browsing, and I use video chat all the time, while managing ebay, email, and web browsing. I have my mobile phone and tablet on the 2.4Ghz band as do the other members of the house. No hiccups I was using a Wireless AC1700 router before. That router was a very fast and stable router as well. It also had good range. But the Linksys is a MuMimo Router. And it came ready to go out of the box. Some say you need the adapter to be MuMimo in order to take advantage of this feature. Not so. If I am sending data to the router, perhaps. But, as long as 3 people are pulling information from the router, that MuMimo feature can recycle the unused bandwidth and another computer/device can make use of it. It is working. Because I see sustained speeds when downloading whereas my other router would have interruptions if 2 or more systems were performing downloads at the same times. We see our computers actually keeping pace without such interruptions. The technology is improving and I believe there is something to it. It's a better router with more power than probably any other on the market when it comes to what I am using it for. Now, here is the thing that has people saying that this router is lacking. For one, people say that it should have a robust VPN feature set. It can be used as a VPN pass through but thats about all. However, this is not something the majority of home users will need. If you are a user who demands the robust featureset of a VPN router, then there's nothing wrong in saying this router is not for you. Because the majority of homes will not use any of that. This router is so easy to setup. It's got so much power and speed. It has a USB 3 and a USB 2/eSATA for printers or storage devices or whatever else can be connected directly to a router. The security features are just as good as othyer top models. So many routers have alot of features that most people do not use and this router is not clogged up with all that so a novice should not be confused when using it. It's a winner in my book. I am not sure if any hardware is missing to integrate a full featureset for the VPN or other advanced features, but perhaps future firmware updates will implement all these things. I am certain that you could depend on this Linksys MuMimo Router. I haven't had the chance to connect any devices to the USB ports to evaluate how well they function, but other reviews have, and all of the information was postiive. I have a wireless mess in my home and surrounding homes are all within a range that could cause inteference. But so far all devices are statying connected and tbose that used to occassionally lose connection are now remaining connected. It's been over a week and none lof the devices or computers have had a cionnection loss. That's really great. Alot to like with this new Linksys Router. Even if there are other great routers out there, if you get thbis one, you could not possibly regret it. It has been rated faster than the ASUS top contender on many tests. But the reviews make note of the fact that there's a more robust featureset on the ASUS including VPN. But that as well as other features are pretty much overkill for most home users. I considered other routers and ended up with this one. I know it was a freebie. But, if it was problematic or less of a router than my previous one, I would have gotten rid of this and kept my previous router until I did more research for a better one. My rating is excellent in all categories. I know alot about fine tuning a router and the devices on my wireless network. So I usually get the most out of my gear. But if there were any pitfalls, I would find them. But I cannot find any with this Linksys. I'm pretty stoked with my new Router.
Date published: 2015-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Router Yet! I have been using Linksys Routers for years on my clients networks, both home and business. This one is the BEST EVER! Easy to set up and unmatched speed and distance. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2015-08-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hmmmm i think I bought it a couple of months ago and not really happy with it. It is always dropping our modem more often then not. Never know when we will have internet. I have called the internet company every time when it happens they say it is the router dropping the modem.
Date published: 2015-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Excellent wireless, poor physical Let me start by saying this is an excellent router (pricey yes) if you only use the wireless features. However, it performed poorly on physical connections. I have been a Linksys user since 2001 when I 1st got my Road Runner connection of 1Mb/s and have gone through 4 routers since then all Linksys and I still have them. I believe Linksys puts out a great product but I'm very disappointed with this one. I have recommended Linksys to all my friends and family and helped setting them up and manage a few of them remotely still. This router rocks if you use Wireless devices, I have Road Runner Ultimate and I was getting up to 233Mb/s on 5Ghz and 83Mb/s on 2.4Ghz, that's pretty good considering I was 50 feet away in the basement. On the physical connections though not so good. I have a goflex NAS with static IP 192.168.1.2 and has been this way for years, plugged it to the 1st port and my desktop on port 3 those are the only two physical connections, all other devices 18 of them are wirless. When I do a copy of 32GB from my computer to the NAS I was getting an estimate of 15 Hours copy with only 10-12Mb/s copy rate, after 20 minutes of copying it times out and I get an error that it can't find the NAS (try again or cancel). OK this is weird, I try to hit the NAS web interface (times out) I put back my old router EA2700 and bam everything is up and I'm able to copy at 30-32Mb/s same 32GB data. Reset the new router back to factory and try again, same results. Updated firmware, same results. Another thing that frustrated me was I couldn't get to the NAS device web interface on any of my Wireless connected laptops (page cannot be displayed) I could ping the IP 192.168.1.2 all day. On my phone App for the goflex I get (the device you're trying to connect to is currently offline). I spent hours trying to figure out why Wirless devices could not pass through to any of the physical devices. This didn't happen only for the NAS, my desktop that shares pictures could not be accessed from any Wirless device, plug the laptop physically and all is good. Sorry Linksys this router had to go back to Best Buy and I'm back at my old EA2700 reliable. To be fair, I'm still rating this as 5 stars for all, but only 3 for the overall rating.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Your internet provider will be your limitation It is a very great router and can max out the speed your provider gives you.
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Quit working after 3 weeks Everything was working fine until last week (3 weeks after purchase) and all of a sudden it could no longer connect to the internet. I could connect through my cable modem, but the Linksys router could not. I even reset to factory setting and went through setup and it still could not connect to the internet. I returned it to Best Buy and traded it for the Netgear Nighthawk X4 AC2350.
Date published: 2015-12-08
  • y_2017, m_11, d_22, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_212
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-EA8500, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 94ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*As reported by Ixia ixChariot v7.10 SP3. Test conducted by Tolly comparing EA8500/AC2600 router compared to 2 similar single user MIMO competitor routers. 4.6x claim is based on the greatest difference in throughput to a single MU-MIMO capable device.
Notes: Linksys running MU-MIMO Router. All testing using 5GHz. Average of three runs.
Source: Tolly, May 2015
Testing done in the United States with a MU-MIMO router produced for use in the United States.
Review the full Tolly Report PDF for more detailed information.
**The standard transmission rates–600 Mbps or 1733 Mbps (for 5 GHz), 800 Mbps (for 2.4 GHz), 54 Mbps, and 11 Mbps–are the physical data rates. Actual data throughput will be lower and may depend on the mix of wireless products used and external factors.