text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Use our configurator tool to find out which mesh router combo is the best fit for your home.

Select Size:

$199.99

Find a retailer
Add to Wish List
This item is added to your WISH LIST

Free Shipping on all orders.
Details

Features

 

Woman enjoying Velop WiFi on her phone

Experience Flawless, Full-Strength Mesh WiFi with Velop

Easy to set up and designed to fit anywhere, Velop brings ultra-fast, full-strength mesh WiFi to your home in minutes. Featuring Intelligent Mesh™ technology and a sleek, modular design, the Velop mesh WiFi system spreads strong WiFi through any kind of home.

Mesh WiFi That Learns From You

From the moment you set up your WiFi mesh network, Intelligent Mesh™ Technology gets to work adapting your Velop system to your home.

Diagram of a signal between nodes

Self-Healing

If someone accidentally unplugs a node, the other nodes will pick up the slack.

Diagram of several devices accessing different channels

Self-Selecting

Even with a busy network, Velop knows how to select the clearest channel for your devices.


Woman enjoying internet in living room

Designed to Fit Anywhere

Each Velop node features a beautiful, compact design that coordinates with any home style and decor. Multiple nodes work together as a system, so as your WiFi needs expand, simply add more nodes and interchange colors to coordinate with your home style.

Modular Mesh WiFi Fits Any Home

As your WiFi needs expand, you can easily add more nodes. Plug your home details into our configurator tool to find the perfect WiFi mesh system for you.

  • For an apartment or a single bedroom house, try a 1-pack
  • For a 2- to 3-bedroom house, try a 2-pack
  • For a 3- to 4-bedroom house, try a 3-pack
Children using tablets

Future-Proof and Secure

With automatic software updates, your mesh router will always remain up-to-date and secure. Convenient, leading-edge security features allow you to block content and pause the internet for family time.


Fast, Reliable WiFi

Velop nodes comes equipped with Dual-Band technology, giving you exceptionally fast WiFi even when multiple WiFi devices are connected.

Linksys App on the Main screen

Manage Your Home WiFi Anytime, Anywhere with the Linksys App

With the Linksys App, you can closely monitor and manage your home WiFi remotely using a smartphone or tablet.

  • Guest Access: Create a separate, password-protected WiFi network for up to 50 guests and easily share the password.
  • Parental Controls: Ensure a safe Internet experience for your kids -- even when you're away from home. Restrict access to inappropriate or distracting content, control usage, and block specific devices from accessing the Internet.
  • Device Prioritization: You can prioritize devices that need the most speed.
  • Alexa Support: When paired with Alexa, the Linksys App gives you access to a variety of convenient voice commands.
  • Speed Test: Easily test and monitor your Internet connection's speed.

A WiFi Mesh Network in Minutes

Velop creates an efficient mesh WiFi network with all Internet-service-provider-supplied equipment and speeds. The simple, app-based setup will guide you through the process in minutes.

Step 1 Download the Linksys App

Download the Linksys App

Linksys App on iOS Get Linksys App on Google Play
Step 2 Connect to your modem

Connect to your modem

Step 3 Name your WiFi & create password

Name your WiFi & create password

Step 3 Place nodes throughout your home

Place nodes throughout your home

 

Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    Dual-Band AC1300 (867 + 400 Mbps)‡ with MU-MIMO and 256 QAM
  • Key Features:
    • Dual-Band Wi-Fi Mesh System
    • Seamless Wi-Fi
    • Easy App Controls
    • Intelligent MeshTM Technology - Self-Organize, Self Optimize and Self Healing
    • One Wi-Fi Network
    • Auto Firmware Upgrade
    • Parental Control
    • Guest Access
    • Auto sensing WAN/LAN Ports
    • Wired/Wireless Backhaul
    • AP/Bridge Mode Mesh Wi-Fi System
    • Spot Finder- Mesh system uses signal strength, throughput, and latency to determine the optimal placement during set-up and post set-up.
    • Auto Wi-Fi Channel
    • Bluetooth 4.1 embedded
    • Speedtest support
    • Amazon Alexa support
    • 3-Year Warranty and Support
  • Network Standards:
    • 802.11b
    • 802.11a
    • 802.11g
    • 802.11n
    • 802.11ac
  • Wi-Fi Speed:
    AC1300 (867 + 400 Mbps)
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    2.4Ghz + 5GHz
  • Wi-Fi Range:
    up to 3000 sq ft
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    2x WAN/LAN auto-sensing Gigabit Ethernet ports
  • Other Ports:
    • power jack
    • power switch
    • reset button
  • Antennas:
    3x internal antennas and high powered amplifiers
  • Processor:
    716 MHz Quad Core
  • Memory:
    256 MB NAND Flash and 256 MB DDR3
  • LEDs:
    One LED indicator
  • Wireless Encryption:
    WPA2 personal
  • Easy Setup:
    • Simple and secured App based set-up
    • Required for set-up: (1) Internet connection with Modem. (2) Mobile device with Android 4.4 or iOS 9 and higher, Bluetooth preferred.
  • Minimum System Requirements:
    Required for set-up - Simple and secured App based set-up: Mobile devices with Android 4.1 or iOS 8 and higher
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    3.1" x 3.1" x 5.55" per Node
  • Weight:
    3.282 Lbs
  • Security Features:
    WPA2 personal
  • Regulatory Compliance:
    FCC class B
  • Additional Information:
    Bluetooth 4.0/LE for secure and easy App based set-up
  • Power Supply:
    Input: 100-240V ~ 50-60Hz; Output: 12V, 1.0A
Package Contents

Package Contents

  • Linksys Velop (x2)
  • Ethernet cable (x1)
  • Power adapter (x2)
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Printed Documentation

 

Reviews

Press

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mesh WiFi system These things are awesome. I don't lose my wifi signal anywhere in my house now. When you move from one room to another if it loses signal from the main router the mesh box pics up the signal and you connect to that box. It is great. And the wifi speed never slows down or gets weak. They are easy to set up. I had them connected to my home router in about 15 minutes. I received these as a promotion to give my honest review, and I can tell you I would buy them no matter what.
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Wireless Coverage This 2 Pack Linksys Velop System is a great system for great wireless coverage and speed. I tested this system in a single story house and it has some great wireless coverage. Some other routers that I have tried weren’t able to reach as far as this wireless system in my house. The setup was really easy using my iPhone and It automatically tells you if the node placement is in the optimal location. Very easy and I was ready to go in minutes. The devices are also really compact and small for placement pretty much anywhere. The app has everything you need to configure your network. It has easy device prioritization, static ip, dns settings, guest network, node information, device list, etc. Basically everything you would need to properly run a home network. The device prioritization was really great when I set up my xbox, I had a great connection even when other people where using the network for streaming services. I also really like that if I ever move to a larger environment or need to add more Velop nodes I can choose any of the Velop nodes and they will easily work with my system. Overall its a great wireless system. I think these mesh systems are better than traditional routers for the best wireless Coverage.
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Coverage!!! Recieved these Nobes and had them up and running in about 5 minutes. Hardest part was finding the correct spot to place them. The dashboard from Linksys makes it very easy to get the most coverage you can. After the install I ran a test of the wifi with and without. The result was it only lost 4 mbps at about 30ft from the second Nobe which over all is great considering that I had 4 other phones running at the same time. Great products.
Date published: 2018-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy and friendly setup I needed a WiFi system for my mom. Something that would work well on a two story house. I got rid of the Comcast modem/router. I utilized a Linksys sb6100 modem and the velop 2600. Within 15 minutes. Even with waiting for Comcast to switch modems. We were up and running. Now she can use her iPad anywhere in the house and backyard. We use FaceTime so my grandchild can talk to her. No lag. No disconnecting.
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy setup, good coverage. I got this a month ago and I have been happily surprised that such a small system can provide good coverage for a 3000 square foot house. There is no drop or visible notice when you're device switches from one router to the mesh router. Works excellent setup as a bridge router then mesh repeater as well. For exceptionally large households use the 3 pack. For small to average houses the 2 pack will do.
Date published: 2018-06-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad, not great. Got this yesterday. Connecting first node/box was straightforward (Internet modem downstairs in basement). Adding 2nd node (upstairs) took almost 2 hours, 1 hour with tech help. Problem: the set up instruction pamphlet (specifically what the flashing/steady colored lights mean) are misleading, and do NOT apply to set up (this cost an hour trying to move the second node closer to the source. The flashing red light during set-up does NOT mean it is out of range - it is just telling you set-up is in progress - learned this from the tech help while on the phone for an hour). This should definitely be rectified. After setting up using an iPad (setting up the second node is NOT easy), the download speed promised is nearly the full speed of your system. Not true. My 5G net provides 130 MPS. The best I can get, at zero distance from the node, is about 70 MPS. Not bad, but not what I hoped for.
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and effective. Already had a Linksys Velop 2 node setup working well, but after a recent remodel adding almost 1000 sq ft to the house coverage in the far corners was weak. So, added to the setup the new Velop (AC2600). After some trial and error to find the ideal location of the new nodes, setup was simple using the Linksys app. The end result is very good to excellent coverage throughout the house.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mesh Networks are the Best! Linksys has knocked it out of the park with their Velop Intelligent Mesh WiFi System. It is so easy to set up, and the phone app is so handy. Each node covers 2000 square feet, so it's easy to have complete coverage in my home with just 2 nodes. I can probably add a 3rd node to my detached garage and get coverage throughout most of my back yard.
Date published: 2018-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Velop Mesh, Natural & Effortless EzFi I have been using these (2) Velop Mesh network Nodes in my Home/office for over a month now. Connecting these devices to my ISP via my Modem was easy to do just following the enclosed Quick Start Guide; with one really basic modification; that being to write down the first Nodes PASSWORD before beginning the Setup. The Velop Mesh System is a REAL PIECE OF CAKE to connect and get running, using the Quick Start Guide is crucial unless you are a Tech Guru at which point you too would not have written down the PASSWORD for the Primary Node and been humbled to READ THE QUICK START GUIDE. Downloading and opening the Linksys Dashboard is No Muss No Fuss. Following the very easy on screen instructions for the Router Node and the Secondary Node, provides you with a very easy installation of the Velop Mesh network. WHY MESH? Well if you have EVER attempted to extend your Network past the manufacturer recommended range, you will soon see a combination of devices all having different access addresses slowing your main system down horribly. Things you put up with to get networks working for your purposes. The Velop Mesh simply interconnects all your Nodes into one Logical Node displaying One Main Node (Router) with all your devices interconnected from it. The Velop Mesh system Graphically displays all your devices, facilitates network and device security and prioritization, controls Guest Access and controls content (what your kids or staff can access). Mesh networks are a long time in the coming. Natural and Effortless EzFi. TECHNICAL STUFF (Backbone Devices): I Tether my (Primary Node) Router to a Linksys 8 Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch SE 3008 which connects to a Color Deskjet printer, 3 Telephony Systems, and 2 External Hard Drive Enclosure Docking Systems for Direct Access Storage Backup and Archive; total of 3 Terabytes. My WiFi connections are 3 LaserJet Printers, 4+ laptops, 4 Roku Streaming HD TV's, 4+ cell phones and a Video Monitoring System with 5 cameras also leaching Wifi. The WiFi cameras Base Unit is directly connected (Hardwired) to the 2nd Node of the Velop System. My general configuration I use the 2 Velop nodes on 2 floors covering over 4,200 sqft with EXCELLENT coverage on most of my network. Linksys on board Speed Check utility shows Downloads at 178Mbps Uploads 6.2Mbps, and Cells receiving 5Ghz at 866 Mbps. The 3,800 sqft is Open Floor Plan, 1/3 underground; with Other Networks visible but not accessing my Router. System degradation occurs near the underground portion of the office to a GOOD rating which we mitigate by direct connect (Hardwire) from the Linksys 8 Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch SE 3008 as needed. Summary: It is about time Router Manufacturers produced a FAST Network that permits seamless integration of add-on devices, without compromising network speed and functionality and for a Reasonable Price.
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Concept Im glad i got this product. It is great to be able to put them throughout my house where I need them most. When you have a traditional router its harder to get the signal where you need it most but the Velop can be placed all through the house and gives me the best connection as I need it on different devices with no interruption.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Range! Set up took a little longer than I hoped but that’s because I didn’t look at the quick start guide that came with it. Easy to follow instructions and sleek design. Settings are very easy to understand. The range is amazing! Covers 2 story 5 bedroom house and I still get a bar or two one house down. Never have dropped WiFi anymore!
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Has Potential I got this setup a few weeks ago and haven't quite got it to do what I want. I did figure out how to use port forwarding which is a requirement of mine. The system is easy enough to setup. It seems like I need more nodes to get the coverage I want. This is a basic set, I should possibly look into a more advanced Velop system.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great WiFi Coverage over the House Velop has a quick and easy setup. All that you need to do is (1) open the box, (2) plug the devices in, (3) download and app to your phone, and (4) follow a few instructions on the app. In less than 5 minutes your network (both nodes) is up and running. Once the Velop was up and running, all my wifi devices connected with no problems. They seemed faster than they did when using any of my previous routers. Further, wherever I roamed in my house, the Velop system seamlessly passed my connection from one node to another without me even noticing. Also, the system is capable a large volume of traffic. I have in excess of 20 devices connecting, including a wife and child who are constantly taxing my bandwidth. You can stream, text, and play all at the same time on multiple devices, Velop handles it all with no issues. This is one great system! You get a fast connection with a capability of adding additional nodes, so no house should be too big.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Linksys dual-band Velop AC2600 review We live in a moderate sized 2 story home (~2100 sq ft) with a partially finished basement. Our internet is provided via cable at 100 mbps. Our WiFi is distributed by a WiFi router hooked directly to the cable modem in the basement and another WiFi router setup as an access point on the main floor. These routers are cascaded via cat 6 ethernet cable and broadcast the same SSID and use the same passwords. The primary router (an 802.11AC device) is located in the basement (east side) close to the cable modem. The second router is located on the main floor in our family room (west side of the house). About a month before I was notified I would be receiving the Velop system for review I had purchased an 802.11AC router to replace an old 802.11N one. The new router was installed as the access point in the family room. Our main bedroom is on the second floor on west side of the house directly above the new access point. The new router provided a strong signal to the bedroom and the west side of the second floor. The east side bedrooms of the second floor receive a moderate to strong signal from the router in the basement. We have a mix of devices (802.11AC & N) in the home (computers, mobile phones, wireless tablets, smart TVs, Blu-ray players, smart doorbells, smart garage door openers, smart electrical plugs). When the Friends and Family program offered me the chance to review the dual-band Velop system I jumped at the opportunity. My plan was to totally take down my existing WiFi system and replace it with the Velop. I’d test it independently of any other routers. I received the 2 node dual-band Velop AC2600 system. The nodes are attractive white towers, small in size (about 6 inches tall, 2.75 inches square). You receive a power adapter for each node and an ethernet cable to use with the primary node (to hook to your cable modem or however you receive your internet connection). The quick setup instructions are clear and direct you through setting up the nodes, downloading the app (iOS or google), and getting online. You first power up the node you’ll use as the router, then connect it via ethernet to your modem. After the light turns from blue to purple, you’re all set to use the app to finish setup. I had to use the reset button on the bottom of the node and restart my router to get the node to recognize my cable modem. After first starting the app process, I was told I’d have to either manually input my ISPs information or contact my ISP to get the modem to recognize the node. After the node/modem reset everything worked fine. Once the node light turned blue I was able to get my phone connected to the node (first using the node’s default name and password printed on the bottom of the node). During the setup process you change the node’s SSID and password. Once hooked to the node’s WiFi, I connected an ethernet cable from a switch to the node’s second ethernet port. The switch provides connection to 3 computers, to a smart tv and a bluray player all in the basement and to the access point on the main floor. This is one of the “not so good” things about the Velop system. It has only 2 ethernet ports, one of which is hooked to how you get your internet (cable modem). As you might have noticed, I got around that problem utilizing a 5-port switch hooked to the second Velop port. The other “not so good” thing about the Velop is it has no USB connections to hook a printer or storage device. My normal network setup has a router with a USB hard drive hooked to it providing network storage to all the computers on the network. As far as performance goes, the Velop system provided the same level of speed to the computers hooked via ethernet as my normal network setup did. WiFi performance was another story. Our home was built in the early 90’s when “open” floor plans was not the trend, so we have many walls dividing up the house. As long as I was in the room where the node was, I received a strong signal (-50 to -45 dBm) (I used an app on my phone that measures WiFi strength). When leaving a room (for instances, leaving the living room for the first floor dining room on the east side/middle of the house) the signal strength would drop from -50 to -72. The first-floor node was located in the living room. Transmission speed also dropped but was still useable. Normally my wife would see 400 mbps on her computer in the dining room but it dropped to 200 mpbs with the Velop system. I think if the node were more centrally located on the first floor and there weren’t so many walls, the signal strength would be better. The signal strength upstairs depended upon where you were. If you were in the bedroom above the node, which was below on the first floor, the signal strength was good (-55) but if you moved to the east end of the house where the other bedrooms are, the signal would drop to -72 to -77. I think if another node were added to a central location on the second floor the signal strength would improve. After testing the Velop system “stand-alone”, I wanted to see how it would improve my existing system by bridging my current router. I was able to put the Velop in an ethernet bridge mode, but when I placed the child node in the location I needed it to be, the signal strength wasn’t strong enough to keep the node online. I continued to move the child node closer to the primary node until the light would stay continuous blue. Unfortunately, this was too close to the primary to do me any good. I needed the child node to be upstairs and the primary node to be on the main floor. I initially had hoped that I could use WDS (wireless distribution system) from my existing router to the primary node (a wireless bridge) but couldn’t figure out how to put the Velop system in WDS mode. I did not integrate the Velop into my existing network scheme. If I were buying this system to install in my home, I’d have to go with at least 4 nodes. One in the basement as the primary node, 2 on the main floor, and 1 on the second floor. We don’t have a real large home, but it is divided up with many walls and doors. I'd probably look at the 3 band system instead of the 2 band system before making my purchase. I really like the user interface both on the mobile app and the browser. The system is simple to setup and manage.
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really stabilised my Hughes net Gen5 I have bought a 3 Pack Velop AC2600 .... I run Hughes net Gen 5 as I live in a remote area, the signal from the Hughesnet router was rubbish ! .....the Velop system not only improves the reception across the house it provides a more stable platform than the Hughesnet wifi signal from the Gen 5 router.
Date published: 2018-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy set up This router is great, the satellite router is what I like most. All you have to do is set up one router and the other router set up automatic, love it. You can bridge this router with ease no long process. The wifi coverage is excellent no dead spots. This is one of the best routers I've own.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easier setup than traditional routers! You must use the Linksys Smart Wi-fi application & it's easy to download and use. I used the app on my iPhone 8 to set up. Follow instructions exactly as they appear in quick guide. If you want to use a router with this system then set up node first then connect to router with LAN cable AFTER setting up node. I set up twice in two different locations. My first set up right out of the box went without a hitch. Easy setup. The second time I set it up (in completely different location) I had problems identifying the nodes. After I used reset button on bottom of nodes that fixed the problem. Otherwise, the second setup was only hindered by alert that second node had weak signal to the first. I found that by the time I went out to eat and returned, the signal showed good connection. It is now performing well in the new location. It is important to remember that this system works with broadband speeds of 30 Mbps or slower. If you have faster internet speeds this system will show you down (unless you purchase the product that supports the faster speed).
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a great device! I received this product for my honest review of it. I received this and proceeded to unbox it, the 2 units look very nice, they look like speakers and they are very impressive. I have never setup a mesh network before so I did not know what to expect but it was so easy with the instructions that were provided with it. After I got through the setup I then connected to the network and my speed test was perfect, in fact I get better Wi-Fi speed out of these then I do with my main router when running a speed test. The only thing I didn't like was the fact I had to connect these directly to my modem which means I could not keep my main router connected, but after a little search on google I found out that it is indeed possible to connect these to your main router using bridge mode. It is also very easy to add new nodes to the network. Overall I really love this product, it's very good if you have a large house and the nice part is that you don't get disconnected from Wi-Fi when you move between nodes like you would if you just had 2 routers setup.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Node Velop System Now I received the 2 node Velop system through the Linksys Friends and Family program and I added the 2 new nodes to my existing 3 node mesh network. I was able to add the 2 new nodes to my system without any issue.
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a warm blanket I have been using the Velop Intelligent Mesh WiFi System for about a week now. It has increased the wifi coverage in the far corners of my house. It has created a blanket of reliable coverage throughout my home.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazingly small size, Good wifi The dual band AC mesh network can bring solid wifi to a large home. Poor coverage just add another node. Installation is simple but requires a smart phone.
Date published: 2018-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking, strong signal. Easy setup, looks great and gives good strong signal over entire 3300 sqf single story house. Have been using for a week and no dropped signals.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from seems pretty good pretty easy plug up and run not a problem to get hooked up to my internet signal is pretty strong and so far pretty reliable no issues so far.
Date published: 2018-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small but Powerful The Velop nodes have a small form factor and a status LED on the top right corner. Setup was a bit interesting because you need to ensure you follow the steps for the node that will be the primary and the second (which will act as a mesh point). You can choose either or, no particular that needs to be the primary node. Have a mobile device on hand because setup can only be done on that. You have 2 options, you can do it from the mobile device browser or the Linksys app. I recommend the app because it provides a very user-friendly interface and ease of management in the long-run. Now the range of the primary node was not as powerful and I figured it would be that way because of the smaller form factor. I was not getting proper speeds while being 25 feet away with 2 walls in the middle. Setting up the second node was where setup was not very friendly so I referred to this link: https://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=217438 Overall, the signal strengths weren't as strong as I expected in comparison to 2 other branded mesh systems I have setup. I think the higher end Velop system may have stronger signals depending on their antennae. Overall, not bad for a smaller home considering it has 2 nodes. I believe with multiple nodes, the setup will be adequate for a larger home that is 2 stories (based on proper placement)
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great concept - lousy range - not recommended Summary: I love the concept of the self healing mesh WiFi. The design is nice and modern. Unfortunately the range was poor even one room away. If you have a 1 or 2 bedroom apartment this product may serve you quite well but if you have a multi-story home I would avoid this and steer you towards one of Linksys' many excellent performing routers. Setup was easy. Plug it in, reset my modem and connect via the provided username and password. Download the app and follow the on-screen instructions. Within minutes I had both nodes setup with a secure network name and password. I then began testing range and speed. This is when I was absolutely underwhelmed. I have experience with several top performing Linksys routers which happen to be priced similarly as this and I was shocked at how poor the range and speed was just a room or two away. Typically I'll have 4 or 5 (out of 5) bars of range downstairs on the other end of the house but with the 2-pack mesh wifi my signal strength was 1 or 2 bars in the same area. Speed was about half of what I would expect likely due to the poor range. To be clear, I messed around with the configuration looking for the ideal place to set the nodes but overall my impression was that the range was poor no matter where the devices were located. I think the mesh wifi would work well if I had a node for each room. Unfortunately that would be very expensive as compared to a traditional router.
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great signal coverage-outstanding product I received the LInksys Velop Mesh Wifi system 2 pack for review from the LInksys Friends and Family program. The setup, signal coverage, and administration are 2nd to none. The initial setup of the "nodes" is accomplished via the Linksys app. I set mine up using the app on my iPhone. The app is extremely user friendly and walks you through the entire setup process. Once the units are set initially, you can access them through the Linksys Smart WiFi program using a web browser. While I have had routers and signal extenders for some time in our home, The Linksys Velop system needed no regular maintenance (firmware updates automatically) or attention to keep it functioning. The speeds and throughput of the system is outstanding- no drop in internet speeds as experienced on some routers and definitely on extenders if they are in use. The signal coverage of the system is strong and consistent. Whether one family member was accessing the system or the entire family, the speeds were consistently outstanding and no dropped connections from any of our devices in use. Our home is close to many other wireless routers and wireless devices. We experienced no interference from any other wireless devices. This system is seamless and works every time without fail. Also the appearance of the product is very pleasing and unobtrusive in any room in your home that it is placed. The Linksys Velop Mesh WiFi system is a must have for anyone looking for great signal coverage in every room of your home, requires no maintenance, and works seamlessly with any device. Congratulations Linksys on a job well done with this product!
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WiFi for a smaller home. Larger requires + nodes Opening the box contents and you get quick start guide 1 3 foot white ethernet cable and two Velop nodes and two White AC adapters. The nodes look good. Set up requires cable modem or similar internet access and a Iphone or Android phone/ tablet. A linksys app is necessary to communicate with the Velop. Each node has two ethernet ports and port for power on a lower corner coming out the lower side of the node. Bottom of node has on off switch, reset button, and Name, Password, Recovery Key, Serial number and MAC address. After plugging in one top corner will have Blue Purple Red or Yellow light that all tell you what is going on with the node (explained in quick start guide). It takes awhile to turn Purple from Blue which is the setup mode. After setting up the first node the second one connects easily. After that your Wifi is ready. The app tells you the nodes are in a good position to each other. Setup is easy but takes time. The coverage may be extended with more nodes and for my two story house I would need more nodes. I have seen on the web that they work in bridge mode and I have not tried to do that yet. WiFi used as the setup suggest works very well for one story of my house. Box says 3000 sq ft. If you use more than one computer with ethernet cable connection only a router is needed as Velop is mostly for only WiFi. Connection is fast and streams online video well. I would buy this product for a WiFi internet house or apartment or small business. One WiFi Network is created. A second guest network can be enabled Nice feature of most Linksys WiFi is guest access with separate password. I was given this product for my honest review of it.
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great whole home coverage I just received my Linksys Velop Intelligent Mesh WiFi System, 2-Pack White (AC2600). I had difficulty with setup out of the gate. After first Node is setup it is important to remember the name you assigned to the Node and to return to your wifi settings to reconnect to the node using new password assigned. Without doing so the Linksys App will keep asking you to "retry" before setup finalizes setup. The problem I encountered is that even thou the Node changes were made I continued to receive a message in the app that it was unable to configure and to "retry". You must go back into your wifi settings and enter your new password to the Velop Node connection you made. Note: I was setting up using the Linksys Android App. Once I got past this hurdle, it was easy sailing. The second Node setup was simple. Just plug it in, wait for solid purple light, hit next in the App, and the app configures the Node for you. You're done. The new Velop system is operating flawlessly now. I am very impressed with the coverage area throughout my single story home both indoor and outdoors. Now for the only Con I can really see. Lack of Ethernet ports for wired connections. Once you connect your modem to the primary Node you only have one connection port left to connect a wired device to that Node. The second Node allows you 2 wired connections for a total of 3 wired connections throughout your home. One Node, the primary, has to be located next to your modem which takes up one Ethernet connection leaving one Ethernet connection for 1 wired device so location may or may not be a factor. As of this writing, I am overall satisfied with the performance of the AC2600 Linksys Velop Intelligent Mesh WiFi 2-Pack System. The Linksys Smart WiFi App makes configuration and maintenance of the system easy. I am also happy that I still have the option to prioritize devices using the app.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Packaged well, could be placed anywhere Setup is geared for the non-technical person, or someone who has no experience with traditional routers; especially geared for those that only have smart devices and may not have a traditional PC/Mac. Setup is quite simple, and if I were one to leave well enough alone, I would be more than happy with this product. Unfortunately for me, I am technical, I have setup many routers, both home and enterprise. My current router already extends where I need it, but not at full strength. I have a few walls in between me and a workshop about 40 feet from my house. With that, I was hoping to add both access points to my existing network to provide a better signal to my workshop without having to run an ethernet cable, but that is not the case. If I want to do that, the best way I could find would be to make this router the primary router and have my existing router as an access point. The problem here is that the existing router is strong enough to punch through the walls and reach the shop, albeit not as strong as I would like, but it is usable nonetheless. With the Velop system, I imagine if I had one more access point, I could make it work; however, I feel like I should be able to set this up in an existing network and have it work how I need. Obviously, the signal strength between access points could be a problem, but if the primary access point did not need to be wired in, then that problem would be solved. However, you still have the issue of it needing to be the primary network for all your devices to fully mesh. Not wanting to make major modifications to my existing network and disrupt my family’s connectivity, I chose not to continue this setup. My final thought on the Velop system is that this router is very well designed for the novice user who might want a network ready out of the box. However, for the advanced user, there are no extra directions to explain advanced configurations. I ended up going to the internet to find such advanced configurations.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Addition to My Mesh Network I received the 2 unit WHW01 set of Velop routers, and added it to my existing set of two WHW02 Velop routers. My wife complained of poor coverage in the front of our house, as my current routers are in the back of the house and upstairs. I added one of these WHW01 routers by the front door, and one in the basement. Coverage certainly appears improved throughout my house. This version of the Velop router is shorter, and noticeably lighter. It is also only considered dual-band as opposed to my original tri-band Velop units. Installation is very easy, but only able to be done via the Linksys app. I was able to quickly find the new units (via bluetooth and wifi) and the app within a few minutes had configured each to my existing system, and they were up and running. Although I wish the units could be configured from a web interface alone, I do understand the reasoning for using a smartphone. At least now, there is a web interface for existing wireless systems, which one can simply access at 192.168.1.1. These routers do have a slight drawback that one might not know when initially evaluating this version of the Velop routers for purchase: I do not feel that the range of these routers is as good as the tri-band version. My master router is in the open in one corner of the house, and one of my new routers is not quite at the opposite corner, no more than 40 feet away, across an open layout. It does have trouble finding a signal to the main router, which is a bit frustrating. If I were to move it closer, there isn't a place to put the device or a power outlet available. I could move it to the same room as the master unit, but that seems a bit silly and redundant in order to obtain a strong and reliable signal. One of the pluses of these units, is the ethernet ports are now on the back of the device, instead of the bottom, which makes it easier to place the routers flat on a surface, and not have to bend the ethernet cable 90 degrees from underneath the unit. Overall, I think that these 2 additional routers are a great addition to my existing mesh network, and have definitely added signal strength and coverage to my network. If you have some areas that still need coverage, these dual-band routers would be a good addition to your mesh network.
Date published: 2018-07-08
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-WHW0102, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Support
‡Maximum Performance derived from IEEE Standard 802.11 specifications. Actual performance may vary, including lower wireless network capacity, data throughput rate, speed, range and coverage. Performance depends upon many factors, conditions and variables, including building materials and construction, volume of network traffic, mix of wireless products used, interference and other adverse conditions. In order to achieve the best performance, this product must be used with compatible AC1300 wireless devices. The standard transmission rates for each node—867 Mbps (for 5 GHz radio), 400 Mbps (for 2.4 GHz)—are the physical data rates. Actual data throughput will be lower and may depend on the mix of wireless products used and external factors.