text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Features

Unleash the Power of WiFi 6E

Linksys Hydra Pro 6E (AXE6600) unleashes multi-gigabit speed and supports more than 55 devices at a time. WiFi 6E offers the 6GHz band connection that’s needed for low-latency performance of the latest AR and VR devices. It offers a reliable connection for a home full of people to enjoy gaming, HD streaming, and video calls without interruption. With extremely low latency and massive capacity, Linksys Hydra Pro 6E is an essential upgrade to any home that needs the most reliable, interference-free high-speed WiFi.

Linksys Hydra Pro 6E (AXE6600) displayed next to a large blue WiFi 6E symbol

A New Band for Your Latest Devices

The 6 GHz WiFi band unleashes multi-gigabit speed and supports more than 55 of your latest 8K streaming, VR gaming, and work-from-home devices at one time.

For devices you wish to connect directly to the 6GHz band, please check with your device’s manufacturer regarding compatibility with the 6GHz band.

Gaming laptop shown next to VR headset

Highest Device Capacity Ever

With 4x** the channels of current WiFi router systems, the 6 GHz band can handle all the traffic from the busiest smart homes using heavy-bandwidth devices all day, every day.

Linksys Hydra Pro 6E Tri-Band Mesh WiFi router shown next to Velop Intelligent Mesh logo

Powerful WiFi 6E Mesh Coverage

Velop Intelligent Mesh™ technology combined with WiFi 6E is designed to deliver gigabit WiFi speeds to every corner of your home or business.

Qualcomm chipset

Industry-Leading Technology

An advanced Qualcomm™ chipset delivers the ultimate WiFi 6E experience. This next-generation technology transforms home and business WiFi with its wire-like stability and blazing-fast performance.

Linksys Hydra Pro 6E Mesh WiFi 6E router displayed within the Linksys App

Easy Setup, Easy Control

The Linksys app makes setup simple. Once set up, you can access your network from anywhere, and view or prioritize which connected devices are using the most WiFi.

Child streaming video on a tablet

Smart Security

With automatic firmware updates, parental controls, and separate guest access, Velop provides a safe, secure and up-to-date home network.

Linksys Hydra Pro 6E displayed next to a stack of smart phones and a laptop

Works with all Internet Providers

Works with all Internet Service Providers and is 100% backward compatible with WiFi 5 and older devices.

Person plugging in an Ethernet cable into a Linksys Hydra Pro 6E router

Ultra-Fast Multi-Gigabit Speed

With a 5 Gigabit WAN port, you can experience up to 5 Gbps*** speed for gaming consoles, smart TVs, streaming devices, VR and AR and more.

Linksys Hydra Pro 6E Mesh WiFi 6E router shown in front of a 3D 6E figure

True Tri-Band

Every tri-band node can broadcast on three wireless radio bands simultaneously with combined WiFi speeds up to 6.6 Gbps.

Woman placing a Velop Intelligent Mesh WiFi router on a shelf

OnTech Smart Services and Linksys logos

Get Help From the WiFi Pros

Linksy has partnered with OnTech Smart Services to offer expert installation, with same and next-day appointments nationwide. Professional installations starting at $99.99.

Book a Tech »

Technical Specs
  • Wi-Fi Technology:
    AXE6600 MU-MIMO Tri-Band Multi-Gigabit, 600+1200+4800 Mbps
  • Key Features:
    • Easy Setup with the Linksys App
    • Expanded Spectrum with the 6GHz Band
    • Dynamic Backhaul
    • 4x4 MU-MIMO
    • 1.8GHz Quad Core Processor
    • Next-Gen OFDMA Technology
    • Advanced Security
    • USB 3.0 Port
    • Gigabit Ethernet LAN Ports
  • Network Standards:
    • 802.11a
    • 802.11b
    • 802.11g
    • 802.11n (WiFi 4)
    • 802.11ac (WiFi 5)
    • 802.11ax (WiFi 6)
  • Wi-Fi Speed:
    AXE6600 (600+1200+4800)
  • Wi-Fi Bands:
    2.4GHz, 5GHz, 6GHz
  • Wi-Fi Range:
    up to 2700 square feet
  • Number of Ethernet Ports:
    Four Gigabit LAN + One 5Gbps WAN
  • Other Ports:
    USB 3.0
  • Antennas:
    4 External Adjustable
  • Processor:
    1.8GHz Quad-Core
  • Memory:
    Flash: 512MB; RAM: 512MB
  • Wireless Encryption:
    up to 128-bit
  • Storage File System Support:
    FAT, FAT32, NTFS, HFS+
  • Easy Setup:
    • Simple and secured app based setup
    • Required for setup: (1) Internet connection with modem. (2) Mobile device with Android 6.0.1 or iOS 11.4 and higher, Bluetooth preferred.
  • Dimensions (LxWxH):
    280 x 170 x 60mm (antennas down)
  • Weight:
    2.07 lbs
  • Security Features:
    • WPA2/WPA3 Mixed Personal (2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands only)
    • WPA2 Personal (2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands only)
    • WPA3 Personal (all bands)
    • Enhanced Open Only (all bands)
    • Open and Enhanced Open (2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands only)
    • Open (2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands only)
  • Power Supply:
    Input: 100-240V ~ 50-60Hz; Output: 12V / 3A
Support
Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast!!! This is definitely the fastest access point I have ever used you can now get the more value from Ting without plugging in to the wall. Yay!!!
Date published: 2021-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Devices, devices, and more devices!! The Hydra Pro is the perfect name for this router. Just as the Hydra has many heads this router can handle many devices. At any given time my network can have 20 or more devices accessing the bandwidth, this router has handled it flawlessly. Setup was a piece of cake using the Linksys app. I have had zero problems or technical issues since setup. Monitoring the health and settings of the router is fairly simple using the app as well.
Date published: 2021-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Future Looking Good I've been evaluating this over the weekend. It's be stable and very similar to the MR9600 I've been using but it does seem to have some advantages. The addition of the 6GHz band will be great for when I actually have devices that can use that band. Right now, I'm only able to use the 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands. I wish there were an easier way to drop it in place of the current MR9600 I'm using. Instead, I'll just need to setup all my Velop child nodes to connect to this new master node. The upgrade of the WAN port is nice. My service is a 2GB Fiber, so the 5GB WAN port will allow me to maximize speeds. Setup is very similar to other Linksys products as of late. You must use the phone app. Previous workarounds like removing portions from the URL do not work. You just get redirected back to the blocking page. So plan to set it up with the phone app before you can more customize it with the WebUI.
Date published: 2021-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Setup, Low Latency, Great Speed Setting up this router was extremely simple and was done in less than 5 minutes. Initial speed tests show a 7ms Ping, 957 Mbps down, 47 Mbps up on a Coax Gigabit service. All of our IoT and streaming devices immediately recognized the SSID and connected automatically. This reaches fully across our 1800 sq. ft. split-level house and to the other side of our detached garage without any drops. I have it connected to a Linksys LGS124P switch and pull consistent high speeds even with Netflix and Hulu running in multiple rooms. Overall, we have about 35 devices connected to WiFi and haven't noticed any performance issues. This router is easily outperforming our Ubiquiti AC Pro access points to the point I ended up removing them. My only real concern would be security features. I plan on adding an actual UTM firewall downstream on the network for when I work from home. For general home use, it won't be an issue.
Date published: 2021-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Returning this machine Bought the Hydra Pro 6E with great expectations. The model I finally received does not have the USB port described in the Linksys website. I bought this model based on specs . After trying in vain to reach support, disconnected four times, I have to return this equipment. I have always used Linksys products but this experience has changed my mind
Date published: 2021-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Prefomance is good shape I'm not a fan off. It's almost perfect the flat shape not so much, if it was more of a tower shape like the Velop and Orbi it would be perfect they take up less space I find space has become more valuable since working from home I would have to put up a shelf to regain some desk real estate not that Its massive but I could fit 4 Velop routers in the same space.
Date published: 2021-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful Extremely easy to set up and works great. It is able to handle a large amount of devices that are streaming and gaming with no problems. The range is excellent and able to reach all areas of my property with no issues. This is one of the best routers available to upgrade your house and handle all your smart technology.
Date published: 2021-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clean design, easy setup I paired this with my Velop system and checked performance. Setup though the app was a breeze and only took a few minutes. The speed test showed slightly faster upload speeds as just a node which is quite good. My next comparison will be between it and the MR9600 as the head of my system. So far, I'm very happy!
Date published: 2021-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing upgrade! I received this new router courtesy of the Linksys Friends + Family program. Shipping was easy and it came in a non-descript box. Unboxing the router was simple. It only came with a quick guide - you will have to go to the Linksys site to download the full guide. Packaging was excellent. This router has 4 gig ethernet ports and one 5 gig port to either connect to your service provider or to add to an existing mesh network. We currently have the Linksys WiFi Mesh (MX5300) in bridge mode. I added this new router as a child to the existing mesh network with no issues, just followed the Linksys app to add a child node. I placed the router in my basement where I had the Linksys node (replaced it) and the speeds increased by 10%, both wired and wireless. Next steps after testing for a week: 1) Use the Hydra as the parent node, still in bridge mode and test 2) Use the Hydra as the parent node, but removing the bridge mode and handling the WiFi management Review to follow.
Date published: 2021-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding This router made switching quick and easy took all of 5 minutes or less. Noticed an immediate difference in speed on all Wi-Fi devices. Using the app or website has the same functionality, i would definitely recommend this router to anyone looking for more speed and reliability.
Date published: 2021-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy set up and Great features! I bought this router a few weeks ago and it is amazing. The set up was so easy and simple but the part I like most is the range and how easy it was to set up my nodes. The WiFi 6 is perfect for all my WiFi needs. Great router, love it!!
Date published: 2021-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Speed This router is great for more devices and gamers. It is fast and easy to manage with the Linksys app. The range is not that great but is compatible with other mesh nodes and that extends with better range and speed.
Date published: 2021-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Speed Jump Received as a pre-order quite a bit earlier than expected. Replaced a Velop MX4000 series Node as my parent node to take advantage of the multi gig WAN Port. Seeing impressive download speeds with Comcast's 1 Gig connection, which is now over-provisioned to around 1.4-1.5 depending on your market. I am able to saturate the modem for the first time ever thanks to the capabilities of this router. As for WiFi, having the usually first few day adjustments as the Velop nodes balance after this replacement. Speeds to my iPhone 11 Pro Max top around 600-700, Apple TV around 900, and my hardwired desktops max out their gig connections no problem. Only reason for the lower overall score is the Linksys app. In trying to make it consumer friendly, they have eliminated many features I think are crucial to network management and troubleshooting, including per device bandwidth monitoring, total network data usage, node health reports, WiFi frequency scanning. Sure we all would love a network that you setup and forget because it works so well, but that isn't reality so give us the tools to troubleshoot!
Date published: 2021-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent coverage This router is awesome. It handles all of the wireless needs and is super fast. Would be an excellent choice for anyone working from home and with lots of streaming going on.
Date published: 2021-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Future Proofing Worth The Money Even though it looks the same as the MR9600, this is so much more of a router. The 30-some devices (laptops, iPads, iPhones, Ring, smart home, etc..) have no trouble with signal strength or throughput. Working at home during the pandemic, I have had great performance on all of my Zoom and Webex sessions. “Remoting” into work has been a breeze. This router will be relevant for a good 3-5 years, and with firmware updates, I think the feature sets will likely only improve for the next number of years. My only WiFi-6 device is my iPhone 11 Pro, and in my testing I was able to max out the cable bandwidth at over 230 Mbps. I have always liked the Linksys GUI, and have regularly used the Linksys mobile app for setup and for regular administration. I really enjoyed using the local GUI on my WRT3200AC, but it seems Linksys is trying to get us to only use the app, or perhaps just make the web GUI just like the app. Either way, I miss the GUI of the good old days (for us advanced admins). Anyway, this is to me the best router Linksys has put out in a very long time. You will not be disappointed when you buy this router.
Date published: 2021-05-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great Works great! I'm use to using DD-WRT, so a bit disappointed in the options for managing the device, but it works great!
Date published: 2021-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Advanced Router This is a top of line AX Router. Setup was super easy. Speed and range are excellent.
Date published: 2021-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stability, easy hook up and nice range. I received and hooked up this product one week ago. I’m replacing a 2 year old Linksys AC2200 which worked pretty well, but suffered with speeds with devices that were further away. The new Hydra Pro AXE6600 has significantly improved the speeds of those devices further away from 5-10mb to over 50mb (kids rooms furthest away from from router). The devices that are hardwired and closer to the router in the same room or near it are constantly running speeds greater than 500mb. All the devices and router are in the same locations and the same Xfinity 800mb service is being used (single story 2300 sqft home).The system was up and running within 5 minutes using the app. It took me longer to hide my wires and plug everything in. The router can easily handle several devices connected as at any given time there are 20+ devices connected (TV’s, Tablets, Phones, Security Cameras as well as other smart home devices). Note, the app does recommend having the router in an open location during set up. I have mine in a basket on a shelf with the rest of my A/V equipment as I like to keep things hidden. I am overall happy with the upgrade and look forward to possibly adding a Node or two to increase the speeds at those far ends of the home.
Date published: 2021-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from really fast great range I received this router free as part of a beta test. I do agree it is pretty wide but you can mount it on a wall if you want. The 6E part is very important if you have a newer Samsung or Android phone. I have a S21 Ultra and my phone can see a WIFI 6 band that my wife with her new Iphone cannot see, it does use Wifi6 just not the E so you have the band all to your self. Close to the router 30' or so I can get 2GB speeds and close to 1GB pretty much anywhere in my house. I also have a wifi triband 3 unit mesh router that I am also using. The speeds are usually a little bit faster until I get further from the router but a lot closer to a satellite. If a 3 unit mesh was the same speed I would probably pick this due to the Wifi 6 bands. If I only had older devices I might go with a 3 unit triband mesh system just because with a larger house (3,200 sq ft) it is hard to beat a mesh system. I have 44 devices connected and have never had a speed issue. I have 5 FTP cameras that stream locally back to my server along with 7 cloud cameras that stream out to the internet. The only thing I am not a big fan of is the phone apps from any vendor to tell the truth they really want you to use it but for me I use the web page other than quick things like turning on the guest network.
Date published: 2021-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great new addition to the Linksys Family! The Linksys Hydra Pro 6E, aka the MR7500 arrived well packaged and boxed. I have had this router in use for almost 2 weeks now. The setup was very easy, as the GUI for this product is very similar if not identical to previous Linksys router GUI's. I had to add all of my port forwards, DNS information, static IP assignments and clone my MAC address from my old WRT1200AC, which took a few minutes to get through. The Wifi range of this router, at least for me in my home, is exceptional. I don't currently own any Wifi6 devices so I cannot comment on that capability. Of note, I was sad to see that Linksys did not keep the OpenVPN capability that I had with my WRT1200AC, as that, at least for me, is a nice feature to access my home network remotely. I generally have, on average, about 40-50 devices connected on my home network, about half of those via wifi and the remaining via cable. I also have a line speed connection via fiber to my home and using the old WRT router, I was hitting speeds, at best, of 550mbps. With the MR7500 I am consistently hitting over 700mbps. That might have something to do with the 5gig internet port on this device. I don't mind the "box" look of the device but I could see something a little less "obtrusive" and appealing being desired by some. Overall I am very happy with the MR7500 so far, no issues of any kind. This Linksys MR7500 was provided to me for my use and honest review.
Date published: 2021-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blazing Fast and Excellent Connectivity I received my Hydra Pro 6E about a week ago and set it up immediately. Setup was a breeze with the Linksys app took about 3 minutes to be up and running once everything was connected. Although the instructions do recommend to setup in an open space, I still get great reception and performance from having it behind my television. This router quickly reminded me of my old EA9500 because it's a powerhouse with the exception that the Hydra pro is wall mountable and aesthetically pleasing. Coming from an AX4200 Wifi 6 Mesh node, Linksys continues to impress with every product release. The Hydra Pro 6E is noticeably sending a stronger signal and I was able to tell because I setup a wireless security camera at a distance that would only receive intermittent connectivity from my AX4200, where as now I get 1 to 2 bars at a 60+ feet distance from my router (distance picture attached). My kids have also noticed an improvement in connectivity saying their pings or relatively smaller and their wireless connections are getting on average +30 to +50 MBPS when they run speed tests, WPA3 encryption is nice to have for a more secure network as well. I've recently upgraded my home with a good of amount of smart home tech and I'm running close to 40 devices on this one router without any issues. I love the Linksys app which allows me to have full control over all devices and parental controls to keep the kiddos safe. Restarting the router or changing configs is only a few finger taps away. Definitely thankful for the added efficiency I only need one router now for what would've required at least a wall extender with my old EA9500.
Date published: 2021-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better performance than our MR9600 I swapped this out with our main MR9600 router which features the WiFi 6 technology. Though the MR9600 has been a solid performer, I have noticed a jump in realized WiFi speeds through my other node and E7350 that is in wireless bridge mode in my office. The MR7500, though offering less overall coverage (per the box features), is performing well in areas where the range of the 5GHz channel fell off with the MR9600. Although my current internet speeds are 500/10, I am getting close to the upper 400s and 9s for download and upload speeds. I plan to upgrade to gigs last once our two year contract expires in June. Visually, the MR7500 appears to share the same shell as the MR9600 though the insides differ some. It has one less USB port than the MR9600 but features a 5 gig internet port. Also the MR7500 is a tri-band versus the MR9600 being a dual band. Set up was a little tricky as the app seemed to “miss” the other router. First couple of attempts the first night were not successful as it just couldn’t connect properly. I tried again the next evening and was finally able to get it to connect. Reconnecting my node to the MR7500 was simple and then I connected the MR9600 as a wireless node as well without issue. I then tested my speed in the office with the E7350 and noticed much faster speed (previously in the 200s but now getting 400s). Overall, I am impressed with this router and look forward to upgrading my service. I currently have 50+ devices connected ranging from smart tv’s, IP cameras, iPhones, iPads, laptops and PC’s, home automation devices, and even our washing machine and have not experienced any issues with connectivity or speed. I would recommend this for those needing the coverage and performance for multiple users and devices.
Date published: 2021-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even better performance than our MR9600 I swapped this out with our main MR9600 router which features the WiFi 6 technology. Though the MR9600 has been a solid performer, I have noticed a jump in realized WiFi speeds through my other node and E7350 that is in wireless bridge mode in my office. The MR7500, though offering less overall coverage (per the box features), is performing well in areas where the range of the 5GHz channel fell off with the MR9600. Although my current internet speeds are 500/10, I am getting close to the upper 400s and 9s for download and upload speeds. I plan to upgrade to gigs last once our two year contract expires in June. Visually, the MR7500 appears to share the same shell as the MR9600 though the insides differ some. It has one less USB port than the MR9600 but features a 5 gig internet port. Also the MR7500 is a tri-band versus the MR9600 being a dual band. Set up was a little tricky as the app seemed to “miss” the other router. First couple of attempts the first night were not successful as it just couldn’t connect properly. I tried again the next evening and was finally able to get it to connect. Reconnecting my node to the MR7500 was simple and then I connected the MR9600 as a wireless node as well without issue. I then tested my speed in the office with the E7350 and noticed much faster speed (previously in the 200s but now getting 400s). Overall, I am impressed with this router and look forward to upgrading my service. I currently have 50+ devices connected ranging from smart tv’s, IP cameras, iPhones, iPads, laptops and PC’s, home automation devices, and even our washing machine and have not experienced any issues with connectivity or speed. I would recommend this for those needing the coverage and performance for multiple users and devices.
Date published: 2021-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sleek design & great performance In my review for the MR7500 I will highlight 3 aspects of the router with the good and not so good. 1. Design & Hardware features 2. Software 3. Function and Reliability Design - This router when comparing to my older router the monster EA9500 is very sleek and on has a much smaller footprint. The weight difference of this router to other Linksys routers I have had is noticeable – very light. The port layout has not changed you get (4) Gigabit LAN (standard) and (1) 5Gbps WAN(NEW), (1) USB 3.0, and (4) non-removable antennas. Overall, I am happy that Linksys kept the design simple and to the point, not flashy or UFO looking. Software – So on the initial setup I used my iOS device, this went OK albeit it took a long time, which could be normal or based on my version of iOS, it went smoothly just took a while. Second time around since I wanted to test this router thoroughly, I used the older method of connecting my PC, this went a lot faster and there were no surprises. I have not run into any bugs/glitches in my setups, all the software from their app to online UI has been very smooth. Function – I have all my (27) devices connected now for the past couple weeks and have not had one drop in connection, I am using the 5GHz band for phones and tablets, while my smart garage door and WEMO smart switches, and cameras connected to the 2.4GHz band. Range does not seem to be an issue, although I initially ran into problems when I did not separate the bands and tried using the “Airtime Fairness” setting which caused issues with devices that were further away, it would disconnect them, so I disabled that feature. I would like to add a node and see how the range performs using both the MR7500 and say the MX4200. Reliability – Like I said before I have not had a single disconnect with this router, overall a solid performance, but one you should expect from an expensive device at $500. I would recommend this to anyone that can afford it and is wanting to future proof for a few years, since most devices out now do not even have the latest Wi-Fi that this router offers.
Date published: 2021-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Future Proof Your Home Hardware: 5* Software: 4* Installation: 3 1/2* Overall, this router is very solid and I would recommend purchasing it. It offers all of the latest technology needed to keep your network at peak operations for the next 5 years, including wireless 6E wireless, tri-band, and mesh technologies. It handles my work at home video conferencing needs, along with my children's streaming and gaming hobbies seamlessly. I currently only have a few devices operating on the 6GHz range, but that number will only increase as more devices implement this technology. I appreciate that this router will handle these, along with my smart home devices that operate in the 2.4 GHz range, without a hiccup. While the hardware checks all the boxes, the software does have a couple of GUI options and installation quirks that diminish the overall product. When initially installing the router via the Linksys app, I had no issues. However, when I tried to link a Velop node from my previous setup I ran into some problems. When trying to do a final connection check, the screen said it could not find the node, but I had a solid blue connection light on the node. After three unsuccessful attempts, I could only get to a screen with a phone #. I could not back out or cancel the installation. Going into the router web screen, the node did appear that was connected. That takes me to the web view screen. Instead of giving the user more options than the app, it appears they are going backwards and are trying to make the web setup more like the app. I still cannot find where to setup the default DNS on the router. If advanced users are smart enough to get to 192.168.1.1, then they should be able to access advanced features not available to novice users that have to use the app. Even with these annoyances, I respect the fact that Linksys doesn't try to push you to have to subscribe to a security feature like other brands do.I also love that it has a USB connection that I can setup my NAS storage on. The other brands still refuse to add this seemingly obvious addition to their lineups. This makes Linksys the goto choice for me.
Date published: 2021-05-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Solid, but expensive Linksys Hydra Pro 6E: Tri-Band Mesh Wi-Fi 6E Router Opened the box, and was excited to try this new technology item. That quickly faded away after 2.5 hours, and dozens upon dozens of failed attempts to setup this router with the app. I contacted --- @ tech support; first step as usual was to do the “little red button” reset again, then to do a manual setup. I had already reset my device, a few dozen times and told her that I am trying to test the device, as a person would be setting up, who has no technical knowledge beyond plug and play. She then told me that I had to connect to the unit’s W-Fi setup in order to start the setup process. This is not how these devices are configured through the Linksys app and Bluetooth by default, those steps are for troubleshooting. I had also ordered an internal Wi-Fi6E card so that I could test the new 6 GHz space, but that item failed to arrive, but since most people will add this or replace an existing router, I figured that I could still get good and valid data using my current devices. I decided to try the installation the next day, and on the first attempt, everything worked. The setup yesterday always errored when it looked like it was trying to add the router to my online account, which leads me to think something was down with the Linksys Smart Wi-Fi logins. Anyway, setup went off without a hitch this time around. I was able to setup this router just as I had so many times before, and then reset it to do it again with different settings. Nothing seemed different from the many other Linksys router that utilizes this method of setup. Once I had a stable setup experience, I added a USB drive with only 1 device connected, since I want to see the speeds of the onboard USB storage sharing. The resulting speed was almost on par, 85-102%, with a previous write speeds but only about 20% of the read speeds (utilizing the exact same USB device for all my previous tests). The specifications for this router do indicate that the WAN port is 5Gbps, but without multiple devices saturating that link I was unable to properly test it. That is a bonus for future WAN upgrades, since many on homes do have gigabit fiber, it will allow higher connectivity in the future. I really tried to get this router to excel at anything that my existing devices could do to it, but nothing stood out as “I GOTTA HAVE THIS ROUTER” worthy. One thing that I really noticed when doing internal transfers over Wi-Fi, the speeds in almost every test seemed slower. The LAN connected tests did not show any type of restriction or slowdown. Based on the SRP of this unit, I would have a hard time justifying this to anyone that is using older, non-6E devices, to connect, which to me would be most everyone doing an upgrade. The 5Gbps WAN port to me seems to be the greatest value added to this unit, but most consumers do not have higher than 1Gbps LANs in their home. I did receive this unit without cost for testing purposes, but I do not recommend this unit to anyone upgrading based on its current retail pricing. I will test the unit again with my 6E card when it arrives to see what speeds the 6 GHz band provides.
Date published: 2021-05-05
  • y_2021, m_6, d_16, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_P-MR7500, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_linksys
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-2.3.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 157ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
*Performance may vary. Customer-paid internet service required. For more information, please refer to the insert inside the package, or the product data sheet found at: Linksys.com/velop/documentation.
**4x more channels on 6GHz band as compared to dual-band router on 2.4 & 5 GHz bands excluding DFS channels, determined using 20MHz channels as a reference.
***Wired speed up to 5 Gbps requires multi-gigabit ISP speed up to or greater than 5Gbps.