Shared and unshared configuration settings in a cluster on the Linksys Wireless-AC Access Points

The Cluster Mode feature of Linksys LAPAC1750, LAPAC1200, LAPAC1750PRO, and LAPAC2600 Access Points provide a single point of administration for other access points (APs).  When any changes are made on any access points, it is pushed out to the other APs in the cluster.  This reduces the costs and complexity of managing multiple wireless APs.


  • Only for Linksys LAPAC1750, LAPAC1200, LAPAC1750PRO, and LAPAC2600
  • The access points must use the same radio mode (e.g. Radio 1 uses 802.11g).
  • The access points are connected to the same bridged segment.
  • The cluster names must be similar across all the access points joining the cluster.
  • The clustering mode must be enabled.
  • Clustering is not supported in WDS mode or Workgroup Bridge Mode.
  • LAPAC1200 and LAPAC1750 support up to 16 access point members within a cluster.
  • LAPAC1750PRO supports up to 10 access point members within a cluster.
  • LAPAC2600 supports eight access point members in a cluster on firmware and
NOTE:  The future firmware versions above v1.0.1 (e.g. v1.0.2.xxxx) will support 16 members.

Clustered access points share the following settings:
  • User Accounts
  • Time Settings
  • QoS
  • Log Settings
  • Management Access
  • Discovery Settings
  • IGMP/MLD Snooping
  • Wireless Network Mode
  • SSID Settings
  • Wireless Security
  • Rogue AP Detection
  • Wireless Scheduler
  • Wireless Scheduler Association
  • Wireless Connection Control
  • Rate Limit
  • Advanced Wireless Settings
  • Captive Portal Settings
  • Ethernet Port Settings
  • VLAN Settings
  • ACL Settings
These configurations are NOT shared by clustered access points:
  • IP Settings
  • Output Power
  • Workgroup Bridge
  • LED Lighting
  • Wireless Channel
  • 802.1x Supplicant
  • WDS
  • Hostname

Was this support article useful?

Additional Support Questions?
Search Again